• Record Label: SMG
  • Release Date: Dec 1, 2017
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2017
    8
    A great mix of covers with a couple of new tracks. It's a nice continuation of Roll with the Punches, which had a jazz feel but it really goes full swing with this album. Van kills it on every track and stays true to the jazz roots of the songs. And it's such a treat that this was dropped before Christmas, I love it.
  2. Dec 2, 2017
    9
    The band is great, not anything new jazzwise but solid and tasty. If you expect Van to sing the song straight first, sing the head in jazz terms, before improvising on it, forget it. He plays with the melodies and words right from the start. The whole thing works as a jazz show. You come away feeling good.

    No, it isn’t Astral Weeks or Moondance. It’s Van doing a jazz show with a great
    The band is great, not anything new jazzwise but solid and tasty. If you expect Van to sing the song straight first, sing the head in jazz terms, before improvising on it, forget it. He plays with the melodies and words right from the start. The whole thing works as a jazz show. You come away feeling good.

    No, it isn’t Astral Weeks or Moondance. It’s Van doing a jazz show with a great band. If you want to hear new and great Van tunes, give Keep Me Singing an enjoyable listen. That album, for me, is the best in a long time and I’ve been listening since Them in the mid 60’s. I saw Van many times in San Francisco. I even used to see his mother walking her dog when his dad had a record store in Fairfax.

    I was a little disappointed when I heard the first tunes released, Makin’ Whoopee and I Get a Kick Out of You, but they sound much better and make more sense in the context of a show. Don’t worry. He’ll continue to put out a great album every once in a while if Keep Me Singing is an indication.

    Dig this for what it is, a man of many influences doing his take on jazz. No, he isn’t Sarah Vaughan or Ella and he would never claim to be. But if you like Van’s voice and how he can use it, you’ll have a fine show.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Uncut
    Dec 21, 2017
    70
    He's added half a dozen of his own compositions in a similar style to this generous 16-track selection, which pays tribute to his jazz roots rather more successfully than his uneven homage to his R&B origins in September's Roll With The Punches. [Feb 2018, p.30]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 20, 2017
    60
    Van sounds relaxed and perfectly at ease. [Feb 2018, p.93]
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 20, 2017
    60
    Morrison swings as he sings, conventionally but enjoyably in a classy jazz club mode. [Feb 2018, p.112]