Trouble Will Find Me

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Trouble Will Find Me Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio release for the Brooklyn indie rock quintet features guest appearances from Annie Clark of St. Vincent, Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire, Sufjan Stevens, and Sharon Van Ette.

Top Track

I Need My Girl
I am good, I am grounded Davy says that I look taller I can't get my head around it I keep feeling smaller and smaller I need my girl I need my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    The National are such a powerfully gifted band, they need no theatrics to deliver an absolutely stone-cold beast of an album. With the music that is on here there is yet another thirteen songs to savor and salivate over until the next batch of songs comes about.
  2. May 16, 2013
    90
    While The National don't progress or indeed offer anything new to outstanding cynics, they instead rejoice in their strengths of detailing life and all its sorry baggage in the most beautiful of ways.
  3. May 30, 2013
    90
    Trouble Will Find Me is impeccably sequenced, even at thirteen songs the rare National record that doesn’t contain “the one song they should have obviously left off.”
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    The National are letting light and air into their shadows.
  5. May 24, 2013
    80
    On a superficial level, Trouble Will Find Me, the National’s latest full-length LP, probably won’t convert any listeners who’ve written off the band’s music as boring.... Of course, the power’s in the poetics, and Berninger concocts some truly heart-wrenching images this time around.
  6. May 20, 2013
    80
    The guests on Trouble Will Find Me are equally impressive (Sufjan Stevens, Sharon Van Etten), but the National, no question, are the real stars of the show.
  7. Q Magazine
    May 14, 2013
    60
    For a band who sing so often about matters of the heart and emotional connection, much of Trouble Will Find Me sounds oddly on autopilot. [Jun 2013, p.106]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    The National isn't changing their sound much. There are some differences, but their signature style is still in tact. That mans, of course,The National isn't changing their sound much. There are some differences, but their signature style is still in tact. That mans, of course, that this is also just as good as any album from The National. It's poignant, darkly humorous, sometimes just really bleak, and it's never afraid to totally rock your face clean off. While I can't say where this lies in The National's discography (arguably better than Boxer, maybe even High Violet), this is easily one of the best releases of 2013. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    This album is amazing. I loved almost every song in it! I'ts stronger face are the lyrics. It's incredible sounds are also a good reason toThis album is amazing. I loved almost every song in it! I'ts stronger face are the lyrics. It's incredible sounds are also a good reason to buy it. I love to hear new music, and The national hasn't disapointed me Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    Lush, beautiful arrangements and Berninger's most immediate and visceral lyrics yet stand out on Trouble Will Find Me. Throughout the record,Lush, beautiful arrangements and Berninger's most immediate and visceral lyrics yet stand out on Trouble Will Find Me. Throughout the record, the songs go numerous places; frequently building, pulling back, building again, and finally, catharsis. This is most evident in Graceless, one of the most profound tracks they've ever recorded in their illustrious career. Every song here holds its weight, but Slipped, for its heart-breaking lyrics really stands out. This is an album that demonstrates a tremendous band at its most confident, fully formed, and life affirming. Trouble Will Find Me stands strong among their masterful catalog. 10/10. Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    I'm still waiting on Matt and company to make a bad album. And just like everything in their discography, I discover something new with eachI'm still waiting on Matt and company to make a bad album. And just like everything in their discography, I discover something new with each listen. All their albums are growers and this one has already started out really high for me. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    After the success of their last album ‘High Violet’ The National’s next offering was always going to be a highly anticipated record andAfter the success of their last album ‘High Violet’ The National’s next offering was always going to be a highly anticipated record and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’, their sixth, is perhaps their best to date. From the epic ‘I Should Live In Salt’ through its thirteen tracks and hour runtime contains some of the best songs that Matt and co have written. Musically rich and layered it is The National’s trademark sound and Matt’s lyrics that make every inch of this record a treasure. Lead single ‘Demons’ builds beautifully as Matt sings ‘Do not know what’s wrong with me, Sours in the cup, When I walk into a room, I do not light it up, Instruments ebb and flow from quiet to loud and back again and it is the juxtaposition between the fuller sounds, sweeping strings, guitars played with just a little more force to the delicate and spacious moments where the songs come alive. The presence of St. Vincent and Sharon Van Etten throughout, although subtle, cannot be ignored as theirs is such an integral part of the overall sound as is Sufjan Stevens again lurking in the background providing drum machine to certain tracks. Songs like ‘I Need My Girl’ and the stand out ‘Pink Rabbits’ are heart breaking the latter containing the lines ‘I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, I was just getting used to living life without you around, I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, You always said I held you way too high off the ground’. It ends with Matt repeating ‘You said it would be painless, The needle in the dark, You said it would be painless, It wasn't that at all’ which is just one example of some of the many memorable moments contained within the lyrics. While some may wrongly label the band miserable because they tackle some dark issues ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ has the uncanny knack of still being light, it’s not a record that will depress you despite its themes, which is a skill in itself. I could go on about just how good this record is but I don’t want to spoil it for you all I will say in conclusion is I can’t recommend it highly enough and I will bet money that when they do the album of the year lists this record will feature in most of them and if not at the top certainly close. Expand
  6. BKM
    May 23, 2013
    9
    Trouble Will Find Me is another gloriously dark and beautiful album from the Brooklyn based indie-rockers. The most telling sign of just howTrouble Will Find Me is another gloriously dark and beautiful album from the Brooklyn based indie-rockers. The most telling sign of just how good this band really is lies in the fact that this album doesn't even come close to the greatness of 2010's High Violet, yet it still towers over most of this year's other releases. What mote needs to be said? Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    3
    Another album full of laments of the most cliche parts of life, don't listen to this unless you love pitch-dropped pop songs (for you whoAnother album full of laments of the most cliche parts of life, don't listen to this unless you love pitch-dropped pop songs (for you who don't understand metaphors: pop songs that have alternative music talking about depression) or a teenager desperate for love. If anything that is real critique on this album, this could've been easily called High Violet 2. I give it a 3 for the poor members remaining in the alcohol drenched grip of the manipulative singer. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.