• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
What Is Love? Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the British electronic trio features guest appearances from ALMA, Anne-Marie, Big Boi, Craig David, Luis Fonsi, Ellie Goulding, Kirsten Joy, KYLE, Zara Larsson, Demi Lovato, Marina, Julia Michaels, Rita Ora, Sean Paul, Stefflon Don, and Tove Styrke.
Buy On

Top Track

Call it love and devotion Call it a mom's adoration Foundation A special bond of creation, hah For all the single moms out there Going through... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 18, 2018
    What Is Love? is a superior compilation, but it's held together by Clean Bandit's winning way with a catchy, wistful tune. [Feb 2019, p.111]
  2. Dec 18, 2018
    While the energy tapers off on the second half of the album, these midtempo jams are as addictive as the euphoric singles, providing contemplative balance and additional opportunities to showcase each inspired collaboration. What Is Love? was worth the long wait, taking the promise of "Rather Be" and topping it many times over.
  3. 40
    Essentially, this is yet another album of formulaic EDM pop and Latino R&B dancefloor grinders, more market tester than art.
  4. Dec 18, 2018
    Melodies are frequently forced and characterless, and many songs possess an almost computer-generated quality: either riddled with counterintuitive combinations (Sean Paul singing about the sacrifices of single mothers on mega-hit Rockabye) or resembling other people’s work (the unbearably twee We Were Just Kids is steeped in Ed Sheeran-style nostalgia; the lyrics of Out at Night resemble a poor man’s Nice for What).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 25, 2019
    Starting because more than one album is a compilation of pure "hits" as 2 years ago. I had not heard such a flat album, all the songs soundStarting because more than one album is a compilation of pure "hits" as 2 years ago. I had not heard such a flat album, all the songs sound the same, it seems that they only know how to play 3 musical notes, it gets to be tiresome to hear everything, it's like a huge track of 1 hour (counting the deluxe version). It is not bad, only mediocre, at no time explodes, if a case in "Rockabye", but that song is already hit "dance" tested, so it almost does not matter. No song is good or bad, they may or may not have recorded, nor the collaborations made the songs have some life, the problem I think is the style of Clean Bandit, its sound makes the songs anodyne. Expand

See all 2 User Reviews