User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 59
  2. Negative: 11 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrittaneyJ
    Jul 19, 2007
    this is a wicked album
  2. DanH.
    Apr 1, 2008
    I liked it quite a lot.
  3. FaridDjF4
    Apr 28, 2007
    timbaland is craaaaazzyyy. he got alot of people in his album. and his song "give it to me" topped the chart just like he said
  4. MaxS
    May 12, 2007
    Amazingly addictive album. The beats are amazing, the combinations are fresh and each song is vastly different from another.
  5. LeonS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    Just what i would expect from a producers album. The beats are massive, timbo raps surprisingly good. It's just fun to listen to it!
  6. RonakP
    Apr 12, 2007
    Timbaland is "the beat man". The beats on this cd are just amazing. There are atleast 3 great songs that you can dance to, and then you have all these songs with so many great new talents such as Keri Hilson. Excellent cd, very much recommended!
  7. AdamE
    Apr 15, 2007
    It has it flaws, but when he gets it spot on no one can deny his talent. Their are lots of risks which pay off.
  8. WaltD
    Apr 19, 2007
    although the rock part isn't very good, this album has many original and absurd tracks. timbaland has always been ahead of his time, as are some of the tracks on this album. don't expect anything from this man, because he will always do the exact opposite.
  9. MichaelN
    Jun 12, 2007
    Its the perfect album to buy. All the tracks are at least 4 star(Believe me im talling the truth).
  10. CarinJ.
    Nov 22, 2007
    My suggestion is that you first listen to track #18 'Hello'; make up your mind thereafter. There are three or four more songs that are really good but it's a very mixed bag.
  11. NathanL
    Apr 12, 2007
    Shock value has 17 tracks and I wish I could say I loved all of them.....but I don't. Tracks 1-5 track 10 and 13-17 are all good tracks, the rest I could have done without but I think Timbaland is great and the beats he has on his album are completely HOT! Standout tracks: Give It To Me, Oh Timbaland, Scream, Bounce, The Way I Are, Time, One And Only, Apologize.
  12. jonw
    Jun 19, 2007
  13. Scorpiochic
    Jul 13, 2007
    a great album. i've listened to it at least twice a day for two weeks straight. while elton number isn't all that, overall i love it. i hope he does it again-soon.
  14. Oct 17, 2020
    This album is great. To this day, every song is still fresh. To me, at least.

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. [It] would be more accurately titled Timbaland Presents Slight Confusion or Timbaland Presents an Uneven Mess.
  2. Shock Value is a far-reaching and ambitious disc; a masterpiece, even, in its own way.
  3. Solid if unspectacular.