'LEGO Star Wars Summer Vacation' Trailer Teases a Holiday in a Galaxy Far, Far Away

Watch a trailer for the 'LEGO Star Wars Summer Vacation' special ahead of its August premiere on Disney+.
by Danielle Turchiano — 

'LEGO Star Wars Summer Vacation'


Sometimes you have to take on the Dark Side, and sometimes even the Dark Side needs to take a break. Coming to DIsney+ on Aug. 5 is a new summer special titled LEGO Star Wars Summer Vacation, which follows the adventures of the latter. See how in a just-released trailer, below.

LEGO Star Wars Summer Vacation is set in the titular summer months after Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker and sees its characters looking for a break from taking on stormtroopers and TIE fighters. Therefore, a group including Finn (Omar MIller), Rey (Helen Sadler), Poe (Jake Green), Rose (Kelly Marie Tran), Chewie, BB-8, R2-D2, and C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) head out on a surprise vacation aboard the Halycon.

Unfortunately, it's not all fun, games, and naps in the sun, as Finn gets separated from his friends, and while trying to find his way back to them, he encounters three Force ghosts: Obi-Wan Kenobi (James Arnold Taylor), Anakin Skywalker (Matt Lanter), and Leia Organa (Shelby Young). They each share their own unexpected stories of vacations gone wrong, which helps him understand that holidays are about more than just having fun. 

The special also features the voices of "Weird Al" Yankovic, Yvette Nicole Brown, Thomas Lennon, Paul F. Tompkins, Dee Bradley Baker, Ashly Burch, Kyliegh Curran, Trevor Devall, Allie Feder, Ross Marquand, Kevin Michael Richardson, Matt Sloan, Billy Dee Williams, and Matthew Wood.

It is the latest entry in the cross-branded storytelling series that began with LEGO Star Wars Holiday Special in November 2020. This new entry in the franchise nods at that star by having some of its LEGO versions of characters don holiday sweaters, despite the warmer weather.

The special comes from writer and executive producer David Shayne and director Ken Cunningham. James Waugh, Josh Rimes, Jacqui Lopez, Jill Wilfert, Jason Cosler, Keith Malone, and Jennifer Twiner Mccarron also serve as executive producers. It was produced in collaboration with Atomic Cartoons.