• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2019
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 141
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    10
    Sublime orchestration and Natalie's voice layerings make this a complete cinematic experience.
  2. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    This album speaks with all of us that go out every single day to work, to college and comes back with a new different feeling - after all, life's a construction and we're never the same. 'Titanic Rising' really touched me in many ways. This is the first work that I listened from the artist behind this album, but I definitely will know more from her from now on
  3. Apr 10, 2019
    10
    Makes me think about sailing in a calm ocean. A cohesive, mild, elusive and beautiful piece of art.
  4. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    So far one of the best albums of the year. A truly masterpiece. Very unexpected.
  5. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    it's funny how the title fits so well the album, i can imagine the songs playing in a ship like titanic. incredible album
  6. Apr 7, 2019
    10
    Definitely one of the best albums this year. Titanic Rising takes us on an amazing musical journey with vocals and a production as wonderful as the invasion of aliens into the world that leads to the destruction of humanity. This album seems to be perfect and should be considered as a serious candidate for the album of the year.
  7. Apr 8, 2019
    10
    O álbum possuí uma sonoridade única, muito relaxante e dramatica, tanto que seria um otimo par ao um filme, sendo uma trilha sonora. Os seus vocais e melodias são simplesmente incríveis. "Titanic Rising", sim, é uma grande aposta para as grandes categorias do Grammy 2020; não me surpreenderia se ganhasse como Álbum do Ano.
  8. Apr 19, 2019
    10
    É inacreditável a capacidade que esse álbum tem de trazer uma nostalgia misturada a ritmos perturbadores e reflexivos. Embalado de canções que me dão medo pela sua profundidade e imensidade de entendimento. Weyes Blood ganhou mais um fã.
  9. Apr 6, 2019
    10
    Beyond Natalie Mering's (always) stunning vocals and the record's lush melodies, what truly makes Titanic Rising such a special and memorable album is its perfect balance of contradictory themes: sadness and joy, heartache and love. The very image of a "titanic rising," is that of the mythical phoenix, and each track carries with it a sense of hope-in-dark-times aspect that is immediatelyBeyond Natalie Mering's (always) stunning vocals and the record's lush melodies, what truly makes Titanic Rising such a special and memorable album is its perfect balance of contradictory themes: sadness and joy, heartache and love. The very image of a "titanic rising," is that of the mythical phoenix, and each track carries with it a sense of hope-in-dark-times aspect that is immediately infectious from the introductory strings on the opener A Lot's Gonna Change. Even Jonathan Rado's production embodies these contradictions, as the sound is both minimalistic at times and grandiose at the very right moments. Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2019
    10
    Yeah this is definitely my favorite pop (more like psychedelic pop) album I've heard since 2017 Melodrama. That's all I can say. Weyes Blood ( btw that's such a cool name) is spot on when it comes to transporting a person to heaven using her music . Heavenly Bliss is what it is and I'm not exaggerating. It makes everything else I've heard from other dream-pop/ and psych-pop artists seem aYeah this is definitely my favorite pop (more like psychedelic pop) album I've heard since 2017 Melodrama. That's all I can say. Weyes Blood ( btw that's such a cool name) is spot on when it comes to transporting a person to heaven using her music . Heavenly Bliss is what it is and I'm not exaggerating. It makes everything else I've heard from other dream-pop/ and psych-pop artists seem a little recycled. Movies is probably the last song i'll listen to before I die. **** Terrific!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  11. Apr 7, 2019
    9
    Weyes Blood do not need the hype to make very good music, but the hype is always accepted to raise the awareness of such good music.
    The melodies, the lyrics and the whole mood of the Titanic Rising album is really superb, thanks to the beautiful ideas and the incredible Natalie's Mering voice.
    Enjoy the albums and let your feelings free to guide you.
  12. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    Beautiful album but I can see how some people might listen to this and think it's boring. Movies is an excellent and stand out track but on first listen it didn't get me till the second half of the song kicked in. In my opinion the orchestration and her voice carries the album in that order. Everyday is probably the closest to an upbeat song on the album and I would recommend to the casualBeautiful album but I can see how some people might listen to this and think it's boring. Movies is an excellent and stand out track but on first listen it didn't get me till the second half of the song kicked in. In my opinion the orchestration and her voice carries the album in that order. Everyday is probably the closest to an upbeat song on the album and I would recommend to the casual listener. I'd like to hear Movies in a movie some day. Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2019
    9
    If Lana Del Rey, Enya and Marina Diamandis decided to make a record all together, I think this would be the holy result. However, Weyes Blood has her own identity and her own touch all over "Titanic Rising". It is so meticulously-orchestrated and beautifully-delivered. Opening with 'A Lot's Gonna Change', a hopeful ballad about the future and, well... change, the album then moves on toIf Lana Del Rey, Enya and Marina Diamandis decided to make a record all together, I think this would be the holy result. However, Weyes Blood has her own identity and her own touch all over "Titanic Rising". It is so meticulously-orchestrated and beautifully-delivered. Opening with 'A Lot's Gonna Change', a hopeful ballad about the future and, well... change, the album then moves on to great songs such as 'Andromeda', 'Movies', 'Everyday' and 'Picture Me Better' (which is the most accessible song for the mainstream ear on there). The arrangements and the strings all over the record are impeccable, and the two instrumental interludes (title-track 'Titanic Rising' and closer 'Nearer to Three') are moments of pure bliss. A very solid sub-pop record, this may be one of the best and strongest albums of the year. Expand
  14. Apr 8, 2019
    7
    After track three, I imagine staring up at the ceiling, a wobbling dated fan spinning around, crickets and other woodland creatures off in the distance. In an unfamiliar place I sit and think about familiar things. If nothing else, Titanic Rising is a collection of late night existential thoughts. That pondering veers off for me after Movies due to Weyes’ voice drowning into theAfter track three, I imagine staring up at the ceiling, a wobbling dated fan spinning around, crickets and other woodland creatures off in the distance. In an unfamiliar place I sit and think about familiar things. If nothing else, Titanic Rising is a collection of late night existential thoughts. That pondering veers off for me after Movies due to Weyes’ voice drowning into the instrumental, but still the feeling is visceral and is what kept me engaged for the most part. Expand
  15. Apr 6, 2019
    4
    its important not to be controlled by hype. Im not sure what kind of hype machine brainwashes people into thinking albums like this are good, it is not good. It's boring Joni Mitchell esque bland singer songwriter stuff. I have heard worse albums, but there is no way this record deserves the praise it is getting. Keep on searching for real music, with real melodies and songs that actuallyits important not to be controlled by hype. Im not sure what kind of hype machine brainwashes people into thinking albums like this are good, it is not good. It's boring Joni Mitchell esque bland singer songwriter stuff. I have heard worse albums, but there is no way this record deserves the praise it is getting. Keep on searching for real music, with real melodies and songs that actually are captivating. Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2019
    3
    While the album may be only 10 songs and just over 40 minutes, it feels terribly bloated because it is basically one long lullaby. There is really no need for it to be longer than two songs since most will fall asleep well before then, which is kind of a shame because the third track is actually a standout on an otherwise bland experience.
  17. Apr 21, 2019
    7
    Titanic Rising is a strange ode to pessimism of the past experiences and optimism to the future. The album fluctuates really quick and transports you to different universes. Even though almost all the songs sound the same, the messages have variety and originality. Her vocals catch you and situates the listener where she wants her/him to be. Great job from Weyes Blood. 73/100
  18. May 8, 2019
    10
    a songwriter in all her abilities, a 70's fetish homage, a truly remarkable album and a strong contender for years best...
  19. May 13, 2019
    9
    If this record doesn't make you feel anything, then you're the reason why there's evil in this world. It's so lushy, so powerful and sublime. While traveling back and forth in time so seamlessly and free-willingly , Natalie's songwriting abilities immerse us deep into a cosmic sea of inner complexity and striking emotion. It's harder to let go of it than it is to put yourself through theIf this record doesn't make you feel anything, then you're the reason why there's evil in this world. It's so lushy, so powerful and sublime. While traveling back and forth in time so seamlessly and free-willingly , Natalie's songwriting abilities immerse us deep into a cosmic sea of inner complexity and striking emotion. It's harder to let go of it than it is to put yourself through the ordeal-like of a trip that is to listening to it over and over again. Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2019
    8
    Weyes Blood presents an amazingly ambitious and cohesive project. Although some songs might get lost during the album's listening, the young artist has already achieved an irreplaceable sound of her own. With a mixture of Enya esq-ue vocals, jazz and reggae instrumental sounds, the album presents a high replay factor. "Movies" is the high peak of the project and without a doubt, one of theWeyes Blood presents an amazingly ambitious and cohesive project. Although some songs might get lost during the album's listening, the young artist has already achieved an irreplaceable sound of her own. With a mixture of Enya esq-ue vocals, jazz and reggae instrumental sounds, the album presents a high replay factor. "Movies" is the high peak of the project and without a doubt, one of the most interesting songs released during this almost-finished decade. Expand
  21. May 7, 2019
    8
    Weyes Blood's potent new album, "Titanic Rising" is a success on a few different fronts. First, for being a catalyst to a sound that boldly pushes the already bold genre of Avant-Garde pop. And second, for considering the experience; much like a movie. The songs on this record play out like a biopic where Weyes Blood is the subject and she shares her many experiences with love.
  22. May 1, 2019
    10
    ICONICA LA NUEVA PROMESA DEL ALTERNATIVO, YA VEO COMO SE SURRARA EN MALPARIDINA, CAGUELISH, PUTONIE Y TODAS SUS CONTEMPORANEAS 10/10 ALBUM DE LA AÑAAA YA LA VEA CON SU GRAMMY A DIOSWEYES DIOSBLOOD UWU
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 8, 2019
    90
    Titanic Rising is even more accomplished than putting Mering’s state of grace to music; with her 70s-inflected approach to songwriting, she succeeds in nothing less than recalibrating time.
  2. Apr 30, 2019
    100
    A strong contender for album of the year. ... Titanic Rising is remarkable for its breadth, effortlessly shifting from the 90-second ambient wash of the title track to Picture Me Better’s homespun take on the cosmic cowboyisms of Kacey Musgraves. Then there are Merings’ lyrics, evincing a similar shift in scale and scope.
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    To genuinely appreciate this album, you need to sit with it and let it wash over you.