• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: May 1, 2001
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LydiaL.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    A 9 because nothing is perfect. This album has some amazing lyrics and unbelievable music. Each time I listen to it I find something more interesting, more unique. Just listen to Bombay Sapphire, Planets of the Universe, I Miss You, Love Is, Everyday, Sorcerer and of course the title track, all are beautiful and extremely rich with texture. This is a gift from one of the most talented, A 9 because nothing is perfect. This album has some amazing lyrics and unbelievable music. Each time I listen to it I find something more interesting, more unique. Just listen to Bombay Sapphire, Planets of the Universe, I Miss You, Love Is, Everyday, Sorcerer and of course the title track, all are beautiful and extremely rich with texture. This is a gift from one of the most talented, sometimes underrated, musicians of our time. Expand
  2. JyotirmayaD
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    Stevie Nicks' voice sounds a little better than it has lately on this CD. I think there are one too many stinkers on this album -- some songs are too polished to hide their bad quality; some songs are just plain horrible - why did she decide to put the Tom Petty inspired "That Made Me Stronger?" yech! But being a Stevie fan, I enjoy listening to the one's I like and skip over Stevie Nicks' voice sounds a little better than it has lately on this CD. I think there are one too many stinkers on this album -- some songs are too polished to hide their bad quality; some songs are just plain horrible - why did she decide to put the Tom Petty inspired "That Made Me Stronger?" yech! But being a Stevie fan, I enjoy listening to the one's I like and skip over the one's I don't. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jun 17, 2001
    10
    This is just a great album. Stevie Nicks has a beautiful voice.
  4. KimS
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Critics suck. This is a wonderful Stevie Nicks album. If you do not like Stevie Nicks, this will not change your mind. If you love her, this album does not disappoint.
  5. MoniqueG.
    May 18, 2001
    10
    My Bella Donna is back and sounding better then she has in years.
  6. LMArr
    Oct 11, 2002
    9
    great album!
  7. KathrynS.
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    I think it's a great album... It's art, Stevie's the artist, and I think she's amazing.
  8. vickio
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    Trouble in Shangri-La rocks!!! i love it
  9. joshl
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    stevie nicks is always great!!!!!!! loving her...........
  10. May 6, 2011
    10
    Trouble In Shangri-La is one of Stevie Nicks' best solo albums, probably her best since 1980's Bella Donna. Whereas Nicks had great moments on her albums The Wild Heart, Rock A Little and The Other Side Of The Mirror, Trouble In Shangri-La is a very consistently good album. "Planets of the Universe" is a great Nicks-written track (and was a #1 Dance hit on Billboard's charts). "TroubleTrouble In Shangri-La is one of Stevie Nicks' best solo albums, probably her best since 1980's Bella Donna. Whereas Nicks had great moments on her albums The Wild Heart, Rock A Little and The Other Side Of The Mirror, Trouble In Shangri-La is a very consistently good album. "Planets of the Universe" is a great Nicks-written track (and was a #1 Dance hit on Billboard's charts). "Trouble In Shangri-La" offers a killer chorus, "Sorcerer" is a Sheryl Crow-produced 1970s era song, "Every Day" hit #17 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts, "Bombay Sapphires" offers a moody meditation on relationships and the ocean, and "Fall From Grace" is a sizzling rocker. This album hit #5 and went Gold in the U.S. Expand
  11. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    My favorite Stevie album next to "Bella Donna" and "Rock a Little." Absolutely beautiful. This album shows off Stevie's beautiful poetry better than any album of FM's or Stevie's since "Bella Donna" and "Rumours." Absolutely amazing!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Offering her strongest material since her 1982 landmark, Bella Donna, Nicks is radiant as she vamps through guitar-charged rockers that deftly balance her signature poetry with sticky pop hooks.
  2. Though her newfound confidence mostly allows the disc to transcend the safe "comeback" label, her trademark witchy-poo persona is what actually makes the album so welcome.
  3. Blender
    40
    The rich studio gloss and unmistakable vocal mannerisms she's cultivated over 30 years cover nicely for the weakness of her new material. [Jun/Jul 2001, p.114]