• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 13, 2015
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 84
  2. Negative: 19 out of 84
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    Retro throwback right up the alley of those wanting a "vintage" feel. Ronson strikes a homerun in terms of bringing out the best of a pivotal era in music/cultural development, and has probably just done enough to answer the question circulating since "Uptown Funk" dropped: "Who the hell is Mark Ronson?"
  2. Jan 17, 2015
    7
    Mark Ronson is still a great producer it's just that all these songs lyrically are not that great but the production is strong and that is what I like about Ronson and it did not have that well known features which I like.
  3. Mar 5, 2015
    9
    This is a great album that brings us back a good old R&B mixed with a little bit of Funk and Soul/Jazz. I really didn't understand why many people hated it ... You know, sometimes we just have to feel the music and not examine whether it's a fad or not.
  4. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    Compelling and funky, the tracks that stand out the most to me are the one's featuring Tame Impala's Kevin Parker. His guest-spots give me insight into what an Impala funk album would be about, and let me tell you, it's glorious.
  5. Mar 2, 2015
    0
    it's the worst album ever made, uptown funk is so awful and thinking out loud by ed sheeran is so much better
    i can't believe someone buy a **** like this
  6. Jan 16, 2015
    5
    When "Uptown Funk" becomes a stalker of a song, following you around every corner in its inescapable prowess, it's hard to ignore the hype surrounding Mark Ronson's new album. But what is presented as a succulent collection of tasty morsels falls hard into a vat of boredom and overflows uncomfortably with a forgettable concept and flavourless songs.
  7. May 2, 2015
    9
    Great funk album! Kevin Parker from Tame Impala does great on the three tracks he's on. Very fun to listen to... I don't get the low scores it's receiving from users.
  8. May 28, 2015
    8
    Gathering Stevie Wonder, Bruno Mars, Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker and Kanye collaborator Jeff Bhasker could have resulted in the too many cooks effect.

    Surprisingly, “Uptown Special” is a collection that faithfully replicates 80s funk, soul and pop with aplomb. It’s a project of obvious, yet fluid dynamics, carried largely by the verve and enthusiasm Ronson and co. have injected into
    Gathering Stevie Wonder, Bruno Mars, Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker and Kanye collaborator Jeff Bhasker could have resulted in the too many cooks effect.

    Surprisingly, “Uptown Special” is a collection that faithfully replicates 80s funk, soul and pop with aplomb. It’s a project of obvious, yet fluid dynamics, carried largely by the verve and enthusiasm Ronson and co. have injected into every groove.

    Wouldn’t look out of place as a GTA soundtrack radio station.
    Expand
  9. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    While it's pretty obvious what the biggest standout on the album is (and deservedly so), Uptown Special is a consistently really fun, enjoyable record that revives classic sounds with the great songwriting & production to keep it from being a mere throwback novelty.

    (For a more in-depth review, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube)
  10. Dec 16, 2015
    8
    This is a decent album, I'm not getting all the bad user reviews on here. Very weird. Daffodils, Uptown Funk, Feel Right, Leaving Los Feliz and I Can't Lose are all good tracks, and that's just off the top of my head.
  11. Mar 1, 2015
    8
    Mark never give your quality in yours productions and in this album not is different. The retro in album making her so attractive and intelligent, introducing the listener on another world. though have many songs with a bad lyric, this no intervenes highly.

    notable songs: I Can't Lose, Uptown Funk, Daffodils
  12. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    I know it's not cool, but I really like Uptown Funk. There are a few other songs on this album that make it worth listening to. A total throwback to disco and funk. It's a lot of fun.
  13. Feb 19, 2016
    0
    And here we have it: Wannabe '80s music in the 21st century. Tsk tsk tsk. Uptown Funk is perhaps the biggest mistake I have ever heard. I rarely give 0's, but this album truly deserves it. 0/10
  14. May 30, 2016
    3
    I really don't like the mainstream song of the album, Uptown Funk, it's so overplayed! The album is full of 70's revivals and doesn't sound like you listen to it a lot. This is an album that you play once and throw in the trash!Mark Ronson is such a one-hit wonder and Bruno Mars doesn't make any new and good music anymore! I really don't suggest buying the album or wasting your time on this album!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 26, 2015
    70
    For all the technical charm that Ronson is able to pull off on this album, a lyrically nimble one with the employment of Pulitzer Prize winning author Michael Chabon, it never reaches sexy.
  2. Feb 24, 2015
    40
    Somehow, because Uptown Funk is so, so good, Uptown Special is even more disappointing.
  3. Uncut
    Feb 3, 2015
    60
    Novelist Michael Chabon's lyrics fail to illuminate the theme, while the music settles for tasteful reverence. [Mar 2015, p.81]