Tracer Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the electronic duo of Nick Weiss and Logan Takahashi features guest appearances by Kelela, Panda Bear, Laurel Halo, and Romanthony.

No trailers available at this moment.

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    Simply put, Tracer is a lovely, melodious, engaging work of electronic music that will play just as well in the bedroom as it will on the dance floor.
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    Tracer is a complete LP that's unified yet fluid, providing a full club experience for those who choose not to leave their bedrooms.
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    [Tracer] is more expansive and impressive than their previous output.
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    Weiss and Takahashi lay out their visions in purely instrumental terms, and the production is sumptuous and beautifully tactile. This is what Teengirl Fantasy do best: They craft immaculate headphones music, full of enveloping small details.
  5. Coming up with interesting sounds isn't an issue for these guys, it's putting them together that is.
  6. Aug 23, 2012
    Tracer is full of traces of melodies and snatches of ideas on its instrumental tracks, and they are ... interesting, if not wholly successful.
  7. Uncut
    Aug 16, 2012
    A glossy but incoherent neo-rave pastiche. [Sep 2012, p.87]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Sep 12, 2012
    How inspired they sound when they use vocal samples on the album '7AM', so aimless and uninspired are the songs on this album. TheHow inspired they sound when they use vocal samples on the album '7AM', so aimless and uninspired are the songs on this album. The collaborations with Panda Bear and Romanthony seemed promising, but the outcome is underwhelming. The vocal melody on the second track of Kelela is never in touch with the music. Their signature sound that worked so well on '7AM' seems to be the biggest obstacle for TF, as they try to be unpredictable in their song progression the music is incoherent and good ideas are sparse. When it does work, it becomes a nice piece of neo-electro, like the song Eternal. This is the only highlight on the album however, and they already released it on the their Motif single. Don't bother with this album and wait for the next one when their sound has matured. Expand