• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1387 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 29, 2019
    2
    They took a piece of art and turned it into a commodity. Its all Hollywood now and the essence of the show that initially captured me is long gone. They are just trying to sycophantically please people for the interest of profit and not do anything controversial at this point.
  2. May 3, 2019
    0
    When Martin is finished The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring then it would be nice if 5 and especially 6,7 and 8 seasons to be altered entirely from scratch. Or better if to alter all the show from scratch and add a prequel books. But only this time everything by the books with title A Song of Ice and Fire. With the involvement of former actors, except for individual characters forWhen Martin is finished The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring then it would be nice if 5 and especially 6,7 and 8 seasons to be altered entirely from scratch. Or better if to alter all the show from scratch and add a prequel books. But only this time everything by the books with title A Song of Ice and Fire. With the involvement of former actors, except for individual characters for which need to do recast (for Arya, Sansa, Jon Snow, Euron Greyjoy, the Night King, maybe for someone who renounce to participate in the shooting)

    The main thing is that the scriptwriters and showrunners must be talented people. And channel which is willing to spend money on a quality product.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2019
    1
    Sorry, but the 3rd episode made this show look childish, it took out any meaning but the game of thrones. I feel so sad about the cast and especially the fans. Because it all ended with the eternal winter of the spotless mind. If you remember The Lost and it's ending, then this seems to be even worse. The big question remains - who is the writer of these last episodes? It can't be martin,Sorry, but the 3rd episode made this show look childish, it took out any meaning but the game of thrones. I feel so sad about the cast and especially the fans. Because it all ended with the eternal winter of the spotless mind. If you remember The Lost and it's ending, then this seems to be even worse. The big question remains - who is the writer of these last episodes? It can't be martin, maybe it's swift... Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2019
    5
    The show took a deep dive after it didn't have any more source material. The winterfell war was an unplanned anticlimatic mess.
  5. May 2, 2019
    0
    Some little, overweight schoolgirl jumping like Michael Jordan, kills the most powerful creature in the Game of Thrones universe. What a f*ck ? Children of the forest ? what ? obsidian Valyrian steel ?, who is the Night King for the showrunners ? Ordinary White Walker or Wight ? The Night King has tremendous power, both physical and magical, plus it has the abilities of a warg, he sawSome little, overweight schoolgirl jumping like Michael Jordan, kills the most powerful creature in the Game of Thrones universe. What a f*ck ? Children of the forest ? what ? obsidian Valyrian steel ?, who is the Night King for the showrunners ? Ordinary White Walker or Wight ? The Night King has tremendous power, both physical and magical, plus it has the abilities of a warg, he saw Bran and left his mark on it despite the fact that Bran was in the form of an invisible spirit, dragons cannot burn him.

    And now Game of Thrones will end with a confrontation of Snow or Jaime or both vs Euron plus Arya in the shape of Qyburn kills Cersei, the Hound vs the Mountain, and then will be that Iron Bank withdraw Golden Company back to Braavos or Starks with Daenerys kill all opponents. Yet we also know that remaining Starks unkillable. So other characters will be sacrificed by showrunners.

    Showrunners couldn't explain: How sweeping the streets and getting blows to the face turned Arya into faceless ? How did Arya survive after so many stabbed in the stomach, specifically in the liver, spleen, and intestines, and then run like gazelle (forgotten the Red Wedding ?) And how she went unnoticed by the Night King’s army. And why he didn't break her neck right away ?

    The staging of the battle in s08ep3 is the worst in the history of cinematography but having one of the biggest budgets in the history of TV shows.
    Expand
  6. May 3, 2019
    0
    While Martin's books were and Martin personally took part in the creation of the show, everything was fine, and no one paying attention to incompetence of Benioff and Weiss and the disgusting acting of some actors, mostly play the Starks. But now it's all more than obvious.
  7. Apr 30, 2019
    1
    Very bad writing (on various degrees) for 2/3 seasons straight for a show of such high caliber.
    The dialogues and reunions in the first episode were disappointing and lackluster, characters were butchered(Tyrion mostly) and sometimes it felt like some actors even forgot how to play their roles or even act.First episode was therefore mostly wasted.
    The second episode was better but still
    Very bad writing (on various degrees) for 2/3 seasons straight for a show of such high caliber.
    The dialogues and reunions in the first episode were disappointing and lackluster, characters were butchered(Tyrion mostly) and sometimes it felt like some actors even forgot how to play their roles or even act.First episode was therefore mostly wasted.
    The second episode was better but still didn't live up to the expectations, although the group infront of the fire which included Davos Tyrion Jaime Podrick Tormund and Brienne was brilliant and vibrant.
    This part contains few "spoilers" but you are probably reading this after watching the series.
    And let's not get started on the third episode which was full with the most illogical and absurd tactics when the people who sat at the war table were veterans and tacticians of all the wars that happened in all seasons(like why did they charge the Dothraki into the obscure battlefield where they got swarmed and slaughtered , why did they put the siege weapons infront of the soldiers instead of behind them or inside the castle where they can still be fired (i know why, cause of budget) , why were there practically no archers, why was the fire trench only two meters(or less) wide and one meter deep, why did they send all of the army to fight outside and we can go on and on).
    On top of much wasted potential like literally no fights between white walkers and valyrian steel swords holders, no fight between Jon and the night king with Jon being almost useless the whole battle, the night king being killed in a more epic way using a twist or Melisandre power(who was useless and brought back for nothing except lighting swords of the Dorthraki who died in vain anyway) instead of being killed by Arya who somehow managed to sneak past hundreds of wights and a dozen white walkers to jump on the night king from the back.
    Add to that the plot armor that has been given to 8 characters who ,fighting alone, managed to stay alive and Withstand against thousands of wights who swarmed them but never tried to stab anyone.
    All in all this has been a very anticlimactic season especially the third episode (and even more its ending and the ending of the 8 seasons long white walkers story arc, the arc that started since the very first minutes of the first episode aka the real thread as said in the series) with many countless missed opportunities or twists. I can honestly point more negative things about this season (or the last two or three seasons for that matter) but the other negative reviews did the job.
    Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2019
    1
    Game of Thrones, a story with all morally grey characters and no real good vs evil but yet the Night King is the most cliche evil character seen in any TV show. He's basically just Darth Maul with less personality.

    Episode 3 is the worst written episode of the series. Apparently not a single person in Westeros, the Night King included, know a thing about strategy. Yes, lets just throw
    Game of Thrones, a story with all morally grey characters and no real good vs evil but yet the Night King is the most cliche evil character seen in any TV show. He's basically just Darth Maul with less personality.

    Episode 3 is the worst written episode of the series. Apparently not a single person in Westeros, the Night King included, know a thing about strategy. Yes, lets just throw away ALL the Dothraki because the writers simply aren't smart enough to think of anything else to do with them. And since when could Arya fly? She somehow got past all the other White Walkers to land the killing blow on the Night King as his lieutenants stood and watched? Night King needs new lieutenants. They did nothing and literally let a little girl walk past them to kill their King? That or she can now fly. I'm going with her being able to fly now just because it's as ridiculous an idea as the rest of this season.
    Expand
  9. May 2, 2019
    1
    Winter is coming
    Winter is coming
    Winter is coming
    Winter.exe has stopped working.

    Y'all's expectations subverted, tho?!?!?! XD
  10. Apr 29, 2019
    1
    As of episode three this show just imploded. The great danger is over so nothing else matters with three episodes to go. Since the actual Big Bad was taken out so easily this just undermines everything that came before it. To pretend Circe is the actual threat is a joke. Since the showrunners (Weiss and Benioff) just joined my list of people to avoid at all costs, I hope Disney doesAs of episode three this show just imploded. The great danger is over so nothing else matters with three episodes to go. Since the actual Big Bad was taken out so easily this just undermines everything that came before it. To pretend Circe is the actual threat is a joke. Since the showrunners (Weiss and Benioff) just joined my list of people to avoid at all costs, I hope Disney does not like profits since they just handed these hacks a trilogy. Expand
  11. May 1, 2019
    0
    Leaving the most disgusting and not interesting characters, such as John Snow - a f*king unkillable and tireless terminator; Arya - Maisie Williams not actress, she just a pathetic poser like Kit Harington and Sophie Turner; Sansa - Sophie Turner is also one misunderstanding, a useless and not interesting character, coupled with the complete absence of acting, like Kit Harington and MaisieLeaving the most disgusting and not interesting characters, such as John Snow - a f*king unkillable and tireless terminator; Arya - Maisie Williams not actress, she just a pathetic poser like Kit Harington and Sophie Turner; Sansa - Sophie Turner is also one misunderstanding, a useless and not interesting character, coupled with the complete absence of acting, like Kit Harington and Maisie Williams, instead of Sophie Turner, role of Sansa had to play Sarah Gadon. The Dragon of the Night King easily destroys the thick stone walls, but the f**king John Snow is hiding behind a bunch of trash and survive - a f**king nonsense. Arya, for what these hide and seek ? it was clear to everyone that Benioff&Weiss will not kill any of the Starks, so as not to upset degenerates. But you killed: Theon, Jorah Mormont, the Night King and a huge number of another interesting characters, which you killed in 6 and 7 seasons. And most importantly for what ? For nothing. The Night King stands surrounded by White Walkers and a large number of Wights, where did this bi*ch Arya jumped out ? Arya must be killed back then, in season 6. However, you still had a chance to fix everything, if the Night King would break Ariya’s neck. But you, Benioff & Weiss are two worthless cowards who fear reaction of various degenerates. Now it doesn't matter what you are going to do with the remaining 3 series.

    P.S.

    Mr. Benioff and Mr. Weiss not just screenwriters and showrunners without talent and without interesting ideas, but absolutely b*st*rds who blowed a huge budget, ruined interesting characters, f**ked up MAIN STORYLINE, and flushed all previous 7 seasons together with wasted time of viewers down the toilet. Turned one of the best TV shows, where logic is at the forefront, to fan-service for degenerates. FANTASTIC IDIOTS!

    Benioff and Weiss, you names will be sealed by shame forever. From now on, any movies or series where Benioff and Weiss are involved = TRASH, that needs to be avoided and not wasted time on it. All true fans of Game of Thrones and A Song of Ice and Fire, hate you.
    Expand
  12. Apr 29, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Felt like everyone got infected by the stupid bug, cavalry charging headfirst, catapults trebuchets ahead of the infantry, fighting a superior force outside the walls, no tar pits, no moats no fire usage. Archers where are my archers manning the wall? Why are we not using phalanx with shields and narrowing the battlefield? It did not stop there, even NK was infected, all he had to do was not show up and the battle was won and kill Bran when everyone else is dead. What was the original plan before Melisandre showed up by the way? Why was Jon Snow shouting at the dragon? Why was Direwolf charging with the cavalry, why nobody had a blade on them in the crypt. How did those old bones break walls when Wights couldn't. Why wasn't anyone wearing helmets and how did everyone come out a situation that had them pinned by dozen of the undead. What was the library scene about? Copied Last of us ? Wights are supposed to be agile and fast not slow moving zombies. To summarize it was plain stupid. I would not even go in the last scene of NK getting killed. Expand
  13. May 20, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Between Coffee gate Water bottle gate and Jamie growing back a hand the season feels like a real pile of junk. With out Martins work to guide them the show writers are just lost, terrible dialog makes it clear that the show has lost its way, all of the characterless are card board cuts of heroes and villains now, just what Martin set out to avoid in the books, the only hope is every one dies and it becomes a zombie show, may be Ash can save us. Expand
  14. Apr 19, 2019
    3
    This has turned into an anime. The acting has become as exciting as the antagonist goal. Non-existant. It has done what the Avengers: infinity wars did, diluted any form of complexity and just showed the archetypical characters.

    It insults your cognition left, right and centre. It's like: You are too stupid to figure it out so we will make it as obvious as we can. Then all of a sudden
    This has turned into an anime. The acting has become as exciting as the antagonist goal. Non-existant. It has done what the Avengers: infinity wars did, diluted any form of complexity and just showed the archetypical characters.

    It insults your cognition left, right and centre. It's like: You are too stupid to figure it out so we will make it as obvious as we can. Then all of a sudden you have 1-dimensional character that are chartoon like, yet pretending to be serious.
    Expand
  15. Apr 29, 2019
    3
    Why!! Just why!!! The show that defined our times became so bad in the past season and now this! it's just pathetic. There are absolutely no character beats in any of the characters except maybe Sansa and Arya but apart from that everyone and everything is just happening and the viewers couldn't give more of a **** The writers, I can't believe i'm saying this for freaking Game of thronesWhy!! Just why!!! The show that defined our times became so bad in the past season and now this! it's just pathetic. There are absolutely no character beats in any of the characters except maybe Sansa and Arya but apart from that everyone and everything is just happening and the viewers couldn't give more of a **** The writers, I can't believe i'm saying this for freaking Game of thrones but..., the writers who I thought were the best on TV have completely lost the story, the little moments that made the show great, the writing that made the characters spark and the dialogues spit-out like wildfire!! Where is all of that!! I need it back!!!!! I am giving myself the benefit of the doubt that they can at least not make a bad series finale. I would absolutely hate for Game of Thrones to have one of the worst series finale in TV history. Please don't do that, bring back the Game of Thrones I fell in love with, the TV juggernaut that knew how to tell a story that caught us by surprise!!! Expand
  16. Apr 23, 2019
    2
    For those of you who are considering making the time investment to watch this show... The first few seasons were truly entertaining drama. There was conflict in nearly every scene, people were constantly negotiating, fighting, scheming, seducing etc. The multi-layered stories were constantly moving forward and there were often amazing twists and surprises. Key characters died. SomeFor those of you who are considering making the time investment to watch this show... The first few seasons were truly entertaining drama. There was conflict in nearly every scene, people were constantly negotiating, fighting, scheming, seducing etc. The multi-layered stories were constantly moving forward and there were often amazing twists and surprises. Key characters died. Some minor characters triumphed over major characters. Ultimately, it was about The Story. Now let's talk about this final Season 8. The show has descended into predictability, long silly speeches, and scenes with zero conflict / drama. Characters just explain the plot or tell us how they're feeling. Or crack so many stupid sarcastic comments. Worst of all, the show has been infected by the US political climate. How? In the first few seasons, women weren't portrayed as physically equal or superior to men in strength and combat skills, (and combat is absolutely central to the conflict in the stories). Yet, in the last few seasons, women are consistently physically superior to the best male warriors. Keep in mind there was no story event that altered physical realities of the world. But now, in Season 8, when a 5 foot tall skinny little girl announces she's going to engage in physical fight to the death with the most horrifying evil zombie warriors, we're supposed to just accept this. Ultimately, it feels like just another silly, sanctimonious SJW diatribe. Maybe it's more impotent rage about the 2016 election. In any case, the show has become a huge disappointment. Expand
  17. Apr 23, 2019
    0
    The writing this season so far after 2 episodes is simply inexcusable. From constant brainless quips that would put Marvel to shame, to a story that moves at a snail's pace where characters talk a lot but don't say much of substance, to characters acting erratically not being true to their motives anymore in a world that no longer follow its own internal logic, it all falls apart asThe writing this season so far after 2 episodes is simply inexcusable. From constant brainless quips that would put Marvel to shame, to a story that moves at a snail's pace where characters talk a lot but don't say much of substance, to characters acting erratically not being true to their motives anymore in a world that no longer follow its own internal logic, it all falls apart as horrendous fan fiction.

    Make no mistake, if this had been the quality of the show when it first started it would have been cancelled and forgotten after the first or second season.
    Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2019
    6
    So far, it's only ok, in the way the last 2 seasons have only been only ok, Game Of Thrones in it's first 5 seasons (with exceptions) was the greatest television show I had ever seen, I loved it, and physically needed more of it because of the way it wove it's story, built it's characters, laid out it's plot, and surprised us. After the third season I read every book in A Song of Ice andSo far, it's only ok, in the way the last 2 seasons have only been only ok, Game Of Thrones in it's first 5 seasons (with exceptions) was the greatest television show I had ever seen, I loved it, and physically needed more of it because of the way it wove it's story, built it's characters, laid out it's plot, and surprised us. After the third season I read every book in A Song of Ice and Fire, simply devoured them. Season 7 was an almost complete let down with plot holes/time shifts so consequential It took me right out of the narrative. Episode 1 of Season 8 continued Season 7's practice of depriving us all of the emotional resonance these character reunions should have had. Every character is getting the short shift, all the actors promise this season will "blow our minds", Maisie said "she loved the reunion scene with Jon", when all I saw was 3 minutes of meh. I only like Game Of Thrones tv show now, but I used to love it. Expand
  19. May 25, 2019
    1
    What a disappointment. What gets me most is how they were thinking the fans are gonna be too stupid to see through this mess.

    The biggest waste in Entertainment History.
  20. May 26, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was by far the biggest letdown for otherwise one of the best television shows of all time, ranking up with the likes of The Soprano's. Season 8 completely gave up on itself with each character making decisions, and doing things that made no sense because these writers had completely lost it. All supernatural aspects of the show were completely forgotten or did not matter, with Bran going into the past and confirming that Jon was Aegon even though in the end it did not affect the show at all. Had Jon not been Aegon the ending would still be the same as him being an heir to the throne did not matter. Also when Tyrion chose Bran to be king how did he know Bran was the three eyed raven, and does Tyrion even understand what that means. From my perspective no characters even know who or what the three eyed raven is except for Arya and Sansa, but even they along with Bran hardly know what this means. How then when Tyrion mentions should this resonate with the other lords of Westeros because they do not know what that even means or why that should matter. Expand
  21. May 26, 2019
    2
    The visuals, music and actors are all very good as always. However, the writing (dialog, story, character development, character actions, continuity, motives) is down the drain, making it impossible to suspend your disbelief anymore. I'm just staring at the screen, wondering why things are proceeding as they are.
  22. May 28, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The directors don’t know how to write a story. Good god they ruined all of Game of Thrones for me. Seriously awful. Expand
  23. May 2, 2019
    2
    How it feels to ruine such a great TV show? How many people worked on script? If you are bad at writing, just open reddit and steal script from random thread, it will be ten times better, i promise. I had low expectations after season 6-7 and you managed to surprise me. Bravo!
  24. May 3, 2019
    1
    Its so sad to see what this show have become. It's hurt me. I feel severe pain.

    You know what the best "subvert expectations" would be? If those two idiots, dumb and dumber or whatever there names are, came at least once in a fooking life with a decent screanplay. But not. Expected as always.
  25. Apr 30, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show died back in later seasons when RR Martim stop being the main writer. This season is the most predictable, "plot armored" anticlimactic and badly written that I have ever seen. We no longer care when a character dies because the odds are very unbalanced. For instance when Theon died I didn't care because there where other 3 or 4 main characters on the verge of dying and suddenly it's all fixed? I wouldn't say Aryia hasn't been prepared for this moment but it felt somewhat meaningless. Why did Melisandra take off her necklace? Did she have to?

    There is an overall lack of meaning and carefully crafted narrative direction that, if you see the first seasons, is missing now.
    Expand
  26. May 12, 2019
    1
    The series hasn't been the same since GRRM stopped writing for them. It's turned into a Saturday morning super hero cartoon. All the gritty realism and believable fighting has been tossed out the window in exchange for the same old badly written fantasy trope with Gary Stu and Mary Sue on full display. All the build up for a final battle with the ultimate evil and it's just a bunch ofThe series hasn't been the same since GRRM stopped writing for them. It's turned into a Saturday morning super hero cartoon. All the gritty realism and believable fighting has been tossed out the window in exchange for the same old badly written fantasy trope with Gary Stu and Mary Sue on full display. All the build up for a final battle with the ultimate evil and it's just a bunch of garbled fights with the good guys slipping out of impossible battles, most of which they cut away from with no explanation of how they managed to fight off the literally hundreds of zombie foes. It's as if Weiss and Benioff took the best fan fiction mailed to them and wrote it into the story. I'm through with this young adult bubble gum fantasy. I can only hope GRRM is writing the new spin-off that takes place in the past since there's little chance of finishing the books before he's dead. Expand
  27. May 10, 2019
    0
    Another TV shows, whose showrunners couldn't properly finish the story.

    P.S.
    HBO will not allow the Jean Cocteau Cinema in Santa Fe, New Mexico, owned by A Song of Ice and Fire author George R.R. Martin, to screen the series finale of Game of Thrones. HBO just said no.
  28. Apr 30, 2019
    2
    Good effects... bad script. Logically this became a struggle. Why do things have to be like this? I see the point to come to an end but why it became so fast and sloppy?
  29. May 1, 2019
    3
    Imagine you are supposed to cook a wonderful dish to end a lovely gala night. But you lack time, creativity, talent and are not in the mood for this. Yet you have to bring out something to save your job and your next paycheck.

    So what do you do? Ask your colleagues for help? Use some of your own money to hire someone who is better than you for this night? Maybe just look up a recipe on
    Imagine you are supposed to cook a wonderful dish to end a lovely gala night. But you lack time, creativity, talent and are not in the mood for this. Yet you have to bring out something to save your job and your next paycheck.

    So what do you do? Ask your colleagues for help? Use some of your own money to hire someone who is better than you for this night? Maybe just look up a recipe on the internet?

    Nope! Grab some leftovers from the previous dishes in the fridge, throw them in the blender, forget to close the lid and waste half of it on the surrounding walls, put the mixture in the microwave, forget basic seasonings and just dump everything on a plate. No decorations or presentation because that would cost time and effort. Voila! You have created a dish. Not something crafted with love care or any thought but at least you brought up something.

    The majority of the people "like" it. It is a product from a gala night so it has to be good right?

    That's season 8 in a nutshell. Forget common sense, forget basic battle tactics and carefully crafted plans. Throw away your most interesting villain, forget what made the previous seasons so great and instead resort to over the top use of plot armor.

    Congratulations. You have finished your series on a really, really bad note!
    Expand
  30. May 1, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This newest episode was so horrible it hurt, it made no sense, plot armor that it would make superman blush.
    The didn't know how to kill night king so they decided "hey lets have arrya use instant transmission behind him and give him a slight cut"
    It makes me so sad.
    Expand
  31. Apr 29, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lazy writing, if you try to analyze this military tactics, you'll lose your mind. Episode Three has completely derailed the series for me. This is no easy feat, i've been a fan of GOT for a long long time. Ninja Aria can fly. The Night King has no tactics or strategy what so ever, and his undead army/generals are truly brainless zombies. i still don't understand how aria got past the undead horde.. This episode had so many conveniences for plot, and the actors seemed almost uninterested in their roles. The camera was shaky and the screen was dark. i could barely tell what was going on. this show used to have so much attention to detail. this seemed rushed. The conversation probably went like this "how can we fit this list of stuff into an episode?" Expand
  32. May 3, 2019
    1
    Season 8 episode 3 has ruined the series. Subverting expectations does not equate to amazing or nuanced storytelling. Inconceivable.
  33. May 1, 2019
    0
    Its sad to see what they have done to this show, the showrunners are just incompetent.
  34. May 13, 2019
    3
    What a bunch of BS this season is. The first two episodes were okay. Tedious at times, but at least coherent. "The Long Night" on the other hand was a nonsensical disappointment, and "The Bells" was a complete storytelling catastrophe. I'm genuinely afraid to watch the finale.
  35. May 6, 2019
    1
    This season is the worst. Since season 6 it is not game of thrones anymore. The writers have wasted one of the best fantasy book adapted to a series. This is a shame. They should have waited the end of the books if they were not able to make any sense writing the rest. They have not listened to the fans in the previous season complaining about stupid teleportation and surprise army attacksThis season is the worst. Since season 6 it is not game of thrones anymore. The writers have wasted one of the best fantasy book adapted to a series. This is a shame. They should have waited the end of the books if they were not able to make any sense writing the rest. They have not listened to the fans in the previous season complaining about stupid teleportation and surprise army attacks with a clear blue sky... Expand
  36. May 20, 2019
    0
    Total disappointment. No logic, no epic.
    All for what I loved this show was not this season
  37. May 13, 2019
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It feels like D&D (showrunners) wanted you to leave this season HATING Game of Thrones so they could just move on to other stuff. Read the other reviews. I’m not alone. This season has been SUCH a build up for disappointment. So, instead of being true to wrapping the story up for us, they torpedo it into oblivion. The writing has been lackluster, the pacing everywhere, extremely dark/hard to see episodes, character arcs pooed on, etc. All the show runners wanted was “shock and awe”. Folks have been flocking to leaks just to get “trigger warnings” to how bad the episode will be. I wish HBO would have had the guts to hire new show runners. We deserved a better season than this has been. This has been such a disappointment that you’ll just want to cancel your HBO subscription. Expand
  38. May 13, 2019
    4
    Good Cinematics but really dumb Story writing and the feelings Story Writers did not understand any of the Lore and forgot about George RR Martins masterpieces. SHAME SHAME SHAME SHAME
  39. May 14, 2019
    1
    devastating writing and script , the best show and the writers totally ruined it
  40. May 22, 2019
    1
    The season was rushed and the character development has just gone downhill, not to mention the butchering of Daenerys' character.
  41. May 22, 2019
    1
    Worst written show ending in a history! Season 8 doesn’t have any logical connection with previous ones and the story line at all.
  42. May 22, 2019
    1
    horrible final, perdida del hilo argumental, dejando lagunas en muchas historias. mira cómo será que lo hicieron tan apurados que hasta hubo errores graves en dos capítulos, como el vaso de Starbucks y la mano de oro de Jaime.
  43. May 22, 2019
    1
    Trash don't waste your time .....................................................................................
  44. May 23, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Filled with plot holes and writing that makes no sense. The characters in the show seem very generic in this final season. The follow none of what made them who they are throughout the seven seasons. Some dropping all morals all together for revenge and other murdering loved ones for no reason given. Then the fact everyone somehow forgot who Jon is in the end made no sense. They opened up a story about him which would of been better left unknown to try and create some conflict. Which this was very generic and the reactions expected. The battle with the white walkers episode was so poorly lit and to take a word from Howard Stern on this “Even porn directors mastered lighting effects on set” In the end you want to watch this series, I would suggest watching up until season 7 and even then that’s questionable in some episodes. What hbo did to this story and the writers is deplorable. Then to have actors defend this garbage is laughable. Own up to the failure you know it is instead of defending like you made it so important. Trust me if people liked your character and you then they may not so much now. Expand
  45. Apr 30, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first two episodes of the season managed to breathe life back into some of the characters.
    Yet Episode 3 not only undoes these moments it renders so many subplots developed over 8 years to be a complete waste of time. GoT has become intelectually and artistically insulting. Which stands in a stark and painful contrast to its scource material. I just feel bad for GRRM at this point.

    I used to love the show just as much as I loved the books. Now I despise it for it's unrespectul waste of potential. I think my watch has ended.

    George, we need your books and vision back.
    Expand
  46. May 2, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thee all mighty knight king and his army who was the greatest threat to the world. He has powers to awaken the dead thousands of times and to control a dead dragon and to control an army of milion white walkers AND the power to sense Arya coming at him from behind. But did not see the stab coming? LMAO what child writer did make this script?

    There are so many faults here which could been thousand time better but I dont want to go on about it cuz its not going to change anything. This episodes ending which basically ended the whole show just totally destroyed the show and every episode I watched felt wasted and waste of time.

    Like why cound'nt the knight king win? would have been so much better than this garbage end. I mean why do everything has to have a happy ending? its Pathetic!
    There are so many ways it could have ended than this. Oh well. To hell with HBO and all the writers.
    Expand
  47. May 3, 2019
    2
    David and Dan are idiots they literally ruined one of the greatest stories! It's so sad.... It had so much potential.
  48. May 2, 2019
    0
    I am very angry and not fan of game of thrones anymore ( all caps are small ) because the serie dies at season 7's end. This is nothing more than an unintelligent, coward fan service and all the things known from the previous episodes are missed and don't count. Every choice, decision made is dumb, all named characters are super-heroes who can't die and the story smells like some drunkenI am very angry and not fan of game of thrones anymore ( all caps are small ) because the serie dies at season 7's end. This is nothing more than an unintelligent, coward fan service and all the things known from the previous episodes are missed and don't count. Every choice, decision made is dumb, all named characters are super-heroes who can't die and the story smells like some drunken monkey write the plot and do the serie now. This is not game of thrones anymore... this is transformers 343 :((( Expand
  49. Apr 30, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First two episodes were dragged out. Episode three was a massive disappointment. The Night King is the new Snoke. Arya kills him out of thin air. She must know how to fly.. Jon and the Night king never get to have the sword fight we all wanted. And most of the main characters live. Everyone has plot armor. And the episode was so dark I didn't know what was going on during the dragon fight. The writing was bad last season but this just didn't feel like Game of Thrones.. Expand
  50. May 8, 2019
    4
    Wow, the writing is terrible and so is this season so far. Uninspired, anticlimactic, out of character mess. The cast continue to do their best with the garbage they've been given.
  51. May 12, 2019
    0
    Huh. Careful exposition of 7 seasons, and then rush B in one season. Thnx for killing the show.
  52. May 6, 2019
    6
    Worst season ever............................................................ thats enough
  53. Apr 29, 2019
    0
    Can't see anything, everything feels like filler, awful acting and dialogue especially with the younger female characters, stupid, incoherent battle of winterfell.
  54. Apr 29, 2019
    3
    it is sad they wasted the White Walkers in 1 single episode ripping off Star Wars Episode 1 anticlimactic fight...what a waste of a plot pumped since season 1.
  55. Apr 30, 2019
    5
    After being a dedicated fan of both the books and the tv-show for years, I have to say that it is the 3rd episode of the 8th season that made me doubt that the storyline of A Song of Ice and Fire would have a satisfactory culminating effect at all. It feels as if I have been reading an absolutely different story and that the tv-show is telling a completely different tale. I can only hopeAfter being a dedicated fan of both the books and the tv-show for years, I have to say that it is the 3rd episode of the 8th season that made me doubt that the storyline of A Song of Ice and Fire would have a satisfactory culminating effect at all. It feels as if I have been reading an absolutely different story and that the tv-show is telling a completely different tale. I can only hope that Mr. Martin would hold true to his word and that the tv-show would have a little in common with the last two books. Expand
  56. May 1, 2019
    2
    First: I'm a fan from the start. This episode is barely watchable. Horrible lightning / plotholes everywhere. This is what happens if you want to finish a series really quick in 8 episodes. My hopes are with the books now for a decent ending of the main story...
  57. May 8, 2019
    2
    Who is writing this now? did Disney sneak in and get the series?
    This is unbelievable I am actually so flabbergasted
  58. Apr 29, 2019
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible writing with lots of plot hole... how can they kill the night king in just one episode it's the stupidest idea i've ever watch. We've been building up things for years since season 1 episode 1, was all of this for ONLY FIVE SECONDS to kill night king? i'm really disappointed. Expand
  59. Apr 29, 2019
    1
    From the best show on TV to worst show ever exist. < Slow clap > HBO you did the impossible. Dont even have a ball to kill important character anymore. Now it just go full fan service . CGI is good for TV series but for **** sake the battle in ep 3 happen at night you barely see **** . Way to go for budget cut Mother ****er
  60. May 2, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Little girl kill the Night King ?????
    OMG.. This is the f.... joke ?
    R.I.P.
    Expand
  61. May 6, 2019
    1
    What did the White Walkers really want? What were they doing in those thousands of years beyond the Wall? Why was the Night King turning human babies into White Walkers? What was the deal with the symbols they left everywhere? I guess Game of Thrones’s final answer is: Who cares? They’re all dead now. On to the Iron Throne.
  62. May 8, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a failure of epic proportions. 7 seasons and 8 years of wait, and you realize most character arcs, and the overarching mystery is ruined! Any fan-theorist from youtube would do more justice to the show than the writers. I don’t even want to watch the last 2 episodes Expand
  63. May 6, 2019
    1
    I haven't seen the whole season, but after episode 3, it is over. I am not interested anymore. I would rather wait for G Martin to finish his work and make sense to all this mess.
  64. TPC
    May 6, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've loved GoT since the start. The interweaving and comeplling storyline, the complex characters, the attention to detail, and the brutal way it dealt with major characters - the sense that no-one was safe. All wonderful.

    Some fans have not been as positive about the later series, but I have been, and up to and including S8E2 I was more than happy. Indeed, S8E2 itself was a masterpiece in stage-setting. We had waited 8 years for this moment, the build up to the long night, we were told "winter was coming" and we knew it would be terrible when it came.

    The first ten minutes of S8E3 started setting up the sense of impending doom. Ok, the battle plan of putting the men outside the wall and infront of the wall defences looked absurd, but I was just letting that go as part of the drama. The Red Priestess lighting all the Dothraki weapons, that caused a frisson of excitement. Their charge (stupid as that would be as a battle tactic in this scenario) was chilling when it failed. And the waves upon waves of undead, they really told us just how bad the sitation was.

    But after this, the episode went downhill and quickly. Despite being overwhelmed, and despite hundreds, nay thousands of deaths of trained soldiers, it seemed if you were a "named" character, with only a couple of exceptions, it was actually impossible to die - no matter how bad your situation got. Surrounded by 30 undead? Survive. On the ground with undead on top of you? Survive. Our heroes outside on the ground... Arya, Jaime, Brienne, Sam, Tormund, Sandor... had plot armour so thick it became just too unbelievable.

    But when the undead in the crypt woke up, what happened there was even more ridiculous. Not a single named character in the crypt, Sansa, Tyrion, Gilly, Little-Sam, Missande, Varys... was harmed, although most of the rest were massacred. It felt like a Hollywood movie, and not in a good way - Game of Thrones had lost what made it special: now, if you were a known character, you were pretty much safe from anything. Just two long term regular characters (Theon and Jorah) had epic death sequences, but the rest were indestructible - in situations where pretty much everyone else dies.

    And then came that ending. We have had seven and half series of detailed foreshdowing and plot development. Everything building up to one of many possible variations of a set of endings which would fit such a wonderful plotline. And the producers threw all that out of the window because they wanted to "surprise" us, and it didn't matter if it didn't really make any sense. Jon and Bran, the centres of the White Walker storyline, pretty much did nothing at all in that battle - and a character that has had absolutely NOTHING to do with the dead storyline, a teenage girl assassin (who I loved when I saw her killing the Frays, that was done so extremely well), does a cheap dagger drop and kills the most powerful evil in the realm for the last 8000 years with one dagger stab - and the rest of the dead army just die.

    What a let down. It all feels so pointless.

    The show really let those of us who are fans down with this one.
    Expand
  65. May 6, 2019
    1
    Seven legendary seasons all sent down the drain. Don't know the reasons for the creative catastrophe which was the climax of episode 3 but they may not be able to recover from the disaster.
  66. May 6, 2019
    1
    I think the writers of this session ruined a TV show that many people liked. What happened!
  67. May 11, 2019
    0
    What a disappointment. This is a big blow for all the fans who've been invested so much emotionally and mentally in GOT for years. Sure, we'll get over it, but I do feel a fair amount of resentment and disdain towards the creators of the show. Two more episodes to go. We shall see if the appraisal of the show changes for better, but I doubt it. They seem to have messed up beyond anyWhat a disappointment. This is a big blow for all the fans who've been invested so much emotionally and mentally in GOT for years. Sure, we'll get over it, but I do feel a fair amount of resentment and disdain towards the creators of the show. Two more episodes to go. We shall see if the appraisal of the show changes for better, but I doubt it. They seem to have messed up beyond any meaningful redemption. This is even worse than Breaking Bad's last season. They did so much wrong, I can't even get into the specifics here. It's too painful. Expand
  68. May 7, 2019
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the show very much when they had the books behind as guidance. Both 7 and 8 seasons were a disappointment, especially the first episodes from the 8 season. The writers just can't keep up the standards from George Martin...The show is rushed to a conclusion having stupid decisions on the way and taking the life out of characters.
    Tyrion was one of the smartest characters in the show...Now..I can't even say he's average... Bad writing....

    Few examples of bad writing:
    1. One dragon dies in 7th season from a damn ice spear.
    2. Two dragons manage to live through the horrid battle with the Night King after fighting an undead dragon and getting stabbed hundreds of times. One of them dies while flying over the sea, easily killed by Euron... What the hell...These Dragons are one of the biggest disappointments in the show. 3. The way how the night king dies doesn't make a lot of sense.
    4. In the battle with the Night King the hide their women and children from the "dead" and from the night king that can literally raise the dead inside the Winterfell crypt.Come on...and Tyrion was supposed to be smart? :)) etc...

    It is excruciatingly obvious that the writers just can't keep up the standards ...
    Expand
  69. May 14, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seriously! WTF these guys were thinking??? The ultimate evil that was supposed to be beaten at the lest episode dies at episode 3 by the hands of Aria??? No epic fight with Jon? And then ... they turn Kaleesi in a mad queen??? WTF guys???? The hole season is a total mess after episode 3! Expand
  70. May 12, 2019
    0
    I am disappointed with this season as it is the last one. I am also disappointed with the direction the series is taking and how likely it will end.
  71. May 11, 2019
    0
    How any critic can give this show over a 60 is just mind blowing, but then there are some over 80, find a new career. This show used to be so good, gone are those days, AWFUL writing, show has been condensed to the point where all the good dialogue and witty character development is absent, now it's just boring non-sense to move the boring plot, this show is so predictable, the few timesHow any critic can give this show over a 60 is just mind blowing, but then there are some over 80, find a new career. This show used to be so good, gone are those days, AWFUL writing, show has been condensed to the point where all the good dialogue and witty character development is absent, now it's just boring non-sense to move the boring plot, this show is so predictable, the few times it's NOT..well.. something just so mind-numbingly stupid happens that it's like the most "Cringy" show ever, oh how the mighty have fallen. Expand
  72. May 13, 2019
    0
    Here's a theory :

    A rival studio to HBO has infiltrated the senior staff and hired D&D specifically to destroy HBO's signature series, in an effort to destroy the competition.

    We only have to figure out who has done this. From the ashes, who will rise? There will be the destroyer. The breaker of the chains which held us all to our couches on Sunday nights for eight long years.
  73. May 13, 2019
    2
    They destroyed the best Tv show ever. They raped the storylines of the best characters ever written. And I hate them for it. D&D (Dumb and Dumber) I hope you never get a job after this.
  74. May 11, 2019
    0
    It's a travesty. The characters are totally out of character. The writing is very bad
  75. May 8, 2019
    5
    Game of Thrones season 1-4 were extraordinary seasons of television. We are now a long way from the source material and it has revealed the show's creators to be unfit to have taken the series on. It is still somewhat entertaining if you've invested yourself into the world and character, but every scene is lazily strung together, contradicting itself and forcing moments they think the fansGame of Thrones season 1-4 were extraordinary seasons of television. We are now a long way from the source material and it has revealed the show's creators to be unfit to have taken the series on. It is still somewhat entertaining if you've invested yourself into the world and character, but every scene is lazily strung together, contradicting itself and forcing moments they think the fans want to see. Clearly the high fantasy and in depth politics were just too grand for the show-runners to accomplish without a full guideline and story to adapt from the books. It's harsh to say, but they truly have wasted the potential of a great Game of Thrones adaption and have ruined most of the long awaited moments, especially the White Walker confrontation, as they clearly didn't have the talent or ability to pull off the grander prophecies and intricate structures, subtexts or foreshadowing that George Martin put so much time into, and which they even established in the early seasons. It is such a shame that so much work and build up has come to so many storyline conclusions that meant nothing and were unjustified. Dan and Dave continue to say in interviews that they make decisions because they want to shock us, but they constantly do this at the expense of all logical and satisfying storytelling. It has become amateurish and childish, wasting everything that long time fans were hoping for and have betrayed everything that the books stood for, being fantasy subversion. It is now a lifeless, illogical and vapid husk of what A Song of Ice and Fire started over 20 years ago. Expand
  76. May 5, 2019
    3
    Well Game of thrones was good show for me until i read the books. Until this point i didnt realised how much was i missing. The show is not comparable with the book. The show is mostly mess. Writers and directors had so many ways to make this better. There is no deeper motives, the characters are shallow. There is no logic behind their actions. There were so many scenes that were totalWell Game of thrones was good show for me until i read the books. Until this point i didnt realised how much was i missing. The show is not comparable with the book. The show is mostly mess. Writers and directors had so many ways to make this better. There is no deeper motives, the characters are shallow. There is no logic behind their actions. There were so many scenes that were total BS, some characters get killed in seconds and some are almost invincible. There were terrible military tactics, they didnt use any oil like when they defended the wall against Mans. And i could continue with more BS. But if you loved it, thats ok. The last season for now didnt lived up for my expectations. They set bar high with first couple of seasons and now they cant keep with that. I loved that show because it was something different, now its just like every other tv show you could watch on tv or internet. Expand
  77. May 2, 2019
    2
    Game of Thrones needs to stick to what it knows best. Incest and Midget Porn. They really dropped the ball on the massive battle in ep 3. No strategy from either side. It's as if the showrunners just said, "Hey, let's just make a really expensive fan service finale!" It was also really really dark and it was difficult to tell who the main characters were even though they didn't haveGame of Thrones needs to stick to what it knows best. Incest and Midget Porn. They really dropped the ball on the massive battle in ep 3. No strategy from either side. It's as if the showrunners just said, "Hey, let's just make a really expensive fan service finale!" It was also really really dark and it was difficult to tell who the main characters were even though they didn't have helmets. It's as if George RR Martin's notes ran out after Season 6 and HBO has just been winging it ever since. Expand
  78. May 6, 2019
    0
    Season 8 started with... soap opera, after 2 episodes of nothing, we finally made it to the final battle. Which only makes sense if all characters and viewrs are retarded. And now after 3 episodes season 8 has ended. Kinda boring ending for build up after 7 seasons.
  79. May 12, 2019
    0
    The lack of internal consistency and destroying of seasons of character growth has made this the worst ending to any show I have ever seen. The writing it’s atrocious. It’s embarrassing. They would have been better off not filming anything at all.
  80. May 6, 2019
    6
    Seasons 1-4 were fantastic and Seasons 5-7 were filled with great, memorable episodes that were of such high quality that it was enough to carry their respective seasons.

    However, this Season 8 abomination is just booty. I had much more typed up, but I think the word 'booty' perfectly describes it. Thanks for your time, The Sentient Pen
  81. May 11, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything done is just for shock value, without any consideration of whether it makes any sense. Even in earlier seasons, the more the writers veered from the story, the worse it got. They just can't make a plot that makes any sense on their own. Expand
  82. May 12, 2019
    1
    Terrible writing and horribly rushing through the story has ruined this season. There were times it could've been good but these few moments are eclipsed by the terrible ones
  83. May 13, 2019
    1
    A rushed mess. They refused to give this show the ending it deserved by opting for a shorter season to stick to the 73 episode timeline they set in the beginning. While I don't find the twists bad by any means, the plot is too rushed for them to make sense and give any sort of satisfaction to the characters arch. If they stuck with the same script and spread it out over a 10 episode seasonA rushed mess. They refused to give this show the ending it deserved by opting for a shorter season to stick to the 73 episode timeline they set in the beginning. While I don't find the twists bad by any means, the plot is too rushed for them to make sense and give any sort of satisfaction to the characters arch. If they stuck with the same script and spread it out over a 10 episode season I feel like it would have tied things up in a way that stuck true to the characters development. Instead we got this train wreck. I personally, won't even be buying season 8 on DVD to complete my collection. Rather just throw the whole set in the trash and forget it ever existed. Expand
  84. May 13, 2019
    1
    A legendary and fantastic TV series that turned into complete trash and nonsense
  85. May 19, 2019
    1
    Disappointing beyond belief. Everything that was built up was thrown out of the window. Stop at season 7. So sad.
  86. May 20, 2019
    1
    the biggest ball drop in entertainment history. A rushed and poorly written conclusion to one of the most loved series.
  87. May 20, 2019
    1
    Most pathetic serie ... it just beat Lost.... worst ending lol every death we wanted to see was even worst than what we could expect
  88. Apr 28, 2019
    3
    The sad story of what started as a smart and promising show subverting fantasy trope and using consequences in both a clever and choking way. Unfortunately it then slowly but surely descended into the hellish depth of empty filler episodes, story convenience and plot armor so thicc Nicki Minaj will soon write a song about it.

    Don't get me wrong, the first 3 seasons are great, 4 and 5
    The sad story of what started as a smart and promising show subverting fantasy trope and using consequences in both a clever and choking way. Unfortunately it then slowly but surely descended into the hellish depth of empty filler episodes, story convenience and plot armor so thicc Nicki Minaj will soon write a song about it.

    Don't get me wrong, the first 3 seasons are great, 4 and 5 are meh, but then be ready for 3 seasons of pure disappointment culminating in a morbid feast of blank dialogues, cheap jump scare, bad CGI and deus ex machina ad nauseam.

    It was almost great.
    Expand
  89. Apr 30, 2019
    0
    The show has been trash for a long time now. The first few seasons took stabs at developing some themes: nobility, the power of tradition, the nuances of leadership and power, the chaos of rebellion. Especially once they ran out of book though it just turned into a bloody, pornographic soap opera/cartoon/chick show where the only reason to watch is to see who dies next and who f***s theirThe show has been trash for a long time now. The first few seasons took stabs at developing some themes: nobility, the power of tradition, the nuances of leadership and power, the chaos of rebellion. Especially once they ran out of book though it just turned into a bloody, pornographic soap opera/cartoon/chick show where the only reason to watch is to see who dies next and who f***s their sister next.

    Season 8 is particularly bad. In the first 2 episodes (out of 6, you don't exactly have time to waste here guys) literally nothing happens, just petty interpersonal drama and wheel-spinning. I guess pan-faced Maisie Williams is legal now so sleazy perverts Benioff & Weiss couldn't wait to get her naked on camera even though the character is only what? 15?

    Then the battle happens. Oh ho ho the battle:

    - Army full of literal teenage girls and dickless men

    - Usual Hollywood garbage take on medieval warfare. No one in the writers room knows how castles, or shields, or armor, or formation fighting, or cavalry, or archery actually work. This is supposed to be a quasi-realistic show but every single detail is wrong and ridiculous

    - This show used to at least feature entertaining surprise twists. Now, it's straight Hollywood predictability. Expendable tertiary characters die, a couple secondary characters (who've been set up for heroic sacrifices for a long time now) die, no mains die, the good guys win. Yaaaaaaawn.

    - The White Walkers have been established as a colossal, apocalyptic threat since literally episode 1 scene 1. Now the time has FINALLY come to fight them and humanity beats them in ONE. SINGLE. EPISODE. It's going to be impossible to rewatch this show in the future once you already know what a joke the big scary Others turn out to be in the end.

    - Arya is such a pathetic Mary Sue. I 100% guarantee Benioff and/or Weiss are turned on by the manic pixie ninja waif cliche because she is pure fanfiction and it's embarrassing to watch. It was obnoxious when they crammed one of those characters into The Hobbit, but it's even worse here having a barely-legal chick pretending to be this master assassin stone killer because she spent like 3 months attending ninja day camp. I bet Maisie Williams can't actually do a single pull-up.

    - It sure looked like there were only like 15 good guys left alive out of their whole army at the end, but you just know the next episode will start and they'll be like "naw, we still have like 5,000 guys, they were just off camera". It's all so tiresome.

    This is a genuinely terrible show: vulgar, nihilistic, pointless, empty, juvenile, and wallowing in its own ugliness and absurdity. I can't wait to close the books on this shameful chapter in our pop culture.
    Expand
  90. Apr 29, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game of Thrones has never been straightforward--until now. ... The battle with the dead is over, the Night King is defeated, and the forces of the living are victorious. And it happened in the least inventive, most predictable way imaginable. ... There's no catharsis or payoff in anything that happened in "The Long Night." Expand
  91. May 6, 2019
    1
    Gentlemen and ladies! >PETITION<
    Let us force HBO to make an outstanding and NEW season 8 by a petition! (The current one is a disgrace)
  92. May 10, 2019
    2
    Pretty bad. Even more than in his previous two seasons, this season is full of clichés and forces too many moments. It is simply not credible.
    Writers seem to NOT KNOW what to do with the characters. They decided to waste time in some visual effects, forced moments and in foolish and pointless moments in a show of 6 episodes that even try to move fast enough, like their previous season.
    Pretty bad. Even more than in his previous two seasons, this season is full of clichés and forces too many moments. It is simply not credible.
    Writers seem to NOT KNOW what to do with the characters. They decided to waste time in some visual effects, forced moments and in foolish and pointless moments in a show of 6 episodes that even try to move fast enough, like their previous season. It still seems that they focus on pleasing their new audience first.... It is that or, they really never knew what to do without the books in the background, or maybe both. I do not know why I expected something this time.
    Expand
  93. May 2, 2019
    0
    Nothing but really bad fan-fiction by now.
    "Look, how they massacred my boy" GRRM in his thoughts probably.
  94. May 9, 2019
    1
    This is so depressing. All the negative reviews are correct. This season has been a disaster. Amateurs have crept into the master's kitchen. They have destroyed the legacy of a great series. Maybe someone will remake the final season in the future. :(
  95. May 1, 2019
    1
    Pure rubbish; poor acting, special effects and general script. Just underwhelming; like a race car running out of fuel just before reaching the end line.
  96. May 9, 2019
    0
    pathetic, just hollywood **** how could they mess this up so badly, why did the cast not just say no to this nonsense.. I'm into episoed 4 and could not even end it, it was just frustrating.. it is extremely bad, the writing is just cringeworthy.. a sad end to a great show
  97. May 6, 2019
    0
    Totally trash, a gif waste of time of my my Life, theres any series that destroy characters like got
  98. May 4, 2019
    0
    For me this episode (8.3) ruined the general impression about plot of GoT as a solid and feasible masterpiece. ANd there are two main things (besides cliches and overdrama):
    1. The dragon, which easily fired huge 50m thick wall few episodes ago didn’t fire the small inner wall when Jon Snow was hiding behind, even when he was firing it for some period of time.
    2. Wights, who were
    For me this episode (8.3) ruined the general impression about plot of GoT as a solid and feasible masterpiece. ANd there are two main things (besides cliches and overdrama):
    1. The dragon, which easily fired huge 50m thick wall few episodes ago didn’t fire the small inner wall when Jon Snow was hiding behind, even when he was firing it for some period of time.
    2. Wights, who were burning as sheaf of hay after simple hit them by torch or when hit by fire sword (remember one episode ago the boy was in fire and even hands around him started to burn immideately). So this wights are just lying in the fire ditch and others just walking throw them not getting burn.
    This things makes any interests like “how they could resolve this problem next episode??” absolutely meaningless because the writers can change the rules anytime to achieve any result they want.
    It’s like to watch a soccer game where the rules of game are changing according to public wishes.
    Expand
  99. May 4, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. These two last seasons haven't even been closed to kids game save game of thrones for it Expand
  100. May 12, 2019
    2
    Two points for music and set design, some of the acting. As far as writing and directing, this is the worst the show has ever been
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Apr 15, 2019
    30
    As in season 7, the big problem with “Winterfell”—the reason it felt more like an unlucky videographer’s rendering of an exceptionally dysfunctional family reunion than like a carefully crafted story—was the pacing.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 14, 2019
    100
    The show has stepped up its pacing. For the most part, that has been immensely satisfying, yielding crowd-pleasing moments that the and that the series generally avoided in the often-grim journey, especially for the Stark kids, which has led to this point.
  3. Reviewed by: Alex McLevy
    Apr 14, 2019
    75
    [The season premiere] does a lot of work in a short amount of time, but unlike some previous episodes that engaged in significant table setting, it never feels too rushed or like characters are being given short shrift in the effort to hurry to the next beat. It plays as elegant, for the most part.