• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 995 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far.
  2. May 19, 2016
    10
    Ariana Grande's debut album is simply amazing. This album showcases Grande's strong voice and contains "catchy" pop songs infused with RnB. The Way and Piano are two amazing "bops", while Tattooed Heart, Baby I, Almost Is Never Enough lets Grande boast her powerful voice.
  3. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    An extremely underrated album. It's throwback but the tunes are catchy enough to keep it relevant today. Some of my personal favorites are Honeymoon Avenue, Tattooed Heart, and You Will Never Know. The Way is radio friendly but also shows off Grande's immense vocal ability. One of the best albums of the decade to be quite honest.
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    First off yes we get it she sounds like Mariah Carry. So don't even try to start your review with she can't sing.
    No she is no Demi Lovato but yes Yours Truly is better then DEMI.
    Baby I, Piano, The Way, Honeymoon Avenue, Lovin' It, Right There, Popular Song, Almost is Never Enough, Tattooed Heart, basically every song but Better Left Unsaid are great, Yes it can sound the same after a
    First off yes we get it she sounds like Mariah Carry. So don't even try to start your review with she can't sing.
    No she is no Demi Lovato but yes Yours Truly is better then DEMI.

    Baby I, Piano, The Way, Honeymoon Avenue, Lovin' It, Right There, Popular Song, Almost is Never Enough, Tattooed Heart, basically every song but Better Left Unsaid are great, Yes it can sound the same after a while, but that doesn't mean they get terrible after a while. If I had to name my top 10 albums of 2012. Yours Truly, will definitely be in there probably the top 5. She and Zendaya are 2 surprising delights of this year. Yes you need to by this.
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    Flawless, catchy beats set Ariana apart from all of her fellow similar-aged ex-teen competitors. Yours Truly comes together as we witness the rise of an A-class star.
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Ariana's debut album Yours Truly is truly impressive. From its incredible production to Ariana's strong vocals, this album is a winner. Personal favorite song: Honeymoon Avenue.
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    An amazing R&B album and a great debut for Nickelodeon star Ariana Grande. This is an album that you will replay over and over again, until get you get tired of it of course.
  8. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seu álbum debut é um R&B e pop viciantes. Soube fazer boas músicas, só não escolheu os melhores singles. Mas isso não tira a qualidade dessa obra-prima. Expand
  9. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Um dos trabalhos mais bem realizados por uma artista teen. Algumas faixas realmente deixam a desejar em quesito sonoridade, mas nada de tão inusitado. Dei minha nota, de acordo com a percepção que tive ao avaliar sonoramente cada faixa do "Yours Truly" e sua parte lírica. Em seu total, é um bom álbum bom para o tipo de música que temos hoje no mercado de jovens cantores internacionais.
  10. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    I really can not decide if that me or My Everything is the best album of Ariana, her voice can make any music be good, its simplicity makes this album it more special. Certainly a great album
    Highlights: Tattooed Heart and Better Left Unsaid
    Lows: Almost I Never Enough and Daydreamin'
  11. Sep 14, 2015
    10
    two words... **** great!! it's strong album with good songs and good vocals. she is the queen a goddess! i love her so much. i love that she is bringing r&b back.
  12. Sep 18, 2015
    10
    amooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo demais!!!!!
  13. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    PERFEITO SOCORRO QUE BÍBLIA MERECIA 100 ARIANA QUEEN OF POP PISOU HINARIO, BIBLIA TEEN, NÃO ESPERAVA MENOS DA ARIANA GRANDE. PERFEITO ALGUÉM DA 100 PRA ESSE ALBUM
  14. May 19, 2016
    10
    Ariana Grande is truly an amazing vocalist, and her debut album was just amazing. It deserves the acclaim it got and the success it had. My personal favorite is Honeymoon Avenue, and the smash hit The Way.
  15. May 20, 2016
    10
    This album is really amazing and one of her best albums is the greatest artist, her vocals are just really amazing and is the biggest ex-act ever, Ariana is rising.
  16. May 22, 2018
    8
    Despite few tracks, overall this album feels too good and professional to be a debut. It showcases Ariana's talent in the most exquisite way and makes you enjoy & feel the throwback in every single track. It's cohesive, exciting, warming and professional. One of the best debut albums of this decade.
  17. Sep 9, 2019
    9
    Truly one of the best albums of 2013. Not only the lyrics are magical but the melody makes this album unique in a way that just Ariana could do.
  18. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    Yours Truly is simply amazing. Ariana's incredible vocals capture you through every single song, hitting high notes with ease like Mariah Carey, and singing along to fun melodies and lyrics. The album has a lot of r&b and pop influences, which suit Ariana's soft voice amazingly. My favourite track on the album is the opener, Honeymoon Avenue, which is a song that tells the story of aYours Truly is simply amazing. Ariana's incredible vocals capture you through every single song, hitting high notes with ease like Mariah Carey, and singing along to fun melodies and lyrics. The album has a lot of r&b and pop influences, which suit Ariana's soft voice amazingly. My favourite track on the album is the opener, Honeymoon Avenue, which is a song that tells the story of a couple who's relationship turned sour after a while of being together. Ariana sings about how she wishes they could "go back to the way it was." Overall, the album is a masterpiece and I hope that as many people can listen to and enjoy it as much as I did. Expand
  19. Jan 2, 2019
    8
    Her 2nd best album after Dangerous Woman of course. Honeymoon Avenue, Daydreamin’, and The Way are hands down the best songs. Her voice is amazing.
  20. Jun 16, 2019
    8
    "On her debut album, Ariana Grande already shows her affinity with R & B style and her vocal potential without retracting her sweet and sweet style"
  21. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    An amazing debut album, I just listened to it again and wow. I'm so glad she has one like this, a full r&b one.
  22. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead of wasting that incredible voice on the bubblegum pop most people her age do nowadays, she decided to bring that late-90's urban/R&B/soul feeling back to the charts, and I think we're all grateful for that! And yes, her vocal-style and songs do remind me ofThis girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead of wasting that incredible voice on the bubblegum pop most people her age do nowadays, she decided to bring that late-90's urban/R&B/soul feeling back to the charts, and I think we're all grateful for that! And yes, her vocal-style and songs do remind me of Mariah sometimes, but do you guys really see that as a bad thing? Expand
  23. KED
    Sep 5, 2013
    7
    A fantastic debut album for a fresh new artist. She has the voice and it's all she needs. You'll Never Know, Tattooed Heart and Daydreamin' are the best songs while Piano, Popular Song (song by Mika where she's featured) and Better Left Unsaid are the weak points. The weakest point of the album is without a doubt the sound, almost every song sounds the same and it can get boring in a few listens.
  24. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Impressionante o poder desta menina de apenas 20 anos. O seu álbum de estreia vem cheio de músicas viciantes, fofas e dançantes. Com letras doces, adicionando a voz angelical da Ariana o CD torna-se conquistador. As participações de Big Sean, Mac Miller e Nathan Sykes são feitas sem alterar a essência do trabalho. Uma das coisas mais inteligentes que a Grande fez foi passar três anosImpressionante o poder desta menina de apenas 20 anos. O seu álbum de estreia vem cheio de músicas viciantes, fofas e dançantes. Com letras doces, adicionando a voz angelical da Ariana o CD torna-se conquistador. As participações de Big Sean, Mac Miller e Nathan Sykes são feitas sem alterar a essência do trabalho. Uma das coisas mais inteligentes que a Grande fez foi passar três anos trabalhando nessa obra prima, nenhuma crítica negativa deveria ser aceita neste material de excelente qualidade.

    No mais, um grande sucesso para a Ariana. Que o álbum venda bastante e que ela siga conquistando um grande público. Indicações ao Grammy tornam-se iminentes, e por quê não, vencer não verdade? Yours Truly, conquistando a cada ouvida. Recomendo!
    Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Ariana knows how to use her powerful voice, beautiful songs with beautiful melodies and an impeccable arrangement, she kills all teens singers, including Demi Lovato.
  26. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    I have heard a lot of albums this year and I have to say Yours Truly blew me away ...Hey this album is amazing you can hear a lot of instruments good melodies that sound of the 60`s and the most important a strong and Flawless Voice! I personally think Ariana is the revelation of the year She has to win a grammy for best new artist Ariana Grande you have all my respect and supportI have heard a lot of albums this year and I have to say Yours Truly blew me away ...Hey this album is amazing you can hear a lot of instruments good melodies that sound of the 60`s and the most important a strong and Flawless Voice! I personally think Ariana is the revelation of the year She has to win a grammy for best new artist Ariana Grande you have all my respect and support thanks for bringing real music back Expand
  27. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana fez um álbum espetacular e totalmente incrível. incrível ver como a menina de PYHU amadureceu e cresceu. A produção do álbum está impecável, assim como os vocais da Ariana.
  28. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Ariana's beautiful vocals help propel this album into being one of the best pop releases of the year with ease. Her song topics are limited, but nonetheless, that is far from a negative as she has mastered this area of music.
  29. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Este álbum debut de Ariana es sin dudas perfecto, un gran álbum con geniales canciones , entre ellas destaco ''The Way'' , ''Honeymoon Avenue'' , ''Daydreamin'' , ''Tattooed Heart'' , ''Piano'' , ''Baby I'' , ''Right There'' , ''Lovin It'' y la canción de MIKA ''Popular Song''. Perfecto.
  30. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Great album. Only bad songs are Popular Song and Almost Is Never Enough. Every other song is great. She's a much better singer than all of these other teen stars and she has a bright future ahead of her.
  31. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Amazing! I loved the songs: Honeymoon Avenue, Right There ft. Big Sean, Better Left Unsaid, Piano, Lovin' It, and You'll Never Know. I also liked Popular Song ft. Mika, Baby I, The Way, and Daydreamin'.
  32. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This girl is the bomb! Her debut album is a throwback to 90's RNB which I totally love, her voice aww dayum! I'm a 19 year old guy and I dig this! This is one of those albums where I like all of the tracks in it. It has that 50's vibe in songs like "Tattoed Heart" and "Daydreamin". The only one that is not the best but still good is "Popular Song" in my opinion. Overall, I totallyThis girl is the bomb! Her debut album is a throwback to 90's RNB which I totally love, her voice aww dayum! I'm a 19 year old guy and I dig this! This is one of those albums where I like all of the tracks in it. It has that 50's vibe in songs like "Tattoed Heart" and "Daydreamin". The only one that is not the best but still good is "Popular Song" in my opinion. Overall, I totally recommend this album. Don't judge her album that it might suck just because she's just one of those Nickelodeon teens, I judge her by that before and I was totally wrong! $10 well spent. I usually pirate songs but NOT this one. I can't wait for her next album! She's the one to watch! Expand
  33. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of 2013. Ariana has a pure and unique voice, that sounds perfect with the melody of the songs. She did a great job with Yours Truly.
  34. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    That's the real R&B right there. She's the most amazing thing that ever came out from Nickelodeon. A true masterpiece from a true singer. "Yours Truly" shows the true perfection from a 20 years old girl. She is just like a mix from Aaliyah and Mariah Carey.
  35. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Great Album, she has such a huge voice. The tracks are beautiful and well-written. Although The album has two bad songs (Piano and Better left unsaid), It's a good album. I'm going to buy, for sure!
  36. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Ariana Grande began his career now but anyone can not deny that she has the potential and talent to achieve a stable career, the songs from their first album has lyrics and sounds awesome and very well written, it is spectacular and essential to a young artist and if it continues reap good fruit in his career.
  37. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    Ariana's irresistible and heavenly sweet voice makes you forget the songwriting's crap to the ears and brain. But only for awhile. Anyhow, it's hard to complain about Ariana, since this her debut. But who knows? Her potential is simply unmatched, and we need a producer and a songwriter to harvest and use that.
  38. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    This album is flawless,this is my favorite album in 2013,Ariana showed the world that she is not that stupid little red hair by her amazing voice.This album brought R&B back ,even though this album flopped.But still an amazing album
  39. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to me, I don't know what to say, just feel. This album should be an inspiration to others, because they could never do anything like this. She's the best, I'm completely addicted to all the songs on this album, it really deserves all he could with the
    This is the best album of her! My favorite of all out there! I can not believe her powerful voice, is perfect!

    This album means a lot to me, I don't know what to say, just feel. This album should be an inspiration to others, because they could never do anything like this.

    She's the best, I'm completely addicted to all the songs on this album, it really deserves all he could with the album!

    Best ones: Honeymoon Avenue, Tattooed Heart, Lovin 'It, The Way and Better Left Unsaid.
    Expand
  40. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    Ariana Grande's debut album is my favorite album of all-time and she's my favorite artist of all-time, she really know how to use her incredible soprano voice and make us feel comfortable with your vocals, i love this album so much and she is awesome!/ O álbum de estreia de Ariana Grande é o meu álbum favorito de todos os tempos, ela é minha artista favorita de todos os tempos, sabe comoAriana Grande's debut album is my favorite album of all-time and she's my favorite artist of all-time, she really know how to use her incredible soprano voice and make us feel comfortable with your vocals, i love this album so much and she is awesome!/ O álbum de estreia de Ariana Grande é o meu álbum favorito de todos os tempos, ela é minha artista favorita de todos os tempos, sabe como usar sua incrível voz soprano e fazer-nos sentir confortáveis com seus vocais, eu amo esse álbum e ela é ótima! Expand
  41. Sep 7, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A strong powerful very inspirational voice!!!With some Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston's influences but with her unique style too Ariana shows that she deserves our attention!!! Expand
  42. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Your Truly is in my opinion quite possibly the best album of the year. It's nostalgic sound to the 90s and Grande's vocal is what get s to me. This album deserves Grammys and Grande deserve recognition.
  43. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    Ariana Grande has been a talent to watch this year as the 20 year old slowly fades away from Nickelodeon and works on her solo career, now most debut albums for former kid stars are hit or miss. Thankfully "Yours Truly" the debut album fro Grande proves to be a success with well written songs, great production value, and Outstanding Vocals from Grande herself. The album starts out with theAriana Grande has been a talent to watch this year as the 20 year old slowly fades away from Nickelodeon and works on her solo career, now most debut albums for former kid stars are hit or miss. Thankfully "Yours Truly" the debut album fro Grande proves to be a success with well written songs, great production value, and Outstanding Vocals from Grande herself. The album starts out with the single "Honeymoon Avenue" which has some similarities with Timberlake's opening track "Pusher Love Girl" mostly for it's Violin and Strings at the beginning. the first half is ballads that shine because Grande provides plenty of Depth to each track with her own signature style. The second half is more fun and meant to be taken lightly which is a different approach from most pop albums, but "Yours Truly" manages to pull off this scheme very well. There are a couple of problems, some songs in the middle drag on a little, also it's not a very thoughtful album, the messages here are mostly about young love, nothing more, nothing less. But still "Yours Truly" is one of the more enjoyable pop albums to come along in a while, and proves that Grande has the chops to pull everything off on her own. Expand
  44. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing, Ariana Grande is really talented. There's no way to compare her to any other teen artist, she's so superior, his music is so mature. I love it!
  45. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    An unexpected delight. Expectations were at low as possible seeing as how Ariana is a product of Nickelodeon. Each song is beautifully serenaded by Ariana Grande and superb voice. Ariana doesn't come off as another pop artist trying to whore her way through pop culture. Finally the world has a mature, respectable, and truly talented artist.
  46. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This girl is the bomb! Her debut album is a throwback to 90's RNB which I totally love, her voice aww dayum! I'm a 19 year old guy and I dig this! This is one of those albums where I like all of the tracks in it. It has that 50's vibe in songs like "Piano" and "Daydreamin". The only one that is not the best but still good is "Popular Song" in my opinion. Overall, I totally recommend thisThis girl is the bomb! Her debut album is a throwback to 90's RNB which I totally love, her voice aww dayum! I'm a 19 year old guy and I dig this! This is one of those albums where I like all of the tracks in it. It has that 50's vibe in songs like "Piano" and "Daydreamin". The only one that is not the best but still good is "Popular Song" in my opinion. Overall, I totally recommend this album. Don't judge her album that it might suck just because she's just one of those Nickelodeon teens, I judge her by that before and I was totally wrong, she gain my respect! $10 well spent. I usually pirate songs but NOT this one. I can't wait for her next album! She's the one to watch! New best artist of the year goes to her. Expand
  47. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    Beautiful debut album by Ariana Grande, her voice is flawless and the violins and various instruments give a certain depth to her music which you don't hear a lot of in pop anymore.
  48. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    A little work of art from beginning to end, Ariana takes this opportunity to show her voice, letf aside in her cancelled Nick show "Victorious", what makes me think she should cancel her current Nick show before it damages her singing career. The song are, in the most, very well written, like "Honeymoon Avenue", "Baby I and are enyojable, but the album could have been more enjoyableA little work of art from beginning to end, Ariana takes this opportunity to show her voice, letf aside in her cancelled Nick show "Victorious", what makes me think she should cancel her current Nick show before it damages her singing career. The song are, in the most, very well written, like "Honeymoon Avenue", "Baby I and are enyojable, but the album could have been more enjoyable without Big Sean interrupting the sequence with his shouts. Leaving some rapping moments aside, "Yours Truly" is an efficient and successful adult contemporary work, that revitalizes American pop music, while other people are clearly trying to destroy it. My opinion is that Ariana should get a Grammy nomination this year, and I'm not a man who exaggerates things. Expand
  49. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    MC.. I do't find her like MC at all.. but she got a MCish vocal ability Popular stands out as a fun duet a pretty decent ,likable effort She could easily pull off We Belong together( teenage version)
  50. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Yes, Ariana's cd deserves a 10, in my view, a soulful, fun, old school r&b cd, which is actually very rare to find in this day and age love to sing along to her songs, which are also beautifully composed the fact that she grew up ten miles away from where I was raised, in south Florida, is an added bonus, as well as the fact that she is a vegan and a dog lover love you, Ariana, and bestYes, Ariana's cd deserves a 10, in my view, a soulful, fun, old school r&b cd, which is actually very rare to find in this day and age love to sing along to her songs, which are also beautifully composed the fact that she grew up ten miles away from where I was raised, in south Florida, is an added bonus, as well as the fact that she is a vegan and a dog lover love you, Ariana, and best wishes for so much future success! Expand
  51. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns lançados em 2013, Ariana conhece o potencial vocal que tem e as músicas selecionadas para esse álbum exploram muito bem isso. Não por acaso, tem constantemente sido comparada a Mariah Carey.
  52. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Ariana Grande has a spectacular voice, which has a very high range (similar to Mariah Carey). All the songs are magical. Some are danceable while others are pleading ballads. Simply Amazing. This album is simply a gift, from Ariana truly.
  53. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Good vocals, good production, good music. Ariana just teached disney-stars how to do a good album without looking immature. She is likely to have a big career.
  54. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Does she perhaps use a bit too much Mariah C. influence? Probably. Still, she certainly does it justice with strong vocal performance throughout the album. Beats and hooks are consistently catchy and ear-grabbing, as Ariana seems to have mastered the ability to create hits. The features don't detract from the album, and even provide a nice shift in tone. Honestly, I don't think sheDoes she perhaps use a bit too much Mariah C. influence? Probably. Still, she certainly does it justice with strong vocal performance throughout the album. Beats and hooks are consistently catchy and ear-grabbing, as Ariana seems to have mastered the ability to create hits. The features don't detract from the album, and even provide a nice shift in tone. Honestly, I don't think she could have done any better with the style she chose for this project. It still feels like bubblegum pop at times, but her skill makes even the cheapest subject matter fun to listen to. Definitely recommend dis. Expand
  55. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    perfect,music trueeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  56. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    Her vocals on this album are flawless. Also, the throwback but fresh and new style makes it so easy and relaxing to listen to. Tattooed Heart is one of her best songs ever, as well as Lovin It and You'll Never Know. A dazzling debut from a powerhouse vocalist.
  57. Dec 13, 2015
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far.
  58. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Vocais, letras, melodias, produções ... um álbum de estréia exemplar Ariana como sempre entregando trabalhos com muita qualidade
  59. Jun 5, 2019
    9
    Very catchy and funny. One of her best albums ever. I love the way she sings. There's just one song that I don't like: popular song. But, I love the rest.
  60. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    el mejor álbum pop debut de todas las cantantes femeninas, grandiosa cantante
  61. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    A entrada inicial da princesa do pop na indústria musical... um marco na história da música
  62. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Letter clean, sounds just as can stir a crowd, also let us homes, just admiring the monstrous vocals that girl who still has much to learn. Understand the maturity mixed with innocence in his lyrics. All teen romantic mood is something to vague to her, since it is his strong voice. Hardly ever want to hear this stuff and totally new. Expand
  63. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    Glad she wasn't Miley Cyrus 2.0 with her debut album. It's like new Mariah Carey. Favorite songs: Tattooed Heart, Baby I, Almost Is Never Enought and Better Left Unsaid.
  64. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    Ariana Grande's debut album is unexpectedly amazing. The 90's pop/R&B vibe on it with her angelical voice made this album a big standout. "Yours Truly" it's just like a Mariah Carey album when she used to made great albuns.
  65. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely one of the best albums of the year. Yours truly for a first album is amazing. And by someone this young is impressive. What's amazing about this album is her voice. Ariana's voice is a gem to listen to and something you can't really find by singers these days. This is one of the best of the year because of that. Stand outs are the way, honeymoon avenue, and my favorite tattooed heart. The only reason why this Doesn't get the full ten is because only 2 songs popular song and you'll never know are the ones I don't like. Expand
  66. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    For years we have been tolerating debut albums with material lyrics, unoriginal music style and terrible live performances, and they become popular, then gradually forgotten. Pop songs are mostly just club-friendly with unchanging drums and similar lyrical content. These people are selling singles. No one cares about the quality of a whole album. With several pop songs reaching top of theFor years we have been tolerating debut albums with material lyrics, unoriginal music style and terrible live performances, and they become popular, then gradually forgotten. Pop songs are mostly just club-friendly with unchanging drums and similar lyrical content. These people are selling singles. No one cares about the quality of a whole album. With several pop songs reaching top of the charts, then you work is done. Congratulations to Rihanna and Katy Perry for that. When Mariah has number one hits in the 90's, at least Mariah has a golden voice and occasionally produced a great album like Daydream. It becomes rare to really enjoy a nice vocal performance from female artists these days.

    Finally we have Ariana to give us something fresh, classy and enjoyable. And the songs are memorable. The girls is selling an album, not singles. It is inevitable for people to compare Ariana to Mariah all the time. With the crazy vocals and Pop/R&B Diva-ish music style, Ariana is kind of what we all want as the new generation's Mariah Carey, without all the diva stuff. It will be interesting to see what Ariana Grande delivers us in the future. With the voice, the look and the heart she got, she'll go pretty far.
    Expand
  67. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    Yours Truly is a pleasurable experience: like seeing someone you've known for years in the street, or going to a birthday party like the ones you had as a kid, but with the exclusion of your drunk aunty. However, after a few days, do you still fervently recall it? The party? The friend? Be honest; you wouldn't. That exactly sums up my feelings towards Yours Truly, a confident,Yours Truly is a pleasurable experience: like seeing someone you've known for years in the street, or going to a birthday party like the ones you had as a kid, but with the exclusion of your drunk aunty. However, after a few days, do you still fervently recall it? The party? The friend? Be honest; you wouldn't. That exactly sums up my feelings towards Yours Truly, a confident, well-produced throwback to 90's R&B with a little bit of doo-wop thrown into the mix for good measure. Whilst there's a few standout songs there (The Way, Baby I, Piano), the rest are agreeable, but nothing special, album fillers. However, there's an immense amount of heart and soul in there: the fact that Grande and her producers have been tweaking and singing and writing the songs as if their very lives depended on it is very prevalent. It left us expecting a great sophomore album. That didn't necessarily happen, the heart and soul replaced with a newly found corporate sheen and the R&B rhythms gone, and EDM beats instead sitting in its place. Ariana Grande has a fantastic voice, but both her first and second albums didn't reach their full potential. Here's hoping third time lucky, but now she's a stratospheric pop princess with worldwide hits like Problem or Break Free, corporate moguls who like to suck the life out of everything may prevail. Expand
  68. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    All the songs in Ariana's album are great, filled with power and the whistles are fun to listen to. Overall, its a strong album. This is one of the best albums of the year.
  69. Jul 16, 2016
    9
    "Yours Truly" is a strong debut album from Ariana Grande. While I enjoyed the majority of the album, my personal favourites are "Baby I" (when she stumbles to put her love for a crush into words), "Tattooed Heart" (when she wants to be with a guy), and "Piano" (when she sings about wanting to make a song that makes people want to dance). However, the only song that doesn't work for me is"Yours Truly" is a strong debut album from Ariana Grande. While I enjoyed the majority of the album, my personal favourites are "Baby I" (when she stumbles to put her love for a crush into words), "Tattooed Heart" (when she wants to be with a guy), and "Piano" (when she sings about wanting to make a song that makes people want to dance). However, the only song that doesn't work for me is "Better Left Unsaid"; I appreciated the beginning, when it sounded like it was going to be a normal ballad, but then it turned into a dance track. Overall, "Yours Truly" is a wonderful album filled with R&B-fused potential hits. Expand
  70. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    This album was a decent debut for this girl. Shame her second album sucks donkey balls. She's succumbed to pressure to become like every other singer out there right now. Sad. I thought Yours Truly was a nice slice of R&B/pop though. Would recommend it.
  71. May 8, 2014
    10
    Espetacular! Ariana Grande sem dúvidas é mais nova estrela da música da geração atual. Além de ter uma voz quase inacreditável para uma garota tão nova, suas músicas são muito radiofônicas e agradáveis. "Yours Truly" é um grande album alá Mariah Carey.
  72. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Um dos melhores álbuns de estreia que já ouvi vindo de uma artista tão jovem. Sem prometer, esse álbum cumpriu todas as expectativas, músicas como "Tattoed Heart", "Right There" e "Honeymoon Avenue" são especiais e fascinantes, dá vontade de ouvir cada vez mais. Espero que para os próximos trabalhos a Ariana mantenha essa sonoridade gostosa como a do Yours Truly e não caia muito noUm dos melhores álbuns de estreia que já ouvi vindo de uma artista tão jovem. Sem prometer, esse álbum cumpriu todas as expectativas, músicas como "Tattoed Heart", "Right There" e "Honeymoon Avenue" são especiais e fascinantes, dá vontade de ouvir cada vez mais. Espero que para os próximos trabalhos a Ariana mantenha essa sonoridade gostosa como a do Yours Truly e não caia muito no mainstream. Expand
  73. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    After 1 F****** Year, I'm still in love with this album. The vocals and the instrumentals are incredible. I'll hope she does some day another album so great as this one.
  74. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    我曾极度抗拒此专,甚至觉得它是中国QQ音乐式网红系少女专辑,但当我偶然的听到“Honeymoon Avenue”后就彻底改观了。
    从这里(The Way)到蜜月大道(Honeymoon Avenue)用复古的基石去堆积着Ariana的少女情怀。
    “Honeymoon Avenue”是整张专辑的中心,它就好像巧克力一样,在嘴里融化,一层一层的渗透进你的身子骨里,让你无法自拔。 “Daydreamin”则好像少女在耳边讲故事一样唯妙唯俏。 “Tattooed Heart”运用了doo-wop元素,一步步将你带到了1954。 对于一个新秀来说能做出这么富有复古性、创造性的专辑实在不易,扣一分的原因是因为专辑里收录了与英伦鬼才Mika合作的“Popular
    我曾极度抗拒此专,甚至觉得它是中国QQ音乐式网红系少女专辑,但当我偶然的听到“Honeymoon Avenue”后就彻底改观了。
    从这里(The Way)到蜜月大道(Honeymoon Avenue)用复古的基石去堆积着Ariana的少女情怀。
    “Honeymoon Avenue”是整张专辑的中心,它就好像巧克力一样,在嘴里融化,一层一层的渗透进你的身子骨里,让你无法自拔。
    “Daydreamin”则好像少女在耳边讲故事一样唯妙唯俏。
    “Tattooed Heart”运用了doo-wop元素,一步步将你带到了1954。
    对于一个新秀来说能做出这么富有复古性、创造性的专辑实在不易,扣一分的原因是因为专辑里收录了与英伦鬼才Mika合作的“Popular Song”,据说收录这首只是公司为了推广两位旗下艺人所做出的商业行为,可是这一首歌不仅未能起到画龙点睛的作用,反而成了画蛇添足,不仅让《Your Truly》的整体性被破坏,还将整个专辑的level降低。
    当然,这依旧是一张好专辑,十分推荐你去听。
    Expand
  75. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    A spectacular debut by the young Nickelodeon star. People were really surprised by the vocals and content of the album. Haha at the people who thought Yours Truly was gonna be full of bubblegum pop and **** like other generic Disney / Nickelodeon stars. Her vocals are literally flawless, and the first three tracks are a great first impression. Tracks 11 and 12 (Popular Song and Better LeftA spectacular debut by the young Nickelodeon star. People were really surprised by the vocals and content of the album. Haha at the people who thought Yours Truly was gonna be full of bubblegum pop and **** like other generic Disney / Nickelodeon stars. Her vocals are literally flawless, and the first three tracks are a great first impression. Tracks 11 and 12 (Popular Song and Better Left Unsaid) seem a little out of place, but those minor missteps aside, this is one of the best debuts of 2013. Expand
  76. Nov 21, 2017
    9
    Arinana's debut album was spectacular. You would think that a nick star that's still pretty young would push out disgusting garbage that you'll never want to listen to after the first listen but surprisingly this album was an instant classic. It didn't have amazing lyrics but the beats of the songs were irresistible and the production was better than any pop album this year.
  77. Aug 6, 2020
    7
    O início de tudo, no qual vimos uma nova cantora nascer, e lembro quando ouvi pela primeira vez 'The Way' com Mac Miller, vi que lá tinha um artista em potencial, Yours Truly traz toda uma vibe R&B anos 90, que é uma das minhas preferidas eras.
    Faixas como 'You'll Never Know', 'The Way', 'Almost Is Never Enough' traz a Ariana em essência, voz é o nome dela, e mesmo e uma faixa meio
    O início de tudo, no qual vimos uma nova cantora nascer, e lembro quando ouvi pela primeira vez 'The Way' com Mac Miller, vi que lá tinha um artista em potencial, Yours Truly traz toda uma vibe R&B anos 90, que é uma das minhas preferidas eras.
    Faixas como 'You'll Never Know', 'The Way', 'Almost Is Never Enough' traz a Ariana em essência, voz é o nome dela, e mesmo e uma faixa meio bobinha com Mika 'Popular Song' mostra o quanto sua voz se adéqua no Pop assim como no R&B Romântico.

    Mesmo a mídia chamando ela como a 'Nova Mariah Carey', Yours Truly assim como em álbuns seguintes mostrou que ela não é mais um produto genérico e que se reinventa a cada trabalho, se variando a estilos como pop, r&b, trap, dance entre muitos outros, o início de uma grande carreira da Ariana 'Grande'
    Expand
  78. Jun 23, 2015
    9
    Amo esse album! Sdds,espero que seu próximo seja pelo menos parecido com esse

    Melhores música ''Honeymoon Avenue'' "Baby I'' ''Almost Is Never Enough'
  79. May 29, 2016
    10
    Even though it's her debut album, Ariana Grande demonstrates a great professionalism in each song. In the course of the album, the listener feels more captivated and thrilled, sharing the same feelings of the author. Besides, you can feel a great nostalgia,
    due its influences of the 90 's. Featured songs: "Honeymoon Avenue", "Tattooed Heart", "Better Left Unsaid", "Daydreamin" and "The Way".
  80. Aug 22, 2015
    10
    Ariana Grande is a great singer and this album is very good, with wonderful sounds and trails are beautiful
    Yours Truly is a fully quality album.
    It is an album that I will never get tired of listening
  81. Dec 6, 2015
    8
    I really love this album, I didn't think that a Nickelodeon actress could release an album with this quality. It's so sad that she changed her style and became comercial with ''My Everything''. Maybe she will change with Moonlight but I don't think so. Honeymoon Avenue is my favorite song of her..
  82. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário hinário
  83. Sep 30, 2015
    7
    Spectacularly catchy songs are the content of Ariana's debut, and the production is also top-notch albeit sometimes a tad bit too sweet and sugary. Grande's vocals are great and elevates her horrible lyricism into a more listenable state.

    This album is worth a purchase if you don't mind Ariana's terrible lyricism.
  84. Oct 10, 2015
    10
    rainha pisou, melhor album da carreira, maior nota teen no metacritic, só resta aceitar né moresssssss rainha teen é assim mesmo, pisa maisssssss dona
  85. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    É um álbum muito leve,e as músicas tem uma ótimo combinação e mostra muito bem as suas técnicas vocais..Ela deve continuar assim,é um álbum totalmente diferente das outras teens.
  86. Oct 17, 2015
    7
    henny owes me $10.99 for the cost of the new wig I have to buy from the weave store after the snatchedT me bald yasss queen album of the month. I had to take a couple points off for thaT. Good album otherwise.
  87. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    Amazing. Excellent. Brilliant. Super. Appealing. Grammy-Worthy. Incredible Vocals. High Notes On Point. Other Artists Would Never. Queen of Pop. Queen of Vocals.
  88. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    Ariana Grande is the voice of her generation and has such great talent for music. Her voice other than her vocal range, is beautiful most of the time throughout the album and the rest of the time is showcasing in singing abilities. Her tone is lovely and her songs are very hearted with meaning but has a lot of energy in other tunes too. It's something I don't really find on mainstream doneAriana Grande is the voice of her generation and has such great talent for music. Her voice other than her vocal range, is beautiful most of the time throughout the album and the rest of the time is showcasing in singing abilities. Her tone is lovely and her songs are very hearted with meaning but has a lot of energy in other tunes too. It's something I don't really find on mainstream done with such grace and balance, I feel very pleased listening to her variety of songs. It seems like very few people reviewed Ariana Grande's first album here. The initial excitement for her release is still there, even after My Everything era had a smashing success, the critically acclaimed Yours Truly might be the beloved favorite for her fans. And it might be her favorite too, because she is very identified with it, she wishes she lived in Honeymoon Avenue and has tattoed hearts on her body. This was a #1 album as well but the overall opinion was that she was very underlooked. She is the opposite now, a superstar viewed and regarded to high standards when it comes to about anything measurable that indicates success. She is considered a hit maker now but essentially Ariana Grande always wanted to make an R&B album, this will always be the foundation of her career, which I hope is very long lived. When people doubt her future or recent material, they can always check out Yours Truly, I think she could make anyone appreciate it and see how Ariana has a great place in music. As we can see she can be a full pop star or a very gifted R&B singer, there is no way she doesn't continue growing as an artist. And we can't settle for Yours Truly to be her best album. More great music please, Ariana. Come on Expand
  89. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    Melhor álbum da Ariana,a bicha lacra,a bicha fesha,vamos ver se com Dangerous Woman a viada vai superar o hinário que é o Yours Truly.
    ARIANA GRANDE EU ESCOLHI TE AMAR!
  90. May 20, 2016
    10
    Perfection. That's the best best way to describe this album, almost iconic, this is her best work, and i'm to see she went to Hollywood Arts to the top of the charts.
  91. Jul 3, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have to say that if you compare my everything and dangerous woman to this album you will see how much Ariana had grown. I have to admit that this album is my least favorite out of all her albums. The songs are ok and well written . I have to give it to her for those amazing vocals of hers. I am happy that she is growing into a huge artist and that her first album did quite well with the charts and also sales.
    My score:
    1. Honeymoon Avenue 7/10
    2. Baby I 7/10
    3. Right there ft Big Sean 8/10
    4. Tattooed heart 7/10
    5. Lovin' it 6/10
    6. Piano 8/10
    7. Daydreamin 7/10
    8. The way ft Mac miller 8/10
    9. You'll never know 7/10
    10. Almost is never enough ft Nathan Skyes 8/10
    11. Popular song (With Mika) 9/10
    12. Better left unsaid 7/10
    overall: 74
    Expand
  92. Jul 26, 2016
    10
    This Album Is Amazing It Truly Deserves My Rating. The Album Blends R&B And Pop In An Amazing Way. In My Opinion This Album Definitely Stands Out From Her Other 2 Albums.
  93. Dec 24, 2017
    9
    Her debut and best album. Her vocals are incredible. The lyrics are good. I love it
  94. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Ah, what an espectacular debut. It's a mix of pop and R&B that perfectly combines with her strong voice. The songs are also emotional and catchy, making at first an unforgettable record.
  95. Sep 9, 2016
    9
    *****New

    Honeymoon Avenue - 10
    Baby I - 9
    Right There - 9
    Tattooed Heart - 10
    Lovin' It - 7
    Piano - 8
    Daydreamin' - 9
    The Way - 10
    You'll Never Know - 10
    Almost Is Never Enough - 10
    Popular Song - 9
    Better Left Unsaid - 8

    Final Score - 9
  96. Sep 18, 2016
    10
    Es tan dulce e inocente, pero a la vez tiene un estilo de chica independiente que hace estallar con cada hit. Ariana tiene una voz tan peculiar, y con este debut logra destacar entre las artistas jóvenes más prometedoras de la década.
  97. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    It's really amazing how on her first album, Ariana Grande managed to show herself as a woman with a voice and who can excel in some voices of her generation. With an incredible voice, "Yours Truly" is an ingenious and cohesive work, without many artificial effects that sometimes spoil a good work. Ariana was beginning to follow a path of talent and intelligence in her way of doing music.
  98. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This isThis is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ This is one of the best albums that i heart, I rlly love this ♥ Expand
  99. Jun 6, 2017
    8
    This albums is so fun and spectacular. It is very rare to find a good debut album, however Miss Grande has shown that she is much more than being an actress with red hair on a Nickelodeon TV Show.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Yours Truly is more tempered and less likely to put you in a beaming state of catatonia.
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    A relatively safe debut where much of the takeaway is the salivating at Grande’s potential.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    65
    Yours Truly is a very safe record. Mostly written by two of R&B's most mawkish hawkers, Babyface and Harmony Samuels, it’s built on cliché and tradition, and written professionally to a fault.