• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
XOXO Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 11th full-length studio release for the Minnesota alt-country band was recorded over two weeks.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 80
    Louris is nonetheless still on top form with Homecoming and his sublimely resigned Then You Walked Away is the pick of the three bonus tracks on the physical formats of the album.
  2. Mojo
    Jul 9, 2020
    A band effort. And it shows in the diversity and quality of the songs. ... A fine album. [Aug 2020, p.93]
  3. Jul 9, 2020
    XOXO succeeds at proving the band is more than an assemblage of talented players. As individuals and as a whole, the Jayhawks offer 12-plus compositions to help listeners who may be alone and scared by reminding us that we are all alone together.
  4. Uncut
    Jul 9, 2020
    XOXO is, astonishingly and hearteningly, the sound of a group still finding new ways to be themselves. [Aug 2020, p.24]
  5. Jul 17, 2020
    Given that these musicians have been working together for the better part of 25 years, it should come as no surprise that XOXO still feels like a Jayhawks album, but while conventional wisdom in rock history tells us a band is running short on ideas when they start letting the drummer write more songs, in this case it means they're coming up with new ideas that are working well, and that's welcome news.
  6. 70
    “Little Victories” and “Dogtown Days” may add momentary muscle — albeit it tenuously at that — but overall the focus is found in decidedly hushed happenstance. Happily, it’s hard to find fault with these tender trappings, one more reason why XOXO excels with little more than a calm caress.
  7. Jul 20, 2020
    XOXO is a battle-scarred but unbroken collection, worthy of being filed alongside venerable mid-career milestones like Wildflowers and Time Out of Mind.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 12, 2020
    Great to see that after so many years the Jayhawks are still clearly seriously invested in making great records and aren't just phoning it in.Great to see that after so many years the Jayhawks are still clearly seriously invested in making great records and aren't just phoning it in. The choice to have all band members contribute creates a fresh direction keeping things interesting even after so many years. The Marc Perlman contributions are perhaps the most interesting - having played bass in the band in a comparatively quiet role, it's great to hear that he is just as talented at singing and songwriting as his band mates are. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2020
    From the first track on I had to keep listening. They're The Jayhawks and they sound as fresh as ever!