Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 28, 2020
    80
    Not only is Tickets To My Downfall a slick sideways hop from what you might be expecting from Machine Gun Kelly, it’s done excellently. It celebrates everything great about pop-punk without feeling cookie-cutter or third division. It also finds its energy from the knots Kells works through in the lyrics.
  2. 80
    Boisterous, full of sincerity and exciting enough to make you jump on a table in the middle of a board meeting, ‘Tickets To My Downfall’ is an album that not only proves MGK can do whatever the hell he likes, but that also maybe pop-punk still has something important to offer the world.
  3. Oct 2, 2020
    70
    On Tickets To My Downfall he tries a new gambit that works surprisingly well, switching to late-Nineties/early-2000s pop punk, with Blink 182’s Travis Barker producing and playing drums. Trashily lachrymose and full of easily digestible angst.
  4. Oct 1, 2020
    70
    he annoying melodrama that made his rap material so exhausting is what gives his new music some real power. For the first time ever, the instrumentation suits Baker’s natural whine.
  5. Sep 28, 2020
    70
    While some songs are more interesting than others and some tend too close to blink-182 worship, Tickets to My Downfall succeeds more than it falters. While it would rank as a slightly above average album for any given pop-punk band, there's an added excitement in how risky this about-face is for a multi-platinum artist who could have easily turned in the same record he made last time.
  6. Sep 30, 2020
    67
    Thematically, Tickets to My Downfall is hardly a departure from MGK’s past work, but the new surroundings lightens his music up considerably even amidst the hormones and histrionics. With Travis Barker on his side, he might win over skeptics accusing him of trend-hopping, but the best part of Downfall is that he doesn’t take the whole endeavor too seriously.
  7. Sep 28, 2020
    30
    Despite its competence musically, Tickets to My Downfall’s cookie-cutter, antiquated presentation and MGK’s blatant ignorance make it a truly punishing experience to sit through. Punk by definition is supposed to be something that comes straight from the heart in all its raw ugliness, but this album is the anthesis of that and doesn’t even try to hide its overt shallowness.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 123
  2. Negative: 21 out of 123
  1. Oct 1, 2020
    10
    One of the best Albums I have heart every song is catchy. Some of the songs are very emotional but every single song brings you in a goodOne of the best Albums I have heart every song is catchy. Some of the songs are very emotional but every single song brings you in a good mood. I have listen to this album literally 15 times and it doesn't bore me at all. Must hear for me Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2021
    0
    Sounds boring and voice does not go well with the songs, the album is trash as his annoying voice
  3. Feb 9, 2021
    0
    The lyrics are predictably bland. The delivery is stiff. The sound is tired. The aesthetic is obnoxious. The video/movie complement wasThe lyrics are predictably bland. The delivery is stiff. The sound is tired. The aesthetic is obnoxious. The video/movie complement was laughable and half assed. Blink-1-82 did not need this sequel. I hoped tte hype would amount to something. Unfortunately it results in a tedious disappointment. Full Review »