• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Wicked City [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second EP for the British alternative pop duo of Georgia Ellery and Taylor Skye features a track with Injury Reserve's Steppa J Groggs.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Warp
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, New Wave/Post-Punk Revival, Noise-Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jun 17, 2020
    Every second of ‘Wicked City’ feels meticulously thought through, the huge breadth of sonic terrain the duo cover the result of real care and attention paid at every juncture.
  2. Jun 24, 2020
    Wicked City proves that Jockstrap have no shortage of creativity, as these five tracks have more than enough ideas to fill a whole album. So, it’ll be fascinating to see how they do approach a full-length, which hopefully isn’t too far away.
  3. 80
    Jockstrap sound like nobody else at the moment, and they’ve barely started.
  4. Jun 19, 2020
    ‘Wicked City’ is just a tiny slice of what’s to come, leaving a super sweet taste in our mouths.
  5. Jun 17, 2020
    Ellery and Skye are in their fourth year of music school—and they are still finding their way. But when they nail it, as on “The City,” their first-thought-best-thought creative bursts sound not just thrilling but genuinely new. For a group so steeped in retro modes, that’s no small thing.
  6. Jun 17, 2020
    Wicked City explores the extreme limits of how far a pretty song can be mangled until it crumbles completely. When the experiments are at their most successful, they can be truly transcendent.