• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 9, 2017
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3037 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Definitely her best album vocally and production wise. Highlights include 'Power', 'Tsunami', and 'Into Me You See'. Personal favourite is 'Act My Age' which is only available on the deluxe version. Would definitely suggest buying this album.
  2. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    An amazing comeback. It can not have bad reviews. Just envy or spite.
    You have to be objective and listen to every song and know that it is a work of art.
  3. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Congrats for this new era katy. We can feel your soul on Witness and it's beautiful. Thank you for exploring new styles, creating this awesome album. It was really worth the wait.

    TOP 5:
    Witness
    Miss You More
    Tsunami
    Swish Swish
    Pendulum
  4. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Album do Ano ! Katy Perry volta com um hinário e se consagra novamente como um ícone pop. Witness, Hey Hey Hey, Roulltte, Tsunami, Pendulum como podem ser tão perfeita ?
  5. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Amazing album! Witness, Power and Tsunami are my favorites by far. Lyrics and vocals are on point. She tried new things and she succeeded. SHE DID THAT!
  6. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I just can't believe people give bad reviews. This is her best album yet. Doesn't deserve all these hate. Oh wait, the bad reviewers are little monsters and swifties. We been knew.
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is the album of 2017! I'm so proud of Katy. Every song is unique. This album is a top of the line production. It's number one in 40 countries already!
  8. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    its her best album ever i like it she did it she will top at number 1 with sales 700k or more she deserve it she did that its a worthy album to buy and listen to ! worth it
  9. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I'm surprised with this album! Katy Perry did that once again! Truly a pop masterpiece of the millenium. I didn't get the hate that she received so far. Give that girl a break. She release an album to inspire us and express herself. The production is so good! The concept is great too. I love the "Me witnessing you and you witnessing me" concept. Katy once again delivered this era! ThisI'm surprised with this album! Katy Perry did that once again! Truly a pop masterpiece of the millenium. I didn't get the hate that she received so far. Give that girl a break. She release an album to inspire us and express herself. The production is so good! The concept is great too. I love the "Me witnessing you and you witnessing me" concept. Katy once again delivered this era! This album deserves a high score from critics but I think they are kinda bias and deaf because they still can't believe Katy did that! Certainly a 10/10 album. Deserves a Grammy, really. No filler, purely pop masterpieces with different stories. It's like a visual diary for me and I like that. Highly recommended! Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    All the song in this album is perfect. my favorite one is power, i suggest that to become a next single because is catchy song and make me wanna sing along and the others are Pendulum and Witness is also good. good job katy.
  11. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Álbum com visual excelente, nunca vi nada melhor se falando em Katy Perry, músicas relaxantes e dançantes ao mesmo tempo, amei, amei amei, amei amei e amei.
  12. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is one of the best pop albums I’ve have ever heard, and the best and more mature album from katy, she's experimenting with many underground producers (duke dumont, jack garratt and hot chip), and with different genres like dance and house. It’s remarkable her growth lyrically. All the songs are enjoyable to listen, she's growing and that's what the album is reflecting to us.
  13. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is one of the best release of 2017! It's her best and most cohesive album. It has dark vibes in most songs, this is the dark Katy Perry album we've been waiting for.

    Outstanding tracks: Tsunami, Power, Witness
    Personal Favorite: Power, Tsunami, Deja Vu
  14. Jun 9, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well well well... The fist time I listened to it I was like "what is she doing"' but I listened a second time and i love the album, it's not as good as Teenage Dream or PRISM, but I love it! She changes her style and I love it ! Save as Draft is one of my favorite with Witness and the three singles :D I'm still waiting for my deluxe edition to hear the two bonus tacks :) I didn't give it a 10/10 because all of the songs are kinda the same, the same vocals, the same instrumentals, but it's a good album tho! Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Her best album. i have never found an album with only AWESOME songs. Katy hasn't put songs just to fill it. And for who is asking I'm not a fan. Remember: the "0" reviews are from Haters who maybe hasn't listened to the album or have listened but they secretly love it.
  16. Jun 9, 2017
    8
    I've multiples feelings with this album. First, Chained to The Rhythm was amazing, video included. Her message, her way to focus actual problems with music. Then, Bon Appetit, with Migos. Girl, this was not what I expected, but with few listenings, I can say is an OK song. Not good, but OK. And finally, with Queen Minaj and Swish Swish, promoting her feud with Taylor Swift, we were amazed.I've multiples feelings with this album. First, Chained to The Rhythm was amazing, video included. Her message, her way to focus actual problems with music. Then, Bon Appetit, with Migos. Girl, this was not what I expected, but with few listenings, I can say is an OK song. Not good, but OK. And finally, with Queen Minaj and Swish Swish, promoting her feud with Taylor Swift, we were amazed. My question was: what can we expect with her new album? And we got this. Good songs, like Pendulum, Witness, Into Me You See, and others. But sometimes it gone hard to listen from the first to the last song. Her 3 lead singles were good, but I expected more with the album. But, in my opinion, she did a great job. Congratulations Katy and keep slaying. From a Little Monster! We love you Expand
  17. Jun 9, 2017
    8
    "Witness" is a step forward for Katy Perry. It's mature yet fun. It features a lot of great songs and some less interesting ones. The opening track of the album, "Witness", give us a lot of hopes for what's coming next. Its production is magnificent and, in my opinion, it's the best song on the album. Roulette stands out as a throwback song to 00's, mixed with a modern sound, creating a"Witness" is a step forward for Katy Perry. It's mature yet fun. It features a lot of great songs and some less interesting ones. The opening track of the album, "Witness", give us a lot of hopes for what's coming next. Its production is magnificent and, in my opinion, it's the best song on the album. Roulette stands out as a throwback song to 00's, mixed with a modern sound, creating a pleasuring result. The collaboration with miss Minaj, "Swish Swish" (witch serves as the third single) really represents the whole sound of the album. "Deja Vu" is one of my faves here. It's influenced by Deep House and Chill music, making it a relaxing yet catchy track that should be released as a single. "Chained To The Rhythm" and "Bon Apettit" are pretty catchy songs that scream single material. "Bigger Than Me" and "Pendulum" are also great summer anthems. Of course, there is no female album that does not feature any ballad. Katy offers three well produced ballads, with great lyrics and vocals on point. Songs like "Hey Hey Hey", "Power" and "Mind Maze" are not anything special, but still, they are well written. Generally speaking, "Witness" is better than "Prism" and equally exciting as "Teenage Dream". The four-year wait was worth it. Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Katy Perry expresses her full emotion and creativity with this album, which is a huge pro. She also knew exactly what she wanted to do with the album which adds another layer of depth and love to it. It is much more different-sounding than her other records and I applaud her for striving for something new and releasing another record breaking hit album.
  19. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is what i call an album.
    SUPER EXPERIMENTAL! C'MON KATY!
    TOP 5:
    Mind Maze
    Roulette
    Tsunami
    Miss You More
    Pendulum

    So amazing....truly amazing!!!
  20. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM OF 2017! It's refreshing to listen to new Katy Perry tunes that I've been waiting for almost 4 years and it's really worth the wait, this album is very different from her other albums, I'm in love with her vocal because is on point and I think she really outdid herself with WITNESS, I recommended this!

    Here's my 5 favorite songs from the record : 1. WITNESS 2.
    THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM OF 2017! It's refreshing to listen to new Katy Perry tunes that I've been waiting for almost 4 years and it's really worth the wait, this album is very different from her other albums, I'm in love with her vocal because is on point and I think she really outdid herself with WITNESS, I recommended this!

    Here's my 5 favorite songs from the record :
    1. WITNESS
    2. Swish Swish
    3. Power
    4. Roulette
    5. Pendulum
    Expand
  21. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The queen of pooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooiiiiiioiiiiiiiiiioooooooooooooooooooooooooopppppppppp
  22. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This album is totally Different from all her stuffs before. Haters gonna always give a bad review no matter how good is this album. But this album is 10/10 for me.
  23. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Even tho the artwork isnt that good, we shouldn't judge the book by it's cover. Witness is a masterpiece. It's a new sound for katy, and only haters will say it's bad. I'm a rihanna fan but tbh katy perry did that!
  24. Jan 5, 2018
    10
    Witness is an incredible album, full of art, its lyrics and rhythms are different from their previous albums, they are more mature and I love their new style
  25. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    Katy's best album so far!!
    i loved the new sounds that she's expiring and i loved how all the songs connected with each other in some magical way, this album is very underrated!! and deserves better 100%
  26. Sep 12, 2017
    7
    Witness is proof that Katy Perry has changed as a person but mostly in the way of singing and composing. With strong lyrics about empowering female and full of social causes, Perry builds an album with good intentions but perhaps fails in the balance of tracks, the album has songs that do not seem to be from the same set and in the middle of it, we get a little lost . But finally,Witness is proof that Katy Perry has changed as a person but mostly in the way of singing and composing. With strong lyrics about empowering female and full of social causes, Perry builds an album with good intentions but perhaps fails in the balance of tracks, the album has songs that do not seem to be from the same set and in the middle of it, we get a little lost . But finally, highlight the tracks "Bigger Than Me" and "Pendulum" because they have a good vocal structure and harmonious Expand
  27. Aug 17, 2018
    10
    This album is pure pop perfection and might be the best album of 2017. Katy truly made a masterpiece with this album, every song is unique and the production is ahead of it’s time. It consists of outstanding tracks such as ”Power”, ”Roulette” and ”Witness”. The track ”Witness” is the perfect first track for the album. This album is definitely worth listening to.
  28. Jul 25, 2020
    10
    Underrated masterpiece. Katy made an amazing album with different sounds. Witness,Save as draft and Chained to the rhythm are the best songs in this album. Miss Katy, you deserve more with this album.
  29. Mar 13, 2018
    10
    Amazing Album,Brake the cicle,patterns
    It's Different,I Know but the production of This Album is Fantastic,It's good to show the woman power,the fenix inside this and I'm sure That Katy is coming to brake the critic and haters
  30. Oct 26, 2018
    10
    the witness album is very dope one and its my fav katy perrys album ever. the album is sfm good but some people are tasteless. also 1m isnt a flop. bye
  31. Jun 6, 2019
    7
    It wasn't nearly as bad as most gay news outlets will suggest, but it certainly doesn't live up to her earlier work.
  32. Aug 31, 2019
    7
    Witness pode não ter sido aclamado, mas não deixa de ser ótimo. Uma sonoridade viciante e gostosa de ouvir e letras poderosas que vão direto ao ponto. O único problema ao meu ver nesse álbum da Katy são a falta de inspirações em algumas músicas. Não é um álbum ruim, mas não chega nem perto de ser o melhor álbum dela.
  33. Jan 11, 2020
    10
    Obra bem à frente de seu tempo, com espaços bem demarcados, preenchidos e um sabor levemente futurista. Fabuloso!
  34. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Every song on Witness contains a deeper meaning that can be political, feminist or personal.
  35. Oct 14, 2022
    10
    Such an experimental album. The title track is honestly one of her best openers for her albums. I think it’s her most cohesive album ever!
  36. Oct 30, 2020
    10
    Most underrated album in the music industry. The fact that she starts it all with "if i lost it all today would you stay?" shows she knew this album was experimental, that she was risking it but did not care, stayed true to herself. Her fans should be thankful instead of dragging it all over stan twitter like rats. Her best album I said what i said.
  37. Oct 22, 2022
    10
    This is just sooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooood This is just sooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooood This is just sooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooood This is just sooooooooooooooooooooooooo This is just sooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooood goooooooooooooooooooooood
  38. Aug 21, 2022
    10
    I am not sure if you are aware of this but I am interested in the job you re of this
  39. Aug 21, 2022
    10
    HER BEST ALBUM SO FAR, full of bops, so different of anything she have ever done, my favorite album! don't exist any song so good like power
  40. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    This is the unfortunately masterpiece who no one appreciates, hope someday this album will receive all the love it deserves..
  41. Oct 23, 2022
    9
    Changing her sound and giving us something new, Witness is the album that Katy Perry shines her versatility, not needing to have full blow-out records to make an incredible piece of work.
    It’s ahead of its time and I’m convinced people in the future will recognize how good this album is.
    That being said, I give it a 9 only because of the similar structure to the songs (even though they are
    Changing her sound and giving us something new, Witness is the album that Katy Perry shines her versatility, not needing to have full blow-out records to make an incredible piece of work.
    It’s ahead of its time and I’m convinced people in the future will recognize how good this album is.
    That being said, I give it a 9 only because of the similar structure to the songs (even though they are quite different in sound).
    Expand
  42. Nov 5, 2022
    9
    El cuarto álbum de estudio de Katy Perry parece correr por la misma senda que "ARTPOP" e incluso "BIONIC" de Lady Gaga y Christina Aguilera consecutivamente. Trabajos de estudio solidos que por alguna razón acabaron con los años dorados de estas grandes aristas. Trabajos que sin dudas se adelantan a su tiempo y que poco a poco han ido teniendo la justicia que realmente merecen. "Witness"El cuarto álbum de estudio de Katy Perry parece correr por la misma senda que "ARTPOP" e incluso "BIONIC" de Lady Gaga y Christina Aguilera consecutivamente. Trabajos de estudio solidos que por alguna razón acabaron con los años dorados de estas grandes aristas. Trabajos que sin dudas se adelantan a su tiempo y que poco a poco han ido teniendo la justicia que realmente merecen. "Witness" es notoriamente el mejor y más elaborado proyecto de Katy desde sus inicios. Un disco cuyos géneros se mueven entre el dance pop y el electro pop con algunos toques de disco, y cuyas pistas no son creadas, por primera vez en su carrera, para ser éxitos de radio, sino para aportar un lado artístico e innovador, con letras y tópicos complejos y bien elaborados. Estos aspectos resaltan en primera instancia su necesidad de hacer algo más maduro y que lo desligue del pop comercial que ha llevado a Perry a conquistar una cima que todas las pop stars quieren saborear. Si bien el tracklist carece de coherencia pues tiene un orden cuestionable, los matices entre baladas como "save as draft" o "into me you see" (con una lirica que escapa de lo convencional) y fuertes pistas electropop como "Bigger than me" o "Deja vu" dan una coherencia notoria por cierto uso de sonidos relacionables. "Witness" en casi una hora de trayecto, busca como hilo conductor ser testigo y encontrar un testigo en un camino de amor y desamor, de empoderamiento y sentimiento de pequeñez, y finalmente de identidad. Lastimosamente las erróneas elecciones de singles (salvo el primero que supuso el fuerte comeback de Katy) junto con videos musicales no tan bien recibidos, además de ciertas criticas externas al álbum hacia la cantante, hicieron de la era, uno de los desperdicios más grandes de la década pasada. Expand
  43. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The album of the year! Amazing!
    Katy is incredible singer and this album is your best.
    I loved! Is really very difficult to choose the best song.
    Witness absolutely is the new pop.
  44. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    This is the best KP album so far. She improved vocally, her play with words were great before and she delivered greater than expected. My early favorites are "Miss You More", "Save as Draft", "Tsunami", "Power". Be her "Witness" now.
  45. gev
    Jun 13, 2017
    10
    This is certainly her best album. Lyrically and vocally. This deserves more attention, I don't understand why there are some people who give very bad reviews. Songs like Roulette, Power, Witness, and Pedulum are the tracks that in my opinion stand out the most.
  46. Jul 20, 2017
    7
    O álbum é ótimo, a sonoridade diferente me animou em relação aos álbuns anteriores. Com destaque para "Hey Hey hey" e "Roulette". Um dos meus poréns, é fato da sonoridade do álbum ser muito idêntica de uma música pra outra, dando a impressão que é uma segunda, terceira, quarta parte da música anterior. Não é um defeito, é apenas um detalhe que precisaria de atenção.
    De 0 a 10
    7,4
    O álbum é ótimo, a sonoridade diferente me animou em relação aos álbuns anteriores. Com destaque para "Hey Hey hey" e "Roulette". Um dos meus poréns, é fato da sonoridade do álbum ser muito idêntica de uma música pra outra, dando a impressão que é uma segunda, terceira, quarta parte da música anterior. Não é um defeito, é apenas um detalhe que precisaria de atenção.
    De 0 a 10
    7,4
  47. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Comeback!
    In this album Katy Perry changes her music style and goes to a more mature pop.
    In this album you can find ballads like Miss You More, Into Me You See or Save As Draft. Also you can find some dance songs like Déjà Vu, Roulette, Hey Hey Hey and more. My personal faves like Power, Tsunami and Witness and the hit singles Chained to the Rhythm, Bon Appétit and Swish Swish
    Expand
  48. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Loving this new record of Katy. A true work of art. Everything is great! I love how Katy explore and how she experiment her music for everyone to hear a fresh and good music.
  49. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Of course one of the best releases of the year, maybe the best of the year! Katy did something new with this album, I love how Witness has different vibes, like dark and sad vibes in some songs but light vibes in other songs. Probably one of the highlights of Witness is the production of the songs, the beats are really amazing and it's fantastic the way Katy explores her voice, especiallyOf course one of the best releases of the year, maybe the best of the year! Katy did something new with this album, I love how Witness has different vibes, like dark and sad vibes in some songs but light vibes in other songs. Probably one of the highlights of Witness is the production of the songs, the beats are really amazing and it's fantastic the way Katy explores her voice, especially in some songs like Into Me You See and Tsunami her voice is so beautiful. And songs like Pendulum, Dancing With The Devil and Deja Vu are wonderful. Katy is proving she has matured and evolves as artist, she deserves more recognition for her work and if there are bad reviews are from haters who probably haven't even listened to the album or secretly loved it but didn't admit it. Expand
  50. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Te inspiraste muchísimo en este álbum y se nota el empeño. ¡Felicidad total! . Los cambios de ritmo que has decidido en tu discografía ha sido magnifica , ojalá continúes con dichos ritmos
  51. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    me encanto el album es una lastima que los haters no lo puedan apreciar porque les ciega el fanatismo y es por eso que la musica pop esta muriendo una verdadea lastima, bien por katy al fin cambio su estilo de musica espero siga asi,
  52. Jun 9, 2017
    8
    This is probably her best album. I think that the songs are incredible and I don't know how she put her singles in there the mixing is just great, but the lyrics are amazing.
  53. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Um grande álbum, uma grande evolução e uma grande cantora. Katy mostrou nas composições álbum toda sua evolução como pessoa e todo a sua mudança de posicionamento como mulher. Muito bom.
  54. Jun 14, 2017
    10
    Querida pessoa descrente,

    Witness não foi feita pra você. Nunca vai ser pra você. Eu não espero que você entenda o quão emocional, poderoso e marcante ele é. Eu literalmente não espero que você ache o melhor album da Katy Perry. Eu não espero que a sua opinião concorde com a minha. Eu não espero que você se simpatize com o movimento e com a nossa luta diária. Eu não espero que você
    Querida pessoa descrente,

    Witness não foi feita pra você. Nunca vai ser pra você. Eu não espero que você entenda o quão emocional, poderoso e marcante ele é. Eu literalmente não espero que você ache o melhor album da Katy Perry. Eu não espero que a sua opinião concorde com a minha. Eu não espero que você se simpatize com o movimento e com a nossa luta diária. Eu não espero que você chore como eu chorei. Eu não espero que isso marque você como me marcou. O que eu espero é que você cale a sua boca e aceite que não foi feito pra você. Witness é Food Love. Witness é olho nos lábios. Witness é cabelo descolorido e danificado. Witness é nariz mal editado no photoshop. WITNESS É RESISTÊNCIA.
    Expand
  55. Jun 14, 2017
    10
    katy eu te amo metacritic vai toma no c* THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM OF 2017! It's refreshing to listen to new Katy Perry tunes that I've been waiting for almost 4 years and it's really worth the wait, this album is very different from her other albums, I'm in love with her vocal because is on point and I think she really outdid herself with WITNESS, I recommended this!
  56. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is her BEST album! I found everything that i looking for in this masterpiece, it's amazing, really amazing. My favorites are Witness, Deja Vu, Bigger Than Me, Chained To The Rhythm. Love the album!
  57. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The time. Lord of our lives. Many people can deny that time does not intervene in our lives, that we can pass through all life the same. But no, you time us as we grow older. In this work we realized how much the girl who spoke of teenage dreams evolved. It evolved in the way of composing. In the themes that are put in the letters. On how to choose the partners for your work. Yes it is anThe time. Lord of our lives. Many people can deny that time does not intervene in our lives, that we can pass through all life the same. But no, you time us as we grow older. In this work we realized how much the girl who spoke of teenage dreams evolved. It evolved in the way of composing. In the themes that are put in the letters. On how to choose the partners for your work. Yes it is an evolution. And like all evolution, some will complain because it has changed. Others will love it just because it has evolved. The difference between liking and not liking will be just the same stage of evolution as the person is. If she understands how important it is to evolve, she will also understand that the work is very good. Expand
  58. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    O melhor álbum de sempre as pessoas é que pensam que Katy tem de parar no tempo "Teenage dream" tem de evoluir e ai está "Witness" este álbum mostra uma Katy mais madura pena que não venha a Portugal.
  59. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is her best album, she made it after 4 years yay, her songs make me feel so confidence in myself, you guys need to listen to this album immediately and swish swish haters
  60. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfect... Katy Perry thanks .kjhfssthjkqnnshsjznsjdjdns kajehrhshjnsjdbdixbdjskdkodkdndjdhejdkdjsjsudkeks ksi6gehekfesggvcsghjudchdvxsfgbjshebdhxgzbcnfkoamshhek Expand
  61. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    By far this is her best album, good soundBy far this is her best album, good sound, good lyrics, Katy has surpassed herself and brought one of the best pop works in years! Thank you for saving the pop !!!
  62. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Con este álbum ha marcado un gran regreso, Es perfecto, muy de los 80s a la vez que algo electro, Witness ya está siendo en menos de un día #1 en muchísimos países, por algo será...
    Bravo Katy, te has superado!
  63. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Lit album i've ever heard. The songs are perfect, the lyrics are all beautiful. Must listen for everyone! Katy Perry did a great effort and time that's why this album was very amazing.
  64. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Sabe aquele álbum que você espera ansioso para ouvir e de repente se passam os anos e estamos em 2017 com ele?! Ah, anteriormente fiquei meio triste porque WITNESS song, tinha sido vazada, puto na verdade, como assim, essa música não estará no álbum? E graças ao bom senso de MOMMA temos essa maravilha de música neste maravilhoso álbum. Katy Perry se eu for falar faixa por faixa não iriaSabe aquele álbum que você espera ansioso para ouvir e de repente se passam os anos e estamos em 2017 com ele?! Ah, anteriormente fiquei meio triste porque WITNESS song, tinha sido vazada, puto na verdade, como assim, essa música não estará no álbum? E graças ao bom senso de MOMMA temos essa maravilha de música neste maravilhoso álbum. Katy Perry se eu for falar faixa por faixa não iria dar a imensa gratidão que estou por ouvir e ouvir esse álbum, obrigado por POWER, eu realmente amo essa música, ROULLETE é uma puta música, meu Deus e HEY HEY HEY socorro que vocais são esses? EU AMO esse álbum e também amo os detalhes, os vocais, e aqueles assobios, socorrrooooo! Sorry, Katy irei sim falar do álbum completo. BON APPÉTIT foi paixão de primeira, ainda lembro quando escutei CHAINED TO THE RHYTHM foi tipo? Cara ela voltou? Voltou para nós, e quando vi as ironias da letra, fiz PUTA MERDA que canção.. SWISH SWISH é um encanto, o arranjo, a letra, a melodia, a participação de NICKI fiquei maravilhado, DEJÀ VU é tão viciante que fico imaginando Katy, canta Katy .... PENDULUM é minha outra paixão fiquei encantando com a letra e o encaixe de tudo. MISS YOU MORE nasceu para esse álbum, li que era a antiga BAD PHOTOGRAPHS obrigado por isto, eu gosto de me encontrar em suas letras. MIND MAZE que vocais são esses Katy? Como amo essa música. INTO ME YOU SEE é tão parecida com PEARL é tão linda, fechou o álbum merecidamente. BIGGER THAN ME não levo essa música apenas com teor político tem dias que tudo é maior que eu, ano passado tudo ficou maior ao meu redor, amo a letra, amo tudo isso.SAVE AS DRAFT é foda, caraca amo seu vocal aqui, quão profundo é essa música. E TSUNAMI é um tsunami em tudo, que coisa mais dark e linda ao mesmo tempo. Só digo uma coisa a mais, esse álbum é GRANDIOSO. Expand
  65. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    After a 4 year hiatus and a year long process to write the record, Katy Perry finally unveils her latest album 'Witness'. This work is already being considered as one of the best album relwased so far in 2017. We can surely see a change in the saund but also in the lyrics that appear to be more mature without losing the fun side Perry is famous for. The top tracks on the album areAfter a 4 year hiatus and a year long process to write the record, Katy Perry finally unveils her latest album 'Witness'. This work is already being considered as one of the best album relwased so far in 2017. We can surely see a change in the saund but also in the lyrics that appear to be more mature without losing the fun side Perry is famous for. The top tracks on the album are 'Witness', 'Power' and 'Tsunami' but also the three ballads are some of her most beautiful. Expand
  66. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Doesnt' care what the 'experts' say when the people love the album. For me Witness is the revelation of Katy Perry as an artist and musician, she's giving us another part that no one knows yet.
  67. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Este álbum não vai precisar de uma nota verde pra ser considerado bom , é um álbum maravilhoso, e um grande avanço da carreira da Katy, é uma evolução, a revolução da Katy começou
    Cada faixa é maravilhosa, principalmente Roulette e Pendulum. QUE HINOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.gif
  68. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I honestly like the album. Way better than Prism. The production is great. It showed more of her vocals too. She does ballads so well because they suit her voice. She's not the best songwriter, we all know that, but this album definitely showed more growth. I can appreciate that.
  69. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The new álbum is really God, Tysm Katy for ur New work, u are my idol love u more, the best songs are Pendulum and Deja Vú, and the sad song Into me You see is beauty
  70. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Her best album, she finally found herself as an artist. The lyrics are amazing, and you can see truth in every word she sing. A truly masterpice, with songs who have her soul in every single detail.
  71. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Album maravilhoso , orgulho de ver katy saindo de sua zona de conforto , parabens e que ela continue se reinventando assim ! witness sem duvidas é um degrau novo alcançadp pela mesma .
  72. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR! This album is much experimental, Katy Perry is the big artist of the year and decade. Congratulations! Just envy or spite. You have to be objective and listen to every song and know that it is a work of art. Expand
  73. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than the ones that have left previously, completely art to my opinion and I am not very fan of Katya but as I charm and that you can do **** Obviously there are better jobs than this but not released in 2017. blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. I love this **** album Expand
  74. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Katy deserves more recognition !!! C'mon? If I don't like some artist I don't waste my time listening to his album. Some people are so stupid that they can't enjoy such a masterpiece like Witness and they don't respect the work of an artist
  75. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    If you thought her previous singles were not worth it, DEFINITELY have to listen to the entire album. YOU WILL NOT REGRET!
    #WITNESS IS GONNA FLINCH YOU ♥ #KPWWW
    Just like an orgasm for your ears. Promise.
  76. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Witness means a reborn of Katy Perry like a complete artist. It's perfect, a masterpiece. Songs like Roulette, Power, Into me you see, Déja Vu, Tsunami, the vocals are on point, the lyrics are awesome. Katy Perry really did a beautiful work on that, she deserves.
  77. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Honestly, the best thing I've heard in these times.
    I'm proud of this change and of being a Witness of that moment.
    Doesn't matter what they say, don't be afraid to be what you are e do what you think is right
  78. Jun 17, 2017
    10
    Definitivamente o melhor álbum da carreira da Katy. A gente percebe o seu amadurecimento musical a cada música que ouvimos. Meus parabéns, Katy. Eu como seu fã há 6 anos estou muito orgulhoso.
  79. Jun 18, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When i've heard about the coming of the Witness album by Katy. I am excited about it because we all know her as Katy Perry who dominates Charts,Sales etc. But honestly, as i listen to this Album i am surprised of having another side of her that shows her Diversity as an artist and her talent to switch and show people another kind of music, music that shows her deep lyricism, and her love for her country. But to be honest, this album is not as great as what the public wants and expect. But to me as i learn and go down deeper into her new music and lyrics i can admit that she worked for this album and she deserves some credits. Expand
  80. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The best álbum of 2017,and the best album of Katy Perry,Katy is so talent.My favorites songs is Dejavu,Power,Hey Hey Hey,Pendulum and Chained To The Rhythm.
  81. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is Katy at her best! It's lit! All songs is so true to her and they all feels very "chill" and effortless. Whole album is cohesive and it's more mature, dark than her previous albums! It was worth waiting 4 years for this! My personal favorites are: Witness, Power, Deja Vu, Miss You More and Chained to the Rhythm.
  82. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    There are only a few Katy Perry songs that I enjoy listening to, but she really changed that with this album. A friend convinced me to give it a listen, and I was very surprised with her work. She has definitely matured as an artist and is starting to go in a great direction with her music.
  83. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Her most authentic album yet, Katy Perry's Witness is the dark dance album fans been waiting for since before 2013's Prism. Every song on Witness has a purpose, and as a whole, the album is certainly Perry's most cohesive effort yet. Witness is Perry's record that deserves the Grammy that was meant for Teenage Dream.
  84. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    You go, Katy!
    That's for sure her best album, awesome and inspirational.
    Finally we can see her vocals and who KP really are, nothing like PRISM and years from OOTB or even TD.
    Loved, can't stop listening!
  85. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    katy really gave me the album that i expected, it sounds amazing, she has made such an evolution from her last record to this new one, i hope GP consider it
  86. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    An album success is often defined by no. of its catchy tunes! Experiments and evolution irritate us. But change is the spice of life ! And Katy has beautifully done it !! The choice of singles released might be bad but believe me this album is spiritually , mentally, emotionally empowering with every song written in a very cohesive way.Katy often shys from being emotional but i believeAn album success is often defined by no. of its catchy tunes! Experiments and evolution irritate us. But change is the spice of life ! And Katy has beautifully done it !! The choice of singles released might be bad but believe me this album is spiritually , mentally, emotionally empowering with every song written in a very cohesive way.Katy often shys from being emotional but i believe that this is actually her weapon in disguise. Her emotional songs will leave you teary eyed. While her fun songs may not have the flair of teenage dream but are better and lyrically smart . The production is slick . Every music lover should buy this album ! Believe me you won't regret it. Expand
  87. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Wrong marketing campaign, it's everything but 'Purposeful Pop'. It's a fine 'break-up' album.
    Witness is musically coherent, lyrics are Katy Perry at best. It's different but also safe.
    Witness is what her third album (PRISM) could've been like, her best work since her sophomore (Teenage Dream) album, and sometimes as raw as her first album (One of the Boys). Witness is no doubt
    Wrong marketing campaign, it's everything but 'Purposeful Pop'. It's a fine 'break-up' album.
    Witness is musically coherent, lyrics are Katy Perry at best. It's different but also safe.
    Witness is what her third album (PRISM) could've been like, her best work since her sophomore (Teenage Dream) album, and sometimes as raw as her first album (One of the Boys).

    Witness is no doubt Katy's best album. It's raw, different, dark, light and fun.
    Expand
  88. Jun 9, 2017
    7
    My total score of the album at the moment after three plays is equal to 7 out of 10
    Three songs can be rated at 10/10, this is Witness, Roulette, Chained To The Rhythm. 9/10 put Into Me You See, a great song, but something I did not have a bit. 8/10: Swish Swish. 7/10: Hey Hey Hey, Power, Bon Appetit, Pendulum. 6/10: Save as Druft, Deja Vu 5/10 Miss You More, Tsunami. 4/10: Mind Maze,
    My total score of the album at the moment after three plays is equal to 7 out of 10
    Three songs can be rated at 10/10, this is Witness, Roulette, Chained To The Rhythm. 9/10 put Into Me You See, a great song, but something I did not have a bit. 8/10: Swish Swish. 7/10: Hey Hey Hey, Power, Bon Appetit, Pendulum. 6/10: Save as Druft, Deja Vu 5/10 Miss You More, Tsunami. 4/10: Mind Maze, Bigger Than Me. In general, the album turned out to be average, there are also potential hits, as well as ordinary non-rememberable pop gum. It does not feel that almost 4 years have been working on the album, a maximum of 1 year of work is felt, no more than
    Expand
  89. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    WITNESS is showing us a lot of her side that we've never think about it before. Katy is success by releasing this and we just couldn't agree more that WITNESS has a lot of good songs (almost all of it).
  90. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I never thought I'd hear such a good album, Katy. Different sounds, good production, good lyrics she got over and brought one of the best pop albums of 2017
  91. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    That's a masterpiece!! it obviously deserves more than the points that the critic gave! The production, the voice, the lyrics, the sounds... is everything perfect. Great job Katy! It is a Grammy worthy.
  92. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    In Witness Katy Perry is more mature, she opens her heart to songs like "Miss You More", "Save as Draft" and "Into Me You See". The album is not just about politics, it's about a woman and the world around her.
  93. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    So different to her other albums, but it's amazing! Great vocal song and production. Deja Vu, Tsunami, Witness, Roulette, Miss You More are the best tracks
  94. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Worth the wait. Every song is a bop, from Witness to Into Me You See; and the ballads are just unbelievably beautiful. Thank you Katy, you never disappoint.
  95. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Estamos sendo testemunhas do crescimento da Katy Perry como artista, e isso está sendo maravilhoso. Katy construiu um álbum diferente dos anteriores e não deixou a desejar em nenhuma faixa. Minhas faixas favoritas são: Witness, Roulette, Deja Vu, Tsunami, Power e Bigger Than Me.
  96. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Her best album to date. All the songs sound like they belong to the record as opposed to being there to fill space. Very consistent piece. The production of the songs is next level from what we were used to hear from Katy, she's grown a lot artisticaly.
  97. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    The best pop album of 2017. "Roulette" Is the best track of the whole album! "Witness" is not far behind, like "Bigger Than Me", "Miss You More", "Swish Swish", "Hey Hey Hey" and "Chained To The Rhythm"
  98. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Hino otimo cd ,, com músicas incríveis e super conceitual, tudo bem gostosinho, melhor albim da katy ate agora.
    Pisa menos katy eu te implore. Killer queen
  99. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is by far Katy's most diverse and best album. DO NOT JUDGE THE ALBUM BY THE SINGLES. The Album tracks are amazing and you will not regret buying it. Her vocals seemed to have improved too, which can be seen on songs like Pendulum. Highlights of the album are; Witness, Power, Pendulum, Into Me You See, Chained To The Rhythm, and Tsunami!
  100. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Algo que me decepcionou um pouco é que alguns refrãos nao sao fortes o suficientes, como de Swish Swish e Miss You More, mas todo o resto sobre o álbum está impecável. Save as Draft dona do álbum, sim ou claro? E ela devia ter começado a era com Act My Age e deixado Bon Appetit como faixa bonus.
    Só dei nota 10 pq nao dá pra dar nota 900000.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 75
    While it's certainly missing any form of coherency, Witness does feel like you're growing with Perry - going on this journey that's helped her find new ground and a reinvigorated appreciation for all walks of the pop music spectrum.
  2. Jul 6, 2017
    70
    While she may have slipped down the pecking order, Witness proves she’s still a more interesting pop star than she’s often given credit for.
  3. Jun 28, 2017
    50
    It’s a real shame Witness has come out as a bit of a disjointed mess, as there’s a decent record somewhere in there, but it gets lost in the fog of endless guest productions and co-writes that miss the point entirely.