• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2017
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 738 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    THIS IS AN ALBUM LADIES

    personally, i was ready to cancel my pre order lmao but miley delivered. top to bottom this is an awesome record, and it’s way more alternative than i’d say “country” and i dig it a lot. i can tell miley wrote a lot of these songs from her heart and that’s why i love it so much. i just wish the roll out was better for such a great album. and i honestly think,
    THIS IS AN ALBUM LADIES

    personally, i was ready to cancel my pre order lmao but miley delivered. top to bottom this is an awesome record, and it’s way more alternative than i’d say “country” and i dig it a lot. i can tell miley wrote a lot of these songs from her heart and that’s why i love it so much.

    i just wish the roll out was better for such a great album. and i honestly think, the wrong singles were chosen - younger now, bad mood and thinkin should’ve been the singles before the album dropped. personally, malibu doesnt capture the feel of the record and younger now opens the album perfectly and explains this whole “change” magnificently and i think if YN was the first song heard w/ the video the era would’ve been handled smoother (by the gp too).

    and also, im curious to see how this’ll do. i know miley will have a #1 record im just curious as to the critical acclaim it’ll get and im sure she’s going to get grammy noms - this is a grammy album. and despite her not making as mainstream music as demi, selena or ariana; miley remains the most creative ex act honestly.
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Good Album, amazin. something different from what we're used to listening to. We not only see evolution in its letters but also in the evolution of its feelings.
  3. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
  4. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    it's not just a record, but a journey and story to be shared. Great job as usual, Miley! I love how she's showing us the maturity. It's definitely sound different than other songs I've heard this year!
  5. Sep 29, 2017
    8
    2017 brought a lot of expectacular albuns from amazing artirts. Miley Cyrus big return for main stream music wasn't what I and a lot of people was expecting! After the iconic Bangerz era with a lot of pop ballads, hip-hop beats and some explicit lyrics, Younger Now brings a more mature and raw Miley going back to her roots : country music. But that's not a full country album, we got a lot2017 brought a lot of expectacular albuns from amazing artirts. Miley Cyrus big return for main stream music wasn't what I and a lot of people was expecting! After the iconic Bangerz era with a lot of pop ballads, hip-hop beats and some explicit lyrics, Younger Now brings a more mature and raw Miley going back to her roots : country music. But that's not a full country album, we got a lot of ballads and some pop lyrics ALL WRITTEN by Miley. Miley Cyrus already has her best album, until now. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    It's amazing how to properly change this girl, she knows how and when to do it. I'm proud to see how she loves herself. I am also proud to see the art that is possible to do. She has done it again.
  7. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    It's a great album! I think we should focus on the lyrics and messages that this great artist wants to leave us. The world must change its mind to positive things, and this album, is the one indicated.
  8. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    Absolutely a phenomenal album that shows Cyrus' growth not only vocally, but as an artist as a whole. This self-written album shows fans the different stages of life - good and bad. At times, it pulls at heart strings, and at other times Cyrus show cases feel good songs. Phenomenal.
  9. Jan 5, 2018
    10
    Younger Now I find an excellent album, with a good mix of rhythms and melodies, of their best albums, master Malibu, Bad Mood and Younger Now, they are so AMAZING
  10. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Miley is the queen!! TALENT TALENT TALENT
    Miley is the queen!! TALENT TALENT TALENT
    Miley is the queen!! TALENT TALENT TALENT
    Miley is the queen!! TALENT TALENT TALENT
  11. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. Miley reinvented the way to make music. This album is very honest and kind. I feel Miley singing with her heart. Great job. Evebody should listen this album
  12. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This album is truly amazing. A COMPLETELY SELF-WRITTEN MASTERPIECE. Miley Cyrus delivered this this time. Every song is amazing and contains a perfect message for masses and contemporary youth. She speaks about love and tolerance.
  13. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Miley Cyrus this album is everything

    THANK YOU MILEY
    LOVEU UU
    ........................................
    ........................................
    .......................................
  14. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta álbum en realidad es una joya audiovisual, sigo aun entender como la gente le este dando mala critica no te dejes guiar por eso, y ve a escucharlo ya y sal de duda Expand
  15. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    great album, really meaning-full lyrics and a unique voice and sound.
    really proud of that girl. great evolution and a completely mature sound. she finally discovered herself
  16. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This girl if she knows how to reinvent herself feels that she is finding her way in the world of music, in love with young people now, deserves the success and appreciation of others, when I hear this I felt in a story surrounded by trees as a cowboy adventure watching the sunset fall on my eyes, exceptional and impressive
    thanks Miley Cyrus
  17. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    The album is totally right. Every song has a powerful meaning and the country style is more than beautiful. Miley's voice sounds on point. She should work more on country. Definitely, my favorite album from her.
  18. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Younger Now es un excelente Álbum se los recomiendo mucho, deben de escucharlo de principio a fin, comiencen con I Would Die For You, la hija de Billy Ray Cyrus se esforzó por nueva producción Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like this new era country, this album is full of beautiful lyrics things that we must appreciate. I like that Miley is an artist that gives us new sounds in each album and more if it returns to its roots , really is an album to appreciate, and only ignorant people would not value this beautiful work Expand
  20. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Younger Now It's a great album, Miley really reinvented herself

    I'm proud of who she is

    Miley has the ability to completely reinvent herself, from breakout that took her to success, passing by Bangerz and showing her adult image in a less now
  21. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    Miley once again proves her talent her potential natural born superstar inside her. with her honest songwriting, and a well-trained, skilled powerful vocal, she finally made a real album!!! even though there's still a little bit messy in the album's production, but compare this to previous Bangerz or Dead petz, Miley actually move on to a next level. Suggested tracks: I would Die For You,Miley once again proves her talent her potential natural born superstar inside her. with her honest songwriting, and a well-trained, skilled powerful vocal, she finally made a real album!!! even though there's still a little bit messy in the album's production, but compare this to previous Bangerz or Dead petz, Miley actually move on to a next level. Suggested tracks: I would Die For You, Malibu, Younger Now, Inspired and She's Not Him. Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Amazing! I'm addictec, I can't stop listening. Miley's voice is so unique! This amazing how versatible she is. Musics like Love Someone, Thinkin' and Bad Mood are just another level!! I'm loving it!
  23. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    this album is fire ! I love that she wrote her own songs, every songs are different. And as I said she wrote every single songs on this album and I think that's why I love this record so much
  24. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Miley compôs ótimas musicas nesse novo álbum,estou simplesmente obcecado por essas musicas,uma pena q essas pessoas que estão aqui apenas pra diminuir a nota !
  25. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    I LOVE this album! Miley really did THAT. The lyics are amazing, she did a great job.
    My favorite song are Malibu (of course), Thinkin', Bad mood and Love Someone. But I love the whole album, it's just so good. I'm so proud of her.
  26. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Good job Miley!
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
    t's amazing how to properly change this girl, she knows how and when to do it. I'm proud to see how she loves herself. I am also proud to see the art that is possible to do. She has done it again.
  27. trz
    Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Real instruments, real lyrics, strong production and songs with a meaning ... Things cruelly lacking from today's pop starts, higlight album of 2017 definitely
  28. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Great album with beautiful lyrics and good production. I really loved it, you can feel that it's personal. Best tracks: Bad Mood, I Would Die For You.
  29. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    In "Younger Now," Miley Cyrus was able to put much of her versatility into music. Miley made a quality country with "Miss You So Much", a good POP with "Thinkin" and a duo with country's biggest woman: Dolly Parton. "Younger Now" is a totally authorial album, which already brings more credibility to the album, "I Would Die For You" and "Miss You So Much" is proof that Cyrus is a fantasticIn "Younger Now," Miley Cyrus was able to put much of her versatility into music. Miley made a quality country with "Miss You So Much", a good POP with "Thinkin" and a duo with country's biggest woman: Dolly Parton. "Younger Now" is a totally authorial album, which already brings more credibility to the album, "I Would Die For You" and "Miss You So Much" is proof that Cyrus is a fantastic songwriter. And finally, it's not any artist who delivers an album NOTHING commercial and manages to make a HIT! Expand
  30. Oct 8, 2017
    10
    One of the most versatile and one of the most original in a long time. Definitely the best album of 2017 BY FAR!

    Best Song(s):
    Younger Now
    Malibu
    Thinkin'
    I Would Die For You
    Love Someone
    Bad Mood
    Rainbowland

    Worst Song(s):
    She's Not Him
  31. tcl
    Sep 30, 2017
    10
    This album is pure gold, a potential country record in the ocean of bland pop music industry. Songs suggested; Younger Now, Malibu, Bad Mood, I would die for you and Week Without You.
  32. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    So many well writen and good songs on this album, she's not him, thinkin' and week without you absolute favourites on this one.
    I actually wasn't waiting on this album to be good, but surprisingly its an amazing album.
  33. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    Miley ha mostrado que es capaz de hacer música sola, cada canción está dentro del album con un propósito, la cruda voz de Miley hace especial cada género musical en el que ella quiera incursionar.
  34. Oct 14, 2017
    8
    Choosing Malibu as lead was a brilliant idea, but Younger Now as single, besides I love that song, wasn't so smart and this didn't help with the sales on its first week. Except for the featuring, the tracks are really good and could be strong as singles, like Week Without You and Bad Mood, my favourites. I don't think it deserves a 59, but also it no way better than Bangerz.
  35. Oct 15, 2017
    10
    el mejor album
    se escucha mejor su potencia de voz, sus letras son bien inspiradoras para cualquiera que la escuche, el mejor album de su carrera y uno de los mejores albumes del 2017.
  36. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Miley es una de las artistas mas completas con una voz versatil y va muy bien con ella el country ya que sus raices son de un lugar de artistas campiranos lo cual asombra con cualquier genero Expand
  37. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    I do not have words to describe the magic of this album. Every song matches so well and the transition of feelings make me feel in a wonderful word. Thanks, Miley. The country is for you. This album is probably your best. Thinkin' and Miss you so much are my favorite ones.
  38. Oct 4, 2017
    10
    Deserves all the love and recognition! Self written masterpiece! Love from lovatics! I love and appreciate Miley since disney days, she has grown so much just like Demi, musically, lyrically, vocally
  39. Apr 12, 2020
    8
    a pretty solid album. some songs were more enjoyable than others, however, i still enjoyed most of them. my top 3 songs were malibu, i would die for you, and bad mood.
  40. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Miley is an excellent artist and this album is SO good. Yes, I said it : SO good. The featuring with her grandmother Dolly Parton is fantastic. Miley's vocals are se good and the meanings behind the songs are deep.

    Good job Miley !
  41. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    Отдых в родных краях и воссоидение с Хемсвортом принесли свои плоды, Майли Сайрус представила нам своё «детище» именно так можно охарактеризовать ее новый альбом
    «Younger now». В новом альбоме Майли возвращается к своим корням и звучанию в стиле кантри. И хотя на первый взгляд композиции могут показаться одинаковыми, это не так, скорее весь альбом это одна история, в которой Сайрус
    Отдых в родных краях и воссоидение с Хемсвортом принесли свои плоды, Майли Сайрус представила нам своё «детище» именно так можно охарактеризовать ее новый альбом
    «Younger now». В новом альбоме Майли возвращается к своим корням и звучанию в стиле кантри. И хотя на первый взгляд композиции могут показаться одинаковыми, это не так, скорее весь альбом это одна история, в которой Сайрус поведала нам о себе и свой жизни. Она заявляет всему миру, что она все та же девушка из штата Теннесси, и ее сердце преисполненно любвью ко всему миру. В отличии от предыдущей ее работы (Bangerz) «Younger now» более спокойный, каждая песня индивидуальна по своему, и в каждой чувствуется частичка души Сайрус. Альбом сочетает в себе стиль поп-кантри, кантри, сочетание этих жанров великолепно, но современные исполнители о нем стали забывать, предпочитая ему поп и его производные. Спасибо Майли за проделанную тобой работу, и спасибо что радуешь нас такими душевными песнями.
    Expand
  42. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Miley's vocals are se good and the meanings behind the songs are deep. Her best album. This album is so sweet and genuine, Malibu, Thinkin' and Bad mood is art. Miley sweetie you're doing amazing
  43. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Miley Cyrus has already shown us several times that she can walk in all musical styles and bring great songs. With Younger Now bringing us back her country side, of course she was able to surprise us again and show us she's a versatile singer.
    In this new album he wrote all his songs and produced it with the help of Oren Yoel. Go check it out and agree that it rained once more
  44. Sep 29, 2017
    7
    Younger Now - 7
    Malibu - 10
    Rainbowland - 5
    Week Without You - 9
    Miss You So Much - 10
    I Would Die for You - 9
    Thinkin' - 8
    Bad Mood - 8
    Love Someone - 8
    She's Not Him -
    Inspired - 8

    score: 7,4
  45. Sep 29, 2017
    8
    Miley es una gran artista y sabe reinventarse en cada era que ha tenido.
    Es un buen álbum pero esta lejos de ser el mejor de su carrera.
    Thinkin' me encantó.
  46. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This album is one of the few that i have seen that really digs down into someones roots and originality and creates such exuberant music. The vocals are amazingly pure and soothing to ones ears.
  47. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This album is so sweet and genuine. I can still hear some of the songs have connections with the Bangerz and Dead Petz era. Miley always stay true to herself. "No one stays the same". I think this is the perfect theme for the album.
  48. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    This is album pure art, Miley is back with an album completely different but still she done very well, Love Someone, Thinking and Bad Mood are the best songs, Rainbowland is a really good country song n. Younger Now is the best female album of the year with Melodrama
  49. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    Younger Now is a brilliant attempt at growing up and looking back and learning from your experiences. Miley's vocals have never sounded better in years. She is making the music that she wants to make and she basically did it almost by herself this era and that's something she can be proud of. Songs to look forward to: Rainbowland, Thinkin, Love Someone, Bad Mood, She's not Him and mostlyYounger Now is a brilliant attempt at growing up and looking back and learning from your experiences. Miley's vocals have never sounded better in years. She is making the music that she wants to make and she basically did it almost by herself this era and that's something she can be proud of. Songs to look forward to: Rainbowland, Thinkin, Love Someone, Bad Mood, She's not Him and mostly the whole record Expand
  50. Sep 29, 2017
    8
    Is it a really good album? Yes, it does not leave anything to be desired in quality. But maybe it's just an album that's just to enjoy as a museum exhibit. Highlights for the title track and Miss You So Much. Even if Miley wants to enjoy something "mainstream" she should use Thinkin', but it's also valid if she does not want to use it.
  51. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Is it a really good album?
    Miley is an excellent artist and this album is SO good
    This is album pure art, Miley is back with an album completely different but still she done very well, Love Someone, Thinking and Bad Mood are the best songs
  52. Apr 19, 2020
    7
    Younger Now - 8,5/10
    Malibu - 9/10
    Rainbowland (ft. Dolly Parton) - 5/10
    Week Without You - 7/10
    Miss You so Much - 8/10
    I Would Die for You - 8/10
    Thinkin' - 6/10
    Bad Mood - 7/10
    Love Someone - 7/10
    She's Not Him - 8,5/10
    Inspired - 8/10
  53. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    ........................................................................................
  54. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    I've been a fan of Miley since the Hannah Montana days, and was disapointed by 'Can't Be Tamed' and more so by 'Bangerz'. It's really nice to see her go back to her roots and create such a beautiful piece of art in the form of 'Younger Now'.
  55. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    It's amazing how Miley Cyrus has the gift of doing a great job at any musical pace. Her voice and her compositions on this album show her evolution as an artist and professional, as well as find several references of her career getting to the root. Definitely one of his best albums throughout his career.
  56. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    Майли Сайрус решила вернуться к своим корням. Альбом абсолютно атмосферный, именно это слово подходит для его описания, не обычное звучание поп - кантри завораживает и манит переслушать инструментальное звучание снова и снова. Остался под впечатлением после прослушивания, действительно годная работа проделанная Майли. Так же хотелось бы отметить, что все песни к альбому, Майли написалаМайли Сайрус решила вернуться к своим корням. Альбом абсолютно атмосферный, именно это слово подходит для его описания, не обычное звучание поп - кантри завораживает и манит переслушать инструментальное звучание снова и снова. Остался под впечатлением после прослушивания, действительно годная работа проделанная Майли. Так же хотелось бы отметить, что все песни к альбому, Майли написала самостоятельно, это еще раз доказывает нам, что человек очень талантлив!
    #BUYYOUNGERNOWONITUNES
    Expand
  57. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Абсолютно удивлен работой Сайрус! Очень свежее, смешанное звучание придает пластинке особый шарм. Каждый трек по своему интересен. Вот уж действительно, не ожидал от Майли чего то подобного. Очень интересно наблюдать, как она меняется, из альбома в альбом и растет как артист в первую очередь!
    p.s. а ловато может и дальше штамповать безделушки, в жалких попытках создать что то, хоть
    Абсолютно удивлен работой Сайрус! Очень свежее, смешанное звучание придает пластинке особый шарм. Каждый трек по своему интересен. Вот уж действительно, не ожидал от Майли чего то подобного. Очень интересно наблюдать, как она меняется, из альбома в альбом и растет как артист в первую очередь!
    p.s. а ловато может и дальше штамповать безделушки, в жалких попытках создать что то, хоть отдаленно напоминающее хит.
    Expand
  58. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Excelente album, una lirica exquisita, con sonidos alejados a lo actual lo cual lo hace aún mejor, simplemente artístico. Miley vuelve a demostrar su potente & versatil voz. Si eres amante de la buena música sin duda es un album que no debes dejar pasar. Hay que enfocarse en la música del artista & no en su vida personal. Excelente, bien trabajado, de los mejores albumes de este año.
  59. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Muy buen álbum, es muy relajante, en lo personal me encanta que Miley use su voz para enamorarnos. No ocupa que todo su álbum este lleno de colaboraciones para resaltar, ya solo falta esperar sus conciertos, verla cantar en diferentes medios, la amo.
  60. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Es lo mejor que voy a escuchar ♥, para mi es arte, no importa lo que digan. La amo demasiado porque hace lo que mas le gusta para vernos feliz :D Enamorado de Bad Mood y Thinkin'
  61. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    One of the best albums released this year. Totally different from her Bangerz era, and the young Miley Cyrus knows how to do it. Miley's vocals are so much beautiful!
  62. Sep 30, 2017
    10
    a self written album with 11 amazing songs. younger now deserves a grammy for sure. rainbowland is like a cool weird song im sure everybody will like it and on the other hand we have thinkin a song that would fit perfectly bangerz which makes it the highlight of the album .bad mood. miss you so much and love someone are all so different and yet so unigue and amazing songs . the album is a banger
  63. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. excellent album, miley is reinvented herself, and gives us a perfect material, relaxing rhythms and demonstrates her great evolution as an artist, one of the best of our generation, ART Expand
  64. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Miley shocked me. An amazing album with fresh sound. She always know how to make the difference. Never the same. I love the diversity that she gives as an artist.
  65. Nov 1, 2017
    10
    I love you Miley so much.Your album is amazing like your another albums.You did it!!!!!
    Buy her brand new album Younger Now and stream it on Spotify!!
  66. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS OF THIS YEAR AND DEFINITELY HER BEST ALBUM!

    What I find the most fascinating about Younger Now is that each song is different and matches with a different genre. There's pop, there's a little bit of rock, there's country, there's folk... And you can actually find a connection to all of the sounds she has ever done (Bangerz, Dead Petz, Breakout...), so I don't get
    ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS OF THIS YEAR AND DEFINITELY HER BEST ALBUM!

    What I find the most fascinating about Younger Now is that each song is different and matches with a different genre. There's pop, there's a little bit of rock, there's country, there's folk... And you can actually find a connection to all of the sounds she has ever done (Bangerz, Dead Petz, Breakout...), so I don't get it why some people say that she disowns her previous works...

    Anyways, her vocals are A+, I actually get chills sometimes!! She did what she had to do, like always, and with this 11-track-album she truly showed her versatility. I think that although she still needs to improve a little bit in terms of lyrics, it's a very good thing that this is 100% self-written - it shows who she actually is RIGHT NOW and what she has been through in the latest two years. IT'S GENUINE and it's so so personal that sometimes you feel in her place! Besides all these things, I love that it is not that mainstream - the production, the arrangements, the instruments... Miley and Orel Yoel did an amazing job!

    Personal faves: She's Not Him (her voice is angelic and it hurts - literally), Bad Mood (it could be a huge hit), Malibu (classic already), Week Without You (so fresh!!), Thinkin' (it makes me wanna dance, could be a great single) and I Would Die For You (f* beautiful). OK... I LOVE THEM ALL!!

    Well... it is a masterpiece. I cannot stop listening to it! She just showed she is growing a lot as an artist and that she is here to stay! Give it a shot, without being biased, you won't regret it. To be honest, after listening to this bop, I FEEL SO MUCH YOUNGER NOW!! Hope it gets the recognition it deserves.
    Expand
  67. Sep 29, 2017
    5
    I love Miley as a person and as an artist i like her, but this new album has no vibe, is not deep on her lyrics, is way too bored and a little repetitive. Her vocals sound tired, with no motivation it all. SHE CAN DO BETTER!
  68. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    Younger Now é um álbum gostoso de se ouvir, mas tem algumas faixas bem enjoativas que eu não ouviria 2 vezes seguidas. Enfim, eu amei o álbum, mas algumas faixas como "Inspired" não são as minhas favoritas.
  69. Oct 1, 2017
    5
    Younger Now was all over the place, had country and pop vibes that just could not mix as well as Taylor Swift's Red. Some of the songs were just ugly fusions of country and pop and it just did not work well for me. Younger Now, Week Without You and Malibu were the only good songs on the album. The rest of them seemed lazy and outright average. Miley will not have a good year at theYounger Now was all over the place, had country and pop vibes that just could not mix as well as Taylor Swift's Red. Some of the songs were just ugly fusions of country and pop and it just did not work well for me. Younger Now, Week Without You and Malibu were the only good songs on the album. The rest of them seemed lazy and outright average. Miley will not have a good year at the Grammy's as they prefer cohesive sounds like 1989 and 25 that all go in one direction. Younger Now goes in all different directions and at the end of the day she could not pull off doing a country/pop album. Expand
  70. Oct 1, 2017
    6
    'Younger Now' sees Miley Cyrus completely switching gears, leaving behind the 'edgy **** persona she adapted for 'Bangerz'. The record is musically diverse, jumping from country to pop, to rock, back to country, and it is lyrically her most personal effort (7 out of 11 tracks were solely written by Ms Cyrus herself). Right in the middle of the LP, there is the strong duo 'Miss You So Much''Younger Now' sees Miley Cyrus completely switching gears, leaving behind the 'edgy **** persona she adapted for 'Bangerz'. The record is musically diverse, jumping from country to pop, to rock, back to country, and it is lyrically her most personal effort (7 out of 11 tracks were solely written by Ms Cyrus herself). Right in the middle of the LP, there is the strong duo 'Miss You So Much' and 'I Would Die For You', which are brilliantly-made soulful confessional songs. Other songs like 'Week Without You' and 'Thinkin' showcase the fun Cyrus has while recording. However, there are a few songs like 'Rainbowland' (a collab with her Godmother, country icon, Dolly Parton) and 'Love Someone' that feel a bit boring in the midst of an album that contains hard-hitting songs such as 'Bad Mood' and 'Inspired'.

    While making this album, Miley said she 'didn't concern herself with sales or radio-play', and frankly it's very obvious she just wanted to make songs leaning back on her roots, and have fun while she's at it. Whatever she's singing about, the most beautiful thing about this pack of songs, is that they're all coming straight from her heart.
    Expand
  71. Oct 2, 2017
    5
    Poor and simple album. As they are being overweight. And this is wrong. They are treating like a very bad album and of no quality, from what I have been reading. It's a lie.

    The album until the attempt to be sent, obviously. A country of footprint, the problem runs, there is a country artist with a baggage required to do this. There are many weak songs like "Rainbowland" and yes,
    Poor and simple album. As they are being overweight. And this is wrong. They are treating like a very bad album and of no quality, from what I have been reading. It's a lie.

    The album until the attempt to be sent, obviously. A country of footprint, the problem runs, there is a country artist with a baggage required to do this.

    There are many weak songs like "Rainbowland" and yes, "Malibu" is far from being listened to. It's very weak. "Without You", "Miss You So Much" and "I'd Die For You" are simple, ordinary, without any brilliance. I highlight, "Younger Now" and "Inspired" that show how virtues of Miley Cyrus.
    Expand
  72. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    AMAZING ALBUM. This is so original and I'm so proud that Miley wrote this entire album alone!! Miley NEVER dissapoints. This album has some really beautiful songs and other songs that make me wanna dance! Rainbowland and Inspired have messages that we NEED today. She's Not Him is so so so beautiful and spreads lgbtq awareness. I would die for you is a masterpiece lyrically and sonically.AMAZING ALBUM. This is so original and I'm so proud that Miley wrote this entire album alone!! Miley NEVER dissapoints. This album has some really beautiful songs and other songs that make me wanna dance! Rainbowland and Inspired have messages that we NEED today. She's Not Him is so so so beautiful and spreads lgbtq awareness. I would die for you is a masterpiece lyrically and sonically. Thinkin, Bad Mood, and Love Someone are BOPS. I could say A LOT more but I'll end it here. Great album. Expand
  73. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    I am so happy to see Miley exploring new music genres. She is the real artist and she proves it. In my opinion, the album is truly amazing. Every track tells a story and brings on important messages. Miley is doing what every artist should. She uses the platform she is given to spotlight some real issues and she speaks through her music. She truly believed in what she is doing and isI am so happy to see Miley exploring new music genres. She is the real artist and she proves it. In my opinion, the album is truly amazing. Every track tells a story and brings on important messages. Miley is doing what every artist should. She uses the platform she is given to spotlight some real issues and she speaks through her music. She truly believed in what she is doing and is really convincing. Expand
  74. Oct 1, 2017
    10
    this album touches my heart. her lyrics are so meaningful, and you can tell she cares about people, happiness, the environment. I pre odered her song because I cantell it is an amazing album by listening to Malibu, Inspired, Younger Now.
  75. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Younger Now, the album, is a musical masterpiece. I don't use such an appellation lightly. Consisting of 11 simple songs, Miley collaborated with the musical polymath, Oren Yoel, who was the producer and instrumentalist on the album. Miley performed all of the vocals on ten of the songs, including the back-up vocals, as she nearly always does. Miley wrote all the lyrics herself exceptYounger Now, the album, is a musical masterpiece. I don't use such an appellation lightly. Consisting of 11 simple songs, Miley collaborated with the musical polymath, Oren Yoel, who was the producer and instrumentalist on the album. Miley performed all of the vocals on ten of the songs, including the back-up vocals, as she nearly always does. Miley wrote all the lyrics herself except for "Rainbowland," where she collaborated on both the writing and singing with her Godmother and country legend, Dolly Parton. Miley has given various explanations for the overarching theme of the album, including--as I said before-- getting in touch with one's inner child, the freedom before the onset of late-teen and early-adult angst. Another is that she sees some of it as speaking out against ageism and division, and with the hope of bringing people together. This is quite consistent with some remarks she's made on the political front ... seeking to unify through music, notwithstanding differences in opinions. she is pathologically authentic and preternaturally nice, wanting as much as anything to be liked by all and to like them in return.

    Some of the album shows anger or emotional turmoil resulting from episodes in Miley's life ... and in at least in one case, in the life of a friend. Listening closely, one will find influences of multiple genres throughout the album, but I think it can best be described as more classical, early rock or rockabilly in terms of overall orientation. To be sure, there are big strains of country ... but also hip hop, pop-rock, psychedelic, EDM, and alternative ... But it's Miley Cyrus most of all. That's important; and it's also the "beauty part," as old timers in New York are wont to say. It has her sometimes idiosyncratic idiom, her Tennessee twang, and, characteristically, it's also part autobiography. It also has the infectious punctuations ... the yeahs, and the ohs, and the guttural exclamations, breaks, and hiccups that characterize her vocals. One of the things that makes her music outstanding to me is that I can listen to it over long periods. There are other great vocalists and artists that I can listen to, but usually for only a few songs before I need something else. Miley, like only a handful of others, is someone I can listen to for hours at a time without a break. This album makes one want to drive and drive in the car, like the old days with my eight track ... not stopping til it's over, going around the block just one more time until it is and before pulling into the garage.

    The overarching theme of the album is surely autobiographical ... and if it is not in completely accurate in its details, I suspect it depicts real emotions about real events, and it's intended to evince and evoke those feelings. It is mostly old fashioned countrified rock n roll (which, after all, is rooted in rhythm and blues, Gospel, and country), though filtered through the lens of some modern electronic wizardry, and with hints of hip hop and other genres throughout. It also puts the lie to the notion that she abandoned hip hop, by the way, which she neither said nor did , but was falsely accused of doing. She abandoned misogyny and objectification, and as a husband, brother, son, and the father of a girl, I am grateful for that. While I have my favorites, and some pieces are better than others, it is as perfect as an album can be. Pertinent, authentic, and often enough, simply riveting.

    Here's the thing, folks. Miley Ray Cyrus is a formidable artist, one for this era and for eras to come. Elvis is one of her musical heroes, and one can feel his influence throughout in the way she attacks the vocals and the visuals on video and stage. I venture to say she is the natural heir to Elvis in presentation, perhaps more than any other artist in recent memory, and maybe ever. No male has pulled it off as well ... The King's chemistry is hard to describe, but there's a lot of it in this small package. One of my friends referred to her as the musical lovechild of Elvis and Madonna. That seems quite apt to me. Lyrically, however, she has more in common with Lennon and Dylan. She has Elvis-like intonations and the charisma and revolutionary spirit of both Elvis and Madonna, who, I might add, were both castigated for a variety of reasons in their day, too, for not being good musically to being merely prurient. Those sages are dead and forgotten. Elvis and Madonna are secure. I keep repeating this, but Miley Cyrus is only 24! It is easy to forget how young she is given that she's been a public figure for a decade. But she came into her own just a few years ago. Lennon and McCartney were several years older when Sgt. Pepper's was released
    Expand
  76. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better
  77. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Miley's vocals are se good and the meanings behind the songs are deep. beautiful album lyrics.... ♥
    Her best album. Good Lyrics and amazing vocals.
  78. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Good album, one of her best actually. Totally worth listening!

    Good album, one of her best actually. Totally worth listening!

    Good album, one of her best actually. Totally worth listening!
  79. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    album of the millennium.. amaaaaaziiingggggggggggg. miley is so talented. i'm so proud of her. plloooooooooooveeeeeee miley soooooooo muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuch
  80. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    This album is cohesive and maybe her best. People need to stop comparing it with her previous work but this is nothing like the music she used to make and thats good because you know she grew as an artist.Great album, she won me this time
  81. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Despite all her past and twerk history, she’s just a girl trying to show to the whole world that she’s different and she’s incredible talented. She wrote the whole album alone and just have only one producer to help her. Younger Now is beautiful to listen to that is totally the opposite of the current pop albuns (no voice, 23 writers and 35 producers), it’s just a little girl and herDespite all her past and twerk history, she’s just a girl trying to show to the whole world that she’s different and she’s incredible talented. She wrote the whole album alone and just have only one producer to help her. Younger Now is beautiful to listen to that is totally the opposite of the current pop albuns (no voice, 23 writers and 35 producers), it’s just a little girl and her songs, you can feel her happiness, her talent, and her angelic voice. Hands down her best album and the best album of 2017. I am very proud of Miley. Best songs: Malibu, I Would Die For You, Bad Mood, She’s Not Him and Miss You So Much. Expand
  82. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Album of the year! The Grammy is really coming! Good job Miley, we know you can sing any music style and rock it! All the songs are good, making this as Miley's best album! I'm soooo proux =D Expand
  83. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    never came to the beach or stood by the ocean
    I never sat by the shore under the sun with my feet in the sand
    But you brought me here and I'm happy that you did
    'Cause now I'm as free as birds catching the wind
  84. Oct 2, 2017
    9
    Eu realmente não esperava muito desse álbum mas a Miley mostrou que assim como pode surpreender de uma forma um tanto exagerada como no se ultimo álbum "Bangerz" ela também pode surpreender de uma forma boa, como fez com o Younger Now que tem uma sonoridade agradável, mesmo contendo tracks que não sejam tão atrativas quanto poderiam ser, o álbum em si é bom.
  85. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    incredible lyrics + vocals. incredible lyrics + vocals. incredible lyrics + vocals. incredible lyrics + vocals. incredible lyrics + vocals. also, miley has the biggest heart in the music industry (:
  86. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    I love this album. Miley has amazing vocals. She's not afraid to take risks. She's not just a singer, this girl is a true artist!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  87. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Maravilhoso, um álbum tocante e totalmente escrito por ela mesma, mostra que tem talento em tudo que faz e uma voz maravilhosa! Álbum de qualidade extremamente boa, ótimas músicas excelentes composições!
  88. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    i can see the love and SO much feelings in this album... thank u miley!!
    .............................................................................
  89. Oct 2, 2017
    5
    This album is not the best of it, but it does not stop being good. Maybe some holes and the predawn of repetitive melodies have the problem, but in parts your voice sounds great in country.
  90. Oct 2, 2017
    4
    Mam mieszane uczucia.. Miley próbowała dać nam nową siebie, jednak nie wyszło jej to za dobrze. Mam wrażenie, jakby niektóre piosenki były robione na siłę. Zresztą i wokalnie nie powala.. a szkoda, bo ma możliwości. Lubię muzykę Miley. Jednak czegoś mi brakowało w tym albumie. Za dużo nowości, za mało naszej Miley.
  91. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    i loved the way this came out to be, diferent and fresh compare to wthat its sounding this days in the radio...
    my favorites from this album are, malibu, younger now, miss u so much, i would die for u, thinking, she is not him, bad mood and inspired.
  92. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Isso sim que é um álbum digno, mas não me choca vindo da artista mais talentosa e genial da industria, sucessora da Madonna quando o quesito é se reinventar(e em ser íconica também), esse álbum é como se fosse uma sopa de tudo que eu já ouvi, Rebel Heart da Madonna, The Pierces, Lana Del Rey, inclusive algumas faixas antigas do memorável ''Bangerz''. Miley depositou toda sua dedicaçãoIsso sim que é um álbum digno, mas não me choca vindo da artista mais talentosa e genial da industria, sucessora da Madonna quando o quesito é se reinventar(e em ser íconica também), esse álbum é como se fosse uma sopa de tudo que eu já ouvi, Rebel Heart da Madonna, The Pierces, Lana Del Rey, inclusive algumas faixas antigas do memorável ''Bangerz''. Miley depositou toda sua dedicação nesse álbum, ela mesma compôs e produziu junto com o Oren Yoel e é isso que há de mais valioso, criar canções maravilhosas para rejuvenescer e se conectar com os fãs. O que eu posso fazer apenas é divulgar e enaltecer esse álbum maravilhoso e com canções que mudaram minha vida, Inspired é uma delas. Ultimamente as pessoas só ligam pra charts e críticas e esquecem de apreciar as músicas maravilhosas como as desse álbum que as nossas divas nos proporcionam. Expand
  93. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    One of Miley’s best albums! Lyrics are good & you can feel Miley song her songs with love! There’s no song i would describe as bad! Well done & Contrast Miley!
  94. Oct 3, 2017
    6
    Younger Now – Miley Cyrus

    1. "Younger Now" – 5.5
    2. "Malibu" - 4
    3. "Rainbowland" featuring Dolly Parton – 6.5
    4. "Week Without You" – 8.5
    5. 'Miss You So Much" – 6.5
    6. "I Would Die For You" – 7.5
    7. "Thinkin'" – 3.5
    8. "Bad Mood" - 5
    9. "Love Someone" – 6
    10. "She's Not Him" - 7
    11. "Inspired"- 8

    Average - 6.3
  95. Oct 3, 2017
    5
    Miley finalmente lançou o tão esperado álbum younger now , que infelizmente não nos trouxe todo o impacto que queríamos, na minha opinião o álbum não é totalmente ruim nem totalmente bom, e um álbum monótono, com músicas nem tão atraentes
  96. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    Songs like Malibu and Inspired are just great to hear. Miley gave us one of the best albums of that year.
  97. Sep 30, 2017
    3
    Younger Now apresenta uma sonoridade que remete aos seus trabalhos anteriores. Achei bem oportuno o fato de ter influências country. Referente a este mesmo título, deixa a desejar a confusão sonora do álbum, que refletiu em todo o seu exterior, as músicas são ótimas, mas a contradição de Cyrus deixou a desejar.
  98. Oct 3, 2017
    3
    Infelizmente o álbum é ruim! Me esforcei, escutei, escutei de novo e não me desceu. Miley não soube trabalhar a mudança dela, da era "Bangerz" para a era "Younger Now", a mudança de uma garota nua em cima de uma bola, para uma garota na praia dançando country. O álbum está amador e com músicas insuportáveis. O que se salvou ainda, foram as canções "Malibu" e "Inspired", na minha opinião asInfelizmente o álbum é ruim! Me esforcei, escutei, escutei de novo e não me desceu. Miley não soube trabalhar a mudança dela, da era "Bangerz" para a era "Younger Now", a mudança de uma garota nua em cima de uma bola, para uma garota na praia dançando country. O álbum está amador e com músicas insuportáveis. O que se salvou ainda, foram as canções "Malibu" e "Inspired", na minha opinião as melhores do álbum, por isso ainda dei 3 pontos na minha crítica. Quem sabe na próxima era ela mostre algo novo e que nos surpreenda, porque nessa não rolou. Boa sorte! Expand
  99. Sep 29, 2017
    5
    6 songs in here are worthy, yet it does not have that X element that makes me want to hear it again. Inspired, Younger Now and She's Not Him are the highlights of the album. Some songs in here feel weak, in lyricism and instrumental. Miley still cant make by her own a project that really works.
  100. Oct 2, 2017
    5
    non amo il country ma nonostante tutto Miley ha fatto un bel lavoro ma non riesco a farmelo piacere. proprio questo pop con influenze country non mi fa impazzire. scusate ma direi che no.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Oct 16, 2017
    30
    This is a thumpingly disappointing and consistently milquetoast set of songs riddled with lyrical banality, done-to-death melodies and wispily thin production.
  2. Oct 12, 2017
    30
    Younger Now is a hookless, joyless, profitable success.
  3. Oct 4, 2017
    50
    Where her past albums felt messy but painfully sincere, Younger Now comes off as safe and overly sanitized, with the frisson that made Cyrus a star all but entirely blasted away. ... Still, the album has some plainly good songs.