• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Three Men and a Baby Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In 1999, Mike Kunka of godheadSilo and the Melvins (King Buzzo, Dale Crover, and Kevin Rutmanis) were set to release an album together when it was sidelined by a variety of factors. 16 years later, they reunited to complete the album.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. The Wire
    Apr 21, 2016
    Another thunderous slab of delicious sub-Sabbath riffage with guttural-via-brattish vocal on top. [Apr 2016, p.60]
  2. 70
    d Three Men’s engaging mix of heaviness of duty and lightness of touch resonates timelessly.
  3. Apr 6, 2016
    The album is a generally successful experiment in low-end heaviness.
  4. Apr 6, 2016
    This time Osborne, Kunka, Rutmanis and Crover all sing leads in various spots, which gives Three Men and a Baby a loose, freewheeling vibe, especially when coupled with the variety in the music.
  5. Magnet
    Apr 15, 2016
    The reanimated sludgefest is no mere quaint time capsule; music this brutally elemental is as eternal as the stars and as fresh as the debuts of Black Sabbath and the Beastie Boys. [No. 130, p.59]
  6. Apr 7, 2016
    Given the album’s origins in a world that, from a contemporary standpoint looks rather quaint, it’s little surprise that it does not possess the potential impact it might have if released when initially recorded.
  7. 50
    Three Men and a Baby just happens to be one such experiment that doesn’t land with the blunt force fans might be used to.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 8, 2016
    The Melvins are still at it at still kicking ass! One of the best bands of all time comes with this collaboration with Mike Kunka, who playedThe Melvins are still at it at still kicking ass! One of the best bands of all time comes with this collaboration with Mike Kunka, who played in other bands. The music is crushing, loud, fuzzy, and dirty like any great Melvins album should be. The riffs on pretty much all of the songs are great. And every musician on this record is very skilled and they sound terrific! The first half of the album mainly contains the usual slow, heavy, and epic songs the band is known for. Some examples would be "Chicken N' Dump" and "Read the Label (It's Chili)". Near the end of the album, they get kind of weird with songs like the drum-solo "A Friend in Need is a Friend You Don't Need", the hard and spastic "Gravel", and "Art School Fight Song", which is an awesome wave of pure noise! There are no songs that I dislike, but this album may not be for everyone. But I would at least suggest listening to it on You Tube first, then pick it up if you realize its greatness. This is one of my favorite albums of the year so far, and now I am ultra-hyped for "Basses Loaded"! Expand