Season #: 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 10, 2016
    83
    With season 2, everything feels much more in balance, and much more confidently its own thing, rather than a tentative adaptation figuring itself out through trial and error.
  2. Mar 14, 2016
    80
    If you want a solidly executed version of the [cop drama] form--or just enjoy a good detective novel--then Bosch season two should do the trick.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Lowman
    Mar 11, 2016
    80
    Bosch is a welcome change of pace from the many procedurals on the networks, especially those that overwhelm their stories with technological jargon. Amazon’s 10-epsiode series is perfect to binge on, a long, involving mystery in which the detective still does leg work.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 11, 2016
    80
    Bosch is a fine piece of TV work, one of the best examples of how to take what works on tightly-formatted network crime shows and supplement it with some of the looser freedoms of pay-cable crime series.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    Mar 11, 2016
    75
    Granted, the dialogue can occasionally feel a bit forced and the core characters are very much grounded in a different era of police perception, but neither are marked hindrances to what makes the Amazon drama worth watching. It's still all about Harry Bosch. Now, he's just getting more to chew on.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 9, 2016
    70
    It’s highly satisfying but not often exciting. The producers, many with roots in European television, have gone for a modest tone and a slow-burn narrative that can feel more admirable than addictive.
  7. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 3, 2016
    70
    Harry Bosch knows who he is, and it's a pleasure getting to know him better. [7-10 Mar 2016, p.19]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 66
  2. Negative: 2 out of 66
  1. Mar 14, 2016
    10
    Season two kicks off, more or less, 6 months after Harry comes back from suspension/leave/hiatus...it's a clever device to use becauseSeason two kicks off, more or less, 6 months after Harry comes back from suspension/leave/hiatus...it's a clever device to use because basically they don't need to explain at all what he did for the last 6 months; leave it up to our imaginations. And just like that, the season kicks into gear with an unexplained murder up on Mulholland Drive. The rest you need to watch to find out more.

    Since I reviewed the last season, I'm not going to retread anything I said there, instead let me focus on the new Harry Bosch. Well, much like the character himself, he's a man lost in time; or as he says "I still haven't figured out the last century yet..." This captures both the mood and the pace of this crime show. It's a slow burn, in the vain of the Maltese Falcon or even Michael Mann's "Thief." Either way do not expect an explosion a minute or endless car chases, this is a crime drama with many knots to unwind and some are more interconnected than others.

    I have to praise the writers and actors for doing such a great job on the second time through, what could have been a total hash considering the high expectations Bosch fans had from last season. Everything is top notch. While I didn't finish the series in a weekend, like last time, I did finish it in under a week. Which is the only bad thing I can say about this series: wish it was longer than 10 episodes. I know thats a quibble, which is why I still gave it a ten, but would have liked to see maybe a 15 episode run.

    Can't miss with this season.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2016
    8
    Better than season 1, which (IMO) went downhill after the first few epis.) Much more to work with here, including better supporting threads,Better than season 1, which (IMO) went downhill after the first few epis.) Much more to work with here, including better supporting threads, Plus, a great ensemble performance that takes much of the weight off Welliver's shoulders. I mean, Bosch the cop is fun to watch but we need some variety too. Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    I'm not sure why I like Bosch, because in general I don't watch much TV and in particular rarely a police procedural. Whether it's theI'm not sure why I like Bosch, because in general I don't watch much TV and in particular rarely a police procedural. Whether it's the excessive violence, the comical one liners, the solve it in one episode, the special powers / insight, or the witty quick hit repartee, all of the shows I see in TV are such a turn off.

    I like how Bosch takes the season to solve the main case, allowing for various sub plots and other cases to play out. I enjoy the twists and turns and surprises -- sometimes I have to pause and think about how a new revelation changes my perception of a character's previous behavior -- what was their hidden agenda and was it in character and consistent.

    I like how the conversation doesn't always flow smoothly -- some people think of this as bad writing or direction -- but I see it as more realistic. People aren't always ready with a quick response. Sometimes people say or do things that don't make sense or are mistakes. There is a sense of dread as the season progresses.

    I read that this was picked up for seasons 3 and 4, and I'm looking forward to watching more. As other reviewers have written, it's a page-turner.
    Full Review »