Volume 1 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for the supergroup that includes Midlake's Eric Pulido, McKenzie Smith, Joey Mcclellan and Jesse Chandler with vocals from Band of Horses' Ben Bridwell, Travis' Fran Healy, Franz Ferdinand's Alex Kapranos, and Grandaddy's Jason Lytle.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

I was amazed at the man I could be I did all the right things And my aim was to please I could talk about it But they won't believe me Walking... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 20, 2017
    High points include Lytle’s impossibly lovely Failing at Feeling, which conjures John Lennon’s #9 Dream; Restart, whose glam-rock crunch is reached via Tame Impala’s Elephant; the arch stylings of Kapranos on Hey Banana; and Real Love, a gorgeous cascade of harmonies and trumpets.
  2. Apr 27, 2017
    It's a remarkably coherent and listenable album that goes down very smooth, but not without the occasional moment of real emotion or foot-tapping fun.
  3. Q Magazine
    Apr 12, 2017
    BNQT is a happy meld of snug-fitting millennial Traveling Wilburys and Gorillaz pop nous, a giant avert for the powerful attraction of opposites. [Jun 2017, p.102]
  4. Apr 27, 2017
    It could run the risk of being a bit of a patchwork in its revolving styles and cast of five vocalists, but it works perfectly in being an ensemble creation that taps into a hazy nostalgia vibe.
  5. Apr 27, 2017
    Given the variety of approaches employed within, just about everyone scrolling through these 11 tracks should find an addled anthem easy to love... even as the album itself remains frustratingly difficult to like.
  6. May 30, 2017
    Volume 1 is an enjoyable throwback record fit for fans of any of its members, at least for a few spins, but ultimately it’s less fondue and more cheese plate--still delicious, just not as rich as it could have been.
  7. Apr 19, 2017
    This is the least inventive product you could have expected from a bunch of varyingly inventive songwriters. Which is to say, it’s not much good at all.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of