User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 4 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AshleyR.
    Oct 29, 2001
    8
    Ok. Reading the reviews of the critics hurt. Reading the reviews by the fans, ah, hurt worse. Ok...I am a huge Orgy fan. I think they are all hot, but geez, their style of dressing has nothing to do with how good the album is. Now to take care of the critics. Is there anything other than Manson you can compare Orgy to? The only song you can honestly become Manson-Orgy confused on would be Ok. Reading the reviews of the critics hurt. Reading the reviews by the fans, ah, hurt worse. Ok...I am a huge Orgy fan. I think they are all hot, but geez, their style of dressing has nothing to do with how good the album is. Now to take care of the critics. Is there anything other than Manson you can compare Orgy to? The only song you can honestly become Manson-Orgy confused on would be the awesomely dark "Dizzy" on "Candyass". Anything else is just saying "Jay Gordon sounds like Barry White coz his voice is deep"...extreme, yes, but so are the lame comparisons-half of you couldn't name five Manson songs, how could you know? Orgy is not riding Korns wave either. Korn sounds much harder. Your reasoning here simply lies in the fact of labels. Big deal, ok? I give it to you, I think Vapor Transmission wasn't the best thing out of Orgy, but there was a deep point to each candycoated lyric. If any of you reviewers knew a thing about music you would know not everyone speaks as up front as Aaron Lewis from Staind. Some people actually leave interpretation as a part of their music. So I come to my point..."Faces" their lastest song, featured on the "ZOOLANDER" movie soundtrack brings back that "Candyass" sound which attracted me to them. Buy it and kiss their Asses. They rocked it out. While you sit and make pennies for your words, they rock out and make millions. Who's laughing now?? Expand
  2. NickyP.
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    i love it! it's absoultly amazing. it's one of those cds yu can listen to the ENTIRE album without having to skip songs. awesome, wow!
  3. JonS
    Mar 6, 2004
    9
    REALLY AWESOME. The only problem with this CD (from a GREAT band) is that it didn't make me almost tear in utter happiness the whole time. In other words, it's musical quality could have been completely amazing.
  4. Candyassis#1nigger
    Apr 29, 2004
    6
    Candyass had an awsome dark futuristik sound that made me think man i love this CD. On the other hand, VT kinda made me think that this is a bit to weird for me. I think it's beacuse they went a little too futruistic on this album which made it kinda fruity. Candyass had more of a dark techno rock beat which is why i'm more interested in it. Candyass is better cuz it went Candyass had an awsome dark futuristik sound that made me think man i love this CD. On the other hand, VT kinda made me think that this is a bit to weird for me. I think it's beacuse they went a little too futruistic on this album which made it kinda fruity. Candyass had more of a dark techno rock beat which is why i'm more interested in it. Candyass is better cuz it went platinum, VT is Gold. Nuff said. Expand
  5. roy
    Feb 16, 2005
    8
    Although orgy isnt a technically great band, and they do remind me of the worst of marilyn manson and static x group of bands, they more than make that up with one of the greatest science fiction themed atmospheres ever. definitely one of the greatest numetal albums ever.
  6. DenaA.
    Nov 13, 2001
    10
    i rate this album a 10 cuz it rocks and it is not copied from any other band, they do their own thing.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    it's the greatest
  8. AshleyP.
    Aug 14, 2001
    10
    Could there be a greater band? NO!! Candyass was great and vaportransmission has that extra vibe that hooks me to it. Jay Gordon has the sexiest voice, and the lyrics are so incredibly deep they shock me with every song. I love your music Orgy there will never be a better band.
  9. Jake
    Aug 17, 2001
    6
    Vapor Transmissions, is a little more lyrical and more techno but The band still brings a unique sound to the table, but it is not as good as CandyAss
  10. EvanM.
    Sep 10, 2001
    8
    Vapor Transmissions is a must listen. After listening to it once, i was hooked. Orgy brings a unique sound to the table; which is a great change of pace. All that rap-rock regurgitation that rules the charts proves how spoon fed the majority of music fans are today. This album was overlooked to say the least, and the singles released didn't come close to comparing to some of the Vapor Transmissions is a must listen. After listening to it once, i was hooked. Orgy brings a unique sound to the table; which is a great change of pace. All that rap-rock regurgitation that rules the charts proves how spoon fed the majority of music fans are today. This album was overlooked to say the least, and the singles released didn't come close to comparing to some of the substance the album actually had. Expand
  11. JenniferG.
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    Album kicks ass... it is a very personal album and that is what makes it so cool.
  12. nicholase
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    ived loved every orgy song iv ever heard before and after this cd this is one to defanitly to be bought its an orgy for your ears
  13. VoW
    Dec 22, 2001
    8
    Granted. Its not as good as 98's "Candyass" that drew me to Orgy with Gordon's haunting voice and appealing different lyrics...not everyone was thrilled they became Space travelers, and I was kinda if-y about it. All I heard was the different style of sound...but then I listened to what Mr. Gordon says, meaning whatever, that makes it for me. Getting straight to the point can be Granted. Its not as good as 98's "Candyass" that drew me to Orgy with Gordon's haunting voice and appealing different lyrics...not everyone was thrilled they became Space travelers, and I was kinda if-y about it. All I heard was the different style of sound...but then I listened to what Mr. Gordon says, meaning whatever, that makes it for me. Getting straight to the point can be alright as Ashely R. stated, but I totaly agree with him/her on the fact that Not always knowing exactly what it means makes it that much better. Leave it to Imagination, and let it take its course. It is though, easy to rate them a perfect 10 when you're a fan of the band....but don't get all kinds of pist off when they get anything lower. I'm saying its a good album an take from it what its worth to you, not what everyone else thinks. Expand
  14. Coda
    Dec 5, 2001
    10
    Moving on in civilization, this is the future of the world. Back to the Future II, The Jetsons, our dreams of what the future would be... it's evolving.
  15. Kate
    Jul 27, 2001
    10
    This cd is so cool, its alot better than that tallentless pop shit thats out today. Orgy realy plays and writes thier music and there so original!
  16. BreannaR
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    I LOVE THIS CD!!!!!!!!!! Orgy is probably the best group ever!!!!!!! Candyass is still a great cd but Vapor Transmissions is better. I kinda agree with Ashley R, Jay Gordon does NOT sound like Marilyn Manson, the only song where he kinda sounds like Marilyn Manson is Dizzy (which is on Candyass). I love Orgy. I just wish Bobby didnt leave and they would come out with another CD.
  17. nicolerog
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    this ia a great band with great sound and the album kicked ass. but when there next one comes out i do hope that it will be a lot more like the frist one other thatn this album. they do need to go a little darker adn heaveir with there sound. but still orgy is questionly one of the best bands out there.
  18. AndrewW.
    Jan 11, 2004
    5
    this album was alright... i like candyass a lot better...good music but doesn't hold out as well as their first album
  19. OscarGabrielP
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    This is a great CD. Orgy shows that they matured during the 2 years they took to make this record. Candyass is a bit more raw, while Vapor Transmission maintains that while sounding a lot more electronic. Every track is good, you can listen to the whole cd without skipping any tracks. Outstanding tracks are "Fiction(Dreams in Digital)", "Eva", "Eyes Radio-Lies", and "Re-Creation".
  20. RandyB
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    This record is supposed to be a dark concept album about everyone
  21. mattw
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    ORGY is the best freaking band !!! they kik ass.
  22. PaigeZ.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    This albums rocks! It is definitely better than Candyass although Candyass is good too. It is hard and well-written.
  23. FaithV.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    This album rocks! Orgy is the best band ever. They've got the music(most important!), the look, the style, what more can you look for? They are unique, in terms of music and style.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Amusingly, Los Angeles nu-metal types Orgy look like Duran Duran after being chewed on by giant robots. The problem is, as this hugely stupid sci-fi concept album grinds on towards the 30th century, they sound that way, too.
  2. Spin
    60
    They're an American band that sound like British Francophiles, right down to the pip-pip accent in leader Jay Gordon's Gary Numan pout. [12/2000, p.223]
  3. With their second album Vapor Transmission, they return to deliver another set of electronic-laden rockers, but this time out they do so with slicker production and improved songwriting.