• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 14, 2016
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 94
  2. Negative: 18 out of 94
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2016
    9
    Kings Of Leon were often on my playlists and I really like this album. I don't think its an reinvention or something, but it's good. I feel like some songs have that "anthem" thing that made them famous, like "Waste a Moment", but also they still have that old feeling from the two firsts albums.
  2. Dec 28, 2016
    5
    I remember the first time I heard "Youth & Young Manhood". Honestly, I'd put it in my personal "Top 10 albums of decade" but after "Only by the Night", which is a majestic one as well, the band began getting worse and worse, IMHO. I only remember 2 songs from the last 2 albums - Rock City and Waste a Moment.
  3. Oct 14, 2016
    8
    While not a complete reinvention of their style, WALLS finds a much more consistent and focused Kings of Leon than we have seen before, the result of which is their most mature album yet.

    In recruiting producer Markus Dravs, the album finds a much glossier production than we are accustomed to seeing from the Kings. This extra layer of sound both enhances and detracts from the band,
    While not a complete reinvention of their style, WALLS finds a much more consistent and focused Kings of Leon than we have seen before, the result of which is their most mature album yet.

    In recruiting producer Markus Dravs, the album finds a much glossier production than we are accustomed to seeing from the Kings. This extra layer of sound both enhances and detracts from the band, certain to ruffle the feathers of some loyal listeners, but where Dravs has really succeed is in pushing the band to find the heart of every song. Each song has its own purpose, its own sound, something that is even more impressive when you notice the surprising amount of cohesion in the album. WALLS flows from beginning to end, hitting its high peaks and emotional valleys with a sense of ease. While their past two efforts have seen the band on autopilot, here we find them climbing into the driver's seat and taking us for a journey.

    WALLS isn't going to change the face of music or galvanize its listeners like earlier efforts from the Kings, but if this is the first step in a new era for the band, as they claim it is, then we can expect great things to come.
    Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2016
    10
    Após três anos se passarem desde Mechanical Bull, os agora adultos de Nashville estão mais que prontos para retornar com o peito inflado e cantar sobre o amor. Em se tratando de gênero e estilo adotado na obra, WALLS se parece muito com a jovialidade apresentada no álbum de 2013, que somente o amor pode proporcionar, mas ao mesmo tempo se distancia por ter uma temática bem distinta. WALLSApós três anos se passarem desde Mechanical Bull, os agora adultos de Nashville estão mais que prontos para retornar com o peito inflado e cantar sobre o amor. Em se tratando de gênero e estilo adotado na obra, WALLS se parece muito com a jovialidade apresentada no álbum de 2013, que somente o amor pode proporcionar, mas ao mesmo tempo se distancia por ter uma temática bem distinta. WALLS não é um álbum tradicional de rock, e nem foi feito pra ser dessa forma, tampouco não é um álbum que irá permanecer na mídia por longos tempos, WALLS é simplesmente um álbum para ser escutado em horas mais oportunas. Algumas melodias soam velhas e ao mesmo tempo atuais, essa contradição gerada e estabelecida pelo álbum é a parte que muito impressiona no conjunto. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2016
    0
    I once used to love this band, and also bought every album from the very beginning, but... since the release of Come around sundown, they changed the way of their sound and the way they perform as a band, I couldn't get used to it at first. While come around sundown was at least ok, since there were only 4 or 5 good songs on it, their upcoming album "mechanical bull" was a waste of moneyI once used to love this band, and also bought every album from the very beginning, but... since the release of Come around sundown, they changed the way of their sound and the way they perform as a band, I couldn't get used to it at first. While come around sundown was at least ok, since there were only 4 or 5 good songs on it, their upcoming album "mechanical bull" was a waste of money and time. And WALLS sounds like a **** B-Side of Mechanical bull. Almost the same synths, just boring songs, overproduced and without any memorable message or refrain or anything else. That's sad... not a single band I used to hear for decades has **** up that much in 2016 as KoL did with this one. Not even Biffy Clyro, and their last "masterpiece" is also as boring as not memorable.
    Just buy this, if you are a hardcore fan. For me the greatest disappointment in 2016 so far. :(
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2016
    3
    Bored as hell, goodbye Kings of Leon, another band that ruins their sound. Songs 1 to 5 decent, 5 to 10 zzzzzz... Just remarkable: "Reverend", forget the rest.
  7. Oct 14, 2016
    5
    Well, what can I say other than I believe this producer Marcus Dravs is not the man for them. They debuted their new album live in Nashville and the majority of the songs seemed to really shine. When you play the album though all of what I heard live off the stage seemed like it was completely sucked out in the production. The result is muddy drums, dated synths, and most notably theWell, what can I say other than I believe this producer Marcus Dravs is not the man for them. They debuted their new album live in Nashville and the majority of the songs seemed to really shine. When you play the album though all of what I heard live off the stage seemed like it was completely sucked out in the production. The result is muddy drums, dated synths, and most notably the absence of Caleb's voice in the mix. How do you as a producer not focus on the one thing that makes this band this band - Caleb Followill! Its almost maddening how these songs are so flat because they could be so much more - see Over for example, the live version features an awesome guitar line by Matthew that's completely neutered on the album. I hope they dont stick with this guy because the majority of the interesting songs on the album are just not produced/mixed to make them stand out. Very disappointed! Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2016
    1
    this is a boring record. I don't find one ONE good track on the album.I don't know what happended to these guys honestly, this band is over, it seems like they have nothing left to say.
  9. Oct 16, 2016
    7
    before this album, they keep going downhill. but i think after WALLS, they are on the track after dowhill's at rollercoster. just my opinion. adding to speak on this album every track of this album was OVERPRODUCED. especially no.1, 3, 5, 6, 7.
  10. Jan 17, 2017
    8
    Any band that gets to album number 7 in the 21st century deservers a pat on the back. KOL's output has been patch over the since the commercial but in my opinion highly enjoyable "Only By The Night". Subsequent albums "Come Around Sundown" and "Mechanical Bull" had decent moments but both were heavily watered down and almost rock by numbers. The cynics will bundle "WALLS" into the sameAny band that gets to album number 7 in the 21st century deservers a pat on the back. KOL's output has been patch over the since the commercial but in my opinion highly enjoyable "Only By The Night". Subsequent albums "Come Around Sundown" and "Mechanical Bull" had decent moments but both were heavily watered down and almost rock by numbers. The cynics will bundle "WALLS" into the same category but I think that is a tad unfair. "Walls" has got the hooks and the atmosphere that has been missing in recent years. It's also the bands most consistent record from start to finish since the aforementioned "Only By The Night". The quality drops a little towards the end as the tempo drops but the songwriting on "WALLS" is the best the band have come up with in quite some time. Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2016
    6
    A decent album, though Kings of Leon has churned out albums of far better quality. The best songs are "Waste a Moment", "Find Me", "Conversation Piece", "Eyes on You", and "WALLS". Don't rest on your laurels Kings of Leon!
  12. Oct 19, 2016
    7
    Really more commercial than the others albums so far... But still being KOL, not the best Kraut rock band ever, but it's Kings of Leon. It keeps on repeat as the lastest and with this popfull sound though be so long till over it.
  13. Oct 21, 2016
    8
    Been with the Kings since close to the start and have always loved the raw, care free, slick, southern rock sound. There is no doubt that many external contributions have played a part in diminishing their sound over the years but then again that is a fundamental reason why the world has been given Rock Music. Maybe if they keep progressing into this new direction...we might just see themBeen with the Kings since close to the start and have always loved the raw, care free, slick, southern rock sound. There is no doubt that many external contributions have played a part in diminishing their sound over the years but then again that is a fundamental reason why the world has been given Rock Music. Maybe if they keep progressing into this new direction...we might just see them back with the best. Expand
  14. Nov 7, 2016
    7
    I think this is most mainstream Kings of Leon record yet but I think current fans will still be pleased with it. I find the guitar work to be very similar to U2. The first half of the album is really built for live performances with sing along choruses. There is a bit of a shift for the back half of the album but there are still some very good moments. There aren't any songs on this albumsI think this is most mainstream Kings of Leon record yet but I think current fans will still be pleased with it. I find the guitar work to be very similar to U2. The first half of the album is really built for live performances with sing along choruses. There is a bit of a shift for the back half of the album but there are still some very good moments. There aren't any songs on this albums that hit as hard as Use Somebody or Sex is on Fire but I think its very consistent with enough variation through 10 tracks. We will be hearing Waste a Moment on radio stations for at least a few months and there are several other tracks that deserve attention on the radio as well.

    I highlight Waste a Moment, Around the World, Find Me, Over, Wild and WALLS.
    Expand
  15. Jul 9, 2017
    3
    My main complaint is it's boring. The vocals have no character, the music has nothing interesting, it's just all really boring. The only real quality song here is Over, which they try their best to ruin. They could've left it as a more slow song but instead they have to put everything they can into ruining it, and forcing in more than it needed.
  16. Oct 14, 2016
    3
    Completely disappointed in this band that has gone from raw, true grit to selling out to mainstream pop. Hopefully they will get back to their old roots and be true to who this band really is instead of following the lead of producers, etc. This has been my favorite band since album Youth and Young Manhood. They keep going downhill.
  17. Oct 19, 2016
    7
    Maybe not a classic compared to Because of Times or Youth & Young Manhood but this is still a decent album. People need to lower their expectations and just appreciate good modern rock music which is rare in today's mainstream music scene. Tracks are well mixed and this album will grow with every listen. "Find me" and "Eyes on you" are my favorite tracks. What are yours ?
  18. Oct 23, 2016
    6
    WALLS is not a bad album. It's just not a great one either... Most of the songs are forgettable with the exception of a few songs. Waste a moment is a decent track but would be considered one of the lesser songs on previous KoL albums. Around The World is a fun little song, but what saves this album from being a flop is the song Find Me. Find Me is without a doubt the most memorable songWALLS is not a bad album. It's just not a great one either... Most of the songs are forgettable with the exception of a few songs. Waste a moment is a decent track but would be considered one of the lesser songs on previous KoL albums. Around The World is a fun little song, but what saves this album from being a flop is the song Find Me. Find Me is without a doubt the most memorable song on this album. The biggest disappointment is the song WALLS though. It feels like a failed second attempt of Come Around Sundown's Back Down South (which was a very cool acoustic tune), and turned it into a **** acoustic ballad. Musically this album is pretty solid, however the songs are forgettable. Expand
  19. Apr 10, 2017
    7
    Can't say I enjoyed it as much as I did any of their previous albums, but it's still an easy and enjoyable listen. My favorites are definitely over and walls.
  20. Jan 11, 2018
    7
    The music album ranges from fun, effective, and powerful to unimpressive and unmemorable. "Over" has amazing music and good lyrics. "Walls", "Muchacho", and "Conversation" have effective, enjoyable slow lyrics. "Reverend" has a good chorus, amplified by the music and vocals. Most of the songs on WALLS have weak, weird, pointless lyrics. "Waste A Moment", "Muchacho" and "Over" are welcomeThe music album ranges from fun, effective, and powerful to unimpressive and unmemorable. "Over" has amazing music and good lyrics. "Walls", "Muchacho", and "Conversation" have effective, enjoyable slow lyrics. "Reverend" has a good chorus, amplified by the music and vocals. Most of the songs on WALLS have weak, weird, pointless lyrics. "Waste A Moment", "Muchacho" and "Over" are welcome exceptions, and all bring some memorable lines to the table. I have listened to this album many times, and it has a nice, peaceful, pleasant effect on my brain. WALLS isn't great or very clever, but it is an easy, pleasant album. Expand
  21. Jun 21, 2018
    8
    This isn’t kings of Leon’s best album but it is a very good listen. Favourite tracks, waste a moment, find me, muchaho, eyes on you and wild.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Magnet
    Nov 16, 2016
    85
    Walls could be their portal to lingering greatness. [No. 137, p.57]
  2. Nov 7, 2016
    60
    Although this album does replicate almost everything they’ve created it has that sense of maturity about it, showing that over the sixteen years they’ve moved on from their rebellious teen stage.
  3. Mojo
    Oct 28, 2016
    60
    Walls is not a lovable album but if Kings Of Leon would rather be taken seriously these days, instead of simply being adored, they have put down a solid foundation. [Dec 2016, p.89]