User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DonaldN
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    i think this is a great cd!! im a true fan of the hives. they're like old school punk rock (im thirteen). you should take a listen to that one song called "walk idiot walk". the song, in a sense, makes u laugh.
  2. markf
    Aug 11, 2004
    8
    OK, it did sound a bit too much like the last one, at least at first. I'll even agree that some of the songs sound alike. But, hey, don't you remember the first four Ramones albums? That's exactly why we loved the Ramones. Kick-ass, ultra-fast riffs with some dumb (but funny) humor, occasionally political. So "T. Hives" qualifies as perhaps a second-coming of the early OK, it did sound a bit too much like the last one, at least at first. I'll even agree that some of the songs sound alike. But, hey, don't you remember the first four Ramones albums? That's exactly why we loved the Ramones. Kick-ass, ultra-fast riffs with some dumb (but funny) humor, occasionally political. So "T. Hives" qualifies as perhaps a second-coming of the early Ramones. I haven't seen them live, but my buddy says that Howlin' Pete definitely comes across as a young Jagger. Oh well, I don't seem to actually be discussing the album. Well, it's great party music, just like the last one, only "more-so." There, that should explain everything! Expand
  3. SimonA
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    This is incredible great album.I listen to it right now and i can't understand how a band can have this energy.This is just great album.
  4. Chas
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The Hives are the band that the Strokes wish they could be. Best album of 2004 so far.
  5. JasonS
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    After listening to countless albums that tried to take a different approach to good ol rock and roll, its refreshing and damn fun to listen to a band that goes back to basics. Its smarter than their other releases, and damn if these kids arent damn fine artists. I heard a reviewer saying how they'll never be as good as the strokes...pfft. The strokes are post-punk bores with equally After listening to countless albums that tried to take a different approach to good ol rock and roll, its refreshing and damn fun to listen to a band that goes back to basics. Its smarter than their other releases, and damn if these kids arent damn fine artists. I heard a reviewer saying how they'll never be as good as the strokes...pfft. The strokes are post-punk bores with equally boring synth. and that's supposed to make them good musicians. The hives are better than the strokes, and more enjoyable to listen to. Expand
  6. KeithG
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Beyond the blinding speed and perfectly contoured & constructed guitar riffs .......listen for the what adheres the passages within this collection of songs. There are subtleties adding color... set against creative *Burst* that yank the listener headlong at 100mph... onto unlit cobblestone alleys. If that's not enough - while all of this is happening.... there's a monsoon going Beyond the blinding speed and perfectly contoured & constructed guitar riffs .......listen for the what adheres the passages within this collection of songs. There are subtleties adding color... set against creative *Burst* that yank the listener headlong at 100mph... onto unlit cobblestone alleys. If that's not enough - while all of this is happening.... there's a monsoon going on! The fury of musical passage only seems to fleshly feed the absolute torrent of vocal angst! It pins you back - the listener can feeeeeeel the presence of it's recoil. At times the vocals morph from angst to an full, crack-on adrenal vintage Paul Stanley mode. In the wake of it - Stop!What the hell was that ....was it Tazmanian or something? Maybe I'll get a closer look - I know it's set to pounce again! Highly reccomended for enthusiast that appreciate tasty influences molded within a meat-eating toga party you won't find featured on the "Food Network"....or anything else corporate! Hand me a napkin - A dinosaur just kicked me in duh-hedd...and I don't wanna get up! Expand
  7. BradM.
    Aug 19, 2004
    8
    I was so ready to write the Hives off. Although I loved Veni Vidi Vicious, that cd seemed like it was such a product of the Retro Rock movement. It conjured up images of horrific bands like The Vines and The Datsuns (ugh). I figured the Hives would make an album that would sound alot like Jet and then they would quickly become mainstream whores like a rock n roll Black Eyed Peas. But I I was so ready to write the Hives off. Although I loved Veni Vidi Vicious, that cd seemed like it was such a product of the Retro Rock movement. It conjured up images of horrific bands like The Vines and The Datsuns (ugh). I figured the Hives would make an album that would sound alot like Jet and then they would quickly become mainstream whores like a rock n roll Black Eyed Peas. But I gotta say the Hives really have pulled it off. Although they act like big goofs they undoubtedly put alot of serious attention and craft towards their songs. Songs like Antidote and Two Timing Touch and Broken Bones don't just have great hooks, they have great bridges and verses. They even stray from the typical garage sound on tracks like B is for Brutus and Diabolic Scheme, so I can't even say that all the songs sound the same! I have nothing to complain about which, considering the fact that I was getting ready to poo poo the Hives, is a testimate to how strong this cd is. Expand
  8. GodwynIV
    Apr 12, 2005
    9
    Great CD. Diabolic Schme is my fav.
  9. CarlM
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    T-Rex is their best effort yet.
  10. AlexP
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    An excellent album. I'm a big Hives fan, and the wait for a new album seemed to go on forever. Apart from "Diabolical Scheme", I love all of the songs. Catchy, loud and just plain awesome.
  11. NickM
    Jul 20, 2004
    10
    This album is excellent. It doesn't blow you away like Veni Vidi Vicious did. But as soon as i put this CD in i smiled ear to ear with the thought that even though huge commercial success hasn't hit these guys yet, rock n roll is still alive and well
  12. SamL.
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    ooOOooH! They're Swedish! Don't hate this CD! You know it is amazing!
  13. theidiot
    Sep 29, 2004
    9
    this album rules. fast paced alt rock... rocks. buy it! now! now!
  14. pippop
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album! So much energy. Beats Coldplay and the other drippy rockers hands down.
  15. AlexisR
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    The Hives are one of the very very few true rock bands that are around. If you listen to Linkin Park , SOAD and that kind of stuff don't even bother. This is rock at the very core.
  16. AlexS
    Dec 5, 2004
    10
    This is one of THE best albums I've heard in my life. Most lists of tracks are a sugar high, an up and down fealing of emotion. But this album keeps the pace, powerful song after powerful song. Kudos to the Hives. You've made my life complete.
  17. TheHivesROCKHARD
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    The Hives second cd was even better than their first amazing album. It's one of the only good punk bands out there and the album is so addicting. The only problem is that its pretty short. Other than that i think its one of the greatest albums in the past decade.
  18. Rachel
    Jul 21, 2004
    8
    Although I wish the cd were longer, I liked the fact that the Hives dared to mix genres and musical styles into one album. Their music certainly won't go stale because it's nothing like mainstream rock today.
  19. krisb
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    It's the best album this year!
  20. CurranF
    Jul 22, 2004
    9
    an excellent follow up to "Veni Vedi Vicious", possibly even better. The Hives pack as much energy as they possibly can into 30 minutes and it explodes out of the speakers. The added bits of electronica and the strings in "Diabolic Scheme" are oddly smart choices. The Hives are like this generation's Rolling Stones. Not in terms of influence and musicianship, but when it comes to an excellent follow up to "Veni Vedi Vicious", possibly even better. The Hives pack as much energy as they possibly can into 30 minutes and it explodes out of the speakers. The added bits of electronica and the strings in "Diabolic Scheme" are oddly smart choices. The Hives are like this generation's Rolling Stones. Not in terms of influence and musicianship, but when it comes to showmanship and bravado, no one rocks like the Hives. No one can strut like Howlin' Pelle Almqvist either. The Strokes would have been better if they didn't make the same album twice (but damn if it wasn't a good one). The White Stripe's "Elephant" is the most over-rated album I've ever heard. The Vines were never good to begin with. The Hives are the only one of the big 4 garage bands of 2002 to make a better record than their breakthrough album. Expand
  21. SpikeForehand
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    Flesh-eating mind-blowing addictive monster rock with a peanut brain!! Perfect!!! Thank you to The Hives for saving rock and roll!!
  22. JehovahJoe
    Jul 23, 2004
    9
    Matches and excedes Veni Vidi Vicious. Every song is chock full of memorable riffs (fucking FAST riffs) and Pelle Almqvist makes a case to be the best frontman in rock. Check this one out
  23. JesperS
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    The best rock n' roll album ever. The rock 'n roll band from scandinavia ever.
  24. Jesperswe
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    the stooges 2004....
  25. bernadettele
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    The Hives have definitely outdone themselves again. This cd definitely is an outstanding piece that reveals more of The Hives remarkable talents and tricks up their sleeve. They wow you every time and they have definitely got me wanting more. Nulla Salus Sine The Hives and I mean every word of it.
  26. scott
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Probably would've been huge if the record company hadn't given up on it.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. While the energy never fails, the themes and melodies feel commonplace at times. [18 Jul 2004]
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    Thirty minutes of chugging and howling, you go from one killer riff to another with barely a millisecond to recover. [17 Jul 2004, p.46]
  3. Tyrannosaurus Hives lacks its predecessor's cohesive vision, but it finds the band in excellent form, exploring universes beyond their own. One of the year's best.