Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Jun 10, 2014
    81
    Ultimately, Bird continues to prove himself to be a versatile musician who’s as capable at fresh adaptations of country-leaning tunes as he is forward-thinking arrangements of his own.
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    80
    A fantastic set of songs approached with a reverence that is never stifling, and one in which fans of either act will find plenty to love.
  3. The music is softly strummed, and Bird’s voice is a high, lonesome thing like the wind on a prairie. Sort of.
  4. Jun 10, 2014
    80
    Above all, Things Are Really Great Here, Sort Of… serves as a musical love letter to friends and inspirations; exceptional in execution, beautiful in its haunting simplicity.
  5. Jun 10, 2014
    80
    Things Are Great Here is a lovely collection and another unique release by one of the era's most distinctive artists.
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    80
    Realized with the help of Bird's fabulous backing band, the Hands of Glory, the arrangements on Things Are Really Great Here, Sort Of… are ornate and thoughtful, highlighting both the brilliant Americana song writing of the originals and the sweetly soulful execution of Bird and his band.
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    75
    Rather than attempting to rehash what's at his disposal, he prefers to mould each song into his own sonic creation. And while it's not perfect, it is a fascinating and, at times, emotional listen.
  8. 70
    More than anything, it’s refreshing to hear an artist with Bird’s skill set bring to life a set of songs that deserve an audience far beyond the small cult that has already discovered them.
  9. Jun 17, 2014
    70
    The beautifully crafted lyrics of Things Are Really Great Here, Sort of are slowly offset by the melancholy implied in the title, at times through the stirring yet mournful violin-caressing and whistling Bird.
  10. 67
    Things Are Really Great Here is Bird’s own compelling lens looking at what those corners would be like, his own retelling of the way the book he pulled off the shelf described it, and a passionate, heartfelt, dutiful retelling at that.
  11. Mojo
    Aug 20, 2014
    60
    He brings an easy empathy to these songs. [Sep 2014, p.96]
  12. Jun 20, 2014
    60
    Bird’s simultaneous engagement with the words and distance from the material free his delivery to keep the album feeling lighter than I’ve implied.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    4
    This is all alright. Being nothing new or of his own one does get kind of bored, being that we've heard this sound and these songs before.This is all alright. Being nothing new or of his own one does get kind of bored, being that we've heard this sound and these songs before. It's all alright. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    This is beautiful but get monotonous and reminds me a lot of like the soundtrack to Inside Llewyn Davis. Its ok but I got bored. I like hisThis is beautiful but get monotonous and reminds me a lot of like the soundtrack to Inside Llewyn Davis. Its ok but I got bored. I like his original albums better Full Review »