• Record Label: Mush
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2003
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nick
    Jan 23, 2004
    9
    This cd has a great concept behind it. The way it is pulled off is just well, interesting. It seems almost like a descent into madness. For fans of the Postal Service and like bands, this should be much more satisfactory than the last album (Manic Expressive). All in all, a perplexing listen that forces you to disregard how emotions are supposed to sound, and let the sadness be happy... This cd has a great concept behind it. The way it is pulled off is just well, interesting. It seems almost like a descent into madness. For fans of the Postal Service and like bands, this should be much more satisfactory than the last album (Manic Expressive). All in all, a perplexing listen that forces you to disregard how emotions are supposed to sound, and let the sadness be happy... OR something. I don't really know anymore, thanks a lot Mark Bianchi. Expand
  2. RobinO
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    This cd, although repetitive, is the most beautiful thing I've ever experienced.
  3. AaronG
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    A really good album, with some stunning tracks that I just cant stop playing, or singing.
  4. JordanB
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    Great unique indie. At its best. "My Girlfriend's Boyfriend" is phenomenal... The music is sincere beyond belief... Worth its weight in diamonds.
  5. chrise
    Oct 22, 2003
    1
    the most pretentious and gay peice of crap i've ever heard.
  6. TimE
    Jan 13, 2005
    9
    The fact that Bright Eyes is being considered to be the new spokesperson for angry youth is an act of injustice. Her Space Holiday is nothing short of breathtaking and is hands down the smartest and most daring songwriter of my generation.
  7. MikeB
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    I first heard this on the fourth of July this year. We were out on my friend's boat watching fireworks, with this playing in the background, and I fell in love immediately. Incredible chilll music, with amazingly well-written lyrics. I don't think that the repetitiveness takes away from it. The songs are easily differentiable, and they can hold their own. I would disregard any I first heard this on the fourth of July this year. We were out on my friend's boat watching fireworks, with this playing in the background, and I fell in love immediately. Incredible chilll music, with amazingly well-written lyrics. I don't think that the repetitiveness takes away from it. The songs are easily differentiable, and they can hold their own. I would disregard any negative reviews, especially when they criticize the underlying beats. I've been into electronic music for several years, and it follows everything that any electronic song requires. The fundamentals are all there, but there's something more that you'll just have to hear for yourself. Expand
  8. dz
    Nov 18, 2003
    8
    Confessional Bubblegum electro-pop, its fucking great. disregard the poor reviews by the headbanging set and give it a listen.
  9. izzy
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    this album is my fucking life
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Never before has Bianchi put so much focus on the lyrics and been so open, so vulnerable.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    A soothing swoon. [24 Oct 2003, p.107]
  3. Uncut
    80
    The greatest interest lies in the lyrics--intriguing, charming, highly insightful and sometimes violently confessional, often on a par with the very best of Elliott Smith. [Dec 2003, p.118]