• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Oct 7, 2016
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Sep 30, 2016
    80
    Tracks such as ‘Answer’ contain more light, pop-ridden sensibilities, yet it’s with the grittier, heavier-sounding choruses where Phantogram are at their best.
  2. Sep 30, 2016
    80
    Phantogram's fix and mend methods, and above average song craft, are admirable and compelling. An unexpected treat.
  3. 75
    Three is perhaps Phantogram’s most incisive record yet, sustaining a very solid and concrete idea of what kind of pop it wants to promote.
  4. Sep 30, 2016
    75
    An edgy, but earnest, collection of pulsing indie tropes.
  5. Oct 24, 2016
    70
    Three wears its scars where they’re visible, at times this makes for an uncomfortable and uneven listen, but when it clicks, they’re unstoppable.
  6. Oct 6, 2016
    70
    Flaws and all, Three is where Phantogram has stepped up, projecting themselves as chart-conquering hedonistic demigods despite their lyrics conveying an absolute crippling unhappiness.
  7. Oct 5, 2016
    70
    Three's high points come when some of the pop veneer is pulled back to let more raw, real feeling through. Overall, it's a solid record that should draw a wider audience to Phantogram's music.
  8. Oct 3, 2016
    70
    Three represents only an incremental progression, not the seismic shift of Voices, but it demonstrates the duo's ability to transform darkness into light, taking personal tragedy and shaping it into professional growth.
  9. 70
    Phantogram have always been able to craft sleek, cerebral tunes, but it hasn't always been clear that they were having a blast doing it--until now.
  10. Oct 7, 2016
    58
    The rest of the album’s expansive epics are built on a shaky foundations, with too many songs that contain too many concepts for their own good.
  11. Nov 3, 2016
    50
    Not without failings, such as the power ballad "Destroyer," the lower points temper the album's explosiveness.
  12. 50
    Three is a Phantogram record in that it’s a well-crafted release, but it lacks the originality Phantogram prided themselves on.
  13. Oct 6, 2016
    50
    Three underwhelms from beginning to end.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Oct 14, 2016
    6
    Kind of a step backwards from their last one, isn't it? Not like it's a big step; not like the result is unlistenable, but it's still easy toKind of a step backwards from their last one, isn't it? Not like it's a big step; not like the result is unlistenable, but it's still easy to notice that nothing on this record is as menacing as any of the highlights of Voices. It's a more accessible record with some very overtly "poppy" songs, but the beats are still nicely produced and Sarah Barthel sings like an heroine addict at the point of breaking down (that's good). Shame it feels tired. I guess we should have known in advance that the same tactics wouldn't work forever. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2016
    9
    Such a solid album. "You're Mine" deserves radio airplay. Quieter songs like "Answer", "Funeral Pyre", and "Destroyer" do what they doSuch a solid album. "You're Mine" deserves radio airplay. Quieter songs like "Answer", "Funeral Pyre", and "Destroyer" do what they do amazing. "Barking Dog" is meh but I guess it fits as a interlude. As for the singles they are all very good. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2016
    8
    I'm so glad to have more Phantogram in my life! Everything I love about their music is on full display in Three. The layered textures, edgyI'm so glad to have more Phantogram in my life! Everything I love about their music is on full display in Three. The layered textures, edgy sound, high-energy beats, and hook-laden melodies are all present, which is great. Funeral Pyre and Calling All bookend the album wonderfully and showcase just how great of songwriters this duo is. When they are on their A-game, their music is seriously some of the best I've ever heard.

    Three is a somewhat shorter album with only 10 tracks, and I'd say there are 4 fantastic songs, 3 good songs, and 3 songs I'm not too crazy about. It would be nice to have a bit more material here, partly because I like their music a lot, but also because the songs have pretty varied styles, so having a few more tracks might make the transitions flow more nicely.

    Overall I'd give this a 7.5/10, and I'll round up to an 8.

    Standout tracks: Funeral Pyre, Same Old Blues, Destroyer, Calling All
    Full Review »