User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 53
  2. Negative: 9 out of 53
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2014
    3
    Morrissey has been 'treading water' now for so long it can only be a matter of time before he goes under. This album contains some of his laziest songwriting and an absence of anything approaching a really memorable tune.
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    4
    I am a long standing {suffering?!} Smiths/Morrissey fan, so it pains me to say it, but I've just about given up on him. This is yet another underwhelming album, with very few memorable songs. To be fair, he is in fine voice, possibly never better, and he has attempted to experiment more {though I like the rockier sound he's known for}. The end result though, is a bunch of songs thatI am a long standing {suffering?!} Smiths/Morrissey fan, so it pains me to say it, but I've just about given up on him. This is yet another underwhelming album, with very few memorable songs. To be fair, he is in fine voice, possibly never better, and he has attempted to experiment more {though I like the rockier sound he's known for}. The end result though, is a bunch of songs that outstay their welcome long before the end. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    Another disappointing offering from 'The Pope Of Mope'. I was hoping that this album would improve with repeated listenings but sadly it doesn't . Musically and lyrically it's all over the place, and some of the lyrics are just plain awful.
  4. Jul 28, 2014
    3
    Dull and underwhelming although histerically busy and all over the place with exactly zero memorable songs that work from start to finish (the closest thing to decent songwriting here is 'Istanbul').And my God those lyrics...so forced,artless and banal-is this the same man once called the greatest living lyricist in pop music?And why on Earth this gay man hates women that much?Dull and underwhelming although histerically busy and all over the place with exactly zero memorable songs that work from start to finish (the closest thing to decent songwriting here is 'Istanbul').And my God those lyrics...so forced,artless and banal-is this the same man once called the greatest living lyricist in pop music?And why on Earth this gay man hates women that much? Anyway,funboys will love it and critic won't give half a bad press deserved because,you know,it's Morrissey but I'm not deaf neither dog from the cover art.He finally turned himself into self-parody. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    From a distance , it sounds better musically than his last 2 efforts but upon closer inspection the lyrics are just plain awful. Lazy rhymes, lack of wit and ideas. First time the music is better than the lyrics for Moz….Still waiting for a full Rockabilly type album in the line of the Loop and Pregnant for the last time….
  6. Jul 23, 2014
    3
    Will this self righteous prick Morrissey ever learn that simply mouthing off about the world's wrongs and blaming the government is not actually going to help anyone or change anything. He obviously only cares about spreading his morbid pessimism. And it's a shame because his voice is better than ever.
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    It's good. It's very good. The music is amazing at times. There are the odd jarring production moments but it makes for a really interesting listen and it's pretty unique and fresh. Some of the best stuff on here really is his best stuff whilst the lesser ones are already growing and growing strong. Patience is definitely rewarded with this album. The voice is of course Morrissey (so anIt's good. It's very good. The music is amazing at times. There are the odd jarring production moments but it makes for a really interesting listen and it's pretty unique and fresh. Some of the best stuff on here really is his best stuff whilst the lesser ones are already growing and growing strong. Patience is definitely rewarded with this album. The voice is of course Morrissey (so an automatic +1 there for me). Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    World Peace is None of Your Business is a long overdue return to form for Morrissey. Gone are the typically bland, under-inspired indie-glam arrangements that blighted You are the Quarry and Years of Refusal. Inward bound are some sleek world-music style arrangements that are, mercifully, different from anything Morrissey has recorded before. It's a seemingly one-shot deal, much like KillWorld Peace is None of Your Business is a long overdue return to form for Morrissey. Gone are the typically bland, under-inspired indie-glam arrangements that blighted You are the Quarry and Years of Refusal. Inward bound are some sleek world-music style arrangements that are, mercifully, different from anything Morrissey has recorded before. It's a seemingly one-shot deal, much like Kill Uncle. Just like that record, you'll either love it or hate it. As a long time Morrissey fan, I personally love it. It's wonderful to hear Moz flirting with something new for a change. And it's a change that really works! World Peace is not Your Business is the most consistent, artistically satisfying Morrissey record for the last twenty years. And if THAT isn't enough to sway you, maybe nothing will. Simply put,this an a fantastic Morrissey record from start to finish. Expand
  9. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    This was an awesome follow through from his long absence. We missed his sound and desired more and we got it! I can't wait for a sequel though for Viva Hate! I hope it happens!!!!
  10. Aug 13, 2014
    6
    its an album that has thankfully bettered the previous album Years of Refusal, and definitely his many predeceasing albums before that, but what I think has made this his true best album since probably Vauxhall & I is probably the fact he's finally come out this (and pardon me saying) self indulgent way of writing lyrics. On albums such as You Are The Quarry, he makes sure his lyrics areits an album that has thankfully bettered the previous album Years of Refusal, and definitely his many predeceasing albums before that, but what I think has made this his true best album since probably Vauxhall & I is probably the fact he's finally come out this (and pardon me saying) self indulgent way of writing lyrics. On albums such as You Are The Quarry, he makes sure his lyrics are as aggressive and obnoxious as possible, or at least they act like it. It is on albums like that, that his angered lyrical concepts become tiresome and uninteresting to the point of stopping the album barely half way through. World Peace.. makes sure it doesn't leave its messages behind, but there is something else here as well that sees both Morrissey's music and lyrics fresh, refined and new. His head is almost empty of the clutter and instead treads to simple, less rant more kind of pondering styles of lyricism. He treads other topics as well (that means, no war, royalty, war, vegetarianism etc) , some simple and passive as anything he's written in a very long while. The album is enjoyable, and though with its fair amount of filler is otherwise one to keep near by for end of year lists. Expand
  11. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    Musically, this is the most interesting Morrissey album in a while. Throughout his "comeback" era, the music has always taken a bit of a backseat, more or less painting by the numbers of his more beloved back-catalogue. While "World Peace" doesn't exactly shatter the Morrissey mold, it certainly presses hard at the edges. This is doubly refreshing on songs where the man's lyrics sound aMusically, this is the most interesting Morrissey album in a while. Throughout his "comeback" era, the music has always taken a bit of a backseat, more or less painting by the numbers of his more beloved back-catalogue. While "World Peace" doesn't exactly shatter the Morrissey mold, it certainly presses hard at the edges. This is doubly refreshing on songs where the man's lyrics sound a tad less than inspired, and there are more than a couple poking around the middle of this otherwise sharp album. At its best, "World Peace" is brilliant, and at its worst its still easy on the ears Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2017
    2
    By far one of his worst albums. I couldn't even finish some songs to their ending time because they just were so awful. To the guy saying You Are The Quarry was bad... well sir you are wrong.
  13. Dec 30, 2017
    7
    Me gusta bastante. No es su mejor disco pero su simpleza lo hace muy recomendable.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Aug 12, 2014
    80
    By and large, the more substantial the lyric the more layered and complex the musical arrangement.
  2. Magnet
    Aug 6, 2014
    60
    The good (and bad) news for people who love bad (and good) news: Both groups will be delighted and appalled by this record. [No. 112, p.51]
  3. Jul 24, 2014
    40
    The biggest problem is Morrissey himself, who sounds like he’s trying to be clever rather than actually demonstrating that infamously razor-sharp wit.