The CW | Release Date: October 14, 2018
3.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
2
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Review this TV Series
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
JuliannaSingerMay 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some things are better left untouched. The 2018-2019 show Charmed is no match for the masterpiece the 1998-2006 Charmed. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
1
BattamJun 2, 2019
I am surprised this show is not canceled yet. It doesn't come close to comparing to the original. The show is so hardcore politically written that if you're not a staunch liberal you won't enjoy it. Really wanted to like this show, but ifI am surprised this show is not canceled yet. It doesn't come close to comparing to the original. The show is so hardcore politically written that if you're not a staunch liberal you won't enjoy it. Really wanted to like this show, but if you're not a part of The intersectional crowd, it's not possible. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
3
witchmoviefanMay 28, 2019
I was constantly taken out of the show by very poor acting skills. Sarah jeffery was great, but Madeleine and Melonie are in need of some acting classes, maybe. I hope they can recover next season!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
3
AndreVMMay 31, 2019
Halfway through Season One, I've watched every charmed episode seasons 1-8 minimum 4x each. This remake is without a doubt a good try, and could've been 1000x better. Acting is beyond horrendous, the "Charmed" ones are basically a bunch ofHalfway through Season One, I've watched every charmed episode seasons 1-8 minimum 4x each. This remake is without a doubt a good try, and could've been 1000x better. Acting is beyond horrendous, the "Charmed" ones are basically a bunch of little crybaby witches with the mind of 12 year olds, except the Prue wannabe maybe. Scenes in this show actually make me want to stop watching because of how horrible the snide ugly and horrible actors. Notably perhaps the whitelighter emanating Leo was the best actor out of the lot. Only reason I keep watching is for the nostalgia, If you want a real show you can watch for months try the original Charmed... if you want some newage horrible acting with some iphone apps thrown in, go for it. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
2
LintlickerJun 10, 2019
I watched the original with my cousin when we were kids, it's was decent, you could get into it. This reboot is like BuzzFeed and Huffington Post created a show to use all their favorite phrases. Basically, men bad, women walk on water. TheyI watched the original with my cousin when we were kids, it's was decent, you could get into it. This reboot is like BuzzFeed and Huffington Post created a show to use all their favorite phrases. Basically, men bad, women walk on water. They just throw in a dash of the supernatural to feel like there's a story. It's pop culture projectile vomit. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
2
tonyrayesOct 4, 2019
I am a huge fan of Charmed but this reboot the story is good a new perspective (we cannot say it is related to the original since totally different ways for the whitelighter or elders...), but the acting is so lame and with all due respectsI am a huge fan of Charmed but this reboot the story is good a new perspective (we cannot say it is related to the original since totally different ways for the whitelighter or elders...), but the acting is so lame and with all due respects actresses should take more classes or the directors since we cannot only blame the actors Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
1
AllukardOct 12, 2019
Worst tv reboot ever. 100% sexist show which justifies all men. If I would live in America, I would already go to court. If you want a politcorrect propaganda in fantasy theme - this is your choice, if you want a good show - seek somewhereWorst tv reboot ever. 100% sexist show which justifies all men. If I would live in America, I would already go to court. If you want a politcorrect propaganda in fantasy theme - this is your choice, if you want a good show - seek somewhere else, if you are a white male - unite to protect your rights! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
1
dumbotjejenOct 13, 2019
i could not watch it al the way through. as soon as i saw how thay changed the withliters and elders i got mad. they cant make something thats supose to be in the same world and then go and change it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
BibbiAnnieOct 16, 2019
This reboot has none of the heart, charm and warmth of the original Charmed TV series which premiered in 1998 and ran for 8 seasons and had much higher ratings than the reboot. Would have preferred seeing the children of the Halliwell sistersThis reboot has none of the heart, charm and warmth of the original Charmed TV series which premiered in 1998 and ran for 8 seasons and had much higher ratings than the reboot. Would have preferred seeing the children of the Halliwell sisters in a Charmed continuation series with guest appearances from the actresses who played the Halliwell sisters. Their white lighter reminds me more of a wizard from Harry Potter than a white lighter. Everything also seems rushed in the episodes and all over the place. You know right away who is the villain. There is no suspense. The original Charmed series in 1998 had better special effects than the reboot. In the original series you had well thought out plots, excellent acting, believable characters as sisters and as witches, suspense, excitement and magic and well thought out spells too. Tried giving this show a chance after watching some of the episodes. Don't find this series has any originality and seems more to me like a rip-off of the original(and far superior) Charmed TV series. Have the original Charmed series on DVD and prefer watching it instead. Have watched some excellent TV series that involve magic and this reboot sure isn't one of them. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
SabValNov 18, 2019
Sadly this reboot is not worth watching. I was really looking forward to a new charmed. This has a stuffy, annoying white lighter with 3 over the top 'woke' sisters making the dialogue stilted and the plots boring. There's nothing to relateSadly this reboot is not worth watching. I was really looking forward to a new charmed. This has a stuffy, annoying white lighter with 3 over the top 'woke' sisters making the dialogue stilted and the plots boring. There's nothing to relate to in this unless Twitter is literally your entire life (super sad if that's where the viewers are at). It's Identity Politics on steroids with no real issues or worse, it makes real issues look silly and like some kind of parody. Really, really bad. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Ashley4realMay 20, 2019
Grossly over political. I myself did not really know what the guys around me meant by it being sexist until todays episode..the finale..she called him a cis male in a derogatory way..jusy for existing as a man...now i get it. This show made aGrossly over political. I myself did not really know what the guys around me meant by it being sexist until todays episode..the finale..she called him a cis male in a derogatory way..jusy for existing as a man...now i get it. This show made a clearly non black female pretend to struggle on what it means to be black..are u serious? If i was black id burn your studio down..shut the hell up..it butchered and killed the original..which was almost indistructable...but they did. Destroy it..almost impossibly..crazy poor writing..me and a chimp could do better while we both masturbate..come on...fire this writer! It is utter butchery and poor casting..today the crying was so fake i turned the channel and im done for good..no more loyalty for old charmed u killed it..fully...crap writing and even worse actors..horrid..not charmed...charmed ...MAYBE....after it was FARTED OUT..AT BEST....chewed up and Unwatchable...appalling..e elders are gone and charmed in cjarge? Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
StephGarzoneMay 14, 2019
I loved the old charmed....but I LOVE these new characters and this reboot. Love the diversity on the show and the story line, how everything connects. The bond between the characters I absolutely love! The show has me watching every Sunday,I loved the old charmed....but I LOVE these new characters and this reboot. Love the diversity on the show and the story line, how everything connects. The bond between the characters I absolutely love! The show has me watching every Sunday, always looking forward to what's going to happen next. The 3 charmed ones, their performance is great! Excited to see what happens with Macy :-) Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1May 25, 2019
The Charmed reboot is about about three sisters, including a half-sister who the two didn't even know about up to now, whose mother is killed and they discover they're witches. I've got to be honest, I found the first season of this to beThe Charmed reboot is about about three sisters, including a half-sister who the two didn't even know about up to now, whose mother is killed and they discover they're witches. I've got to be honest, I found the first season of this to be stronger than the entire original show put together.

This show did a delightfully strong job of introducing a universe with multiple characters and organizations. There is an interesting balance of humor and more dramatic story beats and reveals. Plot points never feel drawn out. I felt the finale, which while having a strong main plot, did try to tie up too many loose ends, too quickly. Though in fairness, that is probably because they didn't know if they'd get a second season, yet. It's frustrating when a show has a cliffhanger and then cancelled, so props to the showrunners for not taking chances.

I liked all three leads, though I think it took the writers about a third of the way through to find the voice for middle sister Mel (Melonie Diaz). A lot of dialogue in general took a little while to find itself. The show tackles activist subject matter, which really works in some episodes, but a lot of early dialogue on the matter felt too hamfisted and unnatural. The show also has a surprisingly strong and abundant supporting cast for a first season. Though I felt a few of the villains didn't fare so well in the character department, again dialogue.

Though the show is a little campy at times, which let's be honest so was the original, I found it to be one of the more engaging shows this year.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
ScottNAtlanta1Nov 10, 2019
For all the scores that are 1 or zero...why are you still watching if its so bad. I think its really good and the second season has much better writing. People cant just watch, they have to down vote something they probably never even watched.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ricki01May 20, 2019
Amazing! I did feel though, they killed off to many important people within its first season. Like the elders, the source and the sarcana. I just want to see more magic being learned. Their powers evolving. Them learning more on how to beAmazing! I did feel though, they killed off to many important people within its first season. Like the elders, the source and the sarcana. I just want to see more magic being learned. Their powers evolving. Them learning more on how to be witches. Using more spells and creating spells of their own. More of a history of their powers. Apart from that, this is an awesome reboot and I feel season 2 will be 10x better. I am living for this new charmed. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
MatbgoodJun 12, 2019
This show reminded me of watching a good episode of Charmed or Buffy back in the day, and I never once felt that watching the Sabrina reboot. Sabrina has the production value and the acting chops but about half of the heart of this show. TheThis show reminded me of watching a good episode of Charmed or Buffy back in the day, and I never once felt that watching the Sabrina reboot. Sabrina has the production value and the acting chops but about half of the heart of this show. The drama and the humor of the Charmed reboot doesn't rely solely on mundane teenage boy-girl drama. Give it a shot if other witchy shows have left you disappointed! Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
10
KayraeJun 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is better than the first and it is the most interesting show I've ever watched I can't believe she was raised from the dead and is part demon in Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
Mish876Feb 22, 2020
I really love the new Charmed It’s a bit different, but it’s 21st Century I am here for it!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
JohnMCouchOct 21, 2019
I still can't figure out what this show is about. Is it about 3 sister witches or about today's political and social issues? The last episode was essentially about degrading men and having safe spaces. What does that have to do with being a witch?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AyrinJan 31, 2021
It has nothing to do with the original and that's what's amazing about it. There are three beautiful WOC representing the charmed ones, there's a good amount of representation and it's not only based on "oh you are LGBTQIA that's your plot"It has nothing to do with the original and that's what's amazing about it. There are three beautiful WOC representing the charmed ones, there's a good amount of representation and it's not only based on "oh you are LGBTQIA that's your plot" or "you are POC that's it". There's a nice balance of activism and fiction and they both mingle together pretty well. I'm super excited about season 3 and I hope we get more insight into their lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LindaRavzFeb 26, 2021
The plot is good, but the actress is not. I play so-so. Smart horo plays, frivolous overplays, and the lesbian does not finish playing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
stifftwigOct 15, 2020
Four episodes into the first season I decided this was not worth my time. While I understand this is a different time and a different set of sisters, supernatural is still supernatural, syfy still syfy. I don't watch entertainmentFour episodes into the first season I decided this was not worth my time. While I understand this is a different time and a different set of sisters, supernatural is still supernatural, syfy still syfy. I don't watch entertainment television for preachy lessons in politics and socialogical issues. That's why we have news, talk shows and reality shows. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TeamalvaradoNov 16, 2020
They act really bad, and everything is about that they are 3 stronger women that can libre wirthout mens, that is fine and very actual but what is about the Magic ? definetely I prefer the originals of charmed, at least they act good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews