• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: May 21, 2002
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Skeletal, fragmented, stumblebum, Kim and Kelley retain their knack for righting themselves with a tuneburst just when you thought they'd never do the limbo again.
  2. Uncut
    80
    Sounds like the product of a sloppy but inspired band enjoying the straightforward art of making a noise. [Jun 2002, p.114]
  3. That's another thing about the present incarnation of the Breeders: they sound, somehow, a lot more . . . oh . . . credible than the last version.
  4. 80
    Title TK sounds as if nothing happened since Last Splash.
  5. It's the sound of experimentation working, it's what what the second Elastica album should have sounded like, and it's a compelling story unfolding, with many more interesting twists still to come.
  6. It blends the stripped-down sounds of Pod and the Amps' Pacer into a collection of strangely intimate, feminine garage rock.
  7. There's a lot of empty space in these songs, the better to focus on Kim and Kelley's up-front vocal harmonies and classically off-kilter lyrical ideas.
  8. After repeated listens, Title TK congeals into a beautiful little slice of fuzz-rock-pop.
  9. Title TK picks up where Pod left off in 1989, with a jagged sound nowhere near as tight as the Pixies' but a heartfelt enthusiasm for creating music.
  10. Magnet
    70
    The tight, buzzing guitars and chugging rhythm section have been deconstructed--subdued, even. [#54, p.78]
  11. This is hot, scratchy, burdened un-rock, and one horribly sad album.
  12. Mojo
    70
    A languorous, mid-paced affair that eschews visceral assault and pop nous for a raw, prowling, feline angularity. [June 2002, p.108]
  13. Not necessarily a fantastic album then, but a great excuse for a record, nonetheless.
  14. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The thrill evaporates as one monotonous tune drones into the next. [24 May 2002, p.94]
  15. Alternative Press
    60
    Title TK isn't awful, but it's too zoned out to draw you in. [Jun 2002, p.71]
  16. The experimentation of tracks like "Off You" and "Put on a Side" show that Kim Deal and co. aren't concerned with reproducing past success, but also shows that they are entirely capable of producing the same interesting song structures and pop pleasures that we have come to expect.
  17. Q Magazine
    40
    No matter how much frenetic energy is exuded, Title TK fails to ignite The Breeders' former fire. [May 2002, p.108]
  18. Blender
    40
    Unfortunately, the songs on Title TK are mostly half-written train wrecks. [Jun/Jul 2002, p.103]
  19. Title TK comes off as unglued in an almost perversely restrained, even uneventful way.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Mar 21, 2018
    9
    This album, which was released in 2002, is still in top rotation as far as my 2018 playlist goes. It is a strange and stark and immenselyThis album, which was released in 2002, is still in top rotation as far as my 2018 playlist goes. It is a strange and stark and immensely appealing group of songs. I can't pick just one favorite, but "Huffer," "Off You," and "Full on Idle" are definite stand-outs. There is a genius to Kim Deal, and this album is the closest we'll probably get to seeing it. Full Review »
  2. Ryan
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I didn't like it at first, but after I got to know the songs it was like noticing something strange and subtle but very very brilliant. I didn't like it at first, but after I got to know the songs it was like noticing something strange and subtle but very very brilliant. Yes 'Off You' is beautiful. I love all these tracks 'has anyone seen the iguana?' is hilarious, moody, dark, brooding but then it goes so silly. I love it!! Their sense of humor is definately reflected in their music. if this music doesn't satisfy your inner frustrations with digitally enhanced bass and vocals, go back to your little "woe is me" linkin park music. this album is fun. they're not trying to make a statement they're just doing what they love. and if you think this album is a piece of trash, email me YOUR music and i'll tell you what I think. Full Review »
  3. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 16, 2004
    7
    I would venture to say that "Off You" is the most beautiful song of Deal's career. A laid-back, lonely, lovely record.