User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 3 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelP.
    Oct 2, 2002
    8
    Surptisingly moving; sad but not hopeless. Infectious music.
  2. RichardH
    Dec 8, 2002
    8
    Very deep and textured. I need to listen to it more. I almost cry on a couple of cuts, the emotion is so strong. I love the first cut. The mood of the album is dark, like the third solo album which I have grown to love. I like Up better than So (for sure) and Us (maybe).
  3. DavidT
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    Music for sophisticated and artistic audience
  4. JamesD.
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    Requires a few listens, but once it has hold of you, it is amazing. Better than Us, and probably better than So.
  5. DonRon
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    GREAT
  6. DavidW.
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    It is a Peter Gabriel album. What else do I have to say?
  7. SamanthaF
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    Gorgeous, genius, Gabriel.
  8. ThomM
    Oct 4, 2002
    9
    deep....
  9. AndrewS.
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    Gets better every time you hear it - a master piece. Buy it today!
  10. RobertB
    May 1, 2003
    10
    Having been fortunate enough to meet my hero after the release of "US", the 10 year wait was well worth it. You have to listen to it, not just hear it. He's a gifted writer and musician who puts into words and music some of the most personal dark and light feelings that most of us find difficult to express privately, never mind publicly. I have to admit that when I listen to it in Having been fortunate enough to meet my hero after the release of "US", the 10 year wait was well worth it. You have to listen to it, not just hear it. He's a gifted writer and musician who puts into words and music some of the most personal dark and light feelings that most of us find difficult to express privately, never mind publicly. I have to admit that when I listen to it in 5:1, there are two questions I ask myself, "What is making that sound, it's almost bio-physiological?" and "Why am I crying/laughing?" Can't wait to see him in London in May. Expand
  11. ChristianHarmony
    May 9, 2003
    10
    Beautiful, breathtaking music. Can't stop listening. Haven't since September, I am obsessed with it.
  12. IainL
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    A seriously good CD for those who're serious about their music. Also recommended, the DVD of the tour (Growinh Up Live).
  13. WayneH
    Oct 12, 2002
    9
    I've been waiting anxiously for this release for 10 ten years and was instantly disappointed when I heard the first track "Darkness", the piece was more "Dull" than "Dark". But, all of the sudden, we go into track 2, "Growing Up" and the whole rest of the CD took a different melodic and creative turn.
  14. sedad
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    What else than 10, because Gabriel was always No. 1. Thanks, Peter, thanks again, thanks for this wonderful 30 years for being honored and having a chance to listen your brilliant, sophisticated music. PS: one of the sadest days in my life was when you left Genesis
  15. JeffS
    Oct 25, 2002
    10
    A true masterpiece which requires multiple listenings to fully appreciate.A defininate buy for all serious fans.
  16. BarryWilliams
    Oct 6, 2002
    10
    Of course it sounds like 10 years in the making - it's so unbelieveably perfect.
  17. TravisK.
    Sep 27, 2002
    10
    Nearly flawless, as good as SO but more thoughtful...
  18. JosephL
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    A masterpiece that will only be discovered after the rest of the industry catches up with him.
  19. MarkM.
    Sep 26, 2002
    9
    Beautiful, subtle layering lets this album hold up to repeated listening.
  20. JohnS.
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    Flawless. The pictures evoked by this album are almost frightening. As always, Peter's work appeals most to those of us with an unhindered imagination! Best work since Long Walk Home.
  21. MarcoR
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    The Master Remains Himself Grewing Up.
  22. MauricioT
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Superb CD!!! I LOVE IT!! It's a masterpiece
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Blender
    60
    Despite Gabriel's performances, there are no hits here. [#10, p.117]
  2. 70
    It's not likely that Up will have the same kind of cultural significance as a milestone like So, but there is no way that fans can write Up off as a disappointment, either.
  3. While Up isn't stylistically different from his canon, it proves that Peter Gabriel is back in the big time.