• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: May 13, 2014
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 126
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2014
    10
    After my third listen, I definitely think Unrepentant Geraldines is Tori’s best album since Scarlet’s Walk (sorry, American Doll Posse), maybe even one of her best ever. I’m so happy.
  2. May 22, 2014
    10
    ‎Unrepentant Geraldines is probably the best Tori Amos album in 10 years. I was really worried it was gonna suck after the **** album art and not initially talking to the first single but very pleasantly surprised. Some real gems on there, Wild Way, 16 Shades Of Blue and Promise and my faves on first listen.
  3. May 22, 2014
    10
    I am SO in love with this album. It ranks just under Little Earthquakes, Boys for Pele, and From the Choirgirl Hotel. I actually like it better than Under the Pink and Scarlett’s Walk. (and I LOVE those two albums very much)

    Promise (Tori’s duet with her daughter Tash) just makes me tear up. I can not stop listening.
  4. May 22, 2014
    10
    I have been listening to this like non stop since I got it in the mail two days ago.

    Favorites are Weatherman, 16 Shades of Blue, Wild Way, Giant’s Rolling Pin, the title track, Invisible Boy, and Forest of Glass. I think I really like all of them though I am really liking this. However, I feel like Rose Dover is Ribbons Undone pt. 2 (but better thank god) and Invisible Boy is like
    I have been listening to this like non stop since I got it in the mail two days ago.

    Favorites are Weatherman, 16 Shades of Blue, Wild Way, Giant’s Rolling Pin, the title track, Invisible Boy, and Forest of Glass.

    I think I really like all of them though I am really liking this. However, I feel like Rose Dover is Ribbons Undone pt. 2 (but better thank god) and Invisible Boy is like coming off the end of Happy Phantom.

    Promise makes me cry if I’m in the mood that should be a single.

    I can’t wait to hear some of these live in August. Preferably 16 Shades of Blue because I relate to that way too deeply.
    Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    Best album since Scarlet's Walk. The melodies harken back to the days of Little Earthquakes but there is also a maturity and honesty in the lyrics that is just beautiful.
  6. Sep 21, 2017
    7
    Overall, this is a nice album, although I don't think it should be ranked among Amos's best works. In a way, "Unrepentant Geraldines" marked a "return to form", after Amos's previous incursions into the domains of classical music ("Night of Hunters", "Gold Dust"). "Unrepentant Geraldines" is somehow connected to Amos's earliest solo albums, "Little Earthquakes" and "Under the Pink": it isOverall, this is a nice album, although I don't think it should be ranked among Amos's best works. In a way, "Unrepentant Geraldines" marked a "return to form", after Amos's previous incursions into the domains of classical music ("Night of Hunters", "Gold Dust"). "Unrepentant Geraldines" is somehow connected to Amos's earliest solo albums, "Little Earthquakes" and "Under the Pink": it is very piano-centered and the songs are, most of the time, brief, melodic and beautiful: indeed, the best songs are those in which Amos only accompanies her mezzo-soprano vocals with crystal-clear piano motifs ("Weatherman", "Selkie", "Oysters", "Invisible Boy"). Other songs seem to rekindle the spirit of her Noughties albums: both "America" and "Trouble's Lament" share the AOR/folk flavour of "Scarlet's Walk", "The Beekeeper" and "American Doll Posse". However, the album has some notorious flaws. The production is unambitious and generic to say the least, and too many times the music sounds under-produced, almost like a homemade demo (although it doesn't sound lo-fi either). Secondly, some of the production choices do not really work: most of the time, the programmed drums fail to create a convincing sound, neither synthesised nor organic. Finally, some songs should have never been included in the final tracklist: "Promise" --a duet with Amos's daughter Tash-- feels out of place and too sugary, while "Giant's Rolling Pin" and "Rose Dover" seem amorphous, meandering and silly. However, the album is a remarkable achievement and deserves a good listen. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    8
    This album is back to basics for Amos, and we are all better for it. Gone are the overwrought concepts, and sparse but clever arrangements are front and center. Her voice has never sounded better, sometimes performing gymnastics. There are truly many gorgeous moments on this album, such as "Wild Way" and "Oysters." The up-tempo tracks are a bit clunky at times, and don't rank with herThis album is back to basics for Amos, and we are all better for it. Gone are the overwrought concepts, and sparse but clever arrangements are front and center. Her voice has never sounded better, sometimes performing gymnastics. There are truly many gorgeous moments on this album, such as "Wild Way" and "Oysters." The up-tempo tracks are a bit clunky at times, and don't rank with her best; sadly, her more obtuse and cerebral poetic style is missing as well. Two tracks could easily be cut to make a more perfect album, but we are in abundance of fine selections from her here. Expand
  8. May 13, 2014
    10
    I can't get over it. I thought Tori was done making truly remarkable, inspired albums. This is perhaps her best album. I'm stunned. The first few songs are very much like her 2002 record Scarlet's Walk (her last truly remarkable record, in my opinion), then "Weatherman" is her most devastating track since the 90s. "16 Shades of Blue" and "Promise" are completely new territory for her, andI can't get over it. I thought Tori was done making truly remarkable, inspired albums. This is perhaps her best album. I'm stunned. The first few songs are very much like her 2002 record Scarlet's Walk (her last truly remarkable record, in my opinion), then "Weatherman" is her most devastating track since the 90s. "16 Shades of Blue" and "Promise" are completely new territory for her, and really for anyone. This is fresh stuff. Bravo. Expand
  9. May 13, 2014
    10
    This is an absolutely amazing album and a total return to form for Tori, and the fans seem to be responding accordingly. She is back to making emotional and powerful songs from the heart. Despite her post-Scarlet's Walk albums being passable, this one takes her back to her brilliance of her old days. Long-time Tori fans won't be diss appointed, nor will new fans.
  10. May 14, 2014
    10
    The album as a whole is excellent, and yes, a few of the songs are just okay (I would have replaced Giant's Rolling Pin with the b-side White Telephone to God), but this is a solid Amos album, and the journey to get here has been exciting.

    Each song on Unrepentant Geraldines harkens back to something from her past, and my favorite is the line you can draw from "Crucify" straight to
    The album as a whole is excellent, and yes, a few of the songs are just okay (I would have replaced Giant's Rolling Pin with the b-side White Telephone to God), but this is a solid Amos album, and the journey to get here has been exciting.

    Each song on Unrepentant Geraldines harkens back to something from her past, and my favorite is the line you can draw from "Crucify" straight to "God" and then up the hill to "Pancake" and end with "Unrepentant Geraldines." You see her emotionally insecure on Crucify, and God she begins to challenge this construct, and by Pancake she is staring him right in the face, and then she ends up here, with Unrepentant Geraldines, saying I'm finished, I'm unrepentant, I am strong. It's a beautiful journey to see where she started and where she has finally reached.

    I look forward to her future output.

    10/10
    Expand
  11. May 13, 2014
    9
    This is a truly beautiful record. Closer in style to a blend of Under the Pink and Scarlet's Walk than the heavier, more production-heavy work of American Doll Posse and Abnormally Attracted to Sin, the shift in sound should be welcomed for those who want to hear the voice and piano up front and centre. 'Wild Way' is her most gorgeous and heart-wrenching ballad since 'Northern Lad' - if itThis is a truly beautiful record. Closer in style to a blend of Under the Pink and Scarlet's Walk than the heavier, more production-heavy work of American Doll Posse and Abnormally Attracted to Sin, the shift in sound should be welcomed for those who want to hear the voice and piano up front and centre. 'Wild Way' is her most gorgeous and heart-wrenching ballad since 'Northern Lad' - if it lacks the soaring musical grandeur of the latter, it more than makes up for it in intensity. 'Oysters' and 'Weatherman' also shine as highlights, as does the rollicking mini-epic title track. It starts off feeling like the good bits of The Beekeeper, soars through a Police-like mid-section and then breaks down into truly beautiful piano section that recalls 'Icicle' meshing with 'Ruby Through the Looking Glass.'

    The record isn't perfect... the Beatles-inspired 'Giant's Rolling Pin' is a pretty entertaining romp about surveillance culture, but it feels more like a fun B-side, and doesn't really fit well in situation. 'Promise', a duet with daughter Tash, is genuinely more endearing than mawkish (and Tash sings excellently) - but again, it doesn't gel especially well with the rest of the tracks. But these are very minor quibbles in the face of how exquisitely crafted the rest of the album feels. I'd equate it roughly to the way that 'She's Your Cocaine' and 'Raspberry Swirl' feel out of place on 'From the Choirgirl Hotel' - fine tracks, but not really in their right place. All in all, this is a really, truly fine album, and deserves the love it is receiving from many reviewers.

    Also, as a closer... I've wanted to say this for a while - this is the record that has finally proven something that I've suspected for a long time: that there are sections of Tori Amos' fan base (including many commercial reviewers) who will NEVER be happy with anything she does post-90s. I read time, and time, and time again on post-90s Amos reviews that somehow she's completely changed and lost her power as a writer, that she has grown old and safe and stale. What these reviewers ACTUALLY want, isn't a new record - it is to be back in the mid 90s again, to feel young and like music was their whole life. To listen to a more recent record and observe that it isn't as 'meaningful' or 'important' as something you enjoyed as a moody teenager who wrote poetry and FELT everything is one thing - but to assign the cause of that shift to the artist and none to yourself and how YOU have changed is ridiculous.
    Expand
  12. May 16, 2014
    10
    One of the best albums she's released. The piano-driven songs are compelling while songs like Rose Dover and Trouble's Lament are interesting. The bonus tracks are equally good (especially Dixie).
  13. May 18, 2014
    10
    What a great album, reminds me of her first album, Her voice is solid and you can feel her hit the keys of the piano. Makes my hair stand on end, in a good way.
  14. May 13, 2014
    1
    I've been a Tori fan since "Little Earthquakes," but I'm just not feeling this one at all. I've listened to it once and feel no desire to listen to it again. It just felt like Tori on Xanax. I just kept waiting for something to happen, but it never did. The best Tori songs and albums seemed to transport me to a different time or place... but this one seemed to trap me in a little girl'sI've been a Tori fan since "Little Earthquakes," but I'm just not feeling this one at all. I've listened to it once and feel no desire to listen to it again. It just felt like Tori on Xanax. I just kept waiting for something to happen, but it never did. The best Tori songs and albums seemed to transport me to a different time or place... but this one seemed to trap me in a little girl's music box... from like a hundred years ago... and I just couldn't wait to get out.

    It's just disappointing, because the title, "Unrepentant Geraldines," suggested something exciting, something stirring. I just didn't find it here. I'm really surprised that it's getting such high praise from fans and critics... because I think it's her worst album... and there's not even one song that I want to listen to again.

    Oh, well... I guess I can wait for the next one. I just hope it's nothing like this one.
    Expand
  15. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Tori Amos brings back her early appeal and even branches into a more modern take on her own musical style. The highlight of this album is hearing her sing a duet with her daughter Natasha on "Promise".
  16. May 22, 2014
    10
    Unrepentant Geraldines, that’s kind of a return to form for her, filled with the baroque piano-led pop/rock that made her a mainstay in the first place. Her lyrics are smart and her voice has a real edge to it that matches well with her top-tier songwriting.
  17. Jan 21, 2015
    9
    This album sounds like the old Tori we all know and love while still managing to sound fresh. She's really stripped down her music to the more acoustic piano-driven style that suits her well. The lyrics are poetic yet not obtuse like some of her other stuff (Pele, for example), and her voice has never sounded sweeter. This is a thoroughly enjoyable album from start to finish, with aThis album sounds like the old Tori we all know and love while still managing to sound fresh. She's really stripped down her music to the more acoustic piano-driven style that suits her well. The lyrics are poetic yet not obtuse like some of her other stuff (Pele, for example), and her voice has never sounded sweeter. This is a thoroughly enjoyable album from start to finish, with a heartfelt melancholy vibe that really gets to me every time I listen to it.

    Personal Favorites: America, Weatherman, Promise, Unrepentant Geraldines, Oysters
    Expand
  18. Apr 30, 2016
    10
    This album is simply beautiful
    .............................
    .............................
    .............................
    .............................
  19. Dec 11, 2017
    10
    this is fresh and clean. it's the old tori but with a sound more mature
    the best song here is wedding day but all the songs without exception are amazing
  20. Aug 15, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hum... I kinda don’t feel some songs and I hate the album cover. some songs are sincere and it’s just this Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mojo
    Jul 24, 2014
    80
    Punchy, seductive, surreal. [Jul 2014, p.92]
  2. Magnet
    Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Amos delivers another set of stirring songs tempered and emboldened by years of experience. [No. 110, p.53]
  3. Under The Radar
    Jun 6, 2014
    60
    All the usual thematic motifs make an appearance, for good or ill. [Jun/Jul 2014, p.84]