• Record Label: Nettwerk
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2014
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2015
    7
    Passenger has a definite style, which although is one I like a lot, is also not very diverse and causes the tracks to blend together to the point where after listening you might not be able to think back and identify one song from the others. However the tracks are good and there are enough of them that stand out (namely Whispers) to boost the album above those of other folk singers. I amPassenger has a definite style, which although is one I like a lot, is also not very diverse and causes the tracks to blend together to the point where after listening you might not be able to think back and identify one song from the others. However the tracks are good and there are enough of them that stand out (namely Whispers) to boost the album above those of other folk singers. I am really looking forward to seeing how Passenger improves and will be listening to his further albums Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    7
    Some of it's forgettable folk-pop but when it hits the mark it hits so well that it makes up for the filler. Coins in a Fountain, 27, Bullets & Whispers are all highlights an call to mind some of the best first-wave folk I can think of but the coup de grâce - for me at least - is Riding to New York. Call me a sap but when he sings, "I want to see my granddaughter one last time. Want toSome of it's forgettable folk-pop but when it hits the mark it hits so well that it makes up for the filler. Coins in a Fountain, 27, Bullets & Whispers are all highlights an call to mind some of the best first-wave folk I can think of but the coup de grâce - for me at least - is Riding to New York. Call me a sap but when he sings, "I want to see my granddaughter one last time. Want to hold her close and feel her tiny heartbeat next to mine." it's all I can do to not start bawling my eyes out.

    Lowlights? Scare Away the Dark. The album is a solid 8 up to that point and then this hackneyed and cliché diatribe against modernism comes on and almost ruins the entire experience for me. I've never experienced that: a beautiful, fantastic, heartrending song that makes me want to cry followed by something so solidly trite and annoying that I want to lob my phone across the room. It's an almost vertigo-inducing 180.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2017
    10
    Passenger is an amazing story teller and once again with this album he has created an album full of songs I love! I am thoroughly impressed with the strength of this album. Completely relate-able. I look forward to more wonderful music from this troubadour!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mojo
    Jul 24, 2014
    40
    More non-threatening folk-pop. [Jul 2014, p.96]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 13, 2014
    80
    These supremely accessible, expansively produced, mostly summery pop songs often suggest a less bilious, more fleet-footed Frank Turner. [Jul 2014, p.112]
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    50
    He takes on his indecisive twenties on "Rolling Stone" and "27," attempts a road epic on "Riding to New York," and, on "Scare Away the Dark," implores, "We want something real/Not just hashtags and Twitter." Impressively, he sings it like he thought of that cliché himself.