This Old Dog Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the Canadian singer-songwriter was written after he moved from New York to Los Angeles.
Buy On

Top Track

My Old Man
Look in the mirror Who do you see? Someone familiar But surely not me Before he can't be me Look how old and cold and tired and lonely he's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 3, 2017
    90
    Intimate and endearingly honest, This Old Dog is Mac DeMarco’s most essential chapter of slacker gospel yet.
  2. May 5, 2017
    80
    Iit goes deeper and sees our protagonist at his most mellow and introspective.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 28, 2017
    80
    The changing seasons--and death--haunt This Old Dog without ever hamstringing its perfectly weighted, sometimes deceptively chipper grooves. [Jun 2017, p.94]
  4. May 15, 2017
    80
    DeMarco has always worn his talent lightly, but finally he sounds focused, reflecting on relationships like a millennial Cat Stevens, particularly those with his absent father and his long-term girlfriend.
  5. May 4, 2017
    79
    There’s nothing particularly wrong with This Old Dog, it’s more that DeMarco is keeping his sights low. Some people might appreciate this record more than his last two, with the extra refinement of the sound, others may prefer the earlier stuff, which had a bit more humor and with lyrics that painted more colorful pictures.
  6. Magnet
    May 18, 2017
    70
    The more significant development is one of subtle, writerly progression. [No. 142, p.53]
  7. May 25, 2017
    50
    Despite having moments that tip it toward being his most “challenging” album lyrically (if being challenging has anything to do with being serious), This Old Dog might be his least interesting instrumentally and musically.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 6, 2017
    10
    This is a fantastic album. Most artists who try to evolutionise their sound tend to disappoint and go off the tracks musically, but MacThis is a fantastic album. Most artists who try to evolutionise their sound tend to disappoint and go off the tracks musically, but Mac DeMarco has managed to create a more slow and intimate album without truely losing grip on his musical roots **** Mac DeMarco has really proven that he is one of the young talented artists to be reckoned with, especially since we're in a generation where those young pop/rock prodigies are fading away. Collapse
  2. Feb 21, 2018
    10
    With 2017's This Old Dog, Mac Demarco demonstrates what his long-time fans have known for awhile now - his knack for writing a heartfelt tuneWith 2017's This Old Dog, Mac Demarco demonstrates what his long-time fans have known for awhile now - his knack for writing a heartfelt tune that James Taylor or John Lennon would be proud of. While taking the laid-back vibes of Salad Days forward, he strips down to the acoustic guitar for much of this album with great success, while also including some of the keyboard hooks ("For the First Time", "One More Love Song") that 2015's Another One helped propel him to stardom in the indie rock community. For all of Mac's goofy and downright crazy tendencies, at the center lies a fine songwriter with a knack for writing reflective tunes, and This Old Dog stands as his most consistent and musically deep album.

    For newcomers to Mac, I recommend checking out "One Another", "Still Beating", "For the First Time", and "Moonlight on the River" with the closing track "Watching Him Fade Away".
    Expand
  3. May 5, 2017
    10
    I'm not sure if it was my personal hype and excitement for this album, or being high on nyquil, but something about this album made me giddy.I'm not sure if it was my personal hype and excitement for this album, or being high on nyquil, but something about this album made me giddy. The jangly guitar, the great vocals, the way the drums and bass are almost a single instrument. Mac obviously put a lot more work into this album, and it really paid off. Expand
  4. May 5, 2017
    9
    Although less energetic that his last albums, "this old dog" has plenty of nostalgia attached to its songs and that's the main flow of theAlthough less energetic that his last albums, "this old dog" has plenty of nostalgia attached to its songs and that's the main flow of the album, and it's not a down, instead, Demarco made a beautifully crafted album Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2017
    9
    This Old Dog is quite a sad and depressing tracklist once you tend an ear to Mac's heartfelt lyrics. But there is still just that ounce ofThis Old Dog is quite a sad and depressing tracklist once you tend an ear to Mac's heartfelt lyrics. But there is still just that ounce of goof to make this album such a great listen. Expand
  6. May 5, 2017
    8
    While This Old Dog isn't as magical as Mac's earlier material it is another great album. It's more somber and less energetic than his earlierWhile This Old Dog isn't as magical as Mac's earlier material it is another great album. It's more somber and less energetic than his earlier work, but it's more quality jangle-pop from one of the music world's better new artists. Expand
  7. May 14, 2017
    7
    This is a pleasant and easygoing work that may not be as sonically brilliant as DeMarco may have aimed for, but has enough ambition andThis is a pleasant and easygoing work that may not be as sonically brilliant as DeMarco may have aimed for, but has enough ambition and uniqueness within musical layers to be a worthwhile listen for most general audiences. My Score: 127/180 (Good) = 7.1/10 Expand

See all 12 User Reviews