• Network: Hulu
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 31, 2019
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Steven Scaife
    Jul 24, 2019
    38
    Jettisoning the film’s narrow focus on social gatherings doesn’t free up the series so much as leave it unmoored, a muddled spiderweb of relationships that only occasionally manifests some moving development. ... But the most galling thing about this new Four Weddings and a Funeral is how downright unimaginative the rest of it is.
  2. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 1, 2019
    30
    Even if you're a sucker for rom-com cliches--declarations of love in the pouring rain, check--this cloying and clumsy rehash may harden your heart. [5- 18 Aug 2019, p.11]
  3. Reviewed by: Margaret Lyons
    Jul 30, 2019
    30
    Dreary and predictable. ... I would not want to sit with any of the characters in this adaptation. Everyone is either lousy or boring or both. ... The show is a strange misfire at every level. The self-conscious references to other rom-coms make it seem even worse in comparison.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 29, 2019
    30
    The mood they [co-creators Mindy Kaling and Matt Warburton] are going for in this poorly conceived and surprisingly clumsy series version eludes their grasp, no matter that Curtis himself is credited as a producer.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 29, 2019
    30
    The series starts off in a boggle and never really resets, flitting around trying to find both tone and purpose. Any ties to the film are…remote.
  6. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Jul 24, 2019
    30
    The lack of novelty wouldn’t be a problem if the team behind this reboot had managed to recreate the witty, propulsive feel of the movie. Instead, episodes get bogged down in the friends’ daily lives, providing more mundane backstory than any Four Weddings fan could want. The dialogue is rough; instead of tapping into the literary sensibilities of British comedy, Kaling and co. exploit the London backdrop for broad stereotypes about upper-class and (more egregiously) low-income English people alike.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. UBD
    Aug 12, 2019
    10
    I didn't think I would like this since I am not a rom com person, but I like how it finds space to make fun of rom com tropes while stillI didn't think I would like this since I am not a rom com person, but I like how it finds space to make fun of rom com tropes while still leaning into them a bit. Hard to describe, it is a fun, easy and lighthearted watch. Definitely check it out if you want something to relax and pop on. Full Review »