Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    60
    While some songs are utterly slow paced, they are obscured by the strength of the aforementioned tracks as well as “The Fall” and “Last Dance.”
  2. Q Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    60
    It's all as plush and spotless as hotel bedding--lovely, but it may leave you craving a bit a mess. [Apr 2013, p.109]
  3. 50
    The monotone pace is lifted by the sprightly ‘3 Days’, but ultimately Woman is cloyingly pedestrian.
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    40
    It all comes across as fairly overwrought, working very hard to sound effortless and losing its sense of self in the process.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Soothing vocals, you can hardly believe it's a man singing. It's a very sensual and relaxing album, but there are also catchy choruses.Soothing vocals, you can hardly believe it's a man singing. It's a very sensual and relaxing album, but there are also catchy choruses. Without a doubt one of the best we'll hear this year!!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2019
    7
    The textures of the album have such a faint beauty in it that I can't help but find myself swimming in its own intimate moods and chords.The textures of the album have such a faint beauty in it that I can't help but find myself swimming in its own intimate moods and chords. Each piece has such a sultry and enigmatic feel to it which is quite fitting under the sheen of Milosh's voice. However, for some reason, I found that listening to the album as a whole left me feeling slightly weary as some points of the album simply made me feel static. However, when the album does manage to pull through, it really unfurls. Fracturing even a part of yourself that speaks of love into a colossal warp of tragedy, beauty, and actual euphoria. "The Fall", for example just delivers that. Probably the most powerful piece of the album even at its most minimalist. In fact, the accompanying video of the song just heightens the feel of it. It's bareness in production delivers through and through with the rest of the songs in the album (which although bare is brilliant, sometimes delightful, but nonetheless, on point). I wish I could rate the album a 7.5, but I don't think I can do that here. Still, even if I'm leaning on a 7, I'd give the album my most solid 7.5/10. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2018
    8
    It´s amazing to see that reviewers are comparing Milosh´s voice (a man) to Sade´s one without being amazed about it! The perfect exampleIt´s amazing to see that reviewers are comparing Milosh´s voice (a man) to Sade´s one without being amazed about it! The perfect example which shows that the concept of genders does not really exist nowadays. But, taking apart the similarities with Sade´s earlier works and her smooth ability to sing love as nobody did it until today, this project is a sort of what she could have done ultimately with a more organic and warm instrumentation. These guys are inspired by someone who certainly impacted them when they were teenagers. I don´t think that they´ve only reproduced what flipped them out. They are definitely the owners of a special and sensual sound, sensual that nobody managed to reach until now. Rhye exists, it´s for real and their concert for the Boilery ballroom proves that they are not a counterfeit! Full Review »