• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 691 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 691

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    X&Y isn't a bad album it's just a disappointment after A Rush of Blood to the Head. It relies to heavily on Chris Martin's falsetto. It has some great songs on it but overall it lacks the variety of other Coldplay albums. It's good just not great.
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    8
    The sounds to this album can make you feel like you're billions of kilometers into empty space, the opposite of what this bloated album is. It's unnecessarily long, but captivating and emotionally resonant. Lyrics are still... problematic, and they don't do a Viva La Vida to cliche. It's not easy to ignore "ignite your bones".
  3. AliciaM
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This album is by far their best album yet! The music is perfect for emotions. It makes you happy when you want to be happy and sad when you want to be sad. The songs are deep and cause you to think. This band gets better and better as the years progress! I recommend you buy it as soon as you can. It's awsome.
  4. SophieM
    Oct 17, 2007
    4
    I think 'Parachutes' was a very good album (8/10) and fantastic for a debut album, and 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' is a wonderful album (9/10 and maybe even 10), but I'm afraid that to me personally every track feels like it has done better before on one of the older Coldplay albums. There is no doubt that Chris and co are talented musicians who can create great I think 'Parachutes' was a very good album (8/10) and fantastic for a debut album, and 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' is a wonderful album (9/10 and maybe even 10), but I'm afraid that to me personally every track feels like it has done better before on one of the older Coldplay albums. There is no doubt that Chris and co are talented musicians who can create great songs: but they have not taken any big risks with this one and it's disappointing for me. I played it and it just felt emotionless to me. None of the singles did anything for me either. Not awful by any standard, but mediocre. 2/5. Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    First of all, before I've heard 'Fix You' on this album, I've had no interest in owning a Coldplay album, and thought they were utter trash. Turns out I was wrong, and after listening to the rest of this album, starting off with 'Square One,' 'What If,' and 'Talk.' After hearing these tracks I was in dire need for more. I listened to the rest of the album was completely interested in theFirst of all, before I've heard 'Fix You' on this album, I've had no interest in owning a Coldplay album, and thought they were utter trash. Turns out I was wrong, and after listening to the rest of this album, starting off with 'Square One,' 'What If,' and 'Talk.' After hearing these tracks I was in dire need for more. I listened to the rest of the album was completely interested in the band and their music. If you haven't listened to Coldplay yet, and really want some nice relaxing good music, I suggest you get this. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2015
    9
    An album rich in tone and beautifully consistent in its story and instrumentation. The melodies are simple but catchy if not sometimes drawn out a little too long. Chris Martin's performance brings the album to even higher heights with his off kilter vocals and soothing falsetto.
    CHECK IT OUT?- Absolutely!!
    BEST SONG- Swallowed By The Sea
    WORST SONG- X&Y
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    This is probably my favorite Coldplay album, along with Parachutes and Rush of Blood to the Head. It's really good, in my opinion, although the average reviews don't agree with me.
  8. SteveK
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    There are very few albums that grab you in the first few seconds of a song. You need to listen several times and let it seep in. Coldplay is that kind of band, and this is that kind of album. It may be a bit "boring" to some, but the melodies are there, you just need to listen. In this MTV age, we've been dumbed down by repetitive hooks and driving beats that many people don't There are very few albums that grab you in the first few seconds of a song. You need to listen several times and let it seep in. Coldplay is that kind of band, and this is that kind of album. It may be a bit "boring" to some, but the melodies are there, you just need to listen. In this MTV age, we've been dumbed down by repetitive hooks and driving beats that many people don't recognize a great song when they hear it. Just listen to "Fix You" three or four times before you pass judgment on this album. Listening to "Fix You" is a similar revelatory experience to listening to "The Scientist". It gets better with every listen. This is a great album by a great band. Just give it a chance. Expand
  9. matts
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    First off, people should except the fact that bands (especially ones that have staying power) change their sound and evolve from album to album. If they didn't, well where would the creativity be? X&Y is a beautifully crafted album that blends perfectly. Changing producers is not an easy thing to do, espeically when the last album was such a smash. "Fix You" is a masterpiece and First off, people should except the fact that bands (especially ones that have staying power) change their sound and evolve from album to album. If they didn't, well where would the creativity be? X&Y is a beautifully crafted album that blends perfectly. Changing producers is not an easy thing to do, espeically when the last album was such a smash. "Fix You" is a masterpiece and hopefully the second single to be released. While other tracks such as "The Hardest Part" and "What If? trademark Coldplay's sound. Well done and looks like this album will silence some critics as to whether this Brits have what it takes to take on U2. Expand
  10. mark
    Oct 10, 2007
    4
    Woefully mediocre. How records this flawed can get perfect hundreds is beyond me. It's too long, has terrible sequencing, and there's not enough boldness. It has some nice guitars, but the excellent Square One and Talk barely redeem it.
  11. Oct 10, 2010
    8
    It isnt as powerful and dark as the second album....and its just full of decent ballads. i feel the loss of some heavier tracks . but their change of style in each album is admirable and there is steel some memorable tracks (like fix you , twisted logic,low & square one) but it seems to me that some tracks are something between chris and his wife and theyre not for the listeners...!!!It isnt as powerful and dark as the second album....and its just full of decent ballads. i feel the loss of some heavier tracks . but their change of style in each album is admirable and there is steel some memorable tracks (like fix you , twisted logic,low & square one) but it seems to me that some tracks are something between chris and his wife and theyre not for the listeners...!!! third album of a good band is always so important...it can make them legendary (the examples are Radiohead, muse, The White Stripes &......) or it can make them just a good band which have many fans. I think X&Y was a good album which made Coldplay more popular than more respectable. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    This album is not quite on the same level as Rush Of Blood To The Head because of the lack of lyrical strength and similar sounding songs, but there are some good songs on this album, as always, like "Fix You", "The Hardest Part" and "Speed of Sound".
  13. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    X&Y is another Coldplay masterpiece staying on par with the majesty of their previous record and in many ways expanding its horizon. Fix You, Speed of Sound, The Hardest Part, Talk, and White Shadows as well as many others are gripping, beautifully written and musically engrossing.
  14. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Beautiful clash of sentimentality and rock. Dreamy, yet capturing. 'Fix You' was the first song I ever heard of Coldplay - I have never forgotten the moment.
  15. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    My personal favourite, a brilliantly crafted piece of art that holds their best hits up to date, slow or fast, sad or upbeat, it's there and I love it.
  16. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Grabbed me from the very start with it's meaningful lyrics and more upbeat songs. Twisted Logic sounded awful but that's about it. A great album by Coldplay which should appeal to every fan.
  17. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Love it! They experimented intelligently with many kinds of instruments and finally released this piece of art. 'Square One', 'Talk' and 'Fix You' are the highlights.
  18. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing album. I really like songs like Speed of Sound and Talk, including, these 2 songs made me be in love with Coldplay. Anyway, the best Coldplay's songs ever are in this album.
  19. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    While slightly beating Mylo Xyloto, I think X&Y is honestly one of the weaker albums in my opinion. It definitely had some very good songs but really I think there was only one song that I just really liked overall of them. Most of the songs just seemed a little above average to be honest, but it's still and alright album. My favorite songs would probably have to be "What If", "Fix You"While slightly beating Mylo Xyloto, I think X&Y is honestly one of the weaker albums in my opinion. It definitely had some very good songs but really I think there was only one song that I just really liked overall of them. Most of the songs just seemed a little above average to be honest, but it's still and alright album. My favorite songs would probably have to be "What If", "Fix You" (My favorite of all) and the bonus track: "Til Kingdom Come." Expand
  20. May 1, 2015
    10
    This was the first Coldplay album that I bought. I remember that I couldn't stop listening to it from the beginning to the end. Certain songs of it still make me cry and give me lots of feelings, such as "Swallowed in the sea" and "Til kingdom come". X&Y has a deep meaning for me and it made me fully love this band.
  21. Dec 31, 2015
    10
    Simplesmente uma bíblia, o melhor trabalho do Coldplay! Letras lindas e bem escritas, soturno na sua medida, instrumental muito bem trabalhada e o vocal perfeito do Chris deram uma magia especial pro álbum. Perfeito!

    Pontos altíssimos: Low, Talk, Fix You
  22. Jun 5, 2016
    8
    Really good album. It's so experimental and emotional. This made me like Coldplay even more. "Fix You" is probably the best song because I liked it since I was a little kid.
  23. Mar 23, 2019
    10
    I used to hear Coldplay a lot when I was younger due to my parents. I discovered them again only recently. X&Y is a classic, no doubt. The album has a relaxed, chilled tone and every song seems to just fit the overall mood. The hidden track - 'Til Kingdom Come' - had a very nice vibe to it that made for a perfect ending. Yet another brilliant Coldplay record. 10 out of 10.
  24. Joaoalien
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    best album ever made
  25. IbanL
    Oct 5, 2006
    0
    Unforgivably bad. They try to exploit the same modus operandi over and over again, showing that they've got run out of ideas, if they someday had any. Avoiding this could be a great idea.
  26. ixata
    May 6, 2007
    3
    typical coldplay sound, very ambitious butnever reaches its goal. and martin's voice is just too painful, all the falsettos, and stuffs.. speed of sound is the only bright moment here.. others, shud be made renditions instead
  27. robb
    Jun 19, 2006
    6
    Easily the weakest of their three albums. Consistent with a band that became too big too soon. If they don't right the ship with their next album I'm outta here.
  28. RBrown
    Mar 14, 2006
    3
    passive. Would be sleep inducing if it weren't irritatingly whiny.
  29. BruinsFan247
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    I am appauled at some of the negative reviews of this album. It sounds like the old "my favorite band isnt underground anymore" syndrome. Dont be bitter because everyone else now likes you music. This album is a pure stroke of genious. Is it better than Rush of Blood To The Head or Parachutes? maybe not, but its still a great album.
  30. Craig
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    wow, this has got to be the most over hyped album of ALL TIME. I have listened to it twice and have failed to get ANYTHING from it. It's a boring piece of crap and not one song did anything for me. 4-5 of the songs are shameless rip offs of Clocks, with that same plodding rhythm/bass line combo. Crappy melody the first time and crappy the next 5 times. The rest of the songs are wow, this has got to be the most over hyped album of ALL TIME. I have listened to it twice and have failed to get ANYTHING from it. It's a boring piece of crap and not one song did anything for me. 4-5 of the songs are shameless rip offs of Clocks, with that same plodding rhythm/bass line combo. Crappy melody the first time and crappy the next 5 times. The rest of the songs are boring piano songs with NO melody. And when i say NO melody i mean nothing. Please don't waste your money on this drivel. Expand
  31. JuliaT
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    It's perfect. Coldplay is the band for a new generation and yet they reach back to the signs of past epic masterpeices as "Dark Side of the Moon".. Proiduction and engineering on "X&Y" are flawless. This is the first band that I've actually liked in the past 20 years, and will continue to follow them..
  32. TyeN.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Is it better than "A Rush of Blood to the Head"? No. But you know what? It's still an excellent album. However, what it packs sonically, it lacks in emotional depth and lyrical depth. Yet, regardless of these flaws, it's still my favorite album of 2005. "Square One", "What If", "White Shadows", "Fix You", "Speed of Sound", "Low", and "'Til Kingdom Come" are tops. "Fix You", Is it better than "A Rush of Blood to the Head"? No. But you know what? It's still an excellent album. However, what it packs sonically, it lacks in emotional depth and lyrical depth. Yet, regardless of these flaws, it's still my favorite album of 2005. "Square One", "What If", "White Shadows", "Fix You", "Speed of Sound", "Low", and "'Til Kingdom Come" are tops. "Fix You", for me, was the best song of 2005. If they can blend what they've done here sonically, with the emotional and lyrical depth of "A Rush of Blood to the Head", they'll have the greatest album ever. Hopefully their fourth effort will be that album. Expand
  33. RyanS
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    Every once in a while there's a band that screams chemistry. A band that obviously has a supreme amount of talent, with each band member contributing in their own, special way. One of those bands, is Coldplay, and they've sounded better with their most recent album, "X&Y" . Capturing slick bass lines, riveting guitar parts, intense drumming, and simply put, beautiful music that Every once in a while there's a band that screams chemistry. A band that obviously has a supreme amount of talent, with each band member contributing in their own, special way. One of those bands, is Coldplay, and they've sounded better with their most recent album, "X&Y" . Capturing slick bass lines, riveting guitar parts, intense drumming, and simply put, beautiful music that could easy shed a tear or two. Although the music in general isn't as great as "A Rush of Blood to the Head", the emotions here are somewhat deeper and more powerful . Even though some listeners may find Chirs Martin's lyrics on the edge of platitude, no one will regret the fact it's beautiful. If you're into heartfelt songs above love and heartache, "X&Y" is definitely the album for you. Expand
  34. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    the best coldplay album out of the three. i was very disspointed that they're not gonna make a fourth album. i gave x and y a ten out of ten because i like all the songs on the album, unlike some artists where you like only seven or eight songs and there's always one or two songs you just don't like at all. Coldplay forever!!!
  35. CrystalH
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    This is a great album for U2 fans and well...coldplay fans abviously.
  36. PassItnow
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Not as good as parachutes or x&y but definately more upbeat.still as thought provoking as ever. u might hate them. u might hate chris, but u still know them and u can still name their songs. All up in ur brains!!!!! u gotta love it
  37. AlexS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    One of the best music albums of all time to my taste. Coldplay is the most sophisticated group there is. The lyrics, the music... they're on another planet!
  38. JessR
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    Utter crapola. Thanks for nothing, guys.
  39. DavidC
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    absolutaly wonderfull
  40. MichaelH
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Masterful.
  41. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Where to begin... well, 'Square One' starts off the album. It's hard to believe, but I used to hate Coldplay... this song got me hooked and brought me to actually listen to the whole album. Now I LOVE Coldplay! For a band to hit 3 homeruns on their first 3 albums... they are truly great! My other fav's are 'Fix You', 'Low', 'Message', and Where to begin... well, 'Square One' starts off the album. It's hard to believe, but I used to hate Coldplay... this song got me hooked and brought me to actually listen to the whole album. Now I LOVE Coldplay! For a band to hit 3 homeruns on their first 3 albums... they are truly great! My other fav's are 'Fix You', 'Low', 'Message', and 'Til Kingdom Come'... great album, go buy it right now! Expand
  42. VeronikaL
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    It is very good-that is my opinion.I love them!
  43. serg
    Dec 3, 2005
    5
    coldplay does not have the sharping, effecting and strong sides of the music.. there is no work of guitar there is no interesting melody or a creative sound.. nothing.. it is just for the music listeners who wants to listen simple pop melodies.. sorry coldplay, so far away from radiohead. it is not fair that coldplay claimed themselves as the best music band in the world. for God sake.. coldplay does not have the sharping, effecting and strong sides of the music.. there is no work of guitar there is no interesting melody or a creative sound.. nothing.. it is just for the music listeners who wants to listen simple pop melodies.. sorry coldplay, so far away from radiohead. it is not fair that coldplay claimed themselves as the best music band in the world. for God sake.. how can they decide this.. I do not hear a "best band" in this album.. please do not exaggerate.. Expand
  44. BrunoI
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This album of Coldplay is masterpiece,and i heard that Coldplay work on they new album
  45. coldplayfan
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    By this stage, I don't see how anybody can't hate coldplay. You may call them boring, and you may call them overplayed, but that's all a load of crap. Their songs are a huge inspiration to the world. A message has to be one of the best songs ever. One of the reviews say that the songs never take off at the beginning, but he doesn't know that in order to be a true By this stage, I don't see how anybody can't hate coldplay. You may call them boring, and you may call them overplayed, but that's all a load of crap. Their songs are a huge inspiration to the world. A message has to be one of the best songs ever. One of the reviews say that the songs never take off at the beginning, but he doesn't know that in order to be a true coldplayer, you have to listen to the entire song. There is true aggression in every last one of their songs. In my opinion, they are the next big Cream (minus the incredible drums, and incredible guitar), only I think they will last way longer. They are all friends, and that is the equation that equals success. Can't wait for their new release, whenever it may be... Expand
  46. AlexP.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Coldplay's best album - the depth, scope, and undefinable epicness of songs such as Square One, Fix You, Talk surpass their masterpieces 'Clocks' and 'Yellow'. This whole album flows so darn smoothly, chocolate to the ears that rock you on relentlessly. The genius of A Rush of Blood and Parachutes is carried on but with a heightened sense of granduer - Absolutely Coldplay's best album - the depth, scope, and undefinable epicness of songs such as Square One, Fix You, Talk surpass their masterpieces 'Clocks' and 'Yellow'. This whole album flows so darn smoothly, chocolate to the ears that rock you on relentlessly. The genius of A Rush of Blood and Parachutes is carried on but with a heightened sense of granduer - music by men who know that they're the best and are perfect in delivering ground breaking songs... on to topple U2!! Expand
  47. Jan 5, 2011
    3
    Coldplay's tendency to water down their albums with mediocre filler is most apparent on this album. While a cohesive, unified sound can work quite well in some cases, it hurts Coldplay here. This comes off as a timid effort from a band that has an aversion to genuine risk-taking.
  48. Jun 21, 2011
    2
    Before this album, I was a massive Coldplay fan. This was a HUGE disappointment! Fame clearly went to their heads and they thought they could release any sappy nursery rhyme and the world would eat it up. Unfortunately, that's what happened. Honestly, I can't tell if they were trying too hard or too little with this album.

    I've come back to this album several times, months apart, and
    Before this album, I was a massive Coldplay fan. This was a HUGE disappointment! Fame clearly went to their heads and they thought they could release any sappy nursery rhyme and the world would eat it up. Unfortunately, that's what happened. Honestly, I can't tell if they were trying too hard or too little with this album.

    I've come back to this album several times, months apart, and get nauseous with all but two tracks: White Shadows and Speed of Sound. Those are more what I expected from the album, earning it the two points I give it. No I didn't give up hope on Coldplay, and think they've redeemed themselves with 'Viva la Vida'. Let's only hope that 'The Bakery' delivers, as well ...
    Expand
  49. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    A weaker album. It seems that they weren't as inspired as in their two previous; they had ran out of ideas (this is proved later in the change of sound of Viva la Vida). Still, a few songs like "fix you" or "speed of sound" make this album good enough to listen for Coldplay fans (by no means should a non-coldplay fan start with this album)
  50. Sep 8, 2011
    5
    I loved Rush of Blood, but this is easily Coldplay's weakest album. Most of the songs are pretty average with a few standouts (Fix You, White Shadows, Talk) I'd give it credit for being less piano based than Rush of Blood, but the lyrics are mainly empty. Coldplay are still a talented group but this isn't their greatest work.
  51. Sep 7, 2012
    6
    Probably the worst Coldplay Album. When I talk of solid album, I'm talking about a set of tracks that are listenable from beggining to end. Sadly, X&Y feels so over-produced, but more importantly several songs feel like they lack a structure. I don't know If I make sense, but what I mean is that the middle-way between the choruses feel rushed. Nevertheless it still got songs like Fix You or Talk.
  52. Dec 19, 2014
    6
    This album definitely does not have the quality of the previous two Coldplay albums. The songs aren't horrible, but there are a few that are too loud for too long or get lost in themselves. The lyrics don't connect at all, and the album has a hard time figuring itself out. Best track is Square One.
  53. camm
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    a masterpiece.
  54. Lochie
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Its a good album, but definitely not in the league of Rush of Blood, which was a masterpiece. But, its still heaps then all those Coldplay copier bands out there. Ignore them and get this album.
  55. aristotle
    Jun 7, 2005
    5
    meh. More of the same. Avoid.
  56. ag
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    my previous interest in coldplay was based soley upon the song "the scientist." a little trite perhaps, particularly compared to what i normally listen to, but screw it, i loved the song. loved loved loved. bought that album, enjoyed 3 or 4 cuts almost as much, but generally felt the album was pretty spotty, which is forgiveable with such great songs thrown in. No forgiveness on this one, my previous interest in coldplay was based soley upon the song "the scientist." a little trite perhaps, particularly compared to what i normally listen to, but screw it, i loved the song. loved loved loved. bought that album, enjoyed 3 or 4 cuts almost as much, but generally felt the album was pretty spotty, which is forgiveable with such great songs thrown in. No forgiveness on this one, though. I moderately enjoyed the single and the first cut on the album, but the rest simply felt like a band who couldn't hit the songwriting side of the barn, so they dressed up all of the songs with typical coldplay things to the max. all the falsetto you can handle, as many spooky ambient synths as their recording gear let them fit (thanks, eno), and that same freaking guitar line and sound OVER and OVER; and they do this for a whole hour! it's the sound of a band missing the mark, of frustration. and, to me, that's frustrating, too, when i've seen the highs this band is capable off. Expand
  57. AngelSound
    Jun 10, 2005
    7
    I agree 100 percent with arnab m. This is not their best album. I do like it but the past two were strong, memorable, and ground breaking. x&y has a strong start but flatlined at the end. Its a bit of a downer in a way. Read the lyrics! Theres no dought in my mind that Chris Martin has major talent but where were they during the last couple of years. It would seem that they themselves I agree 100 percent with arnab m. This is not their best album. I do like it but the past two were strong, memorable, and ground breaking. x&y has a strong start but flatlined at the end. Its a bit of a downer in a way. Read the lyrics! Theres no dought in my mind that Chris Martin has major talent but where were they during the last couple of years. It would seem that they themselves have taken to heart many global issues which makes for a depressing and sorrow filled ending. They could have taken a different direction. Nevertheless it was a good album, not the best. They definitely could do better. Expand
  58. UrsulaA
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This rules. A little overproduced but the songs in themselves are just spectacular. Songs such as A MESSAGE and SWALLOWED IN THE SEA make this album irresistable.
  59. erikar
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    this is an awsome record, period.....
  60. SeamusS
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Though I may be biast towards britpop albums in general, I full heartedly feel that this trancends genre titles. This will be hailed as a classic. Its focoused layered honest and brillaint. Dont belive the bad reviews.
  61. DenisC
    Jun 22, 2005
    9
    This is by far the best album to date of Coldplay with some of their songs taking a new direction , the first sone on the album especially sounding very like U2 and that cant be a bad thing can it . The more you listen to this album the more addicted you will become this CD is one habbit i definatly dont want to beat .
  62. BenG
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    best album ever, by the best band ever
  63. matta
    Jun 6, 2005
    6
    It's disappointing to see Coldplay take such a huge step back. Parachutes was a solid album with some great singles(8) but then came A Rush Of Blood To The Head which was near perfect and established Coldplay as a band that not only appeals to indie and british rock lovers, but to teenage girls and middle-aged businessmen as well. Now they make us wait three years and the best that It's disappointing to see Coldplay take such a huge step back. Parachutes was a solid album with some great singles(8) but then came A Rush Of Blood To The Head which was near perfect and established Coldplay as a band that not only appeals to indie and british rock lovers, but to teenage girls and middle-aged businessmen as well. Now they make us wait three years and the best that they can come up with is X&Y, a cheesy, cliche-ridden album that features at least seven tracks that are blatantly and shamelessly either ripping off or trying to aspire to the same style of U2 (Lord knows why Coldplay would want to try and copy them). Any distinctiveness and originality that Coldplay once had is almost completely lost. The only bright spots are Fix You, which is an insant classic and if Colplay is smart they will make it their second single, Talk, and the first single Speed of Sound. It's sad being a Coldplay fan for so long (ever since I heard an EP with Bigger, Stronger on it five years ago) only to have them release such a mundane third, and possibly final album. Expand
  64. WillL
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Easily thier best album to date. Thats really all there is to say, its a masterpiece.
  65. SarahM
    Jun 6, 2005
    3
    I just cannot get into this album, no matter how much I want to. It's background music, my mind just wanders away. As a fan I'm feeling a bit let down. I expected more, I expected a step forward. This does not feel like that. The glimmer of a highlight: "Fix You".
  66. scottw
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    simply amazing. enough said.
  67. mikek
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    I don't care what anybody else thinks, but to me, this is the most beautiful music I've ever heard.
  68. CLAIREJ
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    very solid, the tracks are genuine and touching
  69. ReubenP
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Phenomenal
  70. Cotty
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This Coldplay at the top of their game. The music swirls and cascades into your soul. Definitely their most commercial effort to date.
  71. CharlesK
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    They just keep getting better. People are going to hate them or love them which has been the same for any hugely successful band that has ever come before them. For those that love them, this album is a treat.
  72. probiotic
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    bland, unoffensive, takes very little risks. a huge step backwards for this band that started with so much promise.
  73. CristianeS
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    After waiting 18 months now we received our prize! Very good album.
  74. DerekF
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Yeah they may have gotten uber popular, but for people like me who don't use that as a reason to distance myself from artists, the album is still good. If you enjoyed Parachutes more than Rush of Blood you will probably be pleasantly pleased with Coldplays newest outing. Big swells, nice warm reverb(y) production, and back to more falsetto rich choruses, what more could you ask for. Yeah they may have gotten uber popular, but for people like me who don't use that as a reason to distance myself from artists, the album is still good. If you enjoyed Parachutes more than Rush of Blood you will probably be pleasantly pleased with Coldplays newest outing. Big swells, nice warm reverb(y) production, and back to more falsetto rich choruses, what more could you ask for. Even though they're as pop as all get get out, they're still good and surely doing their own thing. Expand
  75. JerryK
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    Another insipid collection of downer tunes to play with your lame art house girlfriend (or boyfriend). Lighten up, boys - life's short - have some fun.
  76. SteveM
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    I always have high expectations for this band, but this suprisingly exceeded them. There are many classic albums I've collected over the years and this sits right up there with the best of them.
  77. MatthewM
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    This is a beautifully ambient album. Most of the songs are pretty solid, especially the first four. I think the only one to stay away from is "talk." Great album.
  78. MattL
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Listen to it through 3 times. It just keeps getting better
  79. DuddyC
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    No ratings or reviews should be accepted on any album until at least 5 listens to complete album. Like so many classics they take a little getting used to. This album is no different. Yes the album is U2ish but a better U2 than U2. Is it perfect...nothing is and music is personal. Is rare a quality album has commercial success in this day of corporate radio (Remember it's not Payola No ratings or reviews should be accepted on any album until at least 5 listens to complete album. Like so many classics they take a little getting used to. This album is no different. Yes the album is U2ish but a better U2 than U2. Is it perfect...nothing is and music is personal. Is rare a quality album has commercial success in this day of corporate radio (Remember it's not Payola if you own the source) Expand
  80. PatrickW
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Too bad Elliott M does not know what he is talking about. He makes reference to one song, Speed of Sound which is rediculous to base a whole CD off of one song. When people say that it sounds like 'Clocks' they obviously hear only a piano rift in the beginning. Clocks to me, is more fast paced than Speed of Sound. The difference between X&Y and AROBTTH, is that there are more Too bad Elliott M does not know what he is talking about. He makes reference to one song, Speed of Sound which is rediculous to base a whole CD off of one song. When people say that it sounds like 'Clocks' they obviously hear only a piano rift in the beginning. Clocks to me, is more fast paced than Speed of Sound. The difference between X&Y and AROBTTH, is that there are more guitar rifts in X&Y, making the sound different than AROBTTH. There are many piano solos in AROBTTH, such as Scientist, clocks and Amsterdam. The best new songs are Square One, White Shadows, Talk, Low and for all those love starving souls, Fix You. Coldplay does a great job of mixing up the speed of the song and lyrics. Most definate 10 Expand
  81. MateoM
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Coldplay has taken what it does well and perfected it. This album has songs (Square One, Fix You) that remind you that Coldplay is the best band out there right now.
  82. cristianP
    Jun 8, 2005
    7
    todavia no se si comprarlo o no. me lo baje y lo escucho seguido.. pero......ABURRE UN POCO!!
  83. MartinL
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    What a pile of gick,only good if you want to jump off a building.
  84. andyl
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    an extraordinary follow-up to 'A Rush of Blood to the Head'
  85. bobby
    Jun 9, 2005
    1
    yawn....zzzzzzz.....
  86. BradR
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    A great album. Don't listen to the negativity, this is absolutely gorgeous especially Side X. White Shadows and Square One are probably the best songs Coldplay have written so far.
  87. jamess
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    this is a very very good cd and i can't wait to get it
  88. sassbullied
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    amazing... genious...
  89. JamesF
    Aug 27, 2005
    3
    I usually try to provide a little more explanation than this when I reject a record, but this was just really really really boring. It doesn't really invite any further scrutiny. The second CD was better.
  90. thewaterboys
    Aug 27, 2005
    8
    this album takes work to enjoy. i didn't like it on first listen but it kind of snakes around in your head and you keep listening to it. there are some absolutely brilliant songs on here like 'fix you' and 'a message'. my favorite track...right now...is 'white shadows', although i seem to find a new favorite song every few days. My biggest complaint this album takes work to enjoy. i didn't like it on first listen but it kind of snakes around in your head and you keep listening to it. there are some absolutely brilliant songs on here like 'fix you' and 'a message'. my favorite track...right now...is 'white shadows', although i seem to find a new favorite song every few days. My biggest complaint about this album is that i am always thinking this album COULD have been one of the greatest ever and it just fals a bit short. there are too many spots where songs just never build from a nice beginning...they kind of drone away and you forget you are even listening to them. i will say this: after the very first time that i listened to this album, the first thought that popped into my head was that the NEXT Coldplay album will be a instant classic. i still think that and i guess that sums up how i feel about this album. Expand
  91. Kenny
    Sep 3, 2005
    3
    This is a huge disapointment. The lyrcis are so crappy and they're all cliches (Every step that you take/Could be yourbiggest mistake/It could bend or it could break/ But that's the risk that you take). Pure crap! And the transition into a more electronic style is pathetic (prob trying to be compared again with Radiohead). They should stick with they're old stuff.
  92. alecv.
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    I've never listened to Coldplay before, but this Album is the best I have listened to in a long time. Listen to it on headphones really loud and it gets a whole new sound! I cannot understand it gets bad reviews. This is simply great music. Isn't it all a totally subjective question of taste and mood, anyway, How can anyone be in a position to trash it officially???
  93. GazR
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Fantastic. The only things that bring it down are the sad facts it doesn't quite compete with parachues and a rush of blood to the head. Otherwise brilliant, a masterpice in song writing. the X part of the ablbum is near perfection! but sadly the Y part of X&Y lets the album down a bit, with the exeption of speed of sound(which i loved at first but has died on me) and swallowed in Fantastic. The only things that bring it down are the sad facts it doesn't quite compete with parachues and a rush of blood to the head. Otherwise brilliant, a masterpice in song writing. the X part of the ablbum is near perfection! but sadly the Y part of X&Y lets the album down a bit, with the exeption of speed of sound(which i loved at first but has died on me) and swallowed in the sea. Definatly worth getting. Fixyou is such a beautiful song, possibly he most under-rated song ever? Alongside Shiver in parachutes! Other good songs are square one, a message and low. Other geat songs are What if Talk X&Y white shadows. Expand
  94. stevec
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    i agree wit the critics lovely tunes - occasionally good lyrics - very listenable but lacks personality
  95. DubM
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    FUCK YEAH! People haven't been giving X&Y all the credit that it deserves.
  96. PeterM
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    yeah, alot of the lyrics are crap, but its a grower. probably 8 good tracks. There's just a great, spirit and vibe here, especially on `Kingdon Come` and `Swallowed by the Sea`. The chorus on `What if` is awful though - worst I've heard in years.
  97. BrianJ
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    ...I'm a tough critic...I have over 6500 songs of different genres on my Jukebox...I love "Rush of Blood.." and "Warning Sign" still gives me goosebumps...I loved each song..."Low" and "X&Y" take a few listens to grow on you..."Talk" and "Kingdom Come" are so powerful...I love the older U2/Kraftwerk references and "borrowed" musical lines...Pick it up...along with "Atomic Bomb", the ...I'm a tough critic...I have over 6500 songs of different genres on my Jukebox...I love "Rush of Blood.." and "Warning Sign" still gives me goosebumps...I loved each song..."Low" and "X&Y" take a few listens to grow on you..."Talk" and "Kingdom Come" are so powerful...I love the older U2/Kraftwerk references and "borrowed" musical lines...Pick it up...along with "Atomic Bomb", the best album possibly this year...people love to hate the best out there...enjoy... Expand
  98. MattS
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    Album Comparison: "X&Y," in my humble opinion, is worth 8 out of 10 (And I have heard the entire LP multiple times, unlike some those who say they hate before they actually listen to all the songs). The album is not particularly varied (minus two points) but there are many wonderful tracks, such as the opening track and a track near the end titled "Low" which show that Coldplay is trying Album Comparison: "X&Y," in my humble opinion, is worth 8 out of 10 (And I have heard the entire LP multiple times, unlike some those who say they hate before they actually listen to all the songs). The album is not particularly varied (minus two points) but there are many wonderful tracks, such as the opening track and a track near the end titled "Low" which show that Coldplay is trying new things and are willing to break from the formula of verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus. I feel this is more artsy than their "AROBTTH" fans would want, but I am enjoying this album, and I think Parachutes fans will, too. "X&Y" is well worth the money I would say. The song titled "Low" is up there with Radiohead's stuff. One more thing, Coldplay is vocally better than Radiohead, but I will admit Radiohead is more adventurous instrumentally. Kid A and Amnesiac are each worth 9 out of 10 in my opinion. I considered "AROBTTH" to be a waste of money, worth only 5 out of 10 at best. "Clocks" and the title track "AROBTTH" are all I listen to off that album now. I wish they would have included Moses. That was a good song live. Parachutes is worth a 10 out of 10 because the vocals were perfect, the compositional instrumentation was varied, and "High Speed," "Spies," "Don't Panic" and all the rest of the songs that didn't make it to radio were wonderful. I recommend people listen to entire album before you judge. Another album I would give a 10 out of 10 is "Mmhmm" by Relient K. They are still a baby band (not even on metacritic yet). Expand
  99. JasonN
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    To start, I was never a huge Coldplay fan, they simply weren't the type of music I listened to, but I am listening now. And the more I listen to this cd, the more I love every minute of it. And to everyone who says that the lyrics are unoriginal, show me the songs that they ripped off. And if it is so unoriginal, let me take a look at some of your material, because I doubt any of you To start, I was never a huge Coldplay fan, they simply weren't the type of music I listened to, but I am listening now. And the more I listen to this cd, the more I love every minute of it. And to everyone who says that the lyrics are unoriginal, show me the songs that they ripped off. And if it is so unoriginal, let me take a look at some of your material, because I doubt any of you could write anything nearly as poetic as this. U2 can definitely rest assured that their torch will be passed on to capable hands! This is one of the best albums of the year so far!! Musically, this album puts you in almost a dream state, and the lyrics are easily relateable, yet moving all the same. Just give a listen to Fix You, a song I was told was writen about Gwyneth's late father, if you are not moved to tears, then you are emotionally inept. If you are a fan of music that is good on all levels, pick up this cd, it will NOT disappoint. Expand
  100. Angela
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Coldplay does it again! I loved Coldplay since their first hit "Yellow" came out. Tthis entire CD is amazing and carries Coldplay's defining essence.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Blender
    100
    [Coldplay] have made their masterpiece. [Jun 2005, p.112]
  2. Confident, bold, ambitious, bunged with singles and impossible to contain, ‘X&Y’ doesn’t reinvent the wheel but it does reinforce Coldplay as the band of their time.
  3. They have chosen to opt for the standard formula: it's elegiac, mid-tempo, stadium-friendly ballads all the way.