User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 91
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 91
  3. Negative: 13 out of 91
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Many argue whether their first or second album was the best, but either way, this is a fantastic album. It even contains that one song that 'everyone knows but not everyone knows who made it.' - [Wonderwall] After this album, the band wasn't able to release anymore truly memorable tracks (in my opinion) and it is definitely worth listening to. 10/10
  2. Oct 21, 2014
    9
    Great album. Not as great as Definitely Maybe, though. It's just a blast. Every tune sticks to you like a tattoo. Some Might Say it's one of the best songs of the 90's. That said, you have to know that it's not as great Definitely Maybe,
  3. May 7, 2017
    10
    The word influential means powerful or important, of having great influence on someone or something. When you talk about influential albums you'll get plenty of opinions, often the albums that get mentioned are groundbreaking, defining new genres of music and doing something thats never been done before. Oasis have many detractors, but when you look at "What's the Story.." it matches theThe word influential means powerful or important, of having great influence on someone or something. When you talk about influential albums you'll get plenty of opinions, often the albums that get mentioned are groundbreaking, defining new genres of music and doing something thats never been done before. Oasis have many detractors, but when you look at "What's the Story.." it matches the defintion of influential. It didn't break new ground musically or anything like that, but it was a powerful record that influenced thousands of people who were between 12 and 30 in 1995 to pick up a guitar many of whom went on to make albums themselves. From the swaggering opener "Hello" to the epic culmination of "Champagne Supernova", the Gallagher brothers created something that defined a place and time with this record. At its best its timeless, "Wonderwall", "Don't Look Back in Anger" and "Some Might Say" are just that, with the middle one of that trio being one of the greatest tracks ever written in my opinion. At its worst ("Hey Now", "Roll With It"), the confidence oozing from the speakers is still convincing the listener that you are listening to something of cultural importance. In my part of the world, "Whats the Story" was one of those albums that could be found in every second house you went into. At most, you get 3 or 4 or those albums a decade. Listening to it today - Liam Gallaghers voice is still pristine, pre the wear and tear or the rock n roll life style. The production, where on later records became bloated, is ambitious and at times majestic on this record. Most of the songs are anthems and you can't really argue with Noel Gallagher's self belief that he is a songwriting genius. A true classic. Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2015
    10
    Is the best album, not of the 95, not of the 90's, is the best album of all history, the great album never made, but Noel Gallagher, is the great genius, the John Lennon of the new era
  5. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    10/10, because i think it's so bloody great. champagne supernova, wonderwall, don't look back in anger, she's electric are just masterpieces. and i don't know which oasis' album is better - the first or the second one
  6. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it love it
  7. Jun 8, 2017
    10
    "Morning Glory" remains a favorite of mine from the Britpop era (although it isn't quite on the level of "Definitely Maybe"). The Gallagher brothers are at their arguable best on this album. Noel's clever songwriting and Liam's killer vocal impress me even to this day. The remastered deluxe edition is chock full of fun Demos and B-Sides. Have fun picking a favorite! While the standout"Morning Glory" remains a favorite of mine from the Britpop era (although it isn't quite on the level of "Definitely Maybe"). The Gallagher brothers are at their arguable best on this album. Noel's clever songwriting and Liam's killer vocal impress me even to this day. The remastered deluxe edition is chock full of fun Demos and B-Sides. Have fun picking a favorite! While the standout tracks include "Wonderwall" and "Champagne Supernova", the best track, in my humble opinion, is the Beatles-tinged "Don't Look Back In Anger." Letting Noel take the lead was an important decision for the song, as Noel's vocals still ring in my head. Liam's contribution to the song (the lyrics "so Sally can wait") make the track even more memorable. I still tear up when I hear the song, and Chris Martin's recent tribute at One Love Manchester isn't helping . Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2018
    10
    It is one of my favorite albums ever. Top 5 for sure.
    This album brings a new face to oasis and its essence.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    80
    It may not be as glorious as some would have had us believe first time round; it's still a great album, but here it's packaged with the extra components that could have made it a better one. [Oct 2014, p.101]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 12, 2014
    80
    For all its flaws, the outcome remains spectacular. [Oct 2014, p.103]
  3. Magnet
    Nov 5, 2014
    60
    Twenty years later then, Glory remains, for better or worse, a totemic symbol of a n overinflated, overexcited era that now seems long, long gone and scarcely conceivable. [No. 114, p.51]