HBO | Air Date: May 5, 2019
2.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 529 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
94
Mixed:
59
Negative:
376
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this TV Episode
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
SouruinMay 6, 2019
There is no words to describe how bad is this episode........................
20 of 20 users found this helpful200
All this user's reviews
1
ZofuzMay 7, 2019
I have a feeling we’re not in Westeros anymore, but the worst part is that I have a real bad feeling about the last 2 episodes yet to come.
17 of 17 users found this helpful170
All this user's reviews
0
Jglousa210May 5, 2019
Well that was the biggest snore fest ever. 2 years for these garbage episodes? Absolute disgrace to an incredible series.
20 of 23 users found this helpful203
All this user's reviews
2
Daliman13May 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's see, between the silly shipping of Brienne and Jamie, the fast-travel/invisible sneak/exceptionally convenient finding of both Lannister boys together/zero loyalty/super bolt-loading skills of Bronn, the most accurate ballistae shots in history, benefited by dragons that don't look around and Deus Ex Machina Euron, terrible battle plans, borderline personality Danaerys, Tyrion thinking Cersei might be redeemable and logical, Cersei not only declining to save half a Riverrun by having Tyrion killed by her guards but also declining to kill, oh, ALMOST EVERYONE THAT COULD REALLY HURT HER WHO IS STANDING ONLY 200 YARDS AWAY, yet she needlessly has Missandei killed to enflame said people,I was quite vexed by this episode. Also, last week they **** had Lyanna Mormont stab an Undead giant in the eye, yet they didn't have enough in the budget to have Jon tell Ghost he was a good boy while patting him on the head at least? This show has been limping into the finish since the source material ran out, and that's being kind. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
0
Geingo007May 6, 2019
If I had to write all the problems and the bad writing on this episode it would be the size of a ASOIAF book.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
2
KalaharidemonMay 10, 2019
Yeah, is everything ok? Incredibly weak writing, bad character arcs and lack of direction. This is genuinely sad
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
Joker_371May 6, 2019
I dont know why the really want to destroy all the characters of thais show
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
CodexMay 10, 2019
This show has stopped making sense, characters are no longer act like themselves and everyone's brainless. I can't believe this is what the show has turned into
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Cristy576May 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything that was done for this season... Every prophecy and clever ideas put in by R. R Martin just to have incompetent writers defecate on. Everything... In the end for nothing. Dumb & Dumber managed to ruin one of the best show ever just before the finish line. All those prophecies and things that were developing in the end were for nothing as they were not even used for a purpose. It might have been salvageable if they waited for the books to be finished or dedicate the entire season to the night king battle, while at the same time depicting very slowly but surely Daenerys as a villain, as they wanted to, or simply pick another route. And then! Only then dedicate another season to end all of it properly... Danny's character destroyed.. freeing so many people, breaker of chains, after liberating slaves for nothing. What the actual f-? There is a petition to remake it all but I doubt it will happen (i'd really be glad if it did). Season started well, but after episode 1 it was just a free fall without a parachute. I feel bad for all the actors, engineers, artists and crew members who worked really really hard to deliver an astonishing thing visually, audio wise, fx wise and acting wise but which were ultimately went down the **** hole because of some stupid writers. The crew and actors deserve an 11/10 all day everyday (which is why this is a 1/10 and not a 0/10)... the **** writers? (negative) -10/10. [SEASON FINALE SPOILERS BELOW] Jon Snow, true heir and king to the Iron Throne, king in the north and king beyond the wall. That's how it should have ended. Either him on the throne or nobody. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
pjtaylor2011May 8, 2019
It was rushed...I don't understand the decision to cut the length of the last 2 series. Ok they bust the budget on a couple of episodes...But if you've spent the money on 6 episodes....You can surely get more money to make 10 episodes...Don'tIt was rushed...I don't understand the decision to cut the length of the last 2 series. Ok they bust the budget on a couple of episodes...But if you've spent the money on 6 episodes....You can surely get more money to make 10 episodes...Don't they pay for themselves per episode? There were some good moments...I liked the exchange with Qyburn and Tyrion, and Tyrion and Varys. But maybe its my own expectations, and the disappointment of my favourite series finishing, but the episode left me cold. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KhalSanchoMay 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ruined..After this episode I gather that Jon Snow and Night King are pretty much nobody's... Why have the NK if hes just gonna go out like that.. Theres just waay too much wrong with the episode I dont even want to talk about it...SHAME SHAME SHAME on the whole season and D&D Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
InnerMay 11, 2019
Winter is short and full of errors. I've seen Lost & Dexter but this show takes it to the whole new levels of self sabotage.This episode is the worst! What a letdown and disappointment! At this point i just want it to be over rather thanWinter is short and full of errors. I've seen Lost & Dexter but this show takes it to the whole new levels of self sabotage.This episode is the worst! What a letdown and disappointment! At this point i just want it to be over rather than expecting what it might be offering next. Explain how a horde of zombies only attacks the front not 360 and they only lose 50% of the army? The night king could have just reanimate the dead without exposing himself to danger. How Dany KINDA FORGOT about the iron fleet?! How accurate that the consecutive shots at the dragon without missing BUT when Dany rushes in and they fired so many shots and missed, the god damn plot armor. THEY SPENT 3 YEARS WRITING THIS PIECE OF GODDDAMN FLUSH-DOWN-IN-THE-TOILET SCRIPT and this wonderful saga of a series just died, alongside with my hope of any of the episodes left. I don't care all the main characters die now with all the stupid decisions that i can already predict. Glad this is the final season. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
PapucheteMay 19, 2019
No words for the poor writing and the destruction of 7 seasons of building good characters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
YL333May 6, 2019
It just keeps getting worse.
The protagonists seem to lose IQ points with every episode. Frustrating to watch the show that used to be the smartest on the air.
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
2
Volrath316May 6, 2019
I always try to remember that this is D&D's version of the story. That said the story is rushed, some character development are utterly undone, C.W. level of drama and "shock" value of a 10 year old hiding behind a curtain not realizing theirI always try to remember that this is D&D's version of the story. That said the story is rushed, some character development are utterly undone, C.W. level of drama and "shock" value of a 10 year old hiding behind a curtain not realizing their feet are showing. disappointing writing but great visual. Expand
13 of 15 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
0
BramsterdamMay 6, 2019
OMG this show is so bad now! I think a 10 year old is in charge of the writing... I cant think of a single good thing to say about this show anymore.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
5
Greenwood0May 5, 2019
The writing for this episode is the worst it's been. The cinematic scenes help forgetting it.
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
2
sourmilokoMay 8, 2019
This last episode was about the worst episode of the worst season of Game of Thrones, including the horrible sand snakes or unnecessary Ramsey Bolton storyline. Uron killing a fully adult dragon with a Harpoon from thousands of feet whileThis last episode was about the worst episode of the worst season of Game of Thrones, including the horrible sand snakes or unnecessary Ramsey Bolton storyline. Uron killing a fully adult dragon with a Harpoon from thousands of feet while hidden, while rocking.... Not believable, alongside the fact that Drogon had been hit with a similar harpoon and barley penetrated his natural dragon scale armor, which in ALL fanatsy is I've of the hardest armors known to man or magic... The wiring is plain bad now. I barely care what happens now aside from everyone burning alive with Danny laughing over the ashes. Though I'm sure they kill her off so that stupid John can rule the kingdoms for five seconds before getting assassinated due to his ignorance Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
2
maxwelltlawsMay 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is happening to this show? The writing is terrible. How could Dany and her 2 dragons not see the ships? How could the ships hit Rhaegal 3x in a row from such a distance? Why would Dany bring all her troops and her dragon in front of Kings Landing when there is a bunch of scorpions locked in on her and her dragon? Why wouldn't Cersei kill them? She's literally the most ruthless person on the show. Why would Jaime come back to Cersei? She literally threatened to kill him last time, furthermore, Cersei is actively trying to kill Tyrion (who Jaime is supposed to care for). Expand
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
0
daclutch65May 6, 2019
This was an absolute disgrace of an episode. Episode 3 was mediocre but this was just absolutely ass
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
DawidIzydorMay 8, 2019
This show has so much plot holes right now. Most of the character actions are now illogical.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
SkillJamMay 8, 2019
Everyone is acting out of character, everyone is acting really stupid, fake conflicts without good reason. Dumb and dumber totally buried this show.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
gameoftrashMay 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. D&D: Dany forgot about Euron's fleet.
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA ARE YOU **** KIDDING.
and Ghost deserves better. Shouldn't have blown all your budget on the pitch black winterfall battle we can't even see should you?
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
Costs1129May 5, 2019
We are down to the last few episodes of the series. When does the heroe's journey show us the atonement and return of the good guys in superior form? The heroes are just as dumb, squabbling, and clueless as ever. It's like they are setting upWe are down to the last few episodes of the series. When does the heroe's journey show us the atonement and return of the good guys in superior form? The heroes are just as dumb, squabbling, and clueless as ever. It's like they are setting up a new season. Why? Where's the trick up the sleeve or the illusion to a grander plan to stop losing? It seems like a lose-lose slog fest to the end and who is interested in seeing that as a wrap-up over 8 years? Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
macky11May 7, 2019
D&D writing for GoT is a clear-cut example of Jewish nepotism and affirmative action. Evidently, the most qualified individual(s) to write what was left of the show were never candidates to begin with. What was once excellently-writtenD&D writing for GoT is a clear-cut example of Jewish nepotism and affirmative action. Evidently, the most qualified individual(s) to write what was left of the show were never candidates to begin with. What was once excellently-written entertainment has succumb to being a room-temperature IQ soap opera at the whim of Hollywood's corporate masters in an attempt to appeal to as a great a ratings volume as it can. The same can be said for JJ Abrams and the mess that is the new Star Wars trilogy. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
addict-insaneMay 12, 2019
"Jon Snow: A caramel macchiatto, please, my name is Jon. Sansa, working at starbucks: Caramel Machiatto, For AEGON F****NG TARGARYEN!!!!!!!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
NameoMay 8, 2019
Can't be any worse!! Absolutely abysmal!!! I don't know what I just watched, Game of Thrones, or Game of Stupidity..
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
quanquanvnMay 19, 2019
Reckless treatmen from writers . A lot of plot holes. They ruined the show.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
galjakMay 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst episode so far nothing happens. Misandei is represented as super important character Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Ewan143May 11, 2019
This episode completely ruined 7 seasons worth of character development and was plagued by start to finish with lazy writing
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Greg_pontesMay 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Coerence is dead.
Ghost Ships???!
D and D ruined the show by using lack of consistency and always wanting to surprise us in ways that are just dumb.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
G3BABMay 12, 2019
Scene with Bronn was awful and disappointing and Rhaegal death was idiotic.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Season8May 22, 2019
How is it possible for the show to suddenly be this bad? I’m so confused.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondMay 5, 2019
It's a good episode, but it gives me the feeling that this is not nearing the end of an 8-season show. Feels like we're just getting warmed up for 2 or 3 more seasons. Instead, we get 2 more eps? I'm sensing an unsatisfying finish.
3 of 19 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
10
jl85May 5, 2019
People need to stop being butthurt about plot developments and reviewing bombing a incredible show. Just enjoy the ride and stop whining like little kids.
11 of 85 users found this helpful1174
All this user's reviews
9
Harimau87May 7, 2019
Take out a Starbucks cup and this is as near to perfect as an episode of television can get!
2 of 17 users found this helpful215
All this user's reviews
9
FelicityFenwickMay 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved it! Can't wait to see the current and future queens go at it. Can't quite tell if Cersei was feigning tears when Tyrion was appealing to her, or if that was all just bait. Interesting use of the Uroboros - beheading the innocent young lady - a call out to beheading Ned Stark in Season 1. Both in King's Landing... Expand
2 of 23 users found this helpful221
All this user's reviews
7
TelgouMay 8, 2019
Great comedy 7/10
I loved the quirky comical conversation between jaime, bronn and tyrion. The comical last words line "Dracarys" said by missandei.
I really loved the Tormund lines too
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
MandalaMay 16, 2019
This is a weak episode. How the scenes are presented from one to the next isn't logical or even distantly-plausible. Nothing in this episode adds up. It's just a series of random images. Poorly designed and carried out. And it's like the showThis is a weak episode. How the scenes are presented from one to the next isn't logical or even distantly-plausible. Nothing in this episode adds up. It's just a series of random images. Poorly designed and carried out. And it's like the show producers declaring that they have nothing meaningful to say. They're lost as to what to do with the show.

This last season is a joke like Star Wars Episode VIII, and it's going to be historical TV meme'd like "jump the shark" is. Shows that crash and burn like GoT has in its final season are going to be said of, "it's been Game of Throned".

Why did the producers and writers not recognize their own lack of ability to do a proper job with the show, and find other people who were more capable?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
kman5473May 6, 2019
It is incredible how far off the mark the makers of this show are now. It's like it's a team of bro-y HBO corporat execs sitting around a conference room going, "How do we conclude the greatest fantasy series of all time? Oh, by the way we'reIt is incredible how far off the mark the makers of this show are now. It's like it's a team of bro-y HBO corporat execs sitting around a conference room going, "How do we conclude the greatest fantasy series of all time? Oh, by the way we're only giving ourselves a week to write each episode." Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Unbelievably bad considering the source material. Shame on every single person who was given any responsibility in writing this season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Qgal5kapMay 15, 2019
This was bad in so many ways. Not only regarding the darkness, and how stupid that was, considering the show is distributed via streaming, and thus incurring compression degradation. The fight from a military perspective was bad, troopThis was bad in so many ways. Not only regarding the darkness, and how stupid that was, considering the show is distributed via streaming, and thus incurring compression degradation. The fight from a military perspective was bad, troop placement and strategy wise. I could go on but this was just wrong in so many ways... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ericcarlMay 9, 2019
I said "wait, what???" And "c'mooooonnn" too much. Very frustrating episode.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
eli_fjrAug 19, 2019
Sadness encompassed in a single ep. The series deserved a steady and epic ending. This aint it chief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AbendrotMay 21, 2019
Nothing made sense in the end. All the character arches destroyed. All the big questions were left unanswered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
javiermusic01Nov 4, 2019
I thought this was the worst episode of the history of GOT, untill i saw ep 5 and 6.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TLJstillsucksMay 13, 2019
8 seasons for it to be over in 1 episode by a flying monkey from downtown. Right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alko2000May 8, 2019
Excellent episode! Intrigues, shocking scenes, good costumes! Also I love Lena Headey and her acting, I wish there was more of her in this ep, can’t wait for next Sunday!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Heber31May 12, 2019
a good episode, but with some mistakes involving the caracters and the story
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DanyellaMay 12, 2019
Roteiro horrível! ...........................o final não é agridoce, é agribosta!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bab978May 12, 2019
it's only a 4 because episode 5 was so bad. Nothing made sense at all. Literally time travel?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GiuliaSMay 13, 2019
I liked the first two episodes, I would have eventually gotten over my perplexity about episode 3, but episode 4 is xenophobic, misogynist, intolerant, narrow-minded, conniving, and honestly totally moronic! I was so excited for season 8, andI liked the first two episodes, I would have eventually gotten over my perplexity about episode 3, but episode 4 is xenophobic, misogynist, intolerant, narrow-minded, conniving, and honestly totally moronic! I was so excited for season 8, and I was actually (stupidly) thinking that after the great battle, they would finally get over their differences ("we find our true friends on the battlefield" does it ring a bell? No? Thought so...), but apparently drama for the sake of drama, and shock element are more important than coherent character development, actually a little bit of common sense would have been enough, but even that was too much to ask, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
StarlightlovesMay 13, 2019
Complete trash. As lazy as lazy gets. Even the production is lazy! A **** Starbucks In the show?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jcool4646May 13, 2019
This season as a whole has been sh*t but this episode was the peak of sh*t mountain
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Dome020397May 13, 2019
Poor Story. Hope George RR Martins Books are better. Stay tuned the next 2 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HodgeoMay 14, 2019
Better than 3 but WHAT honestly it’s just subversion for the sake of subversion! NO PLOT NO STORY NO NOTHING
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cmaxsterMay 15, 2019
You know.. one of the things I loved about George R.R. Martin's books was that he wasn't afraid to take his story to dark and grim places, and murder main characters, in service of plot. He never did anything simply because the fans wouldYou know.. one of the things I loved about George R.R. Martin's books was that he wasn't afraid to take his story to dark and grim places, and murder main characters, in service of plot. He never did anything simply because the fans would like to see it, he never let the fans write his books for him. The last couple episodes feel so uneven to me, and driven by a desire to please the fans. "Look at the wonderful relationships these characters have developed, watch them reminisce pointlessly over and over" and "everyone DIES! (except all 10 of these fan favourites)".. There are all kinds of weird pointless subplots too (Bronn?? what was the point of all that??) Episode two was a pretty strong episode tying loose ends, and felt like a genuine goodbye jump off point for a massacre. They tied up the night king story too fast. This is the story of Game of Thrones.. winter, white walkers, death. Now it's all just... gone? Very few of the scenes in this episode felt like they mattered. First half feels like a lot of fan servicey filler.. second half feels silly and poorly written.. I kind of just wish we were in alternate reality where George had finished his books so that this series could do true justice to his story, instead of whatever this Hollywood mass audience fan fest junk is... just my opinion. I understand why people may be enjoying it, but it just doesn't feel like the same Game of Thrones that won me over in the first 5 seasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LukaseerMay 21, 2019
It is just sad that the writers had to make the whole series rushed. This lead to the whole series feeling overstuffed and the characters have been changed until they are not anymore the same
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
kennar_1970Jun 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So we learned that a ship can ambush a high flying creature like a dragon, wow. One shot one kill.
Is it plausible? Danaerys forgot about the Iron Fleet? She is becoming senile? Ah no, you already decided that she is mad (mad but not stupid...). The cunning Varys who survived 3 Kings, all of sudden plays with open cards oh yeah! Another episode with inconsistent writing. Great show, great actors, but such a waste of potential.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PoulomiMay 24, 2019
There are people who watch with their heads and then there are those who just watch becoz everyone else is watching. As I am the first one, I am utterly disappointed with the story, the direction, the glaring plot holes the unexplainedThere are people who watch with their heads and then there are those who just watch becoz everyone else is watching. As I am the first one, I am utterly disappointed with the story, the direction, the glaring plot holes the unexplained scenes, the scenes that make no sense, the characters that are behaving oddly. So, yes I would rate it 1. I would have rated it 0 but the actors and the crew put in a lot of effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews