Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    85
    We are left at its end feeling reflective, yet somewhat lost as to how these feelings we just experienced could ever be rediscovered. It's something that only the power of music can create, and Bing & Ruth do it with style, elegance and tact.
  2. Nov 17, 2014
    81
    Tomorrow Was the Golden Age, one of the finest left-field releases of the year, transcends geography, inviting you to close your eyes and build your own richly detailed world.
  3. Uncut
    Nov 25, 2014
    80
    Band Leader David Moore's piano lines are more definable, tinkling through the serene textures in a way that recalls Hans-Joachim Roedelius. [Nov 2014, p.71]
  4. Mojo
    Nov 21, 2014
    80
    A series of melodic sunset tales in which the bright light of Moore's piano is shaded and scattered by the dusk notes of his accompanists. [Nov 2014, p.99]
  5. Nov 17, 2014
    80
    Casual listeners may find this to merely be a pleasant and inviting ambient work, but a lot of love went into these nine pieces and repeated spins will reveal great depth and many layers to get lost in.
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    80
    From its rumbling lows to its ethereal, resonant highs, Tomorrow Was The Golden Age is one of the simplest and most beguiling albums of its kind since Stars Of The Lid's landmark run on Kranky in the '00s.
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    70
    All nine tracks in Tomorrow Was the Golden Age keep their dynamics low to the ground and the cycles take their time their development and eventual unraveling (the tracks average around the six minute range).

Awards & Rankings

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 13, 2017
    10
    This album has been an invaluable part of my life since its release. It creates a space that feels like home to me, now. It stands alongsideThis album has been an invaluable part of my life since its release. It creates a space that feels like home to me, now. It stands alongside Stars of the Lid's "Tired Sounds of..." and "...and Their Refinement of the Decline" in my pantheon of organic ambient music. Full Review »