• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Jan 13, 2015
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 305
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    8
    This debut album from Meghan Trainor has a creative, fun, and upbeat sound. Most songs are so addicting you wish they were all singles! From her quieter and lower sounding "What If I' and "Like I'm Gonna Lose You", she also features very fun and active "Walkashame" and "Mr. Almost". It features some great artists like up and coming Shy Carter and soul hero John Legend. This album will getThis debut album from Meghan Trainor has a creative, fun, and upbeat sound. Most songs are so addicting you wish they were all singles! From her quieter and lower sounding "What If I' and "Like I'm Gonna Lose You", she also features very fun and active "Walkashame" and "Mr. Almost". It features some great artists like up and coming Shy Carter and soul hero John Legend. This album will get you dancing or bring you to tears!

    I do believe that it's downfall track is "What If I" and might have been better replaced with the leaked song released on YouTube "Over And Done". Overall, great album to listen to when you're in a dancing mood!
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    6
    The lyrics are good but they are sung with a demeaning superficiality. Per se, the tracks are enjoyable and appreciable, but they have lost their potential due to a cheapish production.

    When you hear 'Title' your ears have fun. But then the music ends and they will ask to you why you've done them to lose time.
  3. May 29, 2015
    3
    Superficial, smug and soulless, Trainor throws countless balls of retro influences in the air, and conspicuously fails to catch any of them. Only pre-teens and grandmothers need apply to her dull, secondhand offering.
  4. Jul 2, 2015
    5
    Meghan Trainor is a really talented confident fun artist. Unfortunately, her debut doesn't really work to show that. Her sound is gigantic but all the songs sound almost at the same made using the same formula. Standouts are "3am" and "Close Your Eyes". The ballad featuring John Legend feels tired and impersonal. We appreciate the effort, Meghan, but we hope you'll be back with a strongerMeghan Trainor is a really talented confident fun artist. Unfortunately, her debut doesn't really work to show that. Her sound is gigantic but all the songs sound almost at the same made using the same formula. Standouts are "3am" and "Close Your Eyes". The ballad featuring John Legend feels tired and impersonal. We appreciate the effort, Meghan, but we hope you'll be back with a stronger sophomore. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    This is a pretty album, but I'm really disappointed with the standard that Meghan has kept up. She should have innovated a little this same sound that try to be cute. In addition, the album that was more tedious to be heard in a single integer.
  6. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    Meghan Trainor's music is so cheesy, overrated, and overall bad, it makes me angry. The fact that so many people listen to this music is absolutely absurd, and maddening.
  7. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Vintage and perfect, this is how I can describe this masterpiece, Meghan joined styles of the 50's 60's and gave us a wonderful album and very enjoyable to listen, congratulations goddess, you rocked. Expand
  8. May 6, 2015
    0
    Just the same bullsh** we all know from mainstream pop/bubblegum pop. Too coloured, too sweet, not innovator: that's awful. "Title" is the pop music stuff I am tired of listening around.
  9. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    O álbum de Meghan Trainor é perfeito, musicas calmas, músicas que foram feitas pra Charts, e musicas pessoais, que todo álbum deve ter, pisou sem dó. Não me surpreende essa garota ter um bom futuro no mundo músical.
  10. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    This is pop at its finest!

    Standouts: "All About That Bass," "Dear Future Husband," "3am," "Like I'm Gonna Lose You," "Bang Dem Sticks," "Walkashame," "Title," "Lips Are Movin," and "Mr. Almost."
  11. Aug 17, 2015
    6
    First of all, many people are taking this album way too freaking seriously. Not all the music in the world should be spiritual and educational and wise and **** Absolutely not. There is a place for happy-go-lucky and breezy fun sort of music. And I feel like "Title" is just that. So, my problems with it are not of that nature. Don't search for artistic expression in this one.
    However,
    First of all, many people are taking this album way too freaking seriously. Not all the music in the world should be spiritual and educational and wise and **** Absolutely not. There is a place for happy-go-lucky and breezy fun sort of music. And I feel like "Title" is just that. So, my problems with it are not of that nature. Don't search for artistic expression in this one.
    However, melodies and harmonies and even lyrics are somewhat repetitive on this LP. It's a bit hard to distinguish all this happy tunes from each other because the vibe they have to them is almost one-dimensional. That's the biggest problem of the album, in my opinion. That's why I prefer slow jams of this LP because they, even if their flaws, are more memorable. Some of the songs are skipable, like "3am" and "Mr. Almost", and I think shouldn't have been on this release at all. So, upon many listens, the music gets a bit tiring, so making a selection after a few listens, and removing unnecessary songs should help it. Good thing about it is that it is unique in mainstream POP which is a great thing for Meghan. Best of luck! I hope your next LP bring a bit more variety.
    Expand
  12. May 1, 2015
    2
    The album is FUN and Cool but it's something you can dance in guilty pleasure kinda way. Trainor is charming!!!!! vjnrufnufurruurkfkdkofivifnvnjjjbjjv
  13. Jan 28, 2015
    1
    "All About That Bass" is a song without any quality beats in melody sound of a very weird way together with the voice of the singer, just lips are movin 'which is interesting because it is a fun song.
  14. Jan 13, 2015
    0
    I was really looking forward for this album for quite a long time but left disappointed with the quality of this album. It's a fun album but the lyrics have no substance and depth at all. Not worth listening.
  15. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    After giving this album a thorough listen, I can say that it's a success. Meghan Trainor stays within the same style of music as her previous single/ep releases, but leaves us interested thanks to the presence of catchy beats and deep ballads. Standout tracks (newly released through this album) for me are No Good For You, Walkashame and Bang Dem Sticks.
  16. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    Title is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Meghan Trainor. If you want fun lyrics and catchy songs with simple meanings, this is for you. If you want something a little more, don't bother.

    Overall, Title is a great debut album and enjoyable for fans of catchy radio-catered music like me.
  17. Mar 14, 2015
    0
    Trainor recycles the themes from every forgettable Billboard alumnus from the past decade, with a bit more color here and there, but not enough to distinguish herself from the pack.
  18. Mar 16, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1. The Best Part (Interlude) 9/10
    2. All About That Bass 10/10 3. Dear Future Husband 9/10 4. Close Your Eyes 9/10 5. 3am 9/10 6. Like I'm Gonna Lose You 9.5/10 7. Bang Dem Sticks 5.5/10 8. Walkashame 10/10 9. Title 8.5/10 10. What If I 8/10 11. Lips Are Movin 10/10 Highlights: Lips Are Movin, All About that Bass, Walkashame, Like I'm Gonna Lose You,
    Track by track review:
    1. The Best Part (Interlude) 9/10
    2. All About That Bass 10/10
    3. Dear Future Husband 9/10
    4. Close Your Eyes 9/10
    5. 3am 9/10
    6. Like I'm Gonna Lose You 9.5/10
    7. Bang Dem Sticks 5.5/10
    8. Walkashame 10/10
    9. Title 8.5/10
    10. What If I 8/10
    11. Lips Are Movin 10/10

    Highlights: Lips Are Movin, All About that Bass, Walkashame, Like I'm Gonna Lose You, 3am.
    Potential singles: All About that Bass, Lips Are Movin, Dear Future Husband.
    Expand
  19. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    While the lyrics might not be of much interest for everyone, The music and melody is catchy and really has a "Fun" vibe to it for most of the album. The only issue here is that a few tracks do not capture this vibe and suffer from it.
  20. Dec 22, 2015
    2
    Corny and samey pop music made even worse with some added ill thought and hypocritical messages. What a nightmare. Only saving grace is at least she can sing without autotune.
  21. Jan 22, 2015
    8
    I am honestly surprised that I enjoyed this album as much as I did. I definitely wasn't a fan of All About Them Bass when it came out, but after listening to 14 other songs which are more or less variations on it, Meghan Trainor's retro charm is really starting to sink in. She serves up a sassy attitude and strong vocals throughout, and with catchy tunes like these, it makes for a veryI am honestly surprised that I enjoyed this album as much as I did. I definitely wasn't a fan of All About Them Bass when it came out, but after listening to 14 other songs which are more or less variations on it, Meghan Trainor's retro charm is really starting to sink in. She serves up a sassy attitude and strong vocals throughout, and with catchy tunes like these, it makes for a very cohesive and consistent album from start to finish. So either you'll love it all or hate every last bit of it.

    As for the critics, they're always going to want something deep and poetic. I say don't take her cutesy schtick too seriously and just enjoy this album for what it is: fun, feel good pop music.
    Expand
  22. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    Amazing album, good job Meghan, i thought this album would be like all about that bass but thank god i was wrong, i loved all the songs and congrats about the #1 on iTunes.
  23. Jan 14, 2015
    7
    The album is actually really really good. I am definitely going to buy it. It's fun , it's really smart,it's different than today's pop,it's positive and it's cute. Love it
  24. Jan 13, 2015
    9
    Meghan definitely hit it out of the park with 'Title'. She has fully established that she is no one-hit wonder and that she is a pop force to be reckoned with.
  25. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Title é um álbum maravilhoso! Toda a temática do álbum é bem trabalhada, os vocais dão um show, as letras são ótimas... Meghan é tem tudo pra ser uma diva do pop! Expand
  26. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    It is rare to find a CD where you don't have to skip a track. Every song on Title is pleasing to the ear, which is a feat in itself. Even the great albums, you skip a few tracks, so just for that accomplishment along, the album gets a 10 star review. I have an hour commute to work, I have listened to CD repeatedly. Most albums these days don't deserve to be listened to once.
  27. Jan 13, 2015
    9
    A fresh album, different from anything else. I thought it was going to be full of "All About That Bass" and "Lips Are Movin"-oriented songs, but it has so much variety on it! A positive surprise.
  28. May 22, 2015
    5
    Meghan que veio com tudo com seu primeiro smash hit, ''All About That Bass'', traçando o topo da Hot 100 por 8 semanas, agora traz no seu disco de estreia, ''Title'', a missão de se provar como uma artista que não seria famosa apenas por uma só canção. A jovem de 20 anos, que ganhou conhecimento de sua gravadora Epic Records por compor muito bem e para artistas como a banda country RascalMeghan que veio com tudo com seu primeiro smash hit, ''All About That Bass'', traçando o topo da Hot 100 por 8 semanas, agora traz no seu disco de estreia, ''Title'', a missão de se provar como uma artista que não seria famosa apenas por uma só canção. A jovem de 20 anos, que ganhou conhecimento de sua gravadora Epic Records por compor muito bem e para artistas como a banda country Rascal Flatts, é quem assume a dianteira entre as composições de seu primeiro álbum oficial. O papel consegue se cumprir com facilidade, com o apelo comercial e chiclete do disco, faixas como ''Lips Are Movin'' e ''Dear Future Husband'' bateram com facilidade do top 10 dos maiores hits pop dos gráficos da Billboard. Meghan revive os anos 50 no disco, mas sem assimilar muito suas referências, acaba deixando tudo banalizado e pouca coisa realmente soa consistente no disco. ''All About That Bass'' que pode ser interpretada como uma música de autoajuda, de libertação, de quebra de esteriótipos e para você se aceitar e ser feliz como você realmente é, sem viver em meio a padrões estabelecidos pela sociedade, acaba tendo uma outra conotação, quando Trainor diz que sua mãe sempre dizia que os "meninos gostam de ter o que apertar à noite" Expand
  29. AGK
    Feb 21, 2016
    2
    The music itself is not exactly absolute rubbish like others but it's still pretty bad. Horrible messages saying it's ok to be a big girl then she loses a bunch of weight, teaching girls that it's ok to be a materialistic snob and the singing is nothing special.
  30. May 13, 2016
    4
    Unfortunately, the artwork for this album is as bright as it gets - the songs are very chilled out which is a disappointment considering the style Meghan developed from her lead singles. I feel like this album is for a different audience - it should have been marketed to older audiences as I feel it is quite mature compared to other pop albums. It wasn't for me though.
  31. Feb 13, 2015
    8
    When I heard the songs of the album Title, it was like listening to the songs Ester Dean wrote years ago, but in a style 2014. Unfortunately, the singles sound repetitive at times. Little detail! Lyrics good enough.
  32. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    TITLE:

    Title is a wonderful album. Why am I telling this?????? Beautiful songs (with ballads and hits of the future) and lyrics that a 21 year old girl can write. Fresh album with nice vocals and great production. Congrats Meghan!!!!!! With your first album you're a SUPERSTAR!!!!!!!
  33. May 13, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HINARIO DEAMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIS ja quero a rainha pisando na proxima era. Expand
  34. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    This is my first time listening to a album different from today's music and I have to say I LIKE IT eventhough a few songs in it are not going to please some of the buyers, Overall the album is wonderful and it also shows Meghan's haters that she is no two hit wonder singer and that she is so more than that and so I personally would like to congrats Meghan Trainor for making such aThis is my first time listening to a album different from today's music and I have to say I LIKE IT eventhough a few songs in it are not going to please some of the buyers, Overall the album is wonderful and it also shows Meghan's haters that she is no two hit wonder singer and that she is so more than that and so I personally would like to congrats Meghan Trainor for making such a beautiful album and bringing back the old bubblegum pop beats which reminds me f music long ago and I hope the album is a success for I for certain is buying this album. Favourite Tracks are: All About The Bass, Lips Are Movin, No Good For You, Like I'm Gonna Lose You, Credit, Mr. Almost, Close Your Eyes, Title, My Selfish Heart, What If I and Dear Future Husband. Expand
  35. Apr 10, 2015
    2
    Giving it a 0 is kinda stupid because it's not that bad but it is very very bad so it gets a 2. All the songs sound the same (particularly all about that bass and lips are moving, with the latter sounding like Allabout that bass 2) , there's a fair amount of cheesey lyrics scattered throughout (dear future husband
  36. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    This album is amazing, the voice of Meghan is so Beautiful. Meghan is the new Pop star. songs like " all about That Bass " or "Lips are movin ' are the most salient points of this album.
  37. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    Esse álbum é foda. Tem uns vocais maravilhosos. Essa mulher é toda foda gente, como os críticos deram 60 pra esse álbum ? Da pra entender essa porra ? Não da.
  38. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    The album is very good,the lyrics are really great, the music is great and Meghan's vocals are pretty nice. Overall, the album is enjoyable and very good.
  39. Sep 18, 2015
    2
    She mixes some great generic **** in one album.Cheesy songs,fake lyrics it's just so bad that i had to close it after few songs.Only good song is All About That Bass cuz it's so catchy.
  40. Aug 2, 2015
    0
    Saccharine sweet bubblegum pop, mixed messages galore. While Meghan is a reasonably talented singing she fails to create an even mildly interesting album with any trace of substance.
  41. Jun 20, 2017
    7
    Un grandioso álbum que esta muy infravalorado como toda la carrera de esta diva musical solo por explotar géneros musicales ya llevados anteriormente en la industria musical. Que deslumbre los años del Doo/Woop otra vez.
  42. Jan 16, 2016
    3
    O Title, pra mim, pode ser considerado um dos piores álbuns de 2015, não sei se por causa do vocal da Meghan ou a sonoridade do álbum, mas não consegui ouvir mais do que uma vez.
  43. Apr 8, 2018
    10
    es un album increible, lo mejor...................................................................
  44. Oct 21, 2015
    7
    A fun album. Kind of repetitive, and song structure is very basic. Would have been nice to for her to maybe mix it up a little so the structures weren't so formulaic, but still. A pretty good debut album. Hopefully she grows more as an artist and keeps up on the charts!
  45. May 23, 2015
    7
    I know some people will despise this album but for me, it's too dang catchy to ignore. Some songs are pretty bad (ironically, the song I like the least was the lead single) but others such as Title and Walkashame have some real charms behind them.
  46. Feb 7, 2015
    7
    Title, pop's "new-girl-on-the-block" Meghan Trainor's début studio album, is incredibly light fare with some catchy melodies and brilliant vocals, even if there's ultimately no substance. Perfect to dance around to when you've had a bad day; just one of those albums.

    STAND-OUT SONGS:
    Lips Are Movin'
    Bang Dem Sticks
    Walkashame
  47. Aug 25, 2015
    10
    The Metacritic score for this album is very misleading. It's a solid pop album with influences of doo wop and soul that sounds familiar yet fresh at the same time. The lyrics are sassy, like Meghan's persona on the album. I highly suggest a listen, Walkashame is the best song on the album, btw.
  48. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    Perhaps the biggest impediment to this album is not that it isn't well written or superbly produced or that 60's soul revivalism can't be refreshing in 2015. Rather, the execution is where it goes wrong, becoming an album of disposable pop with some catchy hooks as opposed to a formidable and memorable work that could curve the trajectory of music consumption in her favor.
  49. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    The best pop album released this decade so far. It's a lyrical and musical masterpiece. It's crazy how cohesive the album and yet no song on the albums sounds the same. Highlights: the whole album.
  50. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    This album is old-fashioned, yet enjoyable. It really proves Meghan that she is a great singer and song-writer. No doubt she is going to be a great pop star in the future.
  51. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    This is the first time I think I've bought a CD and love the entire thing. Especially the song with John Legend. I could listen to her beautiful voice all day! And that she writes these songs amazes me. Her songs are retro, yet modern, and I love that mix! She is so gifted. America's version of Adele.
  52. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    Omg, it's really good. Meghan is incredible and ingenious. This album is amazing and one of the best of the year, oh yeah. Congrats Meghan and much success.
  53. Jul 14, 2015
    9
    I was very pleased by this Meghan Trainor album and it definitely set her apart from her one hit wonder status. Almost every song is catchy and ready for airplay but the thing that really amazed me was her lyricism! She is almost a comedian with songs like Dear Future Husband, Credit and Walkashame. She isn't afraid to speak about anything! While I can listen to other albums about sappyI was very pleased by this Meghan Trainor album and it definitely set her apart from her one hit wonder status. Almost every song is catchy and ready for airplay but the thing that really amazed me was her lyricism! She is almost a comedian with songs like Dear Future Husband, Credit and Walkashame. She isn't afraid to speak about anything! While I can listen to other albums about sappy break ups and the repeated "I beat the **** up" formula, Meghan keeps it fresh and fun. She's probably the first person in pop music willing to make a song about the walk of shame. With this incredible album, Meghan Trainor has officially become one of my favourite women in pop music. Expand
  54. Sep 22, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is a treat , variation of sounds and letters that touch your heart.

    I love the voice of the interpreter is just perfect , in some songs even takes you to another planet.

    Besides I do not need to featuring .
    positioning to achieve their songs in the first lugars .
    Expand
  55. May 27, 2016
    9
    AMAZING!!! This album is really good, good songs, good rythms, beautiful and funny lyrics. She deserves what she's got and maybe a little more. Well done!
  56. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    Title is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Meghan Trainor. If you want fun lyrics and catchy songs with simple meanings, this is for you. If you want something a little more, don't bother.

    Overall, Title is a great debut album and enjoyable for fans of catchy radio-catered music like me. After giving this album a thorough listen, I can say that it's a success.
    Title is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Meghan Trainor. If you want fun lyrics and catchy songs with simple meanings, this is for you. If you want something a little more, don't bother.

    Overall, Title is a great debut album and enjoyable for fans of catchy radio-catered music like me.

    After giving this album a thorough listen, I can say that it's a success. Meghan Trainor stays within the same style of music as her previous single/ep releases, but leaves us interested thanks to the presence of catchy beats and deep ballads. Standout tracks (newly released through this album) for me are No Good For You, Walkashame and Bang Dem Sticks.
    Expand
  57. Jan 7, 2016
    9
    Não sei como muita gente não gosta do Title. Ele é um álbum maravilhoso. Com músicas ecléticas e chicletes e letras muito bem escritas, ele é um álbum fantástico, com alguns pontos baixos, mas não deixando sua musicalidade em ótima qualidade.

    Pontos Altos: Dear Future Husband, No Good For You, Like I'm Gonna Lose You
    Pontos Baixos: All About That Bass, Walkashame, The Best Part
  58. May 9, 2016
    7
    Bon album pop surprenant après le brouillon All About That Bass, lead de cet album. Un album cohérent et rafraîchissant. On regrettera la présence de Bang Dem Sticks qui ternit un peu le tout.
  59. May 13, 2016
    10
    The doo woop and bubblegum style are so good, Meghan bring old tendences back and became one of my idols. Songs with ukulele are the best. I love you Meghan!
  60. Jun 15, 2016
    6
    I can't escape the feeling that Meghan seems like a one hit wonder. Though Lips are Moving, Dear Future Huband, and Like I'm Going to Lose you were all successful, Her second album failed to create the same success. It really is a mixed bag because while the throwback sounds are genuinely appreciated, there is no doubt that this is generic pop.
  61. Nov 8, 2016
    7
    1) The Best Part (interlude) 0/0
    2) All About That Bass 3/5
    3) Dear Future Husband 4/5
    4) Close Your Eyes 3/5
    5) 3am 4/5
    6) Like I’m Gonna Lose You 4/5
    7) Dem Sticks 3/5
    8) Walkashame 3/5
    9) Title 4/5
    10) What if I 4/5
    11) Lips are Movin 3/5
    12) No Good For You 4/5
    13) Mr. Almost 3/5
    14) My Selfish Heart 3/5
  62. May 2, 2017
    0
    Disgusting. How is this even considered music. Sooooooo overrated and absolutely atrocious. Meghan Trainor is everything that is wrong with mainstream music, along with the terrible Chainsmokers.
  63. Jun 6, 2017
    9
    Its nice to find an album which is anomalous to the trend of music nowadays. I guess the music industry needs a woman who can bring back that doo-wop 60s vibe.
  64. Apr 7, 2018
    5
    No es tan malo para ser un album debut, pero sin dudas Thank You es mucho mejor
  65. Jul 21, 2018
    9
    Title is a plastic pop bomb in its maximum expression and is fantastic. It is incrible as the songs follow the same thread and theme without boring. Meghan showed that she is a true pop diva and that apart from singing well, she writes well and sounds good.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. 33
    Trainor recycles the themes from every forgettable Billboard alumnus from the past decade, with a bit more color here and there, but not enough to distinguish herself from the pack.
  2. Jan 26, 2015
    60
    The success of Lips Are Movin’ confirms that she’s no Eamon-style one-hit wonder; but Trainor might do well to study Duffy’s fate.
  3. Jan 22, 2015
    40
    Come for catchy hooks sung in an affected southern accent, not for insightful and, intimate songwriting.