Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 19, 2022
    100
    They're real people with real problems in an all-too-real world. "As We See It," in other words, is the perfect Katims show. Best TV newcomer of the new year so far.
  2. Reviewed by: Whitney Friedlander
    Jan 19, 2022
    92
    It isn’t just the plot of As We See It that makes this show an important part of the conversation: it’s the look and feel of it.
  3. Reviewed by: Elly Belle
    Jan 20, 2022
    91
    The show exceeds expectations, thanks in part to casting real-life autistic leads who are able to show how they experience their greatest stressors and overwhelming pleasures.
  4. Reviewed by: Jade Budowski
    Jan 21, 2022
    90
    As We See It may occasionally veer towards the saccharine, but its big heart, outstanding central trio, and wonderful supporting cast make it must-see TV.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 21, 2022
    90
    Best known for "Friday Night Lights," producer Jason Katims has crafted another small coming-of-age gem with As We See It, adapting an Israeli series about a trio of 20-somethings on the autism spectrum, trying to find purpose and independence. Heartbreaking and touching in its central characters' vulnerability, this Amazon series deserves to be seen and celebrated.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 20, 2022
    88
    This is that rare gem of a series that will have you laughing out loud one moment and choking up the next. It is brilliant television.
  7. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 27, 2022
    80
    Endearing. ... It takes a village, and this is one worth visiting. [31 Jan - 13 Feb 2022, p.5]
  8. Reviewed by: Rebecca Nicholson
    Jan 21, 2022
    80
    Yes, it can be a little sweet at times, but it is so generous and genuine that it is hard to judge it for that. As fans of Friday Night Lights may well already know: clear eyes, full heart, can’t lose.
  9. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jan 21, 2022
    80
    “As We See It” follows in the Katims tradition of heartfelt family drama. It’s a lot to ask of a show to handle all the above [to let people on the autism spectrum be at the centers of their own stories, and to tell those stories with the kind of care they’re otherwise rarely afforded on TV] with both sensitivity and a clear eye for narrative, but Katims and company continually find a way to thread this particularly tricky needle.
  10. Reviewed by: Liam Mathews
    Jan 20, 2022
    80
    As We See It is an authentic and respectful look at the lives of neurodiverse people and their loved ones that's life-affirming and tear-jerking.
  11. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Jan 20, 2022
    80
    Overall, “As We See It” is sensitive, moving and reliably funny, if a tad too reliant on comic relief involving Jack and Violet’s lack of tact. The performances are seamless across the board.
  12. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 20, 2022
    80
    Overall this is a confident show that knows its power without landing on the sappy side of sentimental.
  13. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 19, 2022
    80
    As We See It finds a good balance between when it wants you to laugh and when it hopes you’re going to cry a little. Never for a second do you forget that the show is trying to make you have, as the kids say, all the feels, but the pandering and mawkishness are kept to a minimum.
  14. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jan 19, 2022
    80
    The struggle is real, but as we pick up early on, the remedies are not just about the autistic dealing with themselves. It's about the rest of the world dealing with their autism—something that provides the net in a show that, by definition, is walking a comedic high wire. ... "As We See It" probably won't shock anyone with the decision-making contained therein, but the seemingly knotty problems faced by its extraordinary characters are, upon reflection, not so uncommon.
  15. Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    Jan 21, 2022
    75
    Katims is gonna Katims, and the showrunner instills just enough acidity into his earnest brew to make the sweetness palatable.
  16. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 19, 2022
    70
    As We See It gently and smartly suggests that Jack, Violet, and Harrison’s lives, and their problems, are just as normal and messy as everyone else’s, even as they’re just as unique as any other human being is from one another.
  17. Reviewed by: Kristen Lopez
    Jan 20, 2022
    58
    “As We See It” has the potential to show their autistic cast’s true perspectives, but the writing certainly needs to be more reflective of a neurodivergent POV. Pien, Rutecki, and Glassman are great, as is Bacon, but if you’re at all on the spectrum and/or a disabled viewer, expect a lot of treacle that’s not meant to make you feel seen.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 22, 2022
    10
    Fantastic series, its story really drags you into this authentic interesting story of a few characters life.