User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The State of Gold Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: Matt Pond returns to his indie rock band name of Matt Pond PA for its tenth full-length release features guest appearances from The Mynabirds' Laura Burhenn and Caveman's Matt Iwanusa.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

Take Me With You
Take me with you Out of my mind Our words collapsing as we leave them behind My hands knew the cold before I felt your force When we run away, let's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 6, 2015
    Lush synths, subtle electronics, and pulsing polyrhythms fuel these songs of discovery, transforming them from mere introspection into outright inspiration.
  2. Under The Radar
    Aug 6, 2015
    The State Of Gold showcases the veteran indie rock frontman's prowess as a lyricist. [Aug-Sep 2015, p.79]
  3. Aug 6, 2015
    The State of Gold is a perfectly competent album, but after Pond’s 17 years in the music biz, competent isn’t enough. The primary problem with The State of Gold is that it exhibits a failure of imagination.
  4. Aug 6, 2015
    The result is mystifyingly boring and scrubbed completely of any evidence of human touch.