• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 11, 2022
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2022
    10
    Stunning album, feels like he took all he knows how to do and turned it into the most perfect version yet. He combines his classic sound with new emotions that I just loved. It's a really really good album, so honest and fun. Rex is really ONE IN A MILLION (fav song honestly).
  2. Mar 11, 2022
    8
    A great resemblance of bedroom pop, and an indie mix of modern day music. The heavy centered use of instrumentation and an orchestrated approach really distinguishes "Who Cares" and makes it stands out in the bedroom pop genre. However, there seems to be more that we can get from Rex, a more vocally challenged section in a couple of songs throughout the record. Overall however, a pleasantA great resemblance of bedroom pop, and an indie mix of modern day music. The heavy centered use of instrumentation and an orchestrated approach really distinguishes "Who Cares" and makes it stands out in the bedroom pop genre. However, there seems to be more that we can get from Rex, a more vocally challenged section in a couple of songs throughout the record. Overall however, a pleasant listen and a more peaceful vibe as I went through the record. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2022
    9
    Largely more of the same as "Apricot Princess" and "Pony" (albeit with a bit more of an orchestral pop sound), O'Connor's latest is resultantly unlikely to win over any doubters but ROC fans will find plenty to love with "Who Cares?," which serves up another impeccably crafted slice of light, breezily cheery indie pop that remains hug-warm even in its most soulfully melancholic moments.
  4. Mar 15, 2022
    10
    AMAZING album, his best album yet to he honest. this is his first album with no skips and I always listen all the way through for the entire experience. It is very simple but most songs on WHO CARES? are very catchy. It doesnt take that much for me personally to like songs and this album meets all of my needs
  5. Mar 12, 2022
    8
    Rex Orange County with Benny Sings, co-producing and writing... What a beautiful meeting of the minds, that just works so so well. After showcasing their real chemistry on the hit song "Loving Is Easy", this just feels like the perfect musical collaboration across a whole album...

    Many songs here meet this high standard of combining sugary funky Indie music, with original and unique
    Rex Orange County with Benny Sings, co-producing and writing... What a beautiful meeting of the minds, that just works so so well. After showcasing their real chemistry on the hit song "Loving Is Easy", this just feels like the perfect musical collaboration across a whole album...

    Many songs here meet this high standard of combining sugary funky Indie music, with original and unique vocals and writing... Only a few times, I felt the sound scape was just too plain, or not interesting enough…

    These are very simple songs, that only upon multiple listens will reveal their full charm and potential.

    Favorite tracks are Keep It Up, Open A Window, One In A Million, and Who Cares. I'm giving this a STRONG 7 to LIGHT 8
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2022
    9
    brand new Alex O’C’ Album, it feels fresh, comforting and full of emotions that falls in happiness.
    Feels like a warmly hug with a lot of true/good words.
    Jazz rhythms accompanied with brightly beautiful piano, keys and guitar chords, complex like always but charming at the same.
  7. Mar 20, 2022
    9
    Rex Orange County is the best on his genre and he proved it one more time. The only thing I missed was more risk and getting out of the box sometime. A great album though!
  8. Mar 22, 2022
    7
    A fun listening experience as I sat on my balcony. It had a great flow and was a nice chill, alt-pop album. The songs can be boring at times, but I love the emotion and feeling in the album. I wouldn't listen again particularly, but I did mostly enjoy when I did listen.
  9. Mar 28, 2022
    8
    A good album, great strings throughout the album. The vocals doesn't disappoint and i think Rex is better without features but Tyler was perfect as a feature that works. My personally favourite is: Open a Window, One in a million and If you want it.
  10. Mar 31, 2022
    10
    At first listen, I wasn’t impressed much. But after listening to it on repeat for 2 weeks now I’m completely obsessed with it. The little nuances he inserts into his songs and the simplicity of them while also being complex and deep is what draws me in. Great album man!
  11. May 18, 2022
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rex Orange County has always had a certain sound to me, and it is quite delightful. However, "Who Cares?" has Rex diversifying a little bit, but still lacks a certain remarkability to the music. The tracks here sound polished and full of life, but the songwriting seems corny and straightforward at times (which is sort of ROC's style I will be honest, so I don't see this as too much as a downfall). The narrative of this project is surprisingly well put-together, and even though I believe that the execution could use a bit of work I see a lot of potential in the future of Rex's discography.

    Favorite Tracks: Keep It Up, Open A Window, The Shade, Shoot Me Down

    Least Favorite Tracks: Amazing, 7AM, Who Cares?
    Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 14, 2022
    60
    Taken as a whole, though, Who Cares? is so unvarying in its sentimental melodies that it begins to fade into the background, so unobtrusive that it becomes unremarkable.
  2. Mar 11, 2022
    80
    Thankfully, all of Who Cares? sounds exactly like Rex Orange County coming into his own.
  3. 80
    ‘Who Cares?’, O’Connor’s fourth album, is a gorgeously measured step forward.