• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 11, 2022
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Mar 11, 2022
    80
    Thankfully, all of Who Cares? sounds exactly like Rex Orange County coming into his own.
  2. 80
    ‘Who Cares?’, O’Connor’s fourth album, is a gorgeously measured step forward.
  3. 80
    Don’t expect this LP to reinvent O'Connor’s established ‘wheel’, but it certainly shows signs of a formula being gradually improved and perfected.
  4. Mar 10, 2022
    70
    The album not only delivers O’Connor's signature use of bubbly synths, electric pianos and programmed beats that instantly make you feel good, but it also serves as a lesson on learning how to heal and move on.
  5. Mar 10, 2022
    70
    While missing the flecks of pop brilliance and cloying hooks that made 2017 Rex so endearing, the record’s release in the genesis of a twee renaissance is near-perfect timing.
  6. Mar 14, 2022
    60
    Taken as a whole, though, Who Cares? is so unvarying in its sentimental melodies that it begins to fade into the background, so unobtrusive that it becomes unremarkable.
  7. 60
    Sweet and frothy. Probably still a little coffee shop. But not Starbucks, more the soundtrack to your local quirky independent caffeinator.
  8. Mar 10, 2022
    40
    At his best O’Connor seems to be part of a lineage of pop craftsmen for whom melody trumps everything – you don’t need edge, experimentation or lyrical fireworks if you can come up with a tune as strong as Open the Window or as cute as Making Time. But at his worst, it sounds limp and insubstantial, compounded by the thin production (a sonic link to the days when O’Connor was uploading his bedroom-recorded songs to Soundcloud) and his voice, which can tend to the nasal and whiny.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Mar 11, 2022
    8
    A great resemblance of bedroom pop, and an indie mix of modern day music. The heavy centered use of instrumentation and an orchestratedA great resemblance of bedroom pop, and an indie mix of modern day music. The heavy centered use of instrumentation and an orchestrated approach really distinguishes "Who Cares" and makes it stands out in the bedroom pop genre. However, there seems to be more that we can get from Rex, a more vocally challenged section in a couple of songs throughout the record. Overall however, a pleasant listen and a more peaceful vibe as I went through the record. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2022
    10
    Stunning album, feels like he took all he knows how to do and turned it into the most perfect version yet. He combines his classic sound withStunning album, feels like he took all he knows how to do and turned it into the most perfect version yet. He combines his classic sound with new emotions that I just loved. It's a really really good album, so honest and fun. Rex is really ONE IN A MILLION (fav song honestly). Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2022
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Rex Orange County has always had a certain sound to me, and it is quite delightful. However, "Who Cares?" has Rex diversifying a little bit, but still lacks a certain remarkability to the music. The tracks here sound polished and full of life, but the songwriting seems corny and straightforward at times (which is sort of ROC's style I will be honest, so I don't see this as too much as a downfall). The narrative of this project is surprisingly well put-together, and even though I believe that the execution could use a bit of work I see a lot of potential in the future of Rex's discography.

    Favorite Tracks: Keep It Up, Open A Window, The Shade, Shoot Me Down

    Least Favorite Tracks: Amazing, 7AM, Who Cares?
    Full Review »