Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 31, 2015
    80
    Thanks to winning performances by Cameron, Chenoweth and others, it's a flick the family can sit down and enjoy.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Isabella Biedenharn
    Jul 27, 2015
    75
    It's no High School Musical, but the songs are catchy, and the junior villains are worth rooting for. [31 Jul 2015, p.55]
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 29, 2015
    70
    Granted, one might wish the focus tilted a bit more heavily toward the adults--Kristin Chenoweth as Maleficent steals every scene she’s in--or that the second half wasn’t as heavily padded. Still, the songs are clever, the look is sumptuous, and the idea is so good it goes down easy even if the broth’s a trifle undercooked.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Jul 29, 2015
    50
    The rather flimsy story is strung together by musical numbers--some stronger than others.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 27, 2015
    40
    The dull Descendants.... just seems like a widget--albeit an occasionally cute, harmless widget--churned out by the Disney machine.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Jan 17, 2017
    7
    I'm personally not that big on musicals, because they don't have plot and they usually think that by singing a miserable song everything willI'm personally not that big on musicals, because they don't have plot and they usually think that by singing a miserable song everything will be alright so most of the times I put them a low score. But when I saw Descendants, my first impression was the contrary. Disney had a very well intention to recreate the next generation of villains, which at this point it works. Maybe its intention was to demonstrate villains have heartfelt and they are not like its parents. A huge positive review were the songs, which honestly I liked them (well most of them). So overall imagine me giving it a positive review, although it's a musical. I think it's a very entertaining movie BUT JUST FOR kids and for teenagers (70%) Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2015
    3
    Everyone likes this movie. Ugh.
    Negative:
    Well for me, I personally hate disney channel. Its so cliched. First off, why did they make
    Everyone likes this movie. Ugh.
    Negative:

    Well for me, I personally hate disney channel. Its so cliched. First off, why did they make Cruella black? huh? That was a weird mix up there. I mean, I know you try to make disney racially diverse, but come ON. If you want some ethnic diversity, STOP whitewashing your films and adding 2 or 3 ethnic characters in the mix. Another thing that got on my nerves was Mulans "hair fix up" scene. She has this chinese girl bowlcut, then they change it to some long europeanish hair. I see what your sayin there. And, why is the King named King Beast? His name is ADAM. From the second the movie started, you knew the Ben boy was going to be with Mal. We know there just going to join the good side. We know all of that. She seemed cool in the beginning, a sly girl with a spark of rebellion. Then, the stupid be yourself thing is thrown out the window, and she ultimatley changes to some sweet girl. Heck, she even gets in a princess dress! And that AWFUL rendition of "Be Our Guest" is so phoned in. And did I mention that the kings crown looks awfully plastic?
    Postive:
    I like the costumes. And I like the song "Evil like me" Other than that, it's a stupid teen bopper movie.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2015
    10
    I loved this Disney movie and I watched it 200 times each day of the week you should watch it. it is amazing to watch it is for all agesI loved this Disney movie and I watched it 200 times each day of the week you should watch it. it is amazing to watch it is for all ages except for babies and tattlers. Full Review »