Netflix Releases David E. Kelley's 'The Lincoln Lawyer' Adaptation Trailer

Manuel Garcia-Rulfo stars as the eponymous character in Netflix's adaptation of Michael Connelly's 'The Brass Verdict' novel.
by Danielle Turchiano — 

'The Lincoln Lawyer'


Michael Connelly's literary hero Mickey Haller inherits a law practice, including the trial of a public figure accused of murdering his wife and her boyfriend in Netflix's series adaptation of The Lincoln Lawyer. Is he up for the task? You can decide for yourself after watching the trailer for the 10 episode series, below.

"Success is all about momentum," Mickey (played here by Manuel Garcia-Rulfo) says in the trailer. "In court, before you can win, you've got to believe you can win."

And if you don't? "You better fake it 'til you make it," he continues.

Mickey gets the titular nickname because he works out of his car as he travels around Los Angeles, taking on a number of cases. The first season is based on the second book in Connelly's The Lincoln Lawyer series, titled The Brass Verdict, and that includes the case. Christopher Gorham plays the alleged murderer, named Trevor Elliott in the show. (He is Walter Elliott in the book.) Mickey's personal life will also be a focus in the season, specifically his relationship with his ex-wife Maggie (played by Neve Campbell) and their teenage daughter Hayley (Krista Warner), and his ex-wife and office manager Lorna (Becki Newton).

Mickey has to adjust to his new way of life, including wanting to get back together with Maggie, who isn't so sure about that; working alongside Lorna, who brings her Pug to work; and working on Trevor's case, which puts him in danger as he uncovers more to the story than what the media has seized on thus far.

The Lincoln Lawyer was previously adapted as a 2011 feature film, but this version was created for television by David E. Kelley, who executive produces alongside showrunner Ted Humphrey, Connelly, Ross Fineman, Barry Jossen, and Tana Jamieson. The series also stars Angus Sampson, Jazz Raycole, Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine, Jamie McShane, Michael Graziadei, LisaGay Hamilton, and Reggie Lee. It hails from A+E Studios and launches all 10 episodes at once on May 13.