• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
Season #: 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 537 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 21, 2016
    0
    this completely ruined american horror story, i am so stunned at how far they crossed the line. completely mental and rude and unnecessary. i loved the previous ones but seeing this is horrible, nothing like what american horror story used to be. i say never ever will recommend this show again after this
  2. Dec 3, 2015
    1
    I used to love all of these TV series but i think this one took it too far. I miss Jessica Lange and her as a character - she was never fully sexualized but sometimes played a "risque" character. Now that Lady Gaga took her role, I feel like they've exposed and sexualized her (maybe because of her age?) I stopped watching these series because I was tired of all the orgies that were inI used to love all of these TV series but i think this one took it too far. I miss Jessica Lange and her as a character - she was never fully sexualized but sometimes played a "risque" character. Now that Lady Gaga took her role, I feel like they've exposed and sexualized her (maybe because of her age?) I stopped watching these series because I was tired of all the orgies that were in every single episode. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2016
    2
    I can't believe I made more than halfway through this season. I finally had to stop due to the convoluted plots, dull characters, clichés, horrible acting, and repetitive orgy scenes w/ Lady Gaga. They were more annoying than shocking. I swear...if I have to see Lady Gaga's ass one more time! The series is nothing without Jessica Lange and if she doesn't return to the show neither will I.
  4. Oct 9, 2016
    0
    Couldn't finish it.
    Lady Gaga ruined it for me.
    Her acting skills were horrible and I can't believe she's in next season too.
    Such a shame Jessica Lange is out.
  5. Apr 10, 2016
    1
    Definitely the worst AHS ever. Last episode is something between ridiculous and embarassing. A good cast can't keep up a terrible screenplay. We'd like to have some quality in here too, instead we're treated like trash audience.
  6. Oct 18, 2015
    1
    All spectacle and no substance. This season of AHS is just dreadful. There is no decent plotline, and there is no character that anyone would care about. It's impossible to tell what is going on. This season aims to ape the style of The Shining without any of the strong acting of Jack Nicholson or the skillful direction of Stanley Kubrick.
    Lady Gaga may be the worst of it all. She's a
    All spectacle and no substance. This season of AHS is just dreadful. There is no decent plotline, and there is no character that anyone would care about. It's impossible to tell what is going on. This season aims to ape the style of The Shining without any of the strong acting of Jack Nicholson or the skillful direction of Stanley Kubrick.
    Lady Gaga may be the worst of it all. She's a God-awful "actress" and is so bad as to be distracting when she is on screen.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2015
    2
    Disappointing bore of a show. Bad acting and uninspired writing. Evan Peters sounds like someone in high school drama doing a bad English accent. Without Jessica Lange, this show is a skeleton of its former self. Stupid vampire tired theme and Lady Gaga's acting can't carry this show the way Jessica Lange did. Gaga just poses and wears fancy outfits -- no emotional compelling actingDisappointing bore of a show. Bad acting and uninspired writing. Evan Peters sounds like someone in high school drama doing a bad English accent. Without Jessica Lange, this show is a skeleton of its former self. Stupid vampire tired theme and Lady Gaga's acting can't carry this show the way Jessica Lange did. Gaga just poses and wears fancy outfits -- no emotional compelling acting ability. Almost laughable that they are throwing every single horror theme into the script without any believability. The lead actors look very similar to one another, as noted in other reviews. Pretty boys with Ken Doll looks with equally plastic lack of acting ability -- perfectly coiffed and blow-dried hair styles. Sad. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    Can Lady Gaga act? Absolutely NOT! This woman spends her entire career trying to 'channel' someone else. Its painful to watch. The only thing possibly harder to believe this go round is Bomer as a straight man who would ever have any interest in Gaga's character. This series certainly benefitted from the TALENT of Jessican Lange. She is greatly missed.
  9. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    I've just finished watching season premiere of AHS: Hotel.. All I can say is that I'm beyond disappointed.. I've realized that a whole show was built around Jessica Lange and now with her absence they're just going with the cheapest shots and fads...The script is very weak and it lacks the thrill of previous seasons.. When it comes to cast, you can clearly feel they're not excited norI've just finished watching season premiere of AHS: Hotel.. All I can say is that I'm beyond disappointed.. I've realized that a whole show was built around Jessica Lange and now with her absence they're just going with the cheapest shots and fads...The script is very weak and it lacks the thrill of previous seasons.. When it comes to cast, you can clearly feel they're not excited nor engaged in their roles...Kathy Bates and Sarah Paulson were only highlight of the show, although they have done better in the past... and when it comes to Lady GaGa, new addition to the cast, well, I wasn't expecting much from artist or ''actress'' like her so I can't say I was disappointed by her weak performance, laughable at certain times, may I add...Since her first scene I felt there is something wrong...Usually, when it comes to pop stars playing in movies or TV shows, it's hard to focus on character they play and not their own persona... But that didn't happen this time... Something worse... I felt like I was watching....Madonna...impersonator of Madonna...If I wanted to watch some kind of drag show I will watch Rupaul...Madonna isn't acclaimed actress but that didn't stop GaGa from channeling her and her style... I don't think that was the right platform for it....Ryan Murphy needs to step the game up a bit because this latest effort from him is very tacky in every aspect... Was it entertaining? Yes, but not in the way they intended to be..It all just feels, um, reductive, and that's not good, in case if you don't know by now... as some might say: Another day, another slay? Well.., not so much.... Expand
  10. Oct 30, 2015
    0
    I'm in agreement with RetroATRL; filling the great Jessica Lange's absence with the likes of Lady Gaga has completely ruined one of my favorite TV shows. Although Evan Peters, Sarah Paulson, Denis O'Hare and Kathy Bates are still on the top of their game as always; I just couldn't get past how incredibly weak Lady Gaga's act is. For that reason and the way all the attention is placed onI'm in agreement with RetroATRL; filling the great Jessica Lange's absence with the likes of Lady Gaga has completely ruined one of my favorite TV shows. Although Evan Peters, Sarah Paulson, Denis O'Hare and Kathy Bates are still on the top of their game as always; I just couldn't get past how incredibly weak Lady Gaga's act is. For that reason and the way all the attention is placed on her character, I never made it through the second episode before hitting the "delete series" button. What a disappointment that FX has chosen the path of so many shows that ultimately fail to deliver. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2015
    0
    This show has just become a joke.
    All of the positive reviews have been plagiarized from other sources just copy and paste into a google search and see for your self,
    Unreal I have told metacritic staff about this abuse and they do nothing. Meta critic is a joke.
  12. Oct 12, 2015
    3
    The best iterations of "AHS" have had compelling characters, ideas, and scares. I've watched the first two episodes, at least, of all the iterations, but only stuck with the whole thing three out of four seasons. Based on the overly strange and sado-sexual nature of the pilot, "Hotel" won't be one of them. It was gross, and not in a chilling and creepy way. It was over the top and gross,The best iterations of "AHS" have had compelling characters, ideas, and scares. I've watched the first two episodes, at least, of all the iterations, but only stuck with the whole thing three out of four seasons. Based on the overly strange and sado-sexual nature of the pilot, "Hotel" won't be one of them. It was gross, and not in a chilling and creepy way. It was over the top and gross, which isn't interesting to me. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved "Freaks", but this installment lacked a real story and character building. It was all style and no content. AND GRATUITOUSLY GROSS. Spoiler Alert: Innocent gay guy gets raped with a sharp metal **** within the first 30 minutes and dies screaming while another female character softly orders him to tell her he loves her. That's just ONE scene. The hour is packed with them and there is no rhyme or reason. They should use that **** on the writer for wasting the time of the audience and the actors on this show. Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2015
    0
    Wow after two great seasons and two ok ones I was expecting more from this show but it was extremely disappointing. The characters weren't as interesting and Lady Gaga was terrible in the little we saw of her. I don't think I will be watching this season even though I'm a great fan of the show.
  15. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    The show suffers greatly from being so gaga focused and no Jessica Lange. gaga cannot act despite what her liddo monsters fuming on a bottom infested forum might say. P.S. Anticipating, MimiLamb, RoarG0Dnow on atrl xox
  16. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    I was unsure of Lady Gaga because she is a pop artist, but I thought I would give it a shot anyway, this is one of my all time favorite shows. It was just what I expected. The whole episode was a joke! I feel the episode was a fashion show mixed with an adult film called the bad acting of Lady Gaga. They really jumped the shark, way to sell out! Very dissatisfied.
  17. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    Lady Gaga delivers a weak, uninspired performance, masked by a nauseating sex scene meant to shock the audience. Gaga's casting on the show came as a surprise; her insipid, unrefined performance did not. The cast of AHS is usually impressive, but with a weak link. This year, the weakest link is Lady Gaga. New viewers be cautioned, AHS has its bright moments so don't let Gaga's dying starLady Gaga delivers a weak, uninspired performance, masked by a nauseating sex scene meant to shock the audience. Gaga's casting on the show came as a surprise; her insipid, unrefined performance did not. The cast of AHS is usually impressive, but with a weak link. This year, the weakest link is Lady Gaga. New viewers be cautioned, AHS has its bright moments so don't let Gaga's dying star and painfully cringe-worthy performance repel you from the show. Expand
  18. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    You'd expect with that awful pop star Lady GaGa now part of this show, this would start shaping up to be the worst season yet, right? Well....you're right.
  19. Oct 9, 2016
    0
    This show is just trash. I liked it the first season, and loved it second season, but it has gone downhill ever since. There are genuinely cool horror shows like the Exorcist on Fox, and Stranger Things, that have fresh, fun take on the genre. This has become completely boring. Too bad, because some of the actors, like Catherine Bates, and Even Petersen are really wonderful. Too much SarahThis show is just trash. I liked it the first season, and loved it second season, but it has gone downhill ever since. There are genuinely cool horror shows like the Exorcist on Fox, and Stranger Things, that have fresh, fun take on the genre. This has become completely boring. Too bad, because some of the actors, like Catherine Bates, and Even Petersen are really wonderful. Too much Sarah Paulson, too much politically correct moral, not enough suspence, not enough of anything really, plus the dramatization makes it so we know they all survived, which adds yet another boredom layer. Expand
  20. Apr 18, 2017
    2
    How anybody can like this season is beyond me. It's not scary, it relies heavily on sex and partial nudity, the acting is horrible, the story is boring, and Lady Gaga is not that good of an actress.
  21. Oct 9, 2016
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh boy where to start

    Cons: Worst season by far. The story is all other the place and it fells like a lot of talented writers got only one day to write an episode that's what it fells like. The way Queenie is in this season and how she died is the stupidest **** I have ever see on TV. The first episode is a mess and is badly written it's just a mess. The twist the worst twist I have seen.

    Pros: I'm found of the charters I think these charters show be in other season like sally. Liz, iris, James, Elizabeth, Tristan no **** Tristan. I like the set it fells like this hotel is alive. The acting is amazing it's one of the best thing about all the seasons. The three episodes Devil's night, Room service, and Flicker are amazing and the only episodes wroth watching.

    Checking In  3/10
    Chutes and Ladders  5/10
    Mommy  7/10
    Devil's Night  9/10
    Room Service 8/10
    Room 33 6/10
    Flicker 10/10
    The Ten Commandments Killer 3/10
    She Wants Revenge 4/10
    She Gets Revenge 4/10
    Battle Royale 2/10
     Be Our Guest  6/10
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Spencer Kornhaber
    Oct 8, 2015
    70
    If this all sounds immensely convoluted and sadistic, well, welcome to American Horror Story. But there’s reason to hope that this will be among the better messes the show has served up.... Hotel’s premiere returned to the frightening essentials--death, desire, and property deeds.
  2. Although the first episode runs for a bloated 90 minutes, it provides only scant hints of a main plot thread.... So once again, I'm confronted with an AHS season that appears to be more gross than engrossing. Alas, I may not be able to check out of the Hotel Cortez, but at least I can change the channel.
  3. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Oct 7, 2015
    58
    Aside from the always sterling production design--there is one audacious sign of hope in this otherwise trite Hotel.... I wouldn't go so far as to say Gaga's talent adds much to the proceedings, but her presence--and the manner in which its captured — certainly does.