User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 208
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    ChloeXHalle show on this album how much they have matured musically, it is magnificent.
  2. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Chloe X Halle show their growth as musicians on the new record Ungodly Hour. 10/10
  3. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    The Album is just flawless and it is so great to see the girls growing at their own pace and becoming these young beautiful woman
  4. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Já achava o the kids are alright bem mais pop do que os trabalhos anteriores que me soam muito experimental mas Ungodly Hour é ainda mais pop e maduro. Feliz com o crescimento das meninas.
  5. Jun 12, 2020
    9
    BEST harmonies in the industry. There’s so many highlights in this album. The title track is mind-blowing, and every song feels so necessary. Ugh. So good.
  6. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Whoa I must say their growth in music is amazing despite this being their sophomore album. Not to mention this album was produced & written by Chloe & Halle almost on every track. It’s amazing to see young talents like these two getting disclosure they deserve. I am truly proud of this album and Chloe x Halle. The Kids Are Alright was such an art and now, Ungodly Hour may just became theirWhoa I must say their growth in music is amazing despite this being their sophomore album. Not to mention this album was produced & written by Chloe & Halle almost on every track. It’s amazing to see young talents like these two getting disclosure they deserve. I am truly proud of this album and Chloe x Halle. The Kids Are Alright was such an art and now, Ungodly Hour may just became their magnum opus. I can wait to see more from them. I hope they became one of the biggest & greatest duo of all time while keeping their originality and their authenticity. I hope everyone get to listen to this beautiful work of art. I must say this album is not what I’d listen on my daily basis but this album is just so beautiful and fun. I appreciate their hardwork and love their passion in making such beauty. If Chloe & Halle are reading this, I will always support both of you talented woman. I & all people that supported you are so proud with you guy’s work especially this new album. Keep making more. Can’t wait for what’s coming from them. Much love x. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2020
    9
    Mind-blowing harmonies. Amazingly produced R&B album. Some boring songs. In my opinion, it would have been enough with 10 or 11 tracks. Loved it overall. It was my first time listening to them.
  8. Jun 13, 2020
    7
    The second full-length album of two sisters in the Chloe x Halle duo "Ungodly Hour" reveals the full potential of the creators, it penetrates the mind, exploring secret love feelings, their consequences, as well as the pain they bring. The whole record is made in the style of R&B, in which the voices are elegantly combined, and also show some of the best vocal data in R&B, such as Lizzo.The second full-length album of two sisters in the Chloe x Halle duo "Ungodly Hour" reveals the full potential of the creators, it penetrates the mind, exploring secret love feelings, their consequences, as well as the pain they bring. The whole record is made in the style of R&B, in which the voices are elegantly combined, and also show some of the best vocal data in R&B, such as Lizzo. But the whole album could not fit everything into itself, it could not completely immerse the listener, and in some compositions it breaks the thread of the story, which would give an impetus to the story, and also impetus the integrity of this release. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    this album is amazing and i think that it couldn’t be any better. chloe and halle killed it
  10. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Yeah, they nailed it! Women always doing the best music in this world... Love you girls!
  11. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Beautiful R&B album!! One of my favorites this year for sure. They showed how grown they are talking about things that young adults do and suffer during the times that they feel deep emotions during the ungodly hour. Not only they sang all the songs but produced and wrote them
  12. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    THIS ALBUM IS ABSOLUTELY STUNNING! THE VOCALS & PRODUCTION OUTSOLD! THEY ARE MAKING MUSIC HISTORY!!!!
  13. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    I love this album. Their voices sound amazing, and they’re really bringing back R&B
  14. fxa
    Jun 12, 2020
    10
    You can definitely see the growth and progress they’ve shown with this album. This album becomes addictive for each and every song and has constant replay value. This is truly a bop of an album.
  15. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Arguably, the best R&B album of 2020 as of the moment. Chloe x Halle proved that they are the moment with Ungodly Hour. Give them their well-deserved Grammys right away!
  16. Jun 20, 2020
    9
    its so cohesive, talented, and engaging. very superior to any project released this year.
  17. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    the production is amazing, they truly combined different genres while maintaining the r&b to make a truly captivating and magical experience for the listener
  18. Jun 17, 2020
    7
    This album came even more mature and classy but the debut album remains the best of them!
  19. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Best album of 2020. Just pure talent all around. From the production to the vocal layering these girls are doing things most artists couldn’t imagine.
  20. Jul 4, 2020
    2
    J don't like this kind of music!! There aren't emotions. È un genere che non aporezzo
  21. Jun 13, 2020
    9
    Contender for album of the year! Such a cohesive body of work with a ton of replay value. Will be playing this a lot
  22. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    this album is amazing and i think that it couldn’t be any better. chloe and halle killed it
  23. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    In this album we find the maturation of two great stars. Bringing dazzling harmonies as polished as a beautiful diamond, her enchanting R&B melodies sound as sweet as honey.
  24. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Chloe x Halle showcase growth effortlessly within this project. I've been following them since YouTube days and this project is one to not only catapult their career but declare longevity as well. This masterpiece touches on various subjects that cause conversation; whether with self, your significant other or friends.
  25. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is a MASTERPIECE I LOVE CHLOE X HALLE, ALBUM OF THE YEAR I THINK, I LOVE LISTEN THIS ALBUM, I LOVE CHLOE X HALLE Expand
  26. Jun 15, 2020
    10
    Buen disco de r&b. Muy buena producción, con buenas voces y geniales letras
  27. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Chloe X Halle are such amazing young artists and Ungodly Hour is such an amazing album.
  28. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. aí que álbum perfeito. ver o amadurecimento das meninas foi incrível, elas merecem o mundo!!!

    R&B PERFECTION, AOTY
    Expand
  29. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    R&B album of the year. Chloe x Halle are providing self-written and self-produced excellency with a fresh sound and unique style fused with elements of music from different eras. While having more of a mainstream appeal, compared to the previous record, Chloe x Halle are definitely not loosing their artistic value. They are masterfully and organically transfering to a more grown image.R&B album of the year. Chloe x Halle are providing self-written and self-produced excellency with a fresh sound and unique style fused with elements of music from different eras. While having more of a mainstream appeal, compared to the previous record, Chloe x Halle are definitely not loosing their artistic value. They are masterfully and organically transfering to a more grown image. Many pop artists are spending years finding their sound, while these young ladies are providing such a musical maturity at this young age. They are here and they ARE the moment, so catch up! Expand
  30. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Perfect. PERIOD. The transition?? BOMBASTIC. The harmony? EXQUISTE. The lyrics? HEAVENLY.
  31. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This album is so perfect, the harmony of their voices is the most beautiful thing you will hear this year.
  32. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    album of the year YUP! Outsold all the other girlies and sent them packing. busy boy better be the next single or I’m sueing
  33. Jun 17, 2020
    10
    Really spectacular for such a great album that explores love and regret in small consuming breathy lovely way
  34. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    The vocals, lyrics, melodies, production are so incredible that it is possible to find a defective. The album may not be AOTY but it deserves nomination.
  35. Jun 17, 2020
    10
    chloe x halle getting to know herself on this second album, this is a masterpiece and everyone deserves to hear Ungodly
  36. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    simplesmente TUDO. Esse álbum é sem dúvidas o melhor do ano, chloe x halle vcs são perfeitaaas
  37. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Best of the 2020 ICONIC, this girls are so powerful, this deserves more, thank u for thisss
  38. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Talanted, brilliant, incredible, amazing, showstopper, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to refferace or not refferace, put it in a blender, **** on it, vomit on it, eat it, give birth to it
  39. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Uma obra bem estruturada e adequada! Chloe e Halle entragam tudo de si, e isso é esplendido
  40. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Trabalho coeso do inicio ao fim! Um gostinho de perfeição, Chloe x Halle chegaram para fazer historia com seu mais novo material
  41. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    A literal masterpiece. They have evolved their sound to an entire next level.
  42. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Ungodly Hour is a harmonious, angelic and mature masterpiece. It's one of the finest albums released in 2020. AMAZING! 10/10
  43. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Easily one of the best if not the best mainstream album of the year. Chloe x Halle show that they have grown but they still the same musical genius they were.
  44. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    They did what?????? They did mf that!!!!!!!!!! and you b****es will stream no matter what.,
  45. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    they GROWNNNNNNNNN THEY DROPPING F BOMBS AND EVOLVING THEIR MUSIC AND I AM LIVING FOR IT
  46. Jun 25, 2020
    8
    This is really my type of R&B music. It is so beautiful. This album is so mature. It speaks about the female empowerment and women's desire around men. I love the harmonies. Some of the tracks here sound a bit boring, and some of the tracks are very outstanding. Best tracks : "Ungodly Hour", "Lonely", and "Wonder What She Thinks Of Me".
  47. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    Álbum muito coeso e coerente. Algo fora da casinha, e que de fato demonstra que Chloe e Halle sabem o que fazem e o que querem passar de mensagem para seu público. Estão de parabéns, álbum brilhante.
  48. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Truly a modern R&B masterpiece. These two women are so Incredible. My favorites are forgive me and busy boy
  49. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Unexpectedly good, the background vocals are pure gold, this album is a masterpiece.
  50. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Seeing these girls artistic growth has been extremely fulfilling. For them to experiment with certain sounds while still keeping their style is amazing
  51. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    an amazing album, the lyrics, the instrumentals, the message, love everything about it
  52. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    The best R&B album to come out this year so far! The sound is so unique to Chloe x Halle, I don’t see or hear anyone doing what they do so well. Im so proud of the musical journey they are on. May they have many more musical successes and they continue to grow and prosper. My favorites on the album are Wonder What She Think of Me, Don’t Make it Harder on Me, and Rest of Your Life. TheThe best R&B album to come out this year so far! The sound is so unique to Chloe x Halle, I don’t see or hear anyone doing what they do so well. Im so proud of the musical journey they are on. May they have many more musical successes and they continue to grow and prosper. My favorites on the album are Wonder What She Think of Me, Don’t Make it Harder on Me, and Rest of Your Life. The whole album, top to bottom is excellent, I wouldn’t change a thing! Expand
  53. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    This album shows their growth as artists and as women. Their artistry is so versatile and beautiful. As a young black girl, they're inspire me so much.
  54. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Amazing album, every single song on this album was a bop!!! Definitely a no skip album
  55. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    No bad songs on this album. Every songs shows growth and it's amazing seeing the girls come this far.
  56. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    This is a beautiful R&B album! One of my favorites from the album is definitely Tipsy.
  57. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    This a what you call a piece of art. One can literally hear how much they’ve grown in both their personal and professional life. The lyricism, production, and overall flow of this album is immaculate. AOTY quality.
  58. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Simplesmente PERFEITO.

    Os três primeiros singles mostram muito a que essas garotas vieram.
    Do It só vem crescendo nos streams. Sucesso garotas!
  59. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this **** so good it made my **** pop my testies drop and my hole cream- a grape juice girl Expand
  60. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    Wonderful album, just accept. it's cohesive and magnificent. I can't even imagine what the future holds for these two brilliant young women!
  61. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    is a R&b work of art, without a doubt that it is one of the best and most authentic albums of the year!
  62. Jun 15, 2020
    10
    Chloe x Halle have managed to experiment with more popular radio-friendly sounds, while maintaining the essence of their artistry, filled with impeccably stacked background vocals and the intricate harmonies that they are known for - or should be known for. The songs are also more mature on this album, clearly sending the message that they are growing into adults while simultaneouslyChloe x Halle have managed to experiment with more popular radio-friendly sounds, while maintaining the essence of their artistry, filled with impeccably stacked background vocals and the intricate harmonies that they are known for - or should be known for. The songs are also more mature on this album, clearly sending the message that they are growing into adults while simultaneously avoiding the overindulgent vulgarity and irreverence which plagues many artists' sophomore/"all grown up" efforts.
    The songs are lined up well and are all connected to each other, while telling a clear story of two growing young women who are experiencing life and relationships; the freedom, the jealousy, the heartbreak, the poor judgement, all of it!
    Vocally, they are the best they've ever been - a tall order, considering they already were two of the most skillful vocalists of their generation. Halle's voice remains ethereal, light and angelic, Chloe's remains elegant, refined and edgy. Together, they effortlessly continue to innovate and cultivate a sound which is unlike any other. Props to Chloe particularly for producing 'Tipsy' and 'Wonder What you think of me' , yet another feather in the cap of the two ladies who also wrote and co-wrote every single song on this album.
    In a perfect world, this album would be played EVERYWHERE and would sell a million copies in its first week and would also pick up a few Grammys. The hauntingly beautiful ballads work just as well as the fun and edgy bangers due to their expert use of harmonies and background vocal layering.

    Some of the songs (or melodies) will stay with you for a while, you'll find yourself humming and/or replaying them in your head when you get up in the morning. They're that good.

    I give this album a stingy 9 out of 10!
    Expand
  63. Jun 13, 2020
    9
    The first album by them I've ever heard. Favs are album title, tipsy and wonder what she thinks of me, a very cohesive album overall.
  64. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    She is.... The moment. She is the icon the legend. The lyricism on this album and the sound is a milestone in r&b.
  65. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    I absolutely loved this album. I've been a fan of Chloe and Halle since I saw them live at Beyonce and Jay-z's OTR II tour. This album shows how much they've evolved with their music and how mature they've become as two beautiful black women. From one black woman to another who is the same age as them, this album deserves AT LEAST a 92 critic score. Anyway STREAM UNGODLY HOUR
  66. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    amazing as always! this album shows how much growth these two beauties have experienced in the most beautiful way possible! I definitely recommend.
  67. Jun 14, 2020
    10
    A majestic masterpiece, the album is so complete, a desiste, the album of my generation 10/10
  68. Jun 14, 2020
    10
    Offers a unique and cohesive old school & new school mixed production with angelic vocals. Amazing
  69. Jun 27, 2020
    7
    Ungodly Hour enseña a la perfección la madurez artística en la que se encaminan Chloe x Halle. Cada track es una deleite melódico y soul lirico. Ambas se complementan una a la otra, creando tal uniformidad a la par pero sin perder personalidad; es como oír las voces de los ángeles inspiradas por Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey, Aaliyah y Minnie Riperton.

    Puntaje: 74/100 -CriticoP3 para
    Ungodly Hour enseña a la perfección la madurez artística en la que se encaminan Chloe x Halle. Cada track es una deleite melódico y soul lirico. Ambas se complementan una a la otra, creando tal uniformidad a la par pero sin perder personalidad; es como oír las voces de los ángeles inspiradas por Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey, Aaliyah y Minnie Riperton.

    Puntaje: 74/100

    -CriticoP3 para Metacritic
    Expand
  70. Jun 16, 2020
    10
    Chegaram para destruir carreiras!! Álbum maravilhoso, tem tudo pra hitar!!!
  71. Jun 17, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album was a piece of art, so beautiful! They gave me variation, it wasn’t the same sound constantly. Took two listen but I was really hooked after the second. I found myself cooking and singing along to it in the background, it just warmed my heart and soul. Can’t wait to hear more from the girls, they’re so talented. Heard they produced and wrote most of it, which is amazing! Brought me so much joy to see two talented young black women shining, especially in times like this. Bright futures ahead! Expand
  72. Jun 17, 2020
    9
    This album has a pretty cohesive sound that compliments Chloe’s and Halle’s vocals like soft butter. It begins with a really strong intro track, and it beautifully transitions into Baby Girl and Do It, both very solid tracks. However, the peak of the album hits with the beautiful productions and harmonies provided in “Tipsy” and the title track, “Ungodly Hour. ” The only song on the albumThis album has a pretty cohesive sound that compliments Chloe’s and Halle’s vocals like soft butter. It begins with a really strong intro track, and it beautifully transitions into Baby Girl and Do It, both very solid tracks. However, the peak of the album hits with the beautiful productions and harmonies provided in “Tipsy” and the title track, “Ungodly Hour. ” The only song on the album I felt could have stayed off the album is “Catch Up” ft. Swae Lee. This song in particular is so weak compared to the incredibly strong tracks surrounding it. We reach another peak of the album when the girls introduce “Lonely” with an “Overwhelmed” interlude that puts their vocals on front stage. From here on out, every song works amazing in the album (huge highlight also being “Don’t Make it Harder on Me” and after listening to it a few times, I think it’s a strong contender for one of my favorite albums this year! Expand
  73. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This is so far their best work yet! Very cohesive plenty of stand out tracks like
    Forgive Me
    Busy Boy Ungodly Hour
    Do It
    I Wonder What She Thinks Of Me
  74. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Ungodly hour is one of the best albums of the year and one of my favorites if all time. The sisters have such different voices but are blended so perfectly. They should win all the Grammys with this work of Art. It’s beautiful from start to finish.
  75. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This album is so good, every song has a story and they sound so good as well. There vocals are so fire stream this album
  76. Jun 19, 2020
    10
    Wonderfully produced and well written album. Artistry is exuded in leaps and bounds.
  77. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    I love this album so much. I can’t stop listening to it. It amazes me how two young beautiful black girls can write and produce such a good album. It just shows how much they’ve grown and I absolutely adore them. With this album, Baby Girl, Ungodly Hour, Lonely, Forgive Me, and Wonder What She Thinks Of Me are the best songs on the album to me.
  78. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best albums I listened this year, these girls are so talented, can't wait to see what they gonna do on the future. Expand
  79. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This is album of the year for sure. I haven’t heard a project that flows together sonically in awhile and these talented girls didn’t disappoint! You can tell they gave their all into producing and writing on this album. I can’t wait to see how much more successful they become.
  80. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    AMAZING!! Album of the year!!! No skips on the album, amazing vocals, beautiful songs. Their harmonies, gosh!
  81. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    This is one of the best r&b albums I ever listened to. It has catchy verses, it is an instigator of feelings. 10/10
  82. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    impecável, incrível e surpreende o desenvolvimento do duo, trazendo referências dos anos 90.
  83. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Vocals that stick with you, with many hits that flow together into a solid body of work.
  84. Jun 18, 2020
    10
    Full of bops with divine vocals. This album shows how big these girls’ growth has been and where they are going from now. They are big and here to stay. This is definitely one of the best albums of 2020.
  85. Jun 19, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums I’ve heard in a long time. Their voices are something else
  86. Jun 19, 2020
    10
    Everything I didn’t know I needed. ROYL, Tipsy, Busy Boy. It’s a no skip type
  87. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    inspiring, incredible, immense. this is THE album. let’s goooooo. shoulda been longer but we take what we can get from Miss Chloe x Miss Halle Bailey
  88. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    This album exceeded all possible expectations for me. Lyrically and melodically stunning, with themes not much talked about by 20 year old girls, in addition to a great evolution compared to the first album The Kids Are Alright. Growth. Maturity. A mix of pop and R&B, with a delicacy for topics such as loneliness, pressure and betrayals, the duo Chloe x Halle did wonders with Ungodly Hour,This album exceeded all possible expectations for me. Lyrically and melodically stunning, with themes not much talked about by 20 year old girls, in addition to a great evolution compared to the first album The Kids Are Alright. Growth. Maturity. A mix of pop and R&B, with a delicacy for topics such as loneliness, pressure and betrayals, the duo Chloe x Halle did wonders with Ungodly Hour, the album is on repeat its been a week, without skipping any music. Expand
  89. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    Melhor álbum do ano, a muito não se via R&B com tanta qualidade, referências e modernidade.
  90. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    I love everything about this album. chloe and hale are becoming amazing artists like their mentor.
  91. Jul 1, 2020
    10
    best album of 2020! THIS IS WHAT POWERFUL BLACK WOMEN LOOK LIKE! the star power, the vocals, the bad **** so proud!
  92. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    Filhas de Beyoncé. Muita qualidade vocal e carisma. Maravilhosas. Um dos melhores álbuns do ano.
  93. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    This album was EVERYTHING AND MORE! The beats, the vocals, the layout. it was just PERFECT!!!!
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 2, 2020
    77
    Frequently the sharpest Chloe x Halle songs are the ones where the sisters are the most hands-on.
  2. Jun 26, 2020
    70
    Ungodly Hour boffs along with sexy aplomb. But this is carefully collated product with its eyes on all the prizes, rather than a space for vivid artistic expression.
  3. 90
    Acting as both sultry invitation and empowered self-confession, the song is a clarion call for all those who deign to diminish the duo’s talents – talents that blaze through on Ungodly Hour with a full and unrelenting force.