• Network: Apple TV+
  • Series Premiere Date: May 29, 2020
Season #: 2, 1
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 27, 2020
    100
    Apple TV’s “Central Park” is a glorious gift for comedy and musical fans and, well, everyone. ... It’s the best show on Apple TV by some stretch, and one of the best shows of 2020 anywhere. I can’t wait to see more.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew Crump
    Oct 5, 2020
    91
    There’s joy in the music, aided by the bright elastic animation, and a sense of purpose, too: “Central Park” openly defies, with tongue in cheek and a skip in its step, billionaire culture, arguing that it’s the duty of the people to stand up against their culturally smothering cupidity.
  3. Reviewed by: Gregory Lawrence
    May 15, 2020
    91
    Its jokes are rat-a-tat yet unpredictable, its characters are quick to understand yet ever-deepening, its performances are delightful, its animation is crisply fluid, and its songs? Wowee, its songs. They get you right in the heart upon first listen, and I promise you the first listen will not be your last listen. Simply put: Central Park is a knockout.
  4. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    May 29, 2020
    90
    Central Park is funny and warm, and has songs that will stick in your head.
  5. Reviewed by: Ben Travers
    May 29, 2020
    83
    There’s a lot of potential within an already streamlined package, even if it’s threatening to burst open at any minute. So long as the season settles into a groove and manages to avoid overwhelming itself, “Central Park” looks to be a worthy successor to a landmark sitcom — even if there’s still room for improvement along the way.
  6. Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    May 15, 2020
    83
    Creators Loren Bouchard, Nora Smith (Bob’s Burgers), and Josh Gad (Frozen) apply brainy, Broadway-style whimsy to the daily dramas of life. The result is a show that has a good heart, and you can dance to it, too.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    May 28, 2020
    80
    Setting up the long game slows down the first episode, but the series builds in the four episodes screened for critics, powered by goofy, good-hearted humor. It has ideas and ideals, but it wears them lightly and keeps the messages to a minimum.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 27, 2020
    80
    Central Park‘s songs are so infectious that the show’s areas for improvement were really only apparent well after I’d stopped watching each episode.
  9. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    May 27, 2020
    80
    As an animated family comedy, Central Park is pleasant, amiable and sometimes funny, but probably not hugely impactful. As a musical, Central Park is something wonderful, a joyful and elating experience almost guaranteed to put a smile on your face at a moment when pure pleasure is a welcome salve.
  10. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    May 19, 2020
    80
    A delightful animated comedy. ... There’s nothing preachy about the show, which is just as raunchy as Burgers.
  11. 70
    Central Park is ultimately a fairly simple show about a family of strange, sweet people who are all trying to do their best in the world. But it’s also got a hefty amount of associated premise — probably more premise than is strictly necessary — and at times seems to trip over its own silly, ornate trappings. With some time to work out the kinks, though, it has the potential to become an extremely endearing show.
  12. Reviewed by: Shannon Miller
    May 22, 2020
    67
    Once Bouchard and company finally strike that ideal balance between music and dialogue, this series has the potential to morph into a truly momentous experience.
  13. Reviewed by: Josh Spiegel
    May 27, 2020
    58
    The good news for anyone familiar with Bob’s Burgers is that it also stumbled in its short first season. There’s every chance that Central Park can get funnier. (When the show was announced, Apple TV+ picked it up for two 13-episode seasons.) But the first four episodes only prove that the pieces for a good show are present. The good show has yet to arrive.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Jul 17, 2021
    9
    The musical numbers are really fun, and Mitzy just steals the show every time she's onscreen.
  2. Jul 10, 2020
    9
    excellent ! if you like Bob's Burgers, you'll like this. the key is that it is a pleasant and unoffensive place to go for a little bit. thisexcellent ! if you like Bob's Burgers, you'll like this. the key is that it is a pleasant and unoffensive place to go for a little bit. this show (and BB) bring so much joy and peace to my life for 30 min a week. the songs really aren't something i love but if you go with it they can grow on you. i only started watched because of whats-her-name leaving and i support that but will be sad to see the show end. stanley tucci is the standout here, i would watch a spinoff just of him. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2020
    5
    Meh. There's a few good parts, but I feel the characters are mostly flat and boring. Most of the "funny" parts miss the mark. I hope season 2Meh. There's a few good parts, but I feel the characters are mostly flat and boring. Most of the "funny" parts miss the mark. I hope season 2 is better. Full Review »