• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 9, 2017
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3001 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2022
    3
    So I know Katy Perry for making a very commercial type of pop, and what we're used to get from her is very different to what she did with this album. You can definitely tell she was experiencing with new sounds, and in my opinion, she experienced a lot. The moment the first song started playing I didn't like the way it sounded. It was weird, with a weird production that also was just tooSo I know Katy Perry for making a very commercial type of pop, and what we're used to get from her is very different to what she did with this album. You can definitely tell she was experiencing with new sounds, and in my opinion, she experienced a lot. The moment the first song started playing I didn't like the way it sounded. It was weird, with a weird production that also was just too much, and this was the case for most of the songs: weird sounds and overproduced tracks. And the thing is that the songs that stand out the most are precisely the singles, so it's like she made those songs on purpose to make the people think "Witness" is a good record when, in my opinion, isn't the case. I'd like to know where she was trying to get with this album. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2022
    8
    Interesting album by Katy Perry, with this album she tell us "I'm more than a Blue wig and candys on the stage". She use her voice to tell us her message, she is very brave to speak about Politics and talk against Trump. All the songs are very amazing, but the MIGOS' duet is very weird, she doesn't need migos to be a great song like Bon Appetit.
  3. Jan 3, 2022
    9
    Listening to Witness in 2021, you realize it was a record ahead of its time and a damn good electronic record - icy, dark, experimental, and fantastically-produced. Teenage Dream may forever be Katy's landmark album, but Witness will stand as her most interesting musical offering since her 2001 Christian debut (which it serves as an effective companion piece to, given the same underlyingListening to Witness in 2021, you realize it was a record ahead of its time and a damn good electronic record - icy, dark, experimental, and fantastically-produced. Teenage Dream may forever be Katy's landmark album, but Witness will stand as her most interesting musical offering since her 2001 Christian debut (which it serves as an effective companion piece to, given the same underlying philosophical questions and anxieties it touches on). The critics saying that Katy Perry’s “Never Really Over” (which I do agree is her best song in years) is a drastic step away from Witness didn’t listen to Witness in its entirety. I know this is a largely unpopular opinion, however I believe Witness will age very well in the years to come. It found Katy delving into her most interesting and artistically-adventurous work to date — the vocals were stronger, the beats were deeper, the sounds were more mature and sophisticated (“Tsunami” and “Pendulum” standout examples). Instead of playing it safe, Witness was a dark-electro concept album that addressed some heavy societal concepts head-on: Perry’s disillusionment not only with the Trump era (the brilliant “Chained to the Rhythm”) but also with the coldness of modern life (“Witness”) her own celebrity and isolation (“Miss You More”), and her conservative Christian upbringing (the song “Power” is one of her best tracks ever delivered). “Never Really Over” takes the best of Witness — Perry’s personal growth and enlightenment, more confident vocals, and a maturer pop sound — but strangely has been seen as Witness’ antithesis (if you listen to the masterpiece that is “Pendulum” with “Never Really Over” you realize they exist on the same wavelength). Witness failed because people only liked Katy when she wasn’t being serious or contemplative or angry—and that’s a real shame. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2021
    10
    Amoooo esse álbum é perfeitoooooo, Amoooo esse álbum é perfeitoooooo, Amoooo esse álbum é perfeitoooooo
  5. Nov 25, 2021
    0
    Only good thing about it is the production but other than that its an absolutely trash album that has imo MAYBE 1 good song if that.
  6. Nov 25, 2021
    0
    One of the worst albums of all time, she cemented her grave with this piece of crap!!!
  7. Nov 25, 2021
    0
    Esse álbum é um lixo total, Katy Perry se perdeu há muitos anos e provavelmente não vai voltar a ter hits novamente !!!
  8. Nov 25, 2021
    0
    Pior álbum que já ouvi na vida. Essa fracassada morreu quando separou daquele produtor bandido!
  9. Nov 25, 2021
    0
    This album doesn't go anywhere. A festival of bad taste, a homophobia show with prejudiced partnerships. It was on this album that she went off the rails to never come back.
  10. Nov 24, 2021
    0
    Terrible. No passion, no soul. Worst album of the year. I need something really good to clean up my ears right now.
  11. Nov 24, 2021
    0
    One of the worst albums ever released on this planet. Pure trash, Katy’s over.
  12. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Witness is an album full of bizarre choices--both the DJ Mustard and Hot Chip-produced tracks are, for some reason, ballads--that has the inherent appeal of a spectacular failure, but that’s about it." ... Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2021
    10
    Puro arte infravalorado!! Apoyen este arte
  14. Nov 15, 2021
    8
    While it's certainly missing any form of coherency, this album does feel like you're growing with Perry - going on this journey that's helped her find new ground and a reinvigorated appreciation for all walks of the pop music spectrum. «Witness» isn’t about subtlety, but if you’re going to deliver important messages about female autonomy to a young audience, it’s surely better to shoutWhile it's certainly missing any form of coherency, this album does feel like you're growing with Perry - going on this journey that's helped her find new ground and a reinvigorated appreciation for all walks of the pop music spectrum. «Witness» isn’t about subtlety, but if you’re going to deliver important messages about female autonomy to a young audience, it’s surely better to shout than whisper. She may have slipped down the pecking order, «Witness» proves she’s still a more interesting pop star than she’s often given credit for. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2021
    9
    Witness Deluxe Album Scores
    1. Witness 9/10
    2. Hey Hey Hey 10/10 3. Roulette 10/10 4. Swish Swish feat. Nicki Minaj 10/10 5. Deja Vu 10/10 6. Power 10/10 7. Mind Maze 7/10 8. Miss You More 10/10 9. Chained To The Rhythm feat. Skip Marley 10/10 10. Tsunami 8/10 11. Bon Appétit feat. Migos 10/10 12. Bigger Than Me 10/10 13. Save As Draft 8/10 14. Pendulum 9/10 15. Into Me You
    Witness Deluxe Album Scores
    1. Witness 9/10

    2. Hey Hey Hey 10/10

    3. Roulette 10/10

    4. Swish Swish feat. Nicki Minaj 10/10

    5. Deja Vu 10/10

    6. Power 10/10

    7. Mind Maze 7/10

    8. Miss You More 10/10

    9. Chained To The Rhythm feat. Skip Marley 10/10

    10. Tsunami 8/10

    11. Bon Appétit feat. Migos 10/10

    12. Bigger Than Me 10/10

    13. Save As Draft 8/10

    14. Pendulum 9/10

    15. Into Me You See 7/10

    16. Dance With The Devil 10/10

    17. Act My Age 10/10
    Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2021
    0
    I am not a fan of this kinda music but Kety Perry is my favorite singer of this style , I also like to write eview o my fav music albums . Some of them I ordered on essays writer https://essays-writer.net/
  17. Sep 3, 2021
    0
    Su PEOR trabajo, no hay coherencia, sigue envuelta en su mismo pop infantil, no es una artista madura...
  18. Aug 26, 2021
    10
    This album changed my life forever, thank to you Katy i'm a better person every day ❤
  19. Aug 24, 2021
    10
    Witness tem uma proposta boa, acredito que faltou mais produtores competentes, possui ótimas músicas como Roulette, Bigger Than Me, Chained To The Rhythm.
  20. Jul 27, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know why people hate this album so much.This is one of the best album I've ever heard ❤ Expand
  21. Jun 24, 2021
    10
    It is an album which has great messages, mostly feminist, it has great varied rhythms, the selection of songs is very good although a little strange, it is undoubtedly his best album.
  22. May 28, 2021
    10
    I absolutely love it, one of my favourite albums of all time by far. Every single song is perfect in every way possible, specially "Chained to the Rythm" and "Witness". I also love the haircut that came with the era, it was beautiful and really suited her.
  23. May 17, 2021
    0
    Not really good album due to not very well-written bops. This shall include non-single tracks on the playlist, too. I didn't find any pleasantry to my ears and it was just badly produced.
  24. May 2, 2021
    10
    Witness me ayudo a ver el lado humano de Katy, en lo personal es mi álbum favorito porque logro hacerme sentir todas mis emociones, feliz, triste, enojado. Simplemente el álbum es perfecto y muchos dicen que contiene canciones de relleno pero para mi no, excelente álbum.
  25. Apr 21, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trashhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Expand
  26. Apr 21, 2021
    10
    Underrated masterpiece. Ahead of it's time. Full of potential. Deserved much much more.
  27. Apr 11, 2021
    10
    Álbum muy lindooooo, tiene una letra única, concepto que está muy bien, ósea está perfecto.
  28. Apr 2, 2021
    10
    This album is the reason why I started to care about slow songs, the only problem with it is, um, the 2nd and 3rd singles... buuuut, still perfect, anyway-
  29. Mar 21, 2021
    10
    De longe o melhor álbum da Katy. O mais verdadeiro, o mais coerente, o mais maduro e mais necessário. Infelizmente foi extremamente boicotado pela grande mídia mundial e pelos próprios fãs. Quase quatro anos após o lançamento, o álbum envelheceu como um vinho, mostrando que a Katy nunca esteve errada na sua tese. Chained To The Rhythm é sem sombras de dúvidas uma das músicas maisDe longe o melhor álbum da Katy. O mais verdadeiro, o mais coerente, o mais maduro e mais necessário. Infelizmente foi extremamente boicotado pela grande mídia mundial e pelos próprios fãs. Quase quatro anos após o lançamento, o álbum envelheceu como um vinho, mostrando que a Katy nunca esteve errada na sua tese. Chained To The Rhythm é sem sombras de dúvidas uma das músicas mais necessárias de toda a carreira, a que virou a chave na carreira de Katy. De toda a discografia, está no meu top 3. Hey Hey Hey e sua mensagem também se configura como extremamente importante, madura e conceitual. Save as Draft é aquele baladinha que a gente não se cansa de ouvir. Pendulum é uma das melhores do álbum, não canso de ouvir. Infelizmente Katy errou na escolha dos singles e featurings no Witness. Roulette tinha um potencial imenso, que infelizmente foi desperdiçada. A self-title é outra que merecia mais investimentos, com um clipe fantástico da dona da melhor videografia da história. As deluxe Act My Age e Dance To The Devil são outras que mereciam um destaque especial. Tsunami, apesar de não ser sonoramente comercial, é uma das mais queridas e de maior qualidade no álbum. Enfim, quando se analisa o conjunto da obra, tem-se um álbum bem completo, verdadeiro, conceitual, atemporal e memorável. Merece nota 10 pela relevância que ele tem na carreira de Katy e por ser tão mal incompreendido de uma forma geral. Mas quem é fã de verdade, pode vir aqui testemunhar a favor desse grande trabalho, sem dúvidas um dos melhores da indústria musical. Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfect album! Katy Perry is amazing artist, i love Witness. Witness deserve a better Expand
  31. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    A great work of art with critical content on various social problems that we sometimes don't care about.
  32. Mar 19, 2021
    10
    And don't understand why the critics hate katy so much, this is her best album. Her best lyrics, her best work of production and it's so experimental. Just Perfect
  33. Mar 19, 2021
    0
    Witness is an album full of bizarre choices--both the DJ Mustard and Hot Chip-produced tracks are, for some reason, ballads--that has the inherent appeal of a spectacular failure, but that’s about it.
  34. Mar 19, 2021
    10
    Honestly it’s her best. Why people hate it for no reason? i don’t know but it’s honestly so raw and fun Ugh i love it
  35. Feb 23, 2021
    10
    A super wronged album that shows that Katy Perry is a vesatile artist and that she also leaves her comfort zone. His songs bring a new message, with criticism and reflections. An album that guides you out of the bubble. However, the "criticism" is chained to speak only of the artist's life and not of what the album really is.
  36. Feb 12, 2021
    10
    Her best-produced and well-thought body of work. The experimental sound of few tracks might not be to the taste of everybody, but they do bring something new to her bubblegum pop career. From the autotune lost maze of Mind Maze, to the sexual objectification of the society in Bon Appetit, the struggle with the demon of alcohol in Dance With The Devil or the female empowerment of Power, sheHer best-produced and well-thought body of work. The experimental sound of few tracks might not be to the taste of everybody, but they do bring something new to her bubblegum pop career. From the autotune lost maze of Mind Maze, to the sexual objectification of the society in Bon Appetit, the struggle with the demon of alcohol in Dance With The Devil or the female empowerment of Power, she mentions serious subjects in her deepest album that will remain as my favorite from her and from 2017. Expand
  37. Dec 15, 2020
    8
    I really enjoy this album. It has some of her best songs. I would have picked different singles probably, but still, the album is really good!
  38. Dec 4, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know why they didn't like me, I loved the lyrics, the sound and the discography of the album, but well, I give each person 10 because they bring the instruments and quality that I imagined. Expand
  39. Nov 27, 2020
    10
    Un álbum nuevo experimental para lo que katy nos tenía acostumbrado, piso fuerte en 2017, no se mantuvo en el top pero es porque no saben apreciar o reconocer una obra de arte cuando lo tienen a su lado, con el tiempo se verá ese cambio y opinión con respecto a esta masterpiece.
  40. Nov 2, 2020
    10
    Realmente su mejor álbum!!! Me encantó cómo se mostró su lado más maduro de ella. No le encuentro relleno. Power muestra su fuerza de mujer y Hey x3 cómo puede ser dulce pero al mismo tiempo empoderada. Roulette es muy pegajosa y la letra es re buena. CTTR me encantó ya que a pesar de la polémica que podía causar, ella igual alzó la voz para las elecciones con un hermoso vídeo. Mind Maze,Realmente su mejor álbum!!! Me encantó cómo se mostró su lado más maduro de ella. No le encuentro relleno. Power muestra su fuerza de mujer y Hey x3 cómo puede ser dulce pero al mismo tiempo empoderada. Roulette es muy pegajosa y la letra es re buena. CTTR me encantó ya que a pesar de la polémica que podía causar, ella igual alzó la voz para las elecciones con un hermoso vídeo. Mind Maze, Dance with the Devil, etc me parece muy profundas y con sonidos bailables pero al mismo tiempo serios. Una obra de arte que no fue aceptada en su tiempo Expand
  41. Oct 30, 2020
    10
    Most underrated album in the music industry. The fact that she starts it all with "if i lost it all today would you stay?" shows she knew this album was experimental, that she was risking it but did not care, stayed true to herself. Her fans should be thankful instead of dragging it all over stan twitter like rats.
  42. Oct 30, 2020
    10
    El mejor trabajo discográfico de Katy Perry sin duda alguna, lastima que no lo sepan apreciar.
  43. Oct 2, 2020
    0
    This project feels like an uninspired one, I wanted to like it but it didn't happen.
  44. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    Witness es un álbum lleno de buenas canciones con mensajes y hermosas melodías, su 2 mejor álbum después de smile bon appetite, chained to the rythm, roulette, deja vu, power, swish swish, bigger than me, hey hey hey, mind maze, tsunami, witness, pendulum,save as draft miss you more and into see me you...son caniones que hablan de cosas distinas y que llevan increible sonidos me Encanto
  45. Sep 30, 2020
    6
    This is, hands down, the worst album Katy Perry has put out so far (which, however, doesn't mean it's trash because Katy Perry at her worst is still better than some of her peers at their best). I could go into a lot of things and write a 10-page long essay on why the entire era surrounding the album was a failure, but frankly--I don't have the time, nor do I have the audience. This reviewThis is, hands down, the worst album Katy Perry has put out so far (which, however, doesn't mean it's trash because Katy Perry at her worst is still better than some of her peers at their best). I could go into a lot of things and write a 10-page long essay on why the entire era surrounding the album was a failure, but frankly--I don't have the time, nor do I have the audience. This review will most likely get lost in the sea of other reviews so I'll keep it short and to the point.

    The music is overproduced and generic. Lyrically, Katy is repeating herself A LOT on the 15 songs that comprise this record, and vocally, she's had far more impressive moments (e.g. Firework, Roar). Thematically, there's everything you'd expect from a modern Pop album: empowering anthems, slutty songs, melodramatic songs, a song on which Katy drags her archenemy. There's one exception to the standard Pop fare, *one* politically charged song most likely ghostwritten by Hilary Clinton about how we're all zombies chained to the rhythm. Yes, Katy Perry, a super privileged pop star & multimillionaire suddenly had a political awakening, as well as a feminist one which she had expressed by getting a short pixie cut hence the album cover. The eyeball in her mouth is another story though *wink, wink.*

    I should also mention that there's this trend now where many people call this album "underrated" and think the public was "not ready" for Katy trying something "new" and "provocative." That's not the case, because this album was anything BUT new and provocative at the time of its release--it actually was just extremely generic and calculated. Katy basically went from singing catchy songs about love that had her signature zany songwriting style to singing music any other industry puppet could've released. All you need to do is to check the liner notes to see what went wrong. Every song on this album has at least five hit songwriters with as many as four people (or more) handling the production. It's as if Katy contacted every single "it" girl and "it" boy in the industry to create a foolproof collection of guaranteed number #1 hit records. Well the result was the exact opposite. The only songs that I thought showed potential and sounded unique were Roulette, Power, and Tsunami but even these three tracks pale in comparison to the highs of Katy's previous material.

    To end the review on a more positive note, I'd say "Witness" is probably the most cohesive album in Katy Perry's discography in the sense that there are no clearly defined highs and lows like on her past releases. Rather, the same underwhelming mediocre sound is maintained throughout the entire record which might have actually ended up working in its favor. My overall rating is a solid 6/10.
    Expand
  46. Sep 19, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums ever by the queen Katy Perry. I love it, the songs are all perfect, I love them all!!!!
  47. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    Su 4 álbum, un álbum diferente increíble sus canciones están llenos de buenos mensajes para la sociedad, es un álbum que posee canciones con sonidos y medias maravillosos que te enamoran, sus letras hablan de muchos temas interesantes como el machismo, feminismo, sexualidad, sensualidad,superación personal,liberación, etc entre otros muchos mas. No entiendo porque tuvo tanta mala criticaSu 4 álbum, un álbum diferente increíble sus canciones están llenos de buenos mensajes para la sociedad, es un álbum que posee canciones con sonidos y medias maravillosos que te enamoran, sus letras hablan de muchos temas interesantes como el machismo, feminismo, sexualidad, sensualidad,superación personal,liberación, etc entre otros muchos mas. No entiendo porque tuvo tanta mala critica si es un álbum casi perfecto se merecía ganar el mejor álbum del año sin duda. Expand
  48. Sep 9, 2020
    10
    Katy Perry no deja de sorprendernos con este maravilloso álbum, diferente a lo que nos había ofrecido antes, es un álbum más maduro que nos demuestra a una Katy mucho más fuerte. Uno de sus mejores trabajos!
  49. Sep 9, 2020
    5
    Perry takes a step back, she seems to be experimenting but something definitely went wrong. Perhaps the cliché and hideous production of the middle of the album or perhaps the unnecessary childish essence that is characteristic of her. On the other hand, songs like "Chained to the Rhythm" make us forget those bad (quite a few) moments on the album.
  50. Sep 8, 2020
    10
    This album is a roller coaster into Katy's darkest and brightest places. I loved everything about this experimental record. So underrated.
  51. Sep 7, 2020
    10
    Me encanta este álbum melodías ritmos sonidos inscribible muy hermosos llenos de mensajes para el mundo muy importantes me fascina definitivamente
  52. Sep 6, 2020
    10
    Com uma mudança quase radical, Katy mostrou que pode ir muito além da "zona de conforto" que acharam que ela vivia. Um álbum com musicas que possuem letras lindas e politizadas, realmente um álbum incrível e a frente do seu tempo.
  53. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    Perfeito! Obrigado Katy!!!!!!!!!! Obrigado por sua maturidade, carinho e por ser uma mulher a frente de seu tempo.
  54. Sep 4, 2020
    10
    This album is simply perfect. I love all the songs and i think Katy really shows us another mide por her we never seen.
  55. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    Una sola palabra: A R T I S I M A La lírica y los sonidos es toda una reinvención en cuanto al trabajo de Miss Katy.
  56. Sep 2, 2020
    10
    Witness é um álbum incrível Realmente injustiçado pela crítica e pelos fãs Mais eu amo
  57. Sep 1, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me it is a album for 14 years old girl, not for a 30 years ol woman. Swish Swish and Bon Appetit are at least catchy, Changed to the Rhythm is apparently meaningful - not for me. The rest of the songs are just fillers for me - every of her album is full of fillers, but Witness doesn't have any major bop song. Album's best ones are jsut today's average. Expand
  58. Aug 31, 2020
    5
    The production and themes throughout the album for cohesive which is very good but then the vocals are just so lazy and unconvincing and the lyrics are plain cringe-worthy especially on the “bangers”. Not her worst album, but far from her best.
  59. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Es sin duda mi disco favorito de Katy Perry.
    Las letras, el mensaje, la producción, todo es de aplaudirse.
  60. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Such an amazing material, different from everything she has ever released. Witness is one of her best albums in my opinion.
  61. Aug 30, 2020
    0
    No Supo reinventarse y la neta dio mucho que desear pero bueno quienes somos nosotros para juzgar
  62. Aug 30, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe it's too underrated. It has really interesting songs and you can see a certain evolution on the part of the singer. The question is: What is the problem honey? Expand
  63. Aug 30, 2020
    10
    Goddamn good album Criticized a lot I love it though Fav : all tracks Supreme
  64. Aug 30, 2020
    8
    “Witness” veio quando eu precisava entender que a gente não precisa mudar pra satisfazer necessidades alheias e derrubar mitos que constroem alguém de verdadeiro sucesso.
    Ela finalmente estava experimentando, criando nova sonoridade e tentando de alguma forma se encontrar nos diversos estilos que o álbum se propôs a trazer; a crítica torceu o nariz para o álbum e ela não conseguiu
    “Witness” veio quando eu precisava entender que a gente não precisa mudar pra satisfazer necessidades alheias e derrubar mitos que constroem alguém de verdadeiro sucesso.
    Ela finalmente estava experimentando, criando nova sonoridade e tentando de alguma forma se encontrar nos diversos estilos que o álbum se propôs a trazer; a crítica torceu o nariz para o álbum e ela não conseguiu emplacar nenhum hit em primeiro lugar na popular Billboard Hot 100 e mesmo contendo musicas com letras poderosas, se despido de toda imagem, considerada por muitos caricata, feito um reality show que a acompanhou por 24 horas sendo honesta sobre seus sentimentos, a mídia estava mais interessada em sua rixa com a cantora Taylor Swift e comparar seu então trabalho com o de outras cantoras pop do momento e conseguiram pouco a pouco apagar a luz de uma cantora que jorrava chantili pelos seios, literalmente.
    A mesma industria que sempre a criticou por ser muito infantil, agora estava crucificando seu amadurecimento musical, a mesma critica que considerou “Teenage Dream” um álbum passável, agora estava falando que a cantora estava destinada ao fracasso se ela não seguisse essa mesma fórmula que estava acostumada a seguir, afinal de contas ela sempre foi uma artista visual, se ela não tinha isso, provavelmente não teria mais nada. Foi um período de incertezas na carreira de Katy, e mais uma vez ela estava sendo colocada de lado por jugarem que ela não estava fazendo nada de novo e que a carreira dela tinha chegado ao fim, se antes ela era invalidada por nunca ter ganho o Grammy (mesmo sendo indicada diversas vezes e em alguns anos que ela realmente deveria ter levado pelo menos um gramofone para casa), o que pensar da artista agora que ela não tinha recebido nenhuma nomeação sequer pelo álbum?
    Katy pode ter perdido seu sorriso, mas ela nunca perderia uma batalha.
    Expand
  65. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Que álbum. No começo pode soar estanho mas com mais ouvidas você se rende e curte bastante
  66. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Это один из величайших альбомов нашего времени, певица всегда радует лирикой и думаю он недооценен
  67. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Experimental and dareful, underrated but really mature, every step is to better
  68. Aug 29, 2020
    4
    Katy loses her identity with this album with a huge step down from Prism. While this album does have some good singles, Chained to the Rhythm and Swish Swish, it deviates from the bubbly pop Katy Perry is known for.
  69. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Un álbum diferente sus anteriores llena de muy buenas canciones y mensajes me encanto un gran álbum.
  70. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Com Witness, Katy buscou através da sonoridade de cada música, novos caminhos, o que resultou no álbum mais diferente de sua carreira. Embora não tenha sido um grande destaque comercial foi um enorme salto na carreira de Katy, agora não colocando ela apenas como uma pop star, e sim, como uma artista de verdade. Witness, Déjà Vu, Power, Miss You More, Chained To The Rhythm, Swish Swish,Com Witness, Katy buscou através da sonoridade de cada música, novos caminhos, o que resultou no álbum mais diferente de sua carreira. Embora não tenha sido um grande destaque comercial foi um enorme salto na carreira de Katy, agora não colocando ela apenas como uma pop star, e sim, como uma artista de verdade. Witness, Déjà Vu, Power, Miss You More, Chained To The Rhythm, Swish Swish, Save As Draft, Pendulum, Into Me You See e Dance With The Devil são os destaques, lirica e sonoramente, do álbum. Expand
  71. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    This album is a misunderstood masterpiece, unfortunately I add. It has some crazy lyrics and sounds, yes it's completely different than Katy's previous work, but it's much more intimate. My favorite Katy Perry album without a doubt ♡
  72. Aug 29, 2020
    1
    With songs like Swish Swish representing the album as singles it was not a surprise that I did not enjoy the overall projects. Disappointing.
  73. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Foi por causa desse album que virei fã da Katy Perry , separador de águas da carreira, muita qualidade e atemporal! Depois desse começei a gostar do Prism e cheguei a gostar do Teenage Dream
  74. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its great. Something new and creative from Ms. Perry. One of the best albums from 2017 for sure Expand
  75. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Witness é um álbum a frente de seu tempo! O mundo está reconhecendo isso apensas agora 3 anos depois de seu lançamento! Possui uma ótima sonoridade e saiu da zona de conforto de Katy, que faz tudo impecável!
  76. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    mọi chuyện rồi sẽ ổn
    cuộc sống cnf phải có những khó khăn thử thách và t phải vượt qua nó!
  77. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    This is her BEST album for sure!!! The darkness of the songs and the era is just OUT OF THIS WORLD.
  78. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums of Katy Perry. A new world to explore. Underrated album
  79. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    A very innovative album, I love It
  80. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Her most underrated album, Katy's a real superstar and does not need to proof nothing
  81. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    People are so katyphobic that it made them think this album was bad... its probably her best and most cohesive album and @ critics, U AINT ****
  82. Aug 29, 2020
    9
    Amazing vocals and production .So experimental . Lyrics are so good.
    my favourites are: Tsunami, Chained to the rythm, Roulette, Pendulum and Witness
  83. Aug 29, 2020
    8
    Great work by Katy Perry! Loved how she some experimentation from her. Undoubtedly her best album.
  84. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Amazing album! Witness, Witness and Tsunami are my favorites. Lyrics and vocals are on point. She tried new things and she succeeded. I Will follow her as long as she go.
  85. Aug 29, 2020
    8
    Definitely her best album BY FAR. I LOVED it. Glad do she her stepping out of her comfort zone and experimenting a bit.
  86. Aug 28, 2020
    9
    Es un excelente álbum, con sonidos frescos para Katy, pero no lo suficiente para su espera de 4 años.
  87. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    the production and lyrics on this album are absolutely amazing. underrated masterpiece.
  88. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums that you can enjoy especially when you heard the song over and over !
  89. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Un álbum arriesgado y diferente, tiene letras increíbles y sonidos enganchantes.
  90. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Sin duda este disco da de que hablar, teniendo mucho mensaje Solo pocas personas supieron apreciarlo
  91. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly a pop masterpiece! Certainly one of the best album of the decade! This album sound so different, fresh, and mature! The theme of is very unique! The production of every track is really great! Kudos to Katy Perry! Expand
  92. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    this album was so ahead of its time, it's ridiculous the amount of hate it gets when it isn't a bad album.
  93. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    A very underrated but very good album at the same time, full of rhythms and her voice is so good at this job, well done Katy.
  94. Aug 28, 2020
    7
    Apesar de ser um disco bem controverso, ele traz diversas sonoridades marcantes. É um dos melhores de 2017.
  95. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    The album is truly ahead of it's time. It deserves more recognition. Many locals have slept on this album because of the haircut so this album underperformed.
  96. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Son sonidos únicos, algo fresco y potente por parte de Katy.

    Witness es un álbum diferente, y muy especial
  97. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    I dont know but I think most of the song is nit complete and should redo all of them
  98. Aug 28, 2020
    6
    some of her songs are great to hear, but every album released until that parace is the same, I exalt the musical construction, I'm ashamed of the lyrics.
  99. Aug 28, 2020
    0
    Horrível, melodias péssimas, letras péssimas, prepotente, pior álbum da carreira. Só perde pro smile que é outra bomba
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 75
    While it's certainly missing any form of coherency, Witness does feel like you're growing with Perry - going on this journey that's helped her find new ground and a reinvigorated appreciation for all walks of the pop music spectrum.
  2. Jul 6, 2017
    70
    While she may have slipped down the pecking order, Witness proves she’s still a more interesting pop star than she’s often given credit for.
  3. Jun 28, 2017
    50
    It’s a real shame Witness has come out as a bit of a disjointed mess, as there’s a decent record somewhere in there, but it gets lost in the fog of endless guest productions and co-writes that miss the point entirely.