• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: May 21, 2002
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidM.
    May 22, 2002
    5
    Have only heard it twice but early impressions are not favorable. There are a few very good songs but nothing that caught me right off .. was hoping for so much more.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 23, 2002
    0
    If I could give it a negative score, I would. Could not believe how badly this sounds. I would have tossed it out of my car window if it weren't littering. Don't waste your time!
  3. lady
    Sep 8, 2002
    10
    sad or not, this album is intimate invite into the mind of kim deal. Few artists have written like this, and even fewer have done it so well. this album rocks. fuck you rolling stone.
  4. SpaceDog
    May 13, 2002
    10
    brilliance has a name: kim deal
  5. DamionR.
    May 25, 2002
    9
    Great album. Way more "pod" than "last splash" and thats a wonderful thing! Definately the stoner album of the year so far. Kim Deal is a god!
  6. HelenP.
    May 26, 2002
    9
    not as fine as safari or last spalsh but the breeders are BACK!
  7. Ryan
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I didn't like it at first, but after I got to know the songs it was like noticing something strange and subtle but very very brilliant. Yes 'Off You' is beautiful. I love all these tracks 'has anyone seen the iguana?' is hilarious, moody, dark, brooding but then it goes so silly. I love it!! Their sense of humor is definately reflected in their music. if this I didn't like it at first, but after I got to know the songs it was like noticing something strange and subtle but very very brilliant. Yes 'Off You' is beautiful. I love all these tracks 'has anyone seen the iguana?' is hilarious, moody, dark, brooding but then it goes so silly. I love it!! Their sense of humor is definately reflected in their music. if this music doesn't satisfy your inner frustrations with digitally enhanced bass and vocals, go back to your little "woe is me" linkin park music. this album is fun. they're not trying to make a statement they're just doing what they love. and if you think this album is a piece of trash, email me YOUR music and i'll tell you what I think. Expand
  8. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 16, 2004
    7
    I would venture to say that "Off You" is the most beautiful song of Deal's career. A laid-back, lonely, lovely record.
  9. Mar 21, 2018
    9
    This album, which was released in 2002, is still in top rotation as far as my 2018 playlist goes. It is a strange and stark and immensely appealing group of songs. I can't pick just one favorite, but "Huffer," "Off You," and "Full on Idle" are definite stand-outs. There is a genius to Kim Deal, and this album is the closest we'll probably get to seeing it.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Uncut
    80
    Sounds like the product of a sloppy but inspired band enjoying the straightforward art of making a noise. [Jun 2002, p.114]
  2. After repeated listens, Title TK congeals into a beautiful little slice of fuzz-rock-pop.
  3. Magnet
    70
    The tight, buzzing guitars and chugging rhythm section have been deconstructed--subdued, even. [#54, p.78]